reviews for: listing #91523 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Cabin Fever Lodge
  • bedrooms  7
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  35
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $399 - $800 /nt

sort by:

Cabin Fever is a must do!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

Breath taking views, lots of room for everyone, great location and plenty of entertainment for kids of all ages!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoyable gathering location, base camp.

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

The exterior vision of the home is exquisite with the log construction as massive. The layout is unique and interesting. Some of the "junior sleeping areas" make for close friends. The vistas are great and the deck is a place to park in the afternoon and eve. The Jacuzzi works for me; perhaps five others could fit. Visitor please note: the great room media technology, with exception of dishTV channels is from the 1990's. Kitchen equipement, ie.,canopener, spatulars, and other items may be in need of upgrade. Refridgerator space might work for a dozen inhabitants, coolers for beverages required. Top floor bedrooms lack the AC flow of the main floor; screenless windows /deck doors prohibit nighttime open. The Game room space was used by several. Sleepers in that area be advised on the noise issues. The local handiman will want to do a walk-thru with a wrench/allen etc in the bath areas to tighten/adjust periodically. Guests may wish to confirm the accomidations on Pullout sofas: Not a desirable experience, if even functional. Ten minutes gets one down to the main hyway for a mission to shop or explore. I have used HomeAway elsewhere and am aware of the levels of dedication to the experience for the guest. One must hope the local management agent is on top of all.

Owners response: Thanks for your review and feedback. The view of Mount Le Conte and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park is one of the best around and the wrap around deck provides an excellent viewing platform. All the handyman items you mentioned are being addressed. We recently added new dishes to the kitchen and accessories like spatulas, can opener, and coffee makers are next on our upgrade list. We also had an HVAC service call recently to address the upstairs air-flow. The home has 5 king size suites, 1 room with 2 sets of queen bunk beds, 1 room 1 set of queen bunk beds and several sleeper sofas are throughout the home. We can sleep 22 in beds and the others will find accommodations on sleeper sofas. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Cabin Fever Lodge.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Amazing

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

Cabin Fever was absolutely amazing. For a guys retreat, it provided us more than enough room to not feel like we are invading each other's space. The views were spectacular and gave a sense of serenity. I will definitely recommend this place to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The property was excellent! Plenty of room for our entire party!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Loved the property, the view, the location! Was disappointed in the cleanliness of it tho! We must have been the first for the season! Hundreds of dead lady bugs everywhere! The dust above the kitchen sink was gross! The oven door was pretty bad! The floors were sticky! Sorry I have to say these things because we loved the cabin! Who ever is cleaning this property is not doing a very good job! One of the bath tubs leaked and two if the pull out couches on the main floor were broken!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay but confused by the other comments. You called to let me know the shower was leaking but never said anything about the other issues. I was told everything was great. Had I known the other concerns I could have sent cleaning and maintenance in to address these issues while the plumber attended to the shower maintenance. The guests who stayed before and after you were very pleased with the condition if the lodge. As long distance owners we rely on our guests to let us know of any issues that need attention. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Cabin with Unbelievable Views

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

The cabin’s architectural use of large logs was as beautiful and interesting to look at as were the magnificent views. The floor plan worked so well … no bottleneck in the kitchen even though we had 24 guests. Everything in the cabin worked and was clean. Would definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Amazing cabin!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Amenities of the cabin are wonderful!, view from the cabin wonderful, cleanliness and availability of the caretaker was wonderful, road was salted in preparation for the weather, may not be a good idea if expecting bad weather due to the winding road.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TiderinTn

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

Absolutely beautiful cabin. We used it for my wife's parents' 50th wedding anniversary. We had 17 people. Everyone was extremely comfortable, had plenty of room and was completely satisfied with everything. It snowed our first night and the view the next morning of the snow capped mountains was stunning. If you have a chance, don't miss this cabin!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

Cabin Fever was perfect! It has an amazing view and a very welcoming feel. I was very pleased with my stay and would gladly recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXCELLENT EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The view was absolutely incredible! It was such a beautiful place and we wish we could have stayed longer! Everything was clean and provided and we really just enjoyed a great time of fellowship free from the distractions of life! Would suggest this place to all my friends!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wedding reception/getaway

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

My daughter was married in Gatlinburg and we had the reception back at the cabin and it was perfect. Everyone loved the cabin and how spacious it was. Would highly reccomend to anyone with a large group. Was very pleased with amount of towels also!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great vacation rental for large families or gatherings

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

We had 16 family members staying in this cabin for 5 nights and we had plenty of room - everyone had a bed! The views are beautiful and we were close to Gatlinburg, as well as Dollywood, white-water rafting and other activities. The cabin is very comfortable and clean. We were visited by a bear several times who really wanted in the trash cans outside - that was very entertaining! We would definitely stay at this cabin again and do recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Crazy View!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

The view was amazing. Cabin was beautiful. We did have to call back cleaning company. Lots of things got missed (Floors, beds, hot tub, etc). To own a million dollar cabin & not keep up the exterior (chairs. Landscape, stain, etc) takes the WOW factor way down for cost to rent. Property mngr was helpful & tried to assist as best she could from another state. We had (2) bear, gray fox & raccoons that visited every night. Very special to get to share all of that w family!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view and wildlife. Our staff was very attentive to all your requests, even those received at 3am. We strive to make our home an amazing getaway and offer a special experience in the mountains. We value your feedback and appreciate you choosing to stay with us.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

College Buddies Retreat

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

The cabin was perfect. The bedrooms and bathrooms were great! The T.V. was not working properly and the dryer had issues but that didn't matter. We still had a great time and plan to go back. Have 4 bedrooms with king beds was awesome.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for bringing the issues with the TV and dryer to our attention. With 5 king suites and the additional 2 bedrooms/baths, you really have some space to spread out and relax. We are looking forward to you staying with us again. Remember repeat guests receive a 10% discount!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Family Reunion in the Smokies

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful week at Cabin Fever! The view from the cabin was incredible and we spent many hours on the deck watching the ever-changing landscape. This was our first time renting one large house for our family reunion so we weren't sure how it would work out. We loved the large, spacious rooms. The house was big enough that we didn't feel like we were on top of each other and you could always find a quiet area to read if you wanted. We had a wide range of ages (18 months to 88 years) and there was something for everyone. We enjoyed the game room and hot tub, and we had the pool to ourselves. The kitchen area was great too ... Enough counter space for a buffet dinner and seating for everyone. Parking was also not an issue. We'll be back for sure!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are glad to hear that your group had plenty of room and all the age groups enjoyed themselves. The game room and hot tub seem to be favorite spots in the home. It is good to know you had enough space for parking. The long driveway provides quite a few spaces to accommodate a large group. Please let us know when you will be traveling back to the area. We would love for you to stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this cabin! The pictures online cannot do the view justice! The cabin was clean and beautiful. We have small children (2-4 years old) and they had a great time, too. There was plenty of room so everyone in our party had privacy, and the common areas provided plenty of seating for a large group. The decks are beautiful and the area is quiet and peaceful. We have already begun talking about our next trip! Can't reccommend Cabin Fever enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and there was plenty of room for everyone. We appreciate hearing our home was clean and knowing our cleaning/maintenance crew is doing a great job. We look forward to your next stay with us. Remember, returning guests receive a 10% discount!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great St Patricks Weekend with Great Friends

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We LOVED this house!! It was better then we all imagined it would be!! We love the layout of the house, Big, Open, plenty of space. Just Beautiful! We all enjoyed the playroom, we had driving battles each night on the racing game! The Decks are awesome with great views of the Valley and Mountains, So peaceful!! Lots of space to park, we had 6 cars and there was still plenty of room to get around each other! The beds slept well, the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. Loved the decor, We called our trip "The Bear Hunters" with all the cute black bears everywhere. The Bear Hunters will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

pdad

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Beautiful cabin...our group of 12 truly enjoyed our visit...beautiful views...NO WI-FI !!!!....Loved the towels, wish I would have looked to see what kind they were...cabin was very clean....no hot tub or sauna working...we did have a little creature visiting (mice)...the guest in the lower rooms said it was very noisy due to equipment running.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Labor Day Retreat

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

What a great Labor Day. This is the second time we have stayed at Cabin Fever. There were 33 of us there for Labor Day. The view from the decks are georgous. When you are making breakfast for this gang the kitchen and dining space are wonderful. Plenty of room and plenty of pots and pans. The game room is perfect for the big kids and the little kids. It gives the adults time to gather on the decks and make good use of the rockers and the hot tub while the kids are happy to be in the game room. With 7 bedrooms spread out on 3 floors there is plenty of sleeping space. I had 2 brothers and 2 sisters and their entire families there, along with my children and grandchildren. I don't know what else to say but what a great time in the mountains. IT WAS WONDERFUL. Thanks for a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Very nice

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The cabin was very roomy, lots of space and options for ppl to sleep. It was very clean. The views were great, and yes the towels were pretty awesome. The cabin appears to be newer, not run down at all. It was a very nice cabin all in all. The only bad thing was it was further from town that we expected.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

"Great Place for a Reunion"

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 30, 2012

Our group has stayed at this cabin for the last two years. We come from FL, IL. MO and VA. The views are so amazing. Lots of space and we enjoy spending time on the deck. It was really clean and the towels were a lot nicer. We also got a basket of coffee and different creamers with a bag of chocolates this time. We really love it here and went ahead and booked again for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NEW GUEST SERVICES!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

As long distance owners, we rely on and value the opinion of our guests. We/they felt that our old cleaning and maintenance company was not performing adequately and not properly caring for our home and guests. We have hired a new cleaning and maintenance company! They come to us with over 25 years experience in guest services and are highly recommended by local rental companies and other VRBO owners as well. We are very excited to have this new company come on board with us and look forward to working with them. Please come and enjoy the mountains and stay with us!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Hiking Weekend

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had a group of 16 that stayed at the cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day weekend. The cabin is gorgeous as are the views from the balconies. The bedrooms were good sized and well furnished. The kitchen was also well furnished and we had everything we needed to enjoy the weekend. Our group hiked the Ramsey Cascades trail. The trail head is only a few miles from the cabin. We have already booked our return trip for next year and we are expecting a larger group to attend in May 2013.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great view, beautiful home, needs maintenance

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This house has a beautiful view and has about all the features anyone would want in a rental home. The only problem is that the owner is not local and rents the house using an out of town real estate agent. The real estate agent contracts for cleaning with another real estate agency and pays a fee to them for cleaning. Consequently, this house is at the bottom of the list when it comes to cleaning or maintenance. We arrived to find that the house had not been cleaned at all. There were dirty towels in at least one bathroom. The beds had bottom sheets but no top sheets. The hot tub was full of algae. We called the real estate agency and someone came and brought us top sheets and towels. The hot tub was cleaned and refilled and the bathroom was cleaned. When we went to make dinner the first night we found that most of the dishes were dirty. Knives had been used and placed back in the drawer. Pots still had grease in them, etc. None of the bathrooms had rugs making the floor very slippery if you took a bath. The dishwasher bottom rack was missing wheels makine it very hard to push the rack in and out and possibly hindering the effectiveness of the dleaning process. The washing machine was making awful noises. Most of the TV's did not work. There was no trash cans outside. We were told to call for a pickup which I did the first day. I requested a pick up every day and was told this would be done at 9:30 am. However, this did not happen. We were only able to get the trash picked up every other day. The reason I was given for the lack of pick up was that there was only one maintenance man and he took 2 days off.
All of the chests in the bedrooms had enough dust on them to write your name in. The kitchen had 1 dish towel and one sponge. There was barely enough dish soap and dishwasher detergent to do the 5 loads of dishes we had to do just to make dinner the first night since everything was dirty. There is only 1 refrigerator for a 7 bedroom house making it necessary to go to the store alot. The house is infested with carpenter bees and needs to be treated. There were several floor boards on the deck that needed replacing because they were curling up. One smoke detector was hanging off the wall. Many of the table lamps did not work (bad switches). One of the picnic tables was broken and needs to be repaired. Mattresses weren't that good.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: I was so disappointed to hear that you were allowed to check in the home before it had been properly cleaned. There was no excuse for that and that is not how we expect our guests to be treated. As the builder of the home, we use a local rental company to clean and care for our property and guests during their stay. The rental company really let us down on your visit. Due to the local wildlife invading the trash we had to remove the cans but have decided to put more bear proof cans back on the property to make it easier for our guests. The home has been treated for bees but sometimes those pesky things are hard to get rid of. We hope you will consider staying with us again. Remember all repeat guests enjoy a 10% discount!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful Stay at Cabin Fever!

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We enjoyed a 4 day/3 night stay at "Cabin Fever". We had a very large group and this accommodated us all wonderfully! We had all the space we needed, including multiple bedrooms/bathrooms, kitchen area, dining area, living space, and several porches. The view was incredible and truly explained why we call it the Great Smokies! Thank you for this experience and would recommend this to anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED IT!!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay in this cabin! The view was amazing and the home is so beautiful. The family had a great time. We had meals and coffee on the deck, played video games and pool and just really enjoyed hanging out. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cabin Fever Gatlinburg

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

This house is beautiful and has an amazing view. There is enough room to move around that even with as big of a party as we had we never felt cramped. There were some maintenance issues that we were disappointed with (video games not working, main TV going out, sauna not working) but overall we enjoyed our stay. Be prepared for the steep roads leading up to this property - It's worth the view though.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad to hear you liked the cabin and the views! The lodge was featured in Log Home Living magazine a few years back and it was designed with a large family in mind. We are in the process of changing out the video games but the old ones were not removed before your stay. The sauna seems to be a constant maintenance issue and is no longer listed on the VRBO features. At this time, we have been unable to duplicate the issue with the TV but we do appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the mountains and will be back to stay with us again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Weekend 1/27/2012 to 1/29/2012

Review submitted: February 3, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay this past weekend. The view is just incredible, no other words to describe it. The cabin was well equipped and very spacious. The kids loved all the arcade games, pool table, air hockey table, etc. They were well entertained all weeked. We definitely look forward to staying here again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the home and amazing views. We are making lots of upgrades this coming year -- new mattresses and TVs are just a few. We are looking forward to your stay with us again and remember repeat renters enjoy a 10% discount!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review