reviews for: listing #91838 - Mission Beach, California House rental

The Big Beach House On Mission Beach
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $765 - $969 /nt
    $6,167 - $7,745 /wk

sort by:

Family reunions…steps to the beach

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

We recently rented this house for a family reunion…11 adults, 5 children. The kitchen was fully stocked with dinnerware and appliances. All bedrooms had TVs, and LR had many games, DVDs, books, etc. The best feature, in my opinion, was the huge dining table where we all gathered every night. A large front patio, gated, right on the boardwalk, had enough sturdy deck chairs to sit us all, with 2 large sun umbrellas. There is plenty of outdoor beach equipment including boogie boards, beach toys and towels.
The sleeping capabilities are not quite as advertised, if you are looking to sleep 17. The two fold out couches were broken and not able to be used as beds. The air bed leaked and was not usable. One of the rollaway beds in the garage was so rusted it could not be opened.
The apartment microwave broke on day 2 and we were told that it would not be replaced during our week's stay.
Bring paper goods, as the one provided roll of paper towels (think 16 people), and toilet paper needed to be replaced after a couple of days.
The property manager, David, was very responsive. He thanked me for bringing things to his attention and said he would follow-up on broken/non-usable items.
The location is wonderful, away from the noise and loiterers.
Would we stay there again? Yes, if the beds were fixed and the place actually slept 17 people.

Owners response: Dear Pam & Tim.

Thank you for your review of Patty's beach house. We really appreciate all comments on the house, positive & negative. The positive means we are meeting expectations. The negative lets us know where to possibly make changes.
We really do try to improve on the areas where needed. As I told you in my responses to you, thank you for bringing to our attention items that were nor working, broken, or not up to par.
We have since replaced the microwave, there are two in the house, replaced all 4 roll away beds with brand new twin size roll away beds and replaced air mattress. We have also retired the sofa beds.
During our busiest time of year, summer, we really rely on our renters comments about what's not working and either replace or try to improve what we can in the short time we have during turn around so all renters can have a positive experience.
We do that you come back and stay with us again in the future!

Thank you!!
David Britt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Party Zone

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Not knowing a lot about Mission Beach, I booked the home because it was on the beach on the ocean & it had a lot of space for our family of 7 adults and 1 baby. The home was true to its claim and the surf at the beach made the ability for 3 married couples, 1 grand baby & 1 singleton to enjoy the space and ocean.

Unfortunately, we found that Mission Beach is 90% rentals and packed in with apartments, multi- family dwellings & a huge party place. If you are a party person, then you will love this location. If you are not, I would highly suggest picking a different location. The beds were comfortable but the home is certainly showing it's age, no window coverings on any if the west windows so it gets hot. The patio has the most amazing view

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: thank you Shelly very much for the review. the Summer season is filled with people getting to the beach away from the heat! we do have removable shades that can be hung if you would prefer to the view of the ocean. Please do return during the spring and fall when it is more quiet.
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Three Families together

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Hi David,

I just wanted to extend a huge THANK YOU to you & Patty. We had such a great visit at the Big Beach House over the past weekend. We grew up in San Diego so heading back & staying at such a great house really made the weekend. The layout worked well for our 3 families & clearly can't get a better location!

Please pass along our gratitude to Patty for sharing her home with us.

Carin (& family)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

Hi David,

Just got to the house. Everything is perfect! Thank you so much for all your help with this.

Best,

Lucy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent stay

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

David,

Thank you so very much! We had an excellent stay and are now on our way home. The house was great.

Thanks again!

Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Business Conference

Review submitted: March 9, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

There was a group of us that usually stay at the Sheraton where the conference is being held. We decided to think outside the box and found this house. The price we paid was less than what we would have paid at the hotel and we stayed an extra night. The house is furnished and the kitchen has all the tools. The private patio was perfect too. All of the other colleagues were jealous. We have started a new tradition.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Jason
Thank you for the glowing review. We would love to have you back every year!
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

Such a great house! Big enough to accommodate three families (including 4 young children, ages 2-7) & a 40th birthday party. We all had our separate spaces but spent most of our time at the amazing outdoor area overlooking the ocean. You can't get a better view! The house provided all the necessary items for the kids (boosters, cribs, sand toys, high chair, etc.) & adults (bikes, boogie boards...). Location is ideal - so many things to do without even having to get in a car. Can't say enough good things.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi Carin,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We love hearing from our guests about their stay. Also, we really loved the picture you sent of the kids enjoying themselves on the boardwalk.
Please come visit San Diego again. We would love to have you stay at the beach house!

Sincerely,
David & Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

Hi David,

I just wanted to extend a huge THANK YOU to you & Patty. We had such a great visit at the Big Beach House over the past weekend. We grew up in San Diego so heading back & staying at such a great house really made the weekend. The layout worked well for our 3 families & clearly can't get a better location!

Please pass along our gratitude to Patty for sharing her home with us.

Carin (& family)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house right on the beach!

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We could not have asked for a better location! This was a fabulous house for our "girls weekend". We loved being so close to the water and spent many many hours on the spacious patio. David was so easy to work with and so accommodating.

Owners response: Dear Erika
Thank you for the beautiful review. We hope you come again.
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank You!

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: December 12, 2013

David:

I just wanted to drop you a quick note to Thank you for being so great to work with on the Mission Beach House. Your high communication, flexibility and on-going support were greatly appreciated!

Wishing you a wonderful New Year!
Lori W.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good times

Review submitted: January 14, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

Thanks for the great experience in the beach house! Everything was very smooth and the location was gorgeous. Waking up in the morning and heading staight into the surf was a dream!

Adam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Adam,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at my beach house! Usually when I first respond to potential guests I ask what I can do to make their dream come true and sounds like you had one come true for you!
Whenever you come back to San Diego I sure hope you think of the Big Beach House again!

Thank you!!
Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our vacation November 28 2013

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

Patty: I have been meaning to write but the hectic holiday season put me behind
in responding. All 11 members of the family absolutely loved our vacation at
your house. Our three teenage grandsons just loved cruising the area on the
bikes, even though their Dad said their bikes at home hadn't been used in years!
We all enjoyed the common spaces in the house yet we all had our own space for
quiet times. The outside view was spectacular and we enjoyed sitting out there
morning, noon, and night and watching the world go by! Instead of going out for
dinner on Thanksgiving we ordered turkey and all the trimmings from The French
Gourmet restaurant nearby and had a wonderful family meal at home. I highly
recommend this restaurant for their excellent service with such a large order.
It was a wonderful place to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary with our
children and grandchildren and we thank you for the opportunity to share your
house with us.
PS David's very prompt response to,a problem with the dishwasher was very much
appreciated and also when he made several follow-up calls to see if everything
was working well for us.
PSS Your photography throughout the house is gorgeous!
.
Sincerely,
Marilyn B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already rented this house for next year.
We loved being so close to the beach. The accommodations were extremely comfortable.
We truly appreciated the abundance of both beach and bath towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and bikes. It added to our enjoyment, not to have to rent equipment to enjoy the beach. There was an abundance of furniture that made it comfortable for everyone to sit and visit. Loved, loved, loved the patio! The kitchen was adequately stocked which meant we didn't have to spend extra money on items that we'd end up leaving behind. This place was worth every penny and I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Dear Sue
Thank you for the beautiful review, I hope you can come again to play at the beach!!
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our wonderful experience at the Big Beach House

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We just completed a memorable, fantastic week in the Big Beach House. I found the house to be as advertised and a wonderful place to spend a time with family and friends. The entire family especially loved the huge table that seats 14. We could all sit down together to eat, play games and just converse. We were close to a lifeguard tower, which was an extra bonus since my grandchildren took full advantage of the waves. I look forward to my week next year and highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Kay
Thank you for the glowing review
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Family Experience!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We recently enjoyed another wonderful week at The Big Beach House. The house was clean, well - organized and ready upon our arrival. We noticed and appreciated the many new features, since our last stay; in particular, the 4 rollaways and crib were a great addition. All were grateful for the nice quality amenities provided, there was plenty to go around. The atmosphere is absolutely a Big Beach House feel! Thank you David, for such attentive, friendly client service. Thanks Patty, for another spectacular Family Experience at your Big Beach House and the special care you provide. The grandkids love it there. No one wanted to go home; we can't wait for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Diane
You are such a favorite guest of mine
Love,
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well worth the splurge!

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

If you're looking for a large house in Mission Beach, look no more. The view was great, parking though tight was ample, the owner was extremely easy to work with, the house was clean and had everything you could possibly need, the house was spacious, beds and linens were very comfy, the description and pictures were accurate, and the location within walking distance of so many attractions was perfect. We were so glad we spent a little extra to be directly on the beach. That patio where we spent most of our time was great,and a good time was had by all. Would highly recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Accomodations!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our stay at the Big Beach House could not have been more enjoyable. In celebration of my parents 50th wedding anniversary as well as a 50th Birthday, we had a total of 14 people including 8 adults and 6 kids (2 of which were toddlers). The house was well stocked with most anything we needed including blender, coffee pots, serving platters, bowls, cooking spices, cooking utensils,towels, beach toys, etc. All 5 beach cruisers were used often by all although one of the bikes needs to have the brakes fixed. It was great to have such a large dining table accomodating our entire group inclusive of nice placemats and napkins. The one thing that would have been very useful would be locks for the bikes. Other than that everything was great and we could not have been more pleased with all the work Patty Shales has put into this wonderful house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Dear Natalie,
I am so glad that your visit to my big beach house was a positive one. And thank you for letting me know about the bikes!! I have since had a local bike shop out there and they are tuned and all fixed up. We worked a lot this spring to update the house for the comfort and convenience of our guests, and we are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. The large dining room table is important to mee also as I have alarge family and to be able to all sit together and have a meal and chat is so important.
Again, thanks so very much for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. You are part of the family now! Don't forget that we offer return visitor discounts. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rented many beach houses but this was the best equipped of them all.

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We brought everything we thought we would need and Patty's house had it all, including the extension cords and batteries. The maintenance man stopped by with more boogie boards for the boys, which the house was already supplied with but the boys had to use the new ones anyway. My father informed the maintenance man about the (3rd) refrigerator not working properly and that we did not need to use it, however that is not how this owner works. She wants informed of any issues and responds to them promptly. It was nice to have one house on the beach that my family of 12 was able to fit in. Very hard to find big houses on Mission Beach. The house was very clean and comfortable. Thank you Patty for providing such a great place for people to enjoy. Oh yes... all the photography from your dives are beautiful and a great touch.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dawn, I am so glad that your visit to my San Diego house was a positive one. We worked a lot this spring to update the house for the comfort and convenience of our guests, and we are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Again, thanks so very much for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. You are part of the family now! Don't forget that we offer return visitor discounts. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family reunion

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

We had a fantastic time! There were 15 of us and the house fit us all very comfortably. Everything we needed was in the house. One of the best things was the huge dining table that we all fit around. The view could not have been better. I will recommend this property to anyone looking for a great beach house with plenty of room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gerald, Thank you for the very positive review!!! I am so delighted that your visit to my big beach house was a positive one. Worked a lot this spring to put many upgrades into the house so it would be more comfortable to my guests.
I have a large family myself and having them all around the dining table is very important to me. Again, thanks so very much for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. You are part of the family now! Don't forget that we offer return visitor discounts. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house in a wonderful location

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

The Big Beach House exceeded our expectations. The house is immaculate. The master bedroom is flooded with light and overlooks the beach and ocean. One can sit up in bed and watch beach, ocean and sunset. My wife spent most of her time doing just that as she worked on a lecture on her laptop. There is a very large desk adjacent to the bed (with the same view) which I used. The master bedroom is big enough to host a party for grandchildren yet private enough for sleeping soundly. The master bedroom alone justifies the price. Other bedrooms offer similar privacy. Parking was easy in the garage and adjacent spaces with plenty of overflow parking a few steps away. Everything that one would need was at our fingertips. Good heating system for the chilly nights. More that enough storage room. The dining table is huge and accommodates about 14 people. All the furniture, both indoor and on the sunny patio is of the highest quality. We have booked the Big Beach House for our annual Christmas family reunion.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Paul: Thank you for your glowing review! I know you will be returning in December and look forward to having you as my guest again. We make constant improvements to the beach house and appreciate all input as that helps us to continially improve the house for everyones enjoyment! We look forward to your return visit. All my love, Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place with plenty of room for everyone!

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

You couldn't ask for a nicer place. The location is right on the beach in Mission beach, in the heart of everything. This house is HUGE!!! There was enough room that my son had his own wing of the house. Every bedroom had its own balcony, which was nice because we had young kids to watch. The house comes with all of the amenities of home. It has wifi internet access, cable on every TV (which I believe there was 10 TV's total), two fireplaces, two full kitchens, two washer and dryers, all of the beach toys you could want, two sets of washer and dryers, wonderful patio next to the beach, close proximity to Belmont park and more. It was great because you can sit on the deck, looking at the ocean and watch the sun set over the ocean. I can't tell you how many people stopped by and asked about the house. The house was maticulously maintained and very clean. We will definately be revisiting again and staying here. Thank you again Patty for the wonderful location and memories created!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ron, I am so delighted that your visit to San Diego was a positive one. We continue to update the house for the comfort and convenience of our guests, and we are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly making improvements on the property and appreciate all suggestions. Again, thanks so very much for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. You are part of the family now! Don't forget that we offer return visitor discounts. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best House on the Beach

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

I just returned from my Spring Break stay at Patty's glorious house. We planned a beach getaway for a much needed rest from the university. We teach and wanted nothing but relaxation. Having stayed at the Big House on Mission Beach, we knew where to stay. Patty's house was fabulous the first time we visited, and now she has added even more improvements. The enormous barbecue grill is easy to use and easy to clean. The new gas grill in the apartment on the third floor is another new upgrade. Patty has added all new beds, roll away beds and the most beautiful kitchen accessories: matching plates, glassware, and all new cookware. In summary, the reason we always stay at The Big House is that Patty has created a house that is not just a rental. This is a home, and Patty treats us like we are family. Where else would we stay?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Debi:
Consider yourself part of the family. Thank you for the beautiful review.
Patty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just as promised! Wonderful

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Since we visited last Labor Day weekend, I've been meaning to write a review. This home is wonderful. We used this as a central location for family to all meet and enjoy: there were 9 adults and 5 kids and we had plenty of room. The kitchen is wonderful and the patio is awesome -- right on the beach. And it's the quiet end of the beach but just a walk (in either direction) for the more "happening" areas. A quick walk to the roller coaster too. I would highly recommend this to anyone - the owner is trustworthy and a wonderful lady. IT's super great to just have fun at the beach, walk back to the house, cook a great meal and enjoy the patio.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Stephanie, thank you so much for the lovely review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Your notes help us maintain and improve the beach house, and we welcome you to return to San Diego and take advantage of our return vistor discounts. You are part of the family now. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Beach house on Mission Beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2012

We had a gathering of 8 people. There was lots of room for everyone and probably could have accommodated a few more comfortably. It's in a terrific location - right on a terrific beach and boardwalk. If you like to walk/jog/bike, it's ideal. The deck is a great sitting area to people watch and sunset watch. The house is a little dated so the price should be negotiated accordingly. All in all it fit our needs and we would go back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Brian, I am so delighted that your visit to San Diego was a positive one. We continue to update the house for the comfort and convenience of our guests, and we are all so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly making improvements on the property and appreciate all suggestions. Again, thanks so very much for the lovely review, and we hope to see you again in the near future. You are part of the family now! Don't forget that we offer return visitor discounts. Love - Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we are enjoying the beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Hi Patty:

We're enjoying your beach house so far. Beautiful spot.
Brian

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beach House Reunion Visit

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2012

What a wonderful time we all had at the big beach house! After nearly a year of planning, 10 ladies arrived from all over the map (literally) and absolutely loved our destination. Everyone was so comfortable, no one was crowded and the patio was constantly occupied! Everything was perfect and plentiful—from linens to beach stuff, we couldn’t ask for more. The upstairs balcony was a favorite hangout and the view spectacular. All weekend long, I heard over and over again “what a great house and place!” In fact, everyone was so thrilled that we would all like to return in 2014 and book a full week in September! (I already checked, but 2014 isn’t up on your site yet—please let me know when it is!). It was a very special weekend to reconnect with people we hadn’t seen for years; the beach house was the perfect environment to share old memories while we made new ones watching spectacular sunsets from comfy patio chairs. Thank you—it exceeded all our expectations!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

EXCELLENT!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

WOW is all I can say...this place is absolutley beautiful! We come to Mission Beach every year and have never stayed at such a perfect place. This place has everything you need! Very spacious, perfect views, clean, organized and breath taking! The photos don't do it justice! Thank you for being nice and helpful and always answering our questions! Thank you for the wine and the best vacation! We already want to book it for next year! We had no issues with parking. Plenty of spaces and even the big parking lot right down the street. You had everything we needed, we didnt even need to bring half the stuff we brought because you had everything! I highly recommend anyone to rent this house!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Lori:
Thank you for your glowing review! I do hope you will return and appreciate the repeat guest discount. We make constant improvements to the beach house and appreciate all input. We look forward to your return visit. All my love,
Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We had the best time EVER!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We came for a family honeymoon right after our wedding, and our grown children joined us for such a great, great week! The house is beautiful, and much better than the photos!
Although I have to say, the house owner's gorgeous photography all through the house is spectacular!

We had plenty of room, even though there was a whole slew of us, and it was great to be able to give our oldest son and his wife their own apartment! They said it was better than their apartment at home in Boston.

We have a very active family and Mission Beach was perfect for all those who wanted to run, bike, or swim. Or just sit out on the front patio reading. That's where we all hung out every day.
The HUGE, gorgeous master bedroom allowed us to have a private area for our "honeymoon" and we loved having coffee on the big deck outside our bedroom.

The house is 2 minutes away from such fun things in San Diego! We went to a Padres game, to the Gaslight area for dinner, even checked out some other beaches, although none were nicer than our own beach right outside our door!

An absolutely great place for a small or large group. Can't wait to come back with our family!!
The owner's were great, very responsive...this whole experience was great.
Don't miss it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: dearest Deborah and Richard thank you for the wonderful review it will really assist me in my rentals. May you return every year on me for a weekend!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow we love the beach house

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Hi Patty!

WOW!  We absolutely love your beach house.  We are having a great time and we are all thrilled with your place.
Thank you so much for the bottles of wine and for such an amazing vacation experience.  We LOVE it here so much!!!YES, YES, YES!!!  We are having a wonderful time!  Thank you!

P.S.:  We love your photography artwork.  Well, we love the whole place.
Julie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Getting ready to leave, but wanted to say thanks

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

Hi Patty,

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful home.

The family used it as home base and were able to enjoy the spectacular views (best location on the beach if you ask me), the wonderful patio (that sat all of us), the quiet nooks, the dining table we could all gather around, the incredible windows and perches for enjoying the ocean all days and nights, the incredibly stocked kitchen and the comfy places to rest our heads. THANK YOU for having such a wonderful place.

Everything is so beautifully thought out -- when they became too much I went and hid on your upstairs balcony. And the binder of nearby things to do came in handy when they looked at me longingly and said "what is there to do?". THANK YOU again.

Thanks again and look forward to staying here in the future!
Stacey

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice Place for a Large Family

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My brother rented this house for our extended family to stay for the weekend. The house overall is good. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. The fixtures were very out dated in the bathrooms. I think some liberties were taken during some of the descriptions though. The garage does not "easily" fit a suburban. My brother rented a suburban and it would only fit if it was pulled in so closely that no one could walk into the home through the door. The other two provided parking spaces will only fit very small cars. The other parking in the area was horrible. On the day we arrived the weather was great so the beach was full. I had to drive around for 30 minutes to find a parking space and had to walk about 1/2 mile back to the house. I got home from a wedding after midnight and had to search for a parking spot due to the bar crowd. The barbeque on the main patio is not close to being "new". We used the barbeque twice and both times started cooking on it and moved to food to the barbecue on the top floor because the barbeque was beat up and could not heat up enough to cook chicken. The family amusment park was fun for the kids and within walking distance. If you rent this house I think you will like it. Just be prepared for some issues in finding parking in the area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Timothy, we want to thank you so much for your comments. We are constantly updating and improving the beach house, and we certainly appreciate all suggestions. The barbecue grill was purchased in December of 2011, and as a result of your prompt report, we had our handyman check it out. He reports that the grill is working, and I am sorry you had problems. Isn't parking just a trip at the beach? I am impressed by your ability to navigate Mission Beach, and I regret that you had difficulty with garage parking. Square footage is a priceless commodity in San Diego. In any case, we hope you will return to our beach house and enjoy our return visitor discount. We will double check that grill before you arrive. Best wishes, Patty Shales

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Lovely Home, A Terrific Owner, A Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

My husband, his brother and I took a vacation to San Diego October 21-27. I was concerned about having enough space to myself to be comfortable. The Jenkins men are big guys, and I wanted to have room for my girl stuff. This house was spectacular. I loved every minute of the stay there. The house was big enough to accommodate all of us and even give me a private room to myself. The deck of this house is so beautiful and the view was impeccable. I loved walking two steps and feeling ocean sand beneath my toes. My husband had made all the arrangements, and I wasn't sure how well he would do with a property he had never seen. But the woman who owns the house was so nice and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. We all felt like she was more than a home owner. It was like we made a new friend. I suggest anyone take advantage of this opportunity to stay in beautiful San Diego, at a splendid home, owned by one of the most terrific women I know.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Cool House In San Diego - Hot Babes on the Beach a Plus

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

Hey, what can I say. My big brother planned this trip to San Diego and I was like, okay let's go. I figured we'd be staying in a house supposedly near the beach but like a mile away. But this place that we stayed was unbelievable. I mean, right on the ocean with a cool deck, barbecue grill, tons of space. I admit I liked sitting on the deck watching pretty girls walk by. Okay, I admit that my big brother did a great job picking out a pretty cool house with enough room for us big guys to move around and kick back. Hey, seriously, I think this is a perfect house and you should stay here for sure if you come to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Thanks For A Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 21, 2011

I visited San Diego with my family on October 21-27. We stayed at the most wonderful house I have ever seen. The seller was on point when she described the house. It was perfect. I'm a pretty big guy, and it was spacious and comfortable. I normally don't write a review when I stay somewhere, but this homeowner was such a terrific lady that I wanted to take time to write a review and thank her for making this vacation special. I was in charge of planning the whole thing and I was pretty nervous about renting a house sight unseen. But the pictures she took of the house and the way she treated us like royalty was worth noting. I recommend this beautiful property to anyone travelling.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Bachelor Reunion - Perfect Location - Great Owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

My college buddies and I decided to meet up in San Diego for a reunion. We are all professionals in the entertainment industry, so our expectations were high. First, I talked to the owner, and she was the nicest and most professional woman I have ever met. That was in the plus column. The house itself is right on the beach, comfortable and well decorated...well as far as a bunch of film exec guys can tell. We like cooking out and the kitchen and barbecue were in great shape. Obviously, as a filmmaker I have stayed at guest houses all over the world. The problem with those places is always communication with the owners. They can make the vacation miserable. One of the selling points for this property was the willingness of the owner to do everything she could to provide us with everything we needed. I recommend this home and hope everyone takes advantage of this great vacation opportunity.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gorgeous views and wonderful ocean sounds!

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Everything was very comfortable and plenty of room for all four generations of us. Being towards the end of the boardwalk was great for having walking traffic at a minimum. The beach was very clean and just steps away. We loved being able to walk to the amusement park and shops every night. Getting around was easy and Sea World was only 5 minutes away. We would definitely rent again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we would love to come back

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Hi Patty, We'd love to come back to your house on the beach this year. We stayed last year Oct. 15-22. I would like to arrive on Monday Oct. 31 and check out on Tuesday, Nov. 8th. Also, please let me know if the apartment is availabel that week, we are interested for at least a couple of nights during the week. Looking forward to hearing from you,

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

we want to reserve for next year

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Dear Patty
The beach was great this year. We definitely want to reserve for next year, send me the contract and I will send the deposit for 2 weeks!
Our family really enjoys the location and comfort of the big house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fyi

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Hi Patty:

No complaints whatsoever. We had a really epic fabulous weekend. Thanks for letting us use your house.
Love the location. Some of our group had never even been to California so it was a nice introduction.

Thanks again,

Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

thank you thank you

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

Dear Patty:
We loved the beach house and enjoyed great weather too, no June gloom. The location is fabulous, right on the beach but with an enclosed gated patio to keep the little ones inside. The Master Bedroom with elevated bed was so glamourous. The Jacuzzi tub for two was also a pleasure. Such a romantic get away for my husband and our family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Dear Patty:
Thank you for the terrific home for our family reunion. we actually had 17 people and never felt crowded. The cooking space in both kitchens was great. We were so excited to be on the beach and watching the waves all day long.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Lovely Home, A Terrific Owner, A Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

I had a wonderful stay in San Diego, lounging in this beautiful home, steps away from the beach and conveniently located. The owner of this gorgeous house was cooperative and bent over backward to make the vacation comfortable and private. The patio of this beach front property is serene and so well decorated. I loved to sit outside and relax. For anyone traveling to the San Diego area, I recommend this Mission Beach home. When on a trip, it is so nice to know that the owners are respectful and helpful. It just makes for a terrific holiday. I would come back here any time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Debi:
Thank you for your generous review. We are here for you next holiday!
Love,
Patty Shales
owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would not stay again.

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My family rented the house and attached apartment for 2 weeks this past August 2011. We have been renting houses on the beach for 3 generations and this was the most difficult and disappointing rental of them all. It was difficult and frustrating to deal with the owner from start to finish. The house looks much nicer in the video tour than it does in person. In person, it is very dated and run down, both inside and out. The kitchen was especially disappointing. The kitchen faucet was broken and there was a cute little sign telling us to be careful using the faucet, rather than having it fixed or replaced. We insisted it be fixed and they sent a handyman, but he didn’t make a good repair. The tiles on the kitchen counter are so uneven that there is no flat surface on which to work. The grout between the tiles is old and dirty. The kitchen cabinets were old and wobbly and the gas company had to come out and fix a gas leak under the cooktop.

The bathrooms were also worn and dated. The toilet seats were old, stained and had paint flaking off the seats. Many sinks were stained and some were cracked. Much is made of the Jacuzzi tub in the master suite, but it is nearly impossible to access.

Most of the window coverings were old venetian blinds which were incredibly dirty. Doors had vertical blinds with panels missing. The living room blinds blocked a significant amount of the view even when open.

The BBQ grill was rusty and had to be partially disassembled in order to light it with a match as the ignitors didn’t work. The outside needs to be painted. The house was easily the most worn and dated house on the block. The side door from the kitchen had completely rusted hinges that squeaked incredibly loudly every time the door was opened.

The house is advertised as being able to sleep 13 – 17 people, but that assumes you have extra people sleep in the master suite. It was difficult to have extra people staying in the master suite because there is no privacy for the bathroom. The sinks and Jacuzzi tub are completely open to the room and there is no shower curtain.

The house is directly on the flight path from the airport, so jets flew low and directly overhead beginning at 6:30 am and ending at approximately 11 pm. The attached apartment is definitely newer and cleaner than the house. The listing says the house is wheelchair accessible, but there are stairs at each entry and many stairs within the house, as well as narrow doorways and sm

Owners response: Wow You seem to be an angry soul. Bitter and with a negative vibe. You review is unlike any others. We were surprised that you trashed the house so quickly.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

location location location!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Used the house for a bachelorette party and it was the perfect size and location for the event. Tons of fun things to do nearby. The house has beautiful views and we all enjoyed sitting on the beach all day while still being in front of the house. I would love to go again sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely Fantastic!!

Review submitted: September 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

My husband and I and our 3 grown boys and their individual families stayed at this beautiful home in June 2010. What an amazing home right on the beach, fantastic location to walk to anything you would need...Belmont Park amusement, restaurants, shopping...etc Plenty of space for all to congregate for meals or just relaxing out front with the beautiful view and sunsets-- but also has separate space for privacy if wanted also. I can't wait to go back -- was truly an unforgettable vacation. The owner was fantastic to work with --what a sweet person!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Location and Beautiful Views!

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

I rented this property for 2 nights in April to celebrate my husband's 40th Birthday for the weekend with friends. It is difficult to find a large property right on the boardwalk that will rent for periods shorter than a week. The owner of the property was wonderful and very responsive. She was very accomodating. The photos of the property were very accurate and I would say the house exceeded our expectations. The views from the master bedroom are incredible and the location of the property is ideal. We had 4 couples staying in the house and we also used the attached apartment for one night for an additional couple. We were all more than comfortable in the space. Being able to sit right out on the patio on the boardwalk was alot of fun and made for a great weekend. This would also be ideal for a couple of families to share for a summer vacation. We would definitely rent the property again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

We had a wonderful family reunion at the beach house! We rented both the house and the apartment and both were well equipped for our needs. The location couldn't be beat. We were close to the action of Belmont Park, but far enough away for it to be quiet at night. The house is right on the boardwalk so we could just hop over it and onto the beach.

The house had plenty of beach toys for the kids to play with and brand new patio furniture and high chair. The master bedroom is enormous and has a raised bed so you can watch the waves and the dolphins jumping. Very nice!

The decor is a little dated, but it reminded me of beach vacations in my youth so it wasn't an issue for me. All in all we were very happy with the house and hope to return on a regular basis in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous reunion vacation house

Review submitted: September 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

I spent a week in June with 15 gal-friends from high school. Did I mention we were celebrating our 60th birthdays??? The house was perfect for group cooking in the well equipped kitchen and eating and talking around the big dining room table. We luxuriating in the wonderful bathrooms, watched movies in the TV room on the nice leather sofas. Even with 16 in the house there was always a place to go for some serenity or a nap on a comfortable bed or porch overlooking spectacular scenery. The beach is ideal, very natural and huge so it never seems crowded, we even had yoga class on the shore in the morning, great for shell collecting. The weather was spectacular for June, it is easy walk to many nice places to snack and eat and shop. I can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review