reviews for: listing #91555 - Anaheim, California Townhome rental

Walnut Meadows- Walk To The Happiest Place On Earth
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pepperwood
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $230 - $260 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,600 /wk
    $4,600 - $5,200 /mth

sort by:

can't say anything but good

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2012

We stayed here with 2 kids and 2 adults. I couldn't imagine staying in a hotel with this tribe! The place has its fair share of wear and tear from being a rental but all in all it was a great place to stay. Its about a half to three quarters of a mile walk to the tram. Can't complain. Very quiet and comfortable. Slept very well and was nice and clean.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A nice retreat for families

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

I was nervous about our stay after reading the last few reviews. Thankfully we had a much better experience than they did. Our condo was very clean when we arrived and the staff was excellent to work with.
Everything we needed was provided. My only negative for the complex was that the exterior of the buildings looked kind of run down. But upon walking into the condo, I was pleasantly surprised on how updated and appealing the condo itself was.
We enjoyed the playground that is close to the condo. We did not swim in the pools since we vacationed in November but was impressed with the quality and size of the pools. ( Yes pools) There is a regular pool, a kid pool, and a seperate Adult only pool. All in great condition.
The walk to the tram is not as far as I expected. It was so nice to have a place to hang out and relax away from the park ( and not all cramped in a hotel room).

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Do Not Recommend!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

We do not recommend this rental. We had a family of six stay here for a week. It was filthy! After we arrived, our family had to spend hours just making it livable. We had to wash the bedding, because the sheets were dirty, there were urine stains on the mattresses, our socks and feet were black from the dirty floors, the dishes in the cupboard were covered in old food, and we had to go shopping for T.P., hand and dish soap, and paper towels. We informed the owner after we arrived of some of our issues, and we were treated so disrespectfully. They said we needed to wash the sheets, that they would come in the morning to give us new sheets, and return our cleaning fee, but they never came, never called, we never heard from them again. Before our stay, I had seen a review that this place was dirty and told the owner of our concerns, and she assured me we would be pleased with the cleanliness, but in the end, they had no concern for the happiness of their renters.

Owners response: While we appreciate all feedback, we are quite certain that this review does not reflect the truth about the property, nor the behavior of the owners. The owners were extremely careful about the cleanliness of the property, and went to extraordinary lengths to ensure the satisfaction of all guests. After numerous exchanges by phone and email with these guests (contradicting the claim that "[the owners] were never heard from again"), there is ample evidence to suggest that this party was simply looking to extort a free Disney vacation by threatening to write a bad review. As no refund was deserved or forthcoming, they made good on their threat and this review was posted. Because of the situation described above, AE Hospitality (the property's new management team) has investigated the claims, and passed this review for reconsideration to the Reviews & Fraud Department at HomeAway Property Managers Team. We urge everyone to read the many positive reviews for Walnut Meadows, and you will see that almost all previous guests gave this property 4 or 5 stars with glowing comments. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Decent place, sounded a little better on paper than it was in person

Review submitted: September 16, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The condo was decent. I wouldn't say it was fabulous for a couple of reasons. First, I'd like to note that the faults were not the Owners trouble, they were just part of the unit. I dealt mostly with the owner until just before we left for our vacation and then, out of no where, I got an email from a hospitality team. It would have been helpful to get a 'heads up' email from the owner when they hired the team, but I figured things out on my own.

While the unit was air conditioned, the top floor DIDN'T ever get cool. It could be freezing cold downstairs and about 10 to 15 degree's warmer upstairs.

Second, the whole condo complex (All of the condos in general) made me fee a little uneasy. We didn't have any trouble with people who lived there or anything, but there was a lot of noise and younger people, who were more into the party stage of their lives. Any given time, although mainly in the evenings, you could smell somethings being smoked that were perhaps illegal.

The walk to the Mickey & Friends parking lot to catch the Tram to the gates of the parks was not bad, only about 3 blocks, but this is after crossing a VERY busy street (2 lanes going both directions) with no nearby crosswalk. If you have small children, keep them close when in the complex and crossing the street.

The Condo itself was decent, however the master bed was horrible. It's a very hard and uncomfortable mattress. I realize this is a rental unit, but perhaps a decent bed would be appreciated.

We never did find a music library (or where to play one) and the video library consisted of maybe 6 movies, none of which were Disney, if memory serves. This was only a tad annoying because we were at the parks every night, but it would have been nice to have some things to watch.

Also, I'd highly recommend the hospitality team or owner, sit down one day and make up a listing of channels the TV gets, as well as which languages the channels are in. We didn't find English speaking, major networks until our second day there (again, not a lot of time was spent on this, but I do enjoy the news in the mornings).

When we booked this unit, the nightly rates were less which makes most things easy to overlook. I would still recommend this unit to anyone, as overall it was clean, easy to find, and close to the parks.

The hospitality team were nice and took the time to even look for an item we thought we'd left behind. The owner was very nice as well and responded quickly to emails.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Vacation Home!!!

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Our family thoroughly enjoyed the stay at Walnut Villa. We were recommended to the condo by our friends who had stayed here during summer.

The community where the villa is located is just pso close to Disneyland - it is amazingly convenient if you're planning multiple trips during the day to keep energy levels high for your Disneyland adventures.

The villa has many cheerful Disney decorations within it - our kids really enjoyed that, as well as their room with the bunk bed. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and silverware. The villa is airy and quite spacious, and being a corner unit, is very well ventilated.
Our host, Patricia, put a lot of thought and attention to detail to ensure our stay was perfect. She arranged for a double stroller, and was very prompt in attending to our queries. She is extremely professional, and will go out of her way to ensure your well-being.
This is truly vacation homes at its best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental needing some deep cleaning

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

I took my wife and kids to Disneyland for 3 days. My kids are 3 and 1 and needless to say they loved the Disney themed home. The location is close to the park however we chose to drive because it was easier with the kids and our package with AAA included parking. The pictures are very accuarte of the home and could easily fit two small families. The kitchen has been updated and is very nice. The counters were not wiped down and had a sticky film on them on arrival. The cupboards had some dust built up and also needed a good cleaning. There were enough utensils to get through the week however we couldn't find additional trash bags. The floors in the kitchen and living room were filthy. My kids feet and my white socks turned black after a short time. I mentioned this to the owner and she was willing to send the cleaning crew however we had to be there for them to enter. Since we left at 7am and got back after 11pm each day, this wasn't a feasible option for us. I hope the $130 I paid for cleaning gave the people after us a nice clean place. The upstairs was in good shape and had 2 pack n' play cribs available. The kids room also had three levels of beds (see picture) which our kids loved. Water pressure in showers were great and the kids had plenty of space in the oversized tub. The staircase to get upstairs was a hazard to my 1 year old. There are 3-4 stairs that drop-off with no handrail. Not an issue for my 3 year old but it required we block off the stairs so my 1 year old couldn't climb them. I would suggest bringing a baby gate if you have kids crawling and newly walking. There was a lot of noise at the unit bacause of construction going on across the way. Because this is a townhouse complex there was also loud music from other owners. This wasn't a big deal because we were not at the unit much during the day. One nice benefit was that we could hear and see the fireworks from Disneyland. The unit has a beautiful washer and dryer and the AC works great. Laslty, the owner was very accommdating and easy to work with. We would recommend this to anyone looking for an economical trip to Disneyland (assuming the unit was properly cleaned).

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your feedback and comments. Your feedback is always important to us - and gives us both perspective of how we are doing, and fuel to strive to do even better for our future guests

We are really glad to know that you and your family had a wonderful time at our villa. Thank you for your kind words with regards to our decor, amenities, style, and location.

Regarding the issue of cleanliness, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We take cleanliness very seriously. To leave no stones unturned, we encourage you to let us know within 24 hours of check-in if you have any issues with cleanliness of the property. We have a contract with the cleaning agency that mandates them to provide for a complimentary cleaning of the property if there are any complaints by guests within 24 hours of check-in. Your complaint to us was made on the THIRD day , which was also the LAST day of your stay, almost 72 hours after initial check-in.As we communicated to you in our rental agreement, and also in communications with you during your stay, we were willing to offer you a complimentary cleaning never the less, at our cost. However, this was declined by you.

Also, to assure our future renters that we care and we take guest comments very seriously so that we can serve you better, we have partnered with 'AE Hospitality' an expert in hospitality industry and we (owners) are very confident that our guests will have a great experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Greatest place to stay

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Loved the condo, it was perfect for having two small children. Condo was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.. I would rent again and will suggest it to anyone that has plans on going to Disneyland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

our first family vacation

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We came to Anaheim for our first ever family vacation with all nine of our children. Having such a large family made it impossible to fit into a small hotel room, so we decided to rent a townhouse instead. We sure lucked out by finding this house right across the street from Disneyland! The owners of the house made our stay pleasant from the start by accommodating our needs for a baby stroller, highchair and pack n play crib. The house was so clean and decorated in a child friendly fashion with Disney characters on the walls. My little ones affectionately referred to it as our "Disney house". There was plenty of space for us to bunk in all the kids and everyone had a wonderful time. The community playground and pool were nice benefits to staying at this house. We enjoyed the kitchen as it gave us an opportunity to save money by cooking breakfasts at the house. When we requested extra blankets, they sent someone over right away to provide us with them. I am pleased to say that staying at this house helped us to have a wonderful first vacation. We were worried about the trip because several of our children are autistic, but having such a comfortable place to rest in between trips to Disneyland made it all possible for is. Their kindness even extended to after the trip when I forgot my beloved kindle, and the owners searched the house and found ot for me, and mailed it back swiftly and without a complaint. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and hope that we get the chance to visit California again someday. If you are looking for a great place to stay, we can highly recommend this property!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Atmosphere

Review submitted: May 4, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Thank you for the friendly, and comfortable place to stay that was an easy walk to the tram and minutes away from Disneyland. Even the three year old was able to walk the short distance. The kids loved their room and called the villa their Disney Home. Appreciated the hair dryer and everything in the kitchen required to eat, drink and feel right at home. The beds were very comfortable after a long day of fun. However, weather didn't allow us to try out the pool. We will be back and will definately share your address with friends who are planning a trip to Disneyland. So much better than a hotel and reasonably priced too. We appreciated your email lists of restaurants, hospitals etc. Thanks again for making our stay perfect.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation Home!

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

Thank you Owners, for letting us rent your fantastic home.We were so happy with your hospitality and your attention to details.We had everything we needed in the home, with a fully stocked kitchen,every appliance we needed , super comfy beds and the day bed in the living area was such a huge plus! Thank you again for this lovely vacation and we will recommend to family and friends and we will surely stay here again!

Alex

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent place for a one-week vacation

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

What a great place to stay for Disneyland holiday. Very clean and convenient within walking distance to Disney parking tram. Owner is very responsive. We also needed more blankets so we call Patricia. Her husband brought additional blanket right away. We very appreciate all the deails this owner provides. We are a family of five with young kids and will definitely stay there next time. The 9:30 pm fireworks at Disneyland was a little scary when we did not know it was the fireworks and we had already slept. But all in all, a great experience!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very Enjoyable Stay!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

What a delightful townhouse. Our expectations of how the place was presented was very accurate.Our owner was very attentive and helpful. We felt safe and comfortable. Lovely to have a washer/dryer and full kitchen accomodations. Rooms were neatly decorated. We especially appreciated the cleanliness of the place. We would definitely stay here again. And we will tell others of this rental. Loved the convenience of walking to Disney. A minor detail is that we would have liked more blankets. There was one or two steps which needed a little repair. Those are MINOR details. Just giving you some feed back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

fun, fun, fun

Review submitted: April 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

The townhome was exactly what we needed. My 3 girls loved the bedroom and each had their own bed. The townhome had everything we needed and was close to Disneyland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond our expectations!

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Dearest Patricia,
We (family of 5, including Grandparents) were very satisfied with your condo.It was very clean, comfortable, and spacious. Having use of the kitchen made it much more practical than being squeezed up in a hotel room. Thank you very much for your attention

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Vacation Heaven for Disneyland

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 8, 2012

We had an amazing time at this beautiful vacation house. Everything you see from the photographs is everything you get. The condo is so nice and clean, and very kid friendly, with all the facility you need. It is 100% home if not more than a home

Thank you Patricia :-)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved it

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Dear Patricia,
We just wanted to thank you for making your 'Magic Villa' available . Our kids loved the rental's amazing disney theme. There were plenty of squeals from the little ones when they entered their bedroom and saw all the stuffed toys. The condo was just right for our family of six, including grandparents. They truly appreciated sleeping in the day-bed downstairs. Much more comfortable than sofa-beds, and the privacy curtains were very thoughtful of you to provide. They converted the living room to a third bedroom with minimum fuss.

The location is exactly as advertised. With a duo stroller, we could easily walk to the tram station at the mickey mouse parking. That just gave us the chance to plan our day with a lot of liberty.

Again, many thanks for making our experience so joyful.
Cheers,
George & Family.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it.

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Dear Patricia,
We just wanted to thank you for making your 'Magic Villa' available . Our kids loved the rental's amazing disney theme. There were plenty of squeals from the little ones when they entered their bedroom and saw all the stuffed toys. The condo was just right for our family of six, including grandparents. They truly appreciated sleeping in the day-bed downstairs. Much more comfortable than sofa-beds, and the privacy curtains were very thoughtful of you to provide. They converted the living room to a third bedroom with minimum fuss.

The location is exactly as advertised. With a duo stroller, we could easily walk to the tram station at the mickey mouse parking. That just gave us the chance to plan our day with a lot of liberty.

Again, many thanks for the wonderful experience. Loved it!
Cheers,
George & Family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Location and Great Villa for Kids!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

--Indeed the closest place to Disney
--Excellent place for visting Disney
--Walking Distance to Disney Shuttle will save you 15$ for parking
--Very friendly owners and will look after your needs personally
We had a very fun 5 day stay at the villa. We were greeted my Mickey and friends all over the home. Our kids enjoyed the stay very much. The bunk-bed was there favourite place to go after coming home from Disney.
The kitchen helped us too to eat some good cooked food.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to everybody.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review