reviews for: listing #91553 - Santa Cruz, California House rental

Opal Cliff Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $345 - $595 /nt
    $2,715 - $3,465 /wk

sort by:

Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 24, 2013

This home is absolutely fantastic! It is like coming home. The kitchen is fabulous, the living room and adjoining area are light and wonderful. The back deck and yard are great for outdoor dinners and reading. Our son walked to the Hook nearly every day and we enjoyed many walks around the Point and into Capitola. The location is great and the home is a dream!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We love it when our guests are totally happy with their stay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Beach House!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

My sisters and I have been renting this property every year for the last ten years. We love the location, the decor and the neighborhood. I highly recommend this wonderful house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Better than chocolate

Review submitted: May 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

The home is unbelievable and the pictures just do not do it justice. Upon arriving I was amazed at the warmth the home had to offer, so welcoming and very relaxing. It was perfect for our girls' weekend with plenty of space for the 4 of us to stretch out without feeling like we were tripping over each other. We were sad to leave, but will definitely be back next year.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great location and rental experience!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

We booked this home for the Martin Luther King weekend and brought our two dogs. The house was very clean and spacious as advertised, and the location was wonderful. After what had been a couple of cold weeks in Sacramento we were thrilled to arrive here on a spectacular weekend of 70+ degree days and lots of sunshine. We walked to the Capitola village a couple of times, and enjoyed wine on the deck as the sun went down. The owner was super easy to work with and the house had lots of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. The only negative was that the large DLP television in the main living room seems to need a new bulb--the picture was faded and the bright sunlight in the upper living area made it more difficult to see. It was the last NFL playoff game so we had to watch the 49ers win in on the smaller TV in the family room. It was not a huge deal, and the owner has been super gracious and understanding about the minor chewing my dog did to one of the window frames so I am not complaining.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your response and feedback. Since the visit we have replaced the tv with a 55" plasma flatscreen. All is well! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Opal Cliffs house

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We loved the house. It felt very homey. Everything we needed was there. We appreciated the bikes in particular and the tea. Lots of room to spread out with decks front and back plus a backyard garden that is lovely. Great location. Even though not on the beach it is across the street with a private entry to a small beach. Just down the street from the famous O'Neill surfing area. You can bike to Capitola. Only hitch is climbing the hill coming back but you can walk the first part if you want.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Opal Cliff House is Awesome!

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This is the 2nd time my family and I have stayed at the Opal Cliff beach house in Santa Cruz, California. IT has a terrific view of the Pacific Ocean off the front deck-the perfect place to have a cocktail. And if the ocean breeze is alittle chilly, then light a fire in the charming chimanea.
The back deck is great for bbq and the stairs lead down to a charming garden with a hot tub. Rooms are comfy and cozy and clean. And LOVE the eclectic, but comfortable decor.
The house is within walking distance to the beach and also to the small town of Capitola where Margaritaville, other restaurants and night life and shopping are. Loved it!
We will definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect House

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

We just spent the most wonderful week with our family at the Opal Cliffs Beach House. It was exactly as pictured and described. The location was fantastic. We spent alot of time in the beautiful town of Capitola playing at the beach with our three year old granddaughter. The restaurants were fantastic. It was a great location for day trips to Monterey and Big Sur. We also enjoyed the Private's Beach and the wonderful yard that our granddaugher called her fairy garden. The house had everything we needed. We especially appreciated the bikes, beach chairs and beach toys stored in the garage. Our children made use of the wetsuits provided. We loved the big screen tv and the views from the solarium. The house was clean and well maintained. We loved the fact that Whole Foods was nearby and really enjoyed eating at Dharmas (vegetarian food). We would definitely recommend this property to family and friends. Thanks for a wonderful 60th birthday family celebration.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

this is our sixth year staying at Opal Cliff Beach House for our summer vacation.....I can't tell you what a wonderful time we have and what it means to our family......the house has everything for us to enjoy our stay....

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review