reviews for: listing #9152 - Murphy, North Carolina Cabin rental

Best Views In Murphy! The Sanctuary
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $90 - $135 /nt
    $450 - $650 /wk
    $1,500 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace Envelopes Us!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Peace envelopes us each time we return to our "rented home" in North Carolina. Even before we store our belongings we hurry to the deck to renew our souls with the magnificent view of trees and hills and mountains. The hummingbirds seem to rush to greet us each summer when we return.
Numerous trails to follow down the hill always grant us surprises. Incredible mountain laurel in the spring, a panoply of wild flowers always, and once a mother possum moving what seemed like a hundred babies clinging to her back as she scurried into the woods.
We watch the mystery of fog lifting and sun burning through clouds many mornings while drinking coffee and basking in the fresh mountain air.
We rest quietly inside or out reading books, watching TV or videos that are on hand before traveling the short distance to town, near-by flea markets or The John Campbell Folk School for quick trips. The variety of activities within easy traveling distance will thrill any inquisitive mind or adventurous spirit. We never tire of our home away from home.
Thanks for a wonderful place to stay.
The Parsons

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Views have lightened out hearts.

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Al and I have stayed in scores of B&B's, both in the US as well as in mexico, Norway and Ireland. This week has been the best vacation in our memory 4 the Sanctuary in the Sky will stay in our hearts forever! It is the best place we have ever stayed! Not only did we come to love Murphy NC but we feel we have made friends here in you guys. We already miss Murphy and can't wait for return in the fall. We will hope that we can stay at the Sanctuary again so we can see you. The view has lightened our hearts and enriched our souls. Thanks Again....Kathy and Al Lehotsky Springfield, Ohio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The views were unbelievable!!!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We are packed and headed back to sunny Floirda. Have a 10 hour drive on my birthday- but it was well worth it. Guess there's probably so much to do here in NC, but we decided to hibernate in our brief stay here. We enjoyed oput stay so much. The views were unbelievable!!! The owners and Joanie made sure that everything was perfect here for my honey and me-from the grill being ready to a DVD already in the player. WE THANK YOU!!! We are taking w/ us memories neither of us will ever forget. This was our first vacation together and it couldn't have been nicer. Hope you enjoy your stay here at this little piece of heaven on earth! Jeff and Mary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Thank you for opening your home to us! The cabin was what you said, a "Sanctuary in the Sky". We have had many wonderful days making memories here in the smokeys with our family who are residents in Andrews! We hiked in the Joyce Kilmer Forest, Nantahala, us to the cable cemeteries on Fontana and saw the beautiful Dry Falls. These mountains feel like home to me and staying here with everyone made out stay that much more special. The cabin was clean and well organized. You have thought of everything we could have possibly needed. Again, thank you, Jennifer Conrad

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

From the ocean to the NC Mountains and what can we say! It’s a beautiful country we live in- and what makes life so special are the people we meet along the way. By far the southern folks are the best, kindest and the friendliest. Thank you for your loving car Davalee and Al….holly too. We will be back (God Willing) for 2 weeks in the summer. We were very comfortable here in your cabin- it’s so cozy and of course the views are spectacular. Daisy loved the snow and it was a beautiful sigh to see. Dan and Aggie Kuzio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sanctuary has given us the direction

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Sanctuary has given us the direction to put our feet back on the ground. The feeling of peace and calm that we had the moment we stepped into the cabin is hard to describe. This is the first of my family’s new holiday tradition with our son, his wife and our grand dog! It’s been perfect! Al, Davalee and Joanie are the best! I feel like we have met some people that could be lifelong friends. Absolutely wonderful People. PS Holly, you’ve lit that flame in my heart that I thought would never b e rekindled. Bonnie and Ken and Family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Took Pictures of Every View!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Our time here was short, but fun-filled and relaxing. The view is stunning. I took pictures of every view and every angle, even the hummingbird, but he kept dodging the camera. We went white water rafting on the Ocoee river . We also saw a waterfall at Ruyfus Morgan Trail and Falls. Beautiful and worth the hike. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and awesome view. Megan and Kirk Ellis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

God's Awesome Beauty

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Only one day left in this beautiful Sanctuary. There is so much peace and beauty here and we will definitely be back. We had been going to a cabin in Benten Tn But this place is so much more peaceful and lovely. The area is full of God’s awesome beauty and for an outdoor person it is perfect. Even my two young grand-daughters loved it here. We went tubing in Helen, Ga and white water rafting with Appalachian tubing company. I highly recommend them as their price was only $27 compared to the high $30s and up for the other outfitters. They all travel the same section o f the river so you are only paying for a fancier boat. We had a blast and our guide Campbell was a great young man. Thank you for sharing this place with us and thank you for Joanie. She is so wonderful. Linda and Jean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I love it Here!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

I love it here! It is very homey and the view is, I can’t even explain the view. And we love the flowers , they are BEAUTIFUL! We hope we can come back soon this winter. PS. We LOVE how the turkeys walk across the road….thank you, Isabelle, Olivia, Linda and Robert

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful & SO Friendly

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

What a great 2 weeks! Sitting on the porch enjoying the incredible view and loving every minute of the peaceful sounds of nature. We felt miles away from the busy world. Your cabin is charming and most comfortable. Still early enough to appreciate all your beautiful flowers….. and we also appreciate being able to use the garage for the bike and car. Thank you, Davalee and Al for your kindness and for making your home available. Joanie- You have been WONDERFUL and so FRIENDLY. Thanks for all your help. After renting in the area for 20 years, this has been our very best 2 weeks. And what a great workout-just walking up and down the roads and enjoying the forest beauty at the same time! We’d love to come back next fall! Bev and Bob Barton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Cabin So Far!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We come to this area at least 3 times a year. We own property in Brasstown and hopefully will build our own house there. This is the best cabin we have stayed in so far. Davalee had put fresh flowers out in all the pots. The view is superb. Very quiet. Well decorated. My son loved the computer and his own private area in the basement. We hope to return soon. Joanne and Bernard and Steven Berger.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better than a 5 star hotel!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

This has been a short but sweet time in the mountains. We bought property here and this view is almost as spectacular as ours. We love forwart to coming back and staying here again- hopefully the entire week. Staying at the "Sanctuary" is much better than staying at a "5 star hotel"! Thanks for sharing your cute cabin! Nancy and Rocky Gardner.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Love Murphy

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We loved the two weeks we spent in your cabin during the Christmas holiday. We appreciate all the Christmas décor that was placed throughout the cabin. It made it even more special for our daughter Kaitlyn. Thank you again. We had such and good time and we love Murphy. Mike, Cathy and Kaitlyn.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

And "Oh What A View"

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We were looking for a “Sanctuary” and we found it (with a little help from Al). Thank you all for creating an atmosphere of warmth and relaxation. Joanie makes everything so easy and fun that we want to return! Thanks to Davalee, Holly and Cosmo for a lovely visit! Your warm reception and careful planning made our stay a “beary” lovely time….And OH, the VIEW! Sheila and Dick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We’ll miss our wild turkeys every morning.

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Thank you so much for opening your house to us. It was such a great experience and so relaxing. It is a wonderful view and we’ll take home so many fine memories. We’ll miss our wild turkeys every morning. Thanks to Jack and Lynn for inviting us to join them here at the cabin or we would never had such a pleasant experience. No one should leave here unhappy. It is heavenly! Thanks, Dave Gillan and Ruth Martin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

" Sanctuary in the Sky" fits perfectly

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Let me begin with saying the view is spectacular! The name " Sanctuary in the Sky" fits perfectly. I felt like I was on the top of the world. The weather was fabulous and I had a superb time riding my Harley in the mountains. I put on over 1300 miles in just 6 days. I hated to see myt week come to an end. The cabin is beautiful and all the bears are great. Al and Davalee are very friendly and Joanie was a big help in setting this all up. I have stayed in the mountains 5 years in a row now and this place is the BEST! There is a good chance I may come back here next you to stay if you will have me. Thanks for sharing your lovely cabin with me. God Bless, Hal

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be back!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

The view is spectacular. Even our friends who are Murphy residents could not beleive it. Our two weeks here was so restful. Al and Davalee were so friendly and Joanie was terrific from start to finish. No better hosts can be found anywhere. Our little dog PeeWee made friends with Holly and Cosmo. She even got a special visit from Cosmo one day. We couldn't ask for a better vacation and home to be back later this summer.....Ray and Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views Spectacular!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

This was one of the most relaxing weeks we have had in years! The cabin is wonderful and the Views spectacular! Murphy is a great town and we hope to come back soon. Terri and Jim PS- We count 254 Bears including multiple bear images in the bench in the master bedroom- were we close?

Teri and Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A week of renewal

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

The sunrise is spectacular and the cabin is full of love. Thank you for sharing this special space with Wayne and I. Being with old friends and creatins new, made out stay all the better. This week of renewal will remain in my heart ALWAYS. Teresa and Wayne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The sunrise over Peachtree and sunset over Murphy;

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

Thank you for opening your home to us. This has been a wonderful week for us! We really enjoyed the gorgeous views. The sunrise over Peachtree and sunset over Murphy; Perfect! I would have to say it was a bonus to enjoy the snow we got. Perfect for honeymooners to get snowed in on the top of a mountain. The cabin is cozy with everything we needed. The fresh flowers with useful information really made us feel welcome to be here. We are looking forward to staying in your cabin again to see another season of views! Thank you, again, for everything. Jay and Wendi Wininger, Tampa Florida.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I loved the "BEARS"

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

We had no expectations when we started out because so many online places aren't represented properly. Joanie was great in giving information about the cabin and area around Murphy. She interfaced with the owners and we sent our money. When we arrived the cabin was exactly as it was represented plus much more! In reality the cabin was perfect. The furniture was very nice and comfortable and the beds were4 extremly comfortable as well. The Kitchen was so easy to work in and I loved the "bears". This is certainly a place we woudl visit again-especially in leaf season. Thank you all for a really nice visit in NC! Gaylynn and Leoan Werzel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent vacation home!

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Sanctuary in the Sky lives up to its name totally! We felt we were looking down on creation. It was so quiet on the mountaintop. We live at the coast and work in the vacation rental market. This home met all of my expectations and was exactly as advertised.

We enjoyed or 25th wedding anniversary on New Years Eve. Quiet was what we wanted and quiet was what we got. We would wake each morning and laze in bed to watch the sun rise over the mountaintop. The sun popped up over the mountains at 7:47 a.m.!!!! We were fortunate to have the temperatures in the 60s when we arrived then we even had some snow (just a bit) a few days later.

We took a day trip to Tennessee then to Georgia, then back "home”. An absolutely gorgeous drive even in the winter!

We would do my vacation here again in a minute and have recommended it to all of my friends!! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Jimmie and Jenny

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review