reviews for: listing #91569 - Lido Key, Florida Condo rental

Pelican Gardens
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pelican Gardens
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $500 - $700 /wk
    $1,000 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

Perfect Location for Active Travelers

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We really lucked out with this location. A 15 minute walk or short bike ride to the Circle, a nice bike ride to bird key and ringling bridge, a kayak slip at the park behind the complex, a trail for our dog, and a quick jot down the street to the beach access. Complex is quiet. Pool is right in front of you. Its clean and was practically empty most of the time we were there (off season though).

The apartment was very clean as promised and comfortable for us - two adults and two elementary age kids. The owners provided us with sheets, towels, cleaning supplies, paper products. Kitchen had the basics but I did bring my keurig coffee maker and blender. Kitchen could use a baking sheet and some tupper ware for leftovers if you cook a lot as we did. Also I purchased a big coffee mug as the one's in the apt are small. I loved the office nook in the bedroom and could work quietly each morning while kids were asleep!

the only concern we raised to the owners, and they quickly responded, was the cable. The complex only has basic cable so be prepared to not have access to anything beyond the networks and PBS. They do provide two dvd players - one for living room and one for bedroom, But one wasn't working. We did not contact them about it as we just made due. I'm sure they would have responded to our concern.

another thing to be aware of is that the bedroom door and bathroom door do not lock. If its only two adults, its not an issue, but with 4 we had lots of close calls and privacy was difficult. Also, get yourself some quarters for the laundry ahead of time.

I will say check out was hard to manage as the sheets and towels need to be laundered prior to leaving. Trying to get that done in the morning so there was a fresh bed and still get out for a long drive was tough.

We would definitely stay again as you can't beat the convenience of the location and what you are close too. It was clean, comfortable, and the owners are good people. I would rather rent from them than some over-priced hotel on the key. Now if you want the Ritz, this is not it, but if you want a home away from home you got it.

My husband is from SRQ and I lived there for 5 years so we are locals. And as locals I can say that this is a spot you shouldn't pass up if its available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A True Vacation!

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

During our stay at Pelican Gardens we discovered how cool this condo is. It is within walking or biking distance to everything on the island, and this unit gives you a relaxed feel. The two recliners are what you need to unwind in after shelling, biking, walking, kayaking, or swimming. The kitchen has all the basics for those who want to eat-in and in the rear of the unit is a great patio to sit or store your bikes at night. The King size bed is very comfy, so going to sleep will not be a problem after a day of fun. The year round residents of the Complex are very friendly and helpful so don't be afraid to ask questions or get advice. Oh yeah! The pool is so awesome to come home to after a day in the sun, so jump-in.

Lido is a great home point to travel 15 to 30 mins in any direction to arrive at an all new adventure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

February stay

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

I will not be recommending this property. The unit was quite cluttered with pictures, keepsakes, and too much furniture. The table was a high top table which does not work with young children and older adults. The enclosed patio furniture was soiled. The toilet had to have special attention by jiggling the handle. The outside back patio needed cleaned.
The 1950s property and its swimming pool area needed additional cleaning as the lawn furniture was dirty and the flowerpots held dead flowers even though it was growing season for flowers. We were not given timely attention to our problem with an animal in the unit. We have yet to receive compensation for this problem.
The proximity to St. Armand's Circle and the beach was great.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate all constructive criticism concerning our unit as it helps us make things better for future renters.

Issues that have been addressed have been resolved. The back patio has been power washed and the patio furniture has been cleaned. Due to a large tree in the back, leaves need to be removed daily as they fall. Also, the toilet handle has been repaired.

Our unit has a cozy and comfortable feel, a true home-away-from-home! It is designed to help you feel at home yet on a beach vacation.

We hope to be of service to anyone wanting a relaxing time while you stay in the Lido Keys area.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Grab this unit if it is available!

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

This first floor remodeled unit has everything you could possibly want. It is spacious, quiet and has new...very comfortable living room and bedroom furnishings. The king size bed is like you would have at home. Two tvs, wi-fi and desk area in the bedroom, if you would like to catch up on a little work or keep up with friends and family. You can walk to world famous St. Armands Circle and there is a transit service, if you do not want to drive or do not have a car with you, to most everywhere in Sarasota County. You are within walking distance to the Ritz-Carlton Tiki Bar and the public beach. The heated pool is right across from the unit.

I will definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review