reviews for: listing #91771 - Kure Beach, North Carolina House rental

Your Kure Beach House
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,995 - $4,350 /wk

sort by:

Our stay at Kure Beach

Review submitted: June 28, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We had a fantastic time. The owners have taken great pride in furnishing their rental property. They went above and beyond. They provided everything we could possibly want from kitchen equipment to towels, sheets, toilet paper, laundry soap, beach toys, beach towels, etc. There were 10 people in our party and plenty of room in each bedroom with great closet space.
The rooms were very spacious. The property was very clean inside and out. Overall, an excellent experience. We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're so glad you guys had a great time at Your Kure Beach House. It was great getting to know you over the course of our phone calls before and during your stay, and we hope to host your family again one day! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls' weekend out

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

My girlfriends and I take an annual outage to the beach. This year we were thrilled to find this home! It had all we could have asked for including towels, sheets, shampoo, etc as well as beach towels, umbrellas, bikes, games and on and on! House was roomy and comfortable with more than enough beds and bathrooms for 6 women. Location was perfect with fantastic beach frontage! We sat at table on deck playing games or just relaxing. It was close enough to Carolina beach to visit and very close to the aquarium. It was the best girls' weekend so far!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're thrilled Your Kure Beach House was everything you hoped for and we're honored you chose us for your special time together. Glad we could play a small part in your best-so-far annual girls' getaway!!! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Home that made our vacation!

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Like many others who rather blindly try to find a beach house that would meet our needs, we ultimately chose Ron and Carrie's beach house to spend our first ever week at Kure Beach. What a great choice it was. The home is absolutely beautiful and was everything we could hope for. Having towels (beach and bath) and linens provided was a huge benefit. And it's all the small stuff that really adds up (starter supplies of laundry detergent, paper towels, spices, oil, tons of sand toys for the kids, boogie boards), and the list goes on and on. We were fortunate to meet Ron and Carrie and they gave us some great restaurant suggestions. And of course we love both Currie Beach and the great amusement area at neighboring Carolina Beach. Thanks Ron and Carrie for all the thought you put into ensuring our vacation was nothing short of spectacular. We of course are making a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind comments! Making sure our guests have everything they need for a GREAT family vacation is our top priority. And again, we really appreciate you helping us repair the outdoor shower during your stay. Glad we could recommend some good restaurants for you all...now we have another good excuse for trying out some new ones in Wilmington and along the coast as we prepare to welcome you back for your next visit in August!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MN Beach Bums

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time with our family and want to thank you for all the extra special things we found there. Everything was exactly as you had indicated and then some. We were touched by the extra thoughtfulness you extended through the gift package and cold water in the refrigerator. You went above and beyond by providing us with a bocce ball set. We trust many more guests will get as much enjoyment out of it as we did. I was so thankful for the crock pot that was there also. (I see that it was new) So fun to put meals in it when we head to the beach and then have it ready when we return. Also loved the shampoo and soap dispensers. So convenient. This is the first time we have rented a place with linens provided and now I am spoiled!! We always would haul all the sheets, towels, beach towels, and beach chairs in our van from MN. We did still bring our own boogie boards and surf boards as the boys have their "special" ones. Kids certainly enjoyed the beach toys.

We do not do any other activities while we are there so we truly enjoy the access to the beach. Our days consist of: breakfast, beach, lunch, naps, snacks, beach, supper, beach, kids to bed and adults play games and eat more snacks. We enjoy our family time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind comments! We LOVE your beach schedule...fantastic way to maximize vacation/relaxation and family time! So glad you made the trip from MN to the NC coast this summer and we hope to host your family again next year!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic Kure Beach House!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The Beach house is fantastic1Amazing Amenities,clean,homey and relaxing.We enjoyed the beach,views,and places to eat.The owners are great to work with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Rental!

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We have rented many beach houses but this one was one of our favorites. The house was spotless when we arrived. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked. I loved all the added touches. Spices, oils, sugar, coffee, etc. We really saved money in this area. It was also nice that laundry detergent was provided. We had a group of 12. Sleeping arrangements were perfect. The owner was so nice. I emailed her before arrival and asked if there was a crock pot. She said there was. I had planned a meal around that. Turns out it was not at the house. I contacted the owner and she had one delivered in just a few hours. If I have to add a negative I would say the living area was a bit small but with the lovely seating area outside we were fine. The driveway is quite small too. We had 5 cars and it was tough getting out. We had to have someone direct us because you cannot see oncoming traffic as you are backing out. But the few negatives will not keep us from renting this house again. Great location. We watched the July 4 fireworks from the deck and the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for sharing your review, Christine, and glad you all had a great time at Your Kure Beach House...we aim to please! Sorry to hear about the difficulties you had getting out of the driveway...it does get pretty busy out there on the beach during the summer; seems like a steady stream of cars going by some days. We're looking forward to hosting you again someday soon. Best wishes! Carrie and Ron

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A rental house that felt like my own

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

In my opinion, the ultimate indicator for whether or not you've had a great stay at a rented beach house is when you begin to think of the beach house as "MY beach house."

Not at one time during our week-long stay were we reminded that our accommodations were rented. From the thoughtfully selected furnishings to the collection of DVDs stored beneath the enormous flat screen, everything here is designed to feel like home (that just happens to be on a gorgeous stretch of beach.) My family settled in immediately, finding every comfort readily available: coffee maker, boogie boards, toiletries, beach chairs, wine glasses, televisions, video game consoles, and an impressive number of cotton beach towels. We were not left wanting.

Is the house clean? Fastidiously so. Is it spacious? The house is endless with well-appointed bedrooms and seating areas. Is it ideally located? We were within reasonable walking distance to everything Kure Beach offers – dining, the pier, the aquarium, even the Fort Fisher Civil War museum. (All of which are excellent diversions!)

If you're plotting an escape to Kure Beach, I can't recommend this house with more enthusiasm. Though my family and I had planned a number of excursions away from the beach, we remained cloistered in this magnificent house, with the Atlantic ocean and the charm of Kure Beach serving as entertainment. My only complaint is that we eventually had to leave.

At the end of the stay, as my family dragged themselves out the door and into the car, I reflect on how much I was going to miss this beach house.

MY beach house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything we needed and more

Review submitted: January 5, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Your Beach House. Everything we needed, and more, was there. We used the bicycles, the fishing poles, and the beach toys. And what a pleasant surprise to find so many useful items in the kitchen - spices, oils, flour, plenty of dish soap, dishwasher detergent, etc., not to mention the very nice and complete assortment of pots and pans and dishes. The whole house was spotless, tastefully decorated, and the bedrooms were complete with comfortable beds and all the linens needed. Eight of us enjoyed the house with no crowding. We frequently commented on how thoughtful you were to supply all the necessities that vacationers would want.

Although the weather was a bit chilly for sitting on the deck, we think that the table and the comfortable furniture you've provided are a big plus. Hopefully we can return someday to log some good "deck sitting" time! I have already recommended your house to several of my friends. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a week in Kure beach with our family and our best friends family the week after Labor Day. The weather was perfect, and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. There really wasn’t anything we needed that wasn’t already there: a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, beach towels, tv/dvd players in every room, bicycles, beach toys for the kids, beach chairs, umbrellas, and board games. Not only that, but I even got to embarrass myself in an attempt to surf. Also, the beach house is so close to some great local attractions of Britts Doughnuts, the Acquarium, local ice cream shops, and the Kure Beach Pier. Some of my favorite memories of the week include: watching the kids morning dash to the beach, listening to the ocean while going to sleep, eating dinner with our families on the deck, and my personal favorite of taking a nap in the hammock every afternoon.
The entire week gave us all a chance to step back from our busy lives, and I am counting the days till we go back again next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing beach front house!

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

We flew in from Colorado to visit my sister in North Carolina. We all rented this beach house with five small children and four adults. The kids loved playing on the beach - which had great sand and small waves. We don't go to the ocean often, so this was a real treat. The house was huge and plenty of room for all of us. The owners really went above and beyond. My "OCD"/clean-freak wife was in heaven. Everything was organized, labeled, and available that you could think of. Booster seats, baby gates, zip locks, salt, cooking oil, beach toys, beach towels, TVs in every room, Wii for the kids, knifes, cook ware, and so on.
There was nothing missing. It was nice to just relax as if at home and not worry about running to the grocery store to pick up some essential.

I don't usually write reviews, but we were so impressed with this rental, I wanted to give the owners and cleaning staff kudos.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Debra and Brian....we really appreciate your kind comments about our home! We passed your kudos along to Kristin, our fellow OCD/clean freak housekeeper as well. Thanks for staying at Your Kure Beach House! Carrie and Ron

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

This was a post that we received on our "Your Kure Beach House" Facebook page:


This was an amazing vacation that I got to enjoy with my friends! Outside of the great company, the house itself was gorgeous- and there was so much room on each floor. The view was breathtaking --- we even saw two weddings on the beach from our balcony. The house was extremely clean, very well decorated ---all of which made for a relaxing, care-free time. The home provided all of the amenities that you could ask for, and then some--bikes, surf boards, toys, a pack and play, water toys, etc. There was nothing that we needed to rent or buy which made the experience even more enjoyable.

I plan to make this a yearly vacation with my family.

Thank you for such a great experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Beach House, perfect for families with kids

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 16, 2012

We LOVED our stay at this beach house. Very well decorated, loved the floor-plan with plenty of room for four adults and five kids. Kitchen was very well stocked and it was easy to locate items. Amazing views of the ocean. Loved waking up to see the sunrise and waves crashing on the beach right from our bedroom. Very clean and well maintained. I would love to go back and stay longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Top Notch! A+++

Review submitted: October 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

This place is absoutely AMAZING! Great location, everything provided for, FEELS like home and so wonderful to be at! We love it here and want to come back again! Even the drive down from SC was gorgeous! I absoutely cannot wait what the next few days will be like. Thumbs up from us Porterfields! Love you guys!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Vacation on the Beach

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We had such a great time at your house. We had a house with adults and children ranging in age from 11 yrs to 23 months and they all had a great time. Your house had everything we could possibly have wanted for a great beach vacation. It was immaculate and so well stocked with beach chairs, towels, boogie boards, games. We didn't need to bring anything but ourselves. And so relaxing. When the noise of the kids got so much, the moms just snuck out to the deck and sat on the love seat and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the waves. Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Kure Heaven

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Your Kure Beach House provided the perfect spot for families to vacation together at the beach. The property was wonderfully clean and well maintained and well appointed. All of us commented that the beds were particularly comfortable. The owners are extremely responsive and involved in making sure that everything is as it needs to be. The owners also provided a great welcome package, as well as a book full of relevant information about the house and the area. Everything a family might need is available in the house! We would all highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday celebration

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We all loved our time here! We needed a place to help my sister celebrate her 60th birthday and had travelers coming from Pennsylvania and Georgia. Perfect location about halfway between. What we really liked about this home was how the main level was an ideal place for us all to congregate, both indoors and outside, while the bedrooms were on the ground/top levels so we had some privacy. We had young adults and children traveling with us too, and the place accommodated us all nicely. Appreciated that we didn't have to lug our own chairs, towels, linens with us. Coffee, paper products, soaps, etc... all nice to have (and very high quality too) and less stuff to buy out of pocket. Cool stuff in the arrival goodie bag. The owners are nice people and a pleasure to work with. The place is halfway between downtown Kure Beach and Fort Fisher, and having the Trading Post a short walk away came in handy more than once. I guess our only negative experience was that a toilet kept running and didn’t flush properly but the owners had their handyman out there within an hour to fix it. We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for sharing your beautiful home.

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We have had a blast on our Kure Beach vacation at your beach house!!! It is soooo sad to leave. The house was very accommodating for our family and decorated with such stylish and modern things!! Great Job! It was in a convenient spot to get to everything we needed, but secluded enough we had a whole little strip of beach all to ourselves!! I am so glad you posted your home on VRBO and we will definitely plan another Kure beach vacation there!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible experience

Review submitted: April 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

Our stay at Kure Beach House was fantastic. The accomodations were exactly as described and the cleanliness of the house was beyond compare. It was comparable to any 4-5 star resort that we have stayed at and believe me, we've stayed at many. Any beach house that provides white duvee covers as bedding....well that speaks for itself. Walking out the back deck every morning as the sun rises over the Atlantic, freshly brewed cup of coffee in your hands, and in about 20 or so steps, your feet feel the moisture of the morning sand while the surf pounds the beach, a day can't start out much better than that. If you choose to venture out, you are literally minutes away from all that this area has to offer and find yourself smack dab in the middle of it all. But if its privacy that you want, its secluded location provides all the privacy that one could want. We will definitely make this a repeat trip and it has our unequivacle recommendation. Kudos to the owners.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review