reviews for: listing #91553 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Opal Cliff Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $345 - $595 /nt
    $2,715 - $3,465 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Family Beach House

Review submitted: August 23, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2014

My mom rented this beach house for our family vacation and we all absolutely loved the house! It was very comfortable and cozy, had plenty of room indoors and out, and is in a great location. We walked everywhere...Pleasure Point, Capitola Village, Shadowbrook for a delicious meal...and also rode bikes to the Santa Cruz Harbor. We hope to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is an absolutely wonderful home!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

Our group felt so fortunate to have discovered this beautiful, well-maintained home- I don't see how it can get any better than this. The location, views, garden, gathering areas, private bedrooms, hot tub, access to private beach and beautiful decor all provided a wonderful experience. Joyce, the owner, provided outstanding service. Try to stay more than a few days to take advantage of all this property has to offer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Suree

Review submitted: June 26, 2014   Date of arrival: June 20, 2014

The house is very nice and comfortable. It accommodates big family or families or group of friends. Very nice views from the second floor of the house. It also has a nice and cozy backyard to chill. Everything in the house make it a very nice stay and convenient.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Suree for your wonderful recommendations!
Please do visit us again. We always want a wonderful, no problem visit from all our guests!
Best, Joyce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful house and host!

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

We visited Santa Cruz with a couple other families for a soccer tournament. Joyce's house was perfect for our group of adults and boys. The house is nicely located within walking distance of the beach, restaurants and shops. Two beautiful decks surround the house, the atrium lets you enjoy the birds flying by and the lush garden surrounds you as you relax in the tub. Joyce is a wonderful host - very responsive and generous. We had a lovely stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Rental

Review submitted: May 26, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

This place is amazing and now my family thinks I'm amazing for finding it. The only drawback is that it is not child friendly. There are lots of stairs, no gates, and tons of fragile decorations both inside and outside. You can have kids in here, but you pretty much have to hover over them.

Other than that, it's a big beautiful house: the kitchen is well stocked, the TV practically flies to the moon for you, the location is gorgeous, the beds are comfortable and the place oozes charm from top to bottom. We never wanted to leave. In fact, we spent more time just hanging out than I would've liked, but I couldn't get them to budge!

Bring your own towels. There aren't a lot of them and they are mainly decorative.

There is a friendly orange cat who hangs out on the decks and in the yard. It's a nice bonus if you miss your pets when you travel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi ! Glad it was an awesome place for you! We take all comments and try and learn better ways to present the property for all types of guests. We do have kids constantly - will try to minimize "risks" - have deferred to parents on gates, etc. as all have their preferred methods. Yes, it is a two story house.
Will add more towels - have beach towels plus 3 sets per bathroom.
Friendly cat does belong to a neighbor.....moving soon :(.
Thanks much for your good ideas and inputs! Visit us again....
Joyce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

This home is absolutely fantastic! It is like coming home. The kitchen is fabulous, the living room and adjoining area are light and wonderful. The back deck and yard are great for outdoor dinners and reading. Our son walked to the Hook nearly every day and we enjoyed many walks around the Point and into Capitola. The location is great and the home is a dream!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We love it when our guests are totally happy with their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

My sisters and I have been renting this property every year for the last ten years. We love the location, the decor and the neighborhood. I highly recommend this wonderful house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Better than chocolate

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

The home is unbelievable and the pictures just do not do it justice. Upon arriving I was amazed at the warmth the home had to offer, so welcoming and very relaxing. It was perfect for our girls' weekend with plenty of space for the 4 of us to stretch out without feeling like we were tripping over each other. We were sad to leave, but will definitely be back next year.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great location and rental experience!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We booked this home for the Martin Luther King weekend and brought our two dogs. The house was very clean and spacious as advertised, and the location was wonderful. After what had been a couple of cold weeks in Sacramento we were thrilled to arrive here on a spectacular weekend of 70+ degree days and lots of sunshine. We walked to the Capitola village a couple of times, and enjoyed wine on the deck as the sun went down. The owner was super easy to work with and the house had lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. The only negative was that the large DLP television in the main living room seems to need a new bulb--the picture was faded and the bright sunlight in the upper living area made it more difficult to see. It was the last NFL playoff game so we had to watch the 49ers win in on the smaller TV in the family room. It was not a huge deal, and the owner has been super gracious and understanding about the minor chewing my dog did to one of the window frames so I am not complaining.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your response and feedback. Since the visit we have replaced the tv with a 55" plasma flatscreen. All is well! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Opal Cliffs house

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We loved the house. It felt very homey. Everything we needed was there. We appreciated the bikes in particular and the tea. Lots of room to spread out with decks front and back plus a backyard garden that is lovely. Great location. Even though not on the beach it is across the street with a private entry to a small beach. Just down the street from the famous O'Neill surfing area. You can bike to Capitola. Only hitch is climbing the hill coming back but you can walk the first part if you want.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Opal Cliff House is Awesome!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This is the 2nd time my family and I have stayed at the Opal Cliff beach house in Santa Cruz, California. IT has a terrific view of the Pacific Ocean off the front deck-the perfect place to have a cocktail. And if the ocean breeze is alittle chilly, then light a fire in the charming chimanea.
The back deck is great for bbq and the stairs lead down to a charming garden with a hot tub. Rooms are comfy and cozy and clean. And LOVE the eclectic, but comfortable decor.
The house is within walking distance to the beach and also to the small town of Capitola where Margaritaville, other restaurants and night life and shopping are. Loved it!
We will definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect House

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We just spent the most wonderful week with our family at the Opal Cliffs Beach House. It was exactly as pictured and described. The location was fantastic. We spent alot of time in the beautiful town of Capitola playing at the beach with our three year old granddaughter. The restaurants were fantastic. It was a great location for day trips to Monterey and Big Sur. We also enjoyed the Private's Beach and the wonderful yard that our granddaugher called her fairy garden. The house had everything we needed. We especially appreciated the bikes, beach chairs and beach toys stored in the garage. Our children made use of the wetsuits provided. We loved the big screen tv and the views from the solarium. The house was clean and well maintained. We loved the fact that Whole Foods was nearby and really enjoyed eating at Dharmas (vegetarian food). We would definitely recommend this property to family and friends. Thanks for a wonderful 60th birthday family celebration.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

this is our sixth year staying at Opal Cliff Beach House for our summer vacation.....I can't tell you what a wonderful time we have and what it means to our family......the house has everything for us to enjoy our stay....

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review