reviews for: listing #9185 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

Beachfront Grand Cayman Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  North Pointe
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $315 /nt
    $1,300 - $2,200 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful condo with unbeatable lanai right on the beach!

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Island Time provided the perfect getaway from the brutal Chicago winter! The condo is steps from the beach, and we were impressed with how good the snorkeling was right off the shore. The condo was comfortable, inviting, and well-equipped, and the spacious lanai is the perfect place for sipping morning coffee and listening to the rustling palm trees and ocean waves. We spent one night on Seven Mile Beach, and we were thrilled with our decision to spend the majority of our stay at Island Time. On some days, we had the entire beach to ourselves, and it was much more relaxing and picturesque in comparison to hustle and bustle of Seven Mile. With Rum Point and a few good restaurants nearby, you can still enjoy tasty food and a night out if you don't feel like cooking. Steve was so helpful in arranging our stay, and we were already planning our next trip before we even left.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect vacation spot!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away from the cold and the snow and since we were to travel with another couple, we decided on a condo rather than a resort or a hotel. We found the Island Time condo, immediately contacted the owner and booked the first floor unit. It wan an excellent choice and we were not disappointed. This place was perfect. The condo is very spacious, comfortable and well appointed. You will find everything you need for a care free relaxing vacation. It is very quiet and at times we felt that the whole place belonged just to us. It is right on the water and the views of the beach and the sea are just beautiful. The access to the water is a little bit rocky and there is a lot of turtle grass, but we had water shoes which helped a lot. The water is very clear and clean. The Condo is about 40 – 45 minutes away from the Seven Mile Beach where most of the tourist attractions are, but there is a lot of interesting places to visit in this area as well and they are well worth the time. It is close to Rum Point where you can book a trip to Stingray City through Red Sail Sports, Botanical Gardens, and the East Side of the Island. Steve provided us all the necessary information and answered all the questions we had, making us comfortable with our choice. A car is a must if you want to travel around a bit or plan to cook and need to go food shopping. We would definitely recommend this condo to others and are planning to come back! Marina and Kirill

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: August 21, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

I stayed at Island Time with my wife and 2 children for a week. We all had a lovely time during our vacation and the condo was our home away from home. The place has two good size bedrooms, a large living and dining room, fully equipped kitchen, and a lovely patio. The view of the ocean is breathtaking. It was lovely waking up to the sound of the ocean. The location was great and I would recommend renting a car as any any place from here is a convenient 30-35 minute drive. Driving is much easier than I thought! I also had the pleasure of meeting the owners while I was there. Very nice couple who make sure all their guests have a great experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful!!

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

On our arrival, we were so very pleased. The Condo was very clean and looked as lovely as the pictures provided in the listing. The Kitchen was well appointed and had everything you would need and more. There were plenty of Beach towels and bath towels in the bathroom. We never turned on the a/c while we were there. There was such a wonderful breeze coming in off the ocean, it would have been a shame to have the doors closed. Falling asleep at night to the sound of the ocean is something that will always stay with me.
Steve was amazing and provided us with all the necessary information. He was always willing and available to answer any questions we may of had. My husband and I were concerned because we had our two year old with us and were not looking forward to travelling with a pack and play. To our delight, Steve let us know, the Condo was stocked with pack and play already. Yahoo!
The pool and property were kept very clean. While we were there the pool guy came and also the landscapers. Both were quick and in no way was it intrusive on our vacation.
We rented a car for the week. We used Marshall's and were very pleased. They provided us with a car seat, at no extra charge. The price could not be beat. We plan on using them again next year.
Rum Point is a short 2 mile drive and I highly recommend going there for lunch/dinner. We had dinner at Tukka's and Over the Edge and they were also very good. But by far the best meal I had was at Kurt's Corner at Old Man Bay right on the Northside as well. GO THERE!!!!
Overall, this is one of the best vacations we have had. We highly recommend this rental. You will not be disappointed!
Thank you Steve! We are already talking about returning next year!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay at Island Time!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at Island Time in GC. Condo was beautiful, very clean, and fully stocked. Pool & cat were a hit with the kids. Great snorkeling right on sight. Had a maintenance issue with the shower and the management company had it fixed by noon that day so wonderful service from them. Steve's communication was prompt, accurate and informative from beginning to end. Very pleased with our choice!!
Definitely rent a car and go exploring: We used McCurley's and would use them again. They pick you up at the airport, make a quick grocery stop then take you to your place where you car is already waiting. Rum Point was perfect with beach chairs, shade, food, great beach & water. Starfish point was really neat but it took a few tries before we hit on a day with lots of starfish (low tide seemed to be best). Stingray city with Ocean Frontiers out of Kaibo Yacht Club was amazing. 18 people on the boat with 2 instructors so everyone got plenty of stingray/photo time. Seven Mile Beach was busy and crowded so only spent a day shopping there. Scuba diving with Off The Wall was a great experience and would surely recommend them! Ate at Over the Edge...was good. In the end we spent 3 days at Rum Point and 3 at the condo....both were nice & relaxing! Bug spray & water shoes are a must so pack them! Have fun!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kentucky family

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The condo was great & just as advertised. Unfortunately a front came in the next night after we arrived and the wind was brutal, surf bad & no tour boats could go out. We made the most of our time by going to the turtle farm & dolphin encounter & touring blow holes, etc in our rental car. Our group was mom, dad 3 & 7 yr old & grandma. Went to grocery first thing, which really helped. Ate breakfast in every day, picnic on beach for one lunch & cooked abt 3 nights. Food extremely high. Best bang for buck was Kaibo & food was good, but the drinks were pitiful...don' waste your money. Wreck bar @ Rum Point good, but extremely expensive. Ate one night at Rum Point Restaurant..was pricey, but delish! One lunch at Over the Edge was good! Starfish Pointe is a must do, just drive & walk in. Beautiful large red ones come right in. Rum Pointe is great place for little ones...just like a huge big kiddy pool. Good snorkeling to right of pier. Gets crowded only when cruise ships come in..check schedules! Stingray Sandbar is must do, but water still choppy. Grandma stayed on catamaran & little ones came back after seeing them so mom & dad got to interact more w/rays. My worst complaint was cold wind @ condo on the north side. Could drive 2 mi up road to Rum Point & felt 10 degrees warmer! For two nights while front moved in, the wind howled and was loud. Did not really bother me, but you can tell that side of the island catches the worst of winds. Since we were trying to get away from Ky winter, it could have been better, but was not horrible. The surf @ condo was just too brutal for my daughter to snorkel...she tried one day. We did see a large puffer fish & son-in-law saw a nurse shark there. Saw lots of colorful fish, baracuda & stingray @ Rum Point. Some ppl saw a dolphin, but said it got agitated & aggressive, so beware of that! All in all the place was great (Figaro the cat was a hit!) We had a great trip & highly recommend staying on this side of the island, away from crowds. Kids loved the pool & there was never more than one other family there when we were.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Island Time II - The Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

My wife and I needed a vacation spot for the holiday. After some research we came across the Island Time entry. We reviewed the pictures and the condo description and decided to stay there. We contacted Steve, the owner, who told us that the upper unit was unavailable but the first floor unit was open. My wife and i agreed that this was a good choice, and believe me, we were not disappointed. When talking to Steve, we explained we just wanted a nice, quiet, vacation away from all the hectic activities. This place was perfect. The accomodations were just as it was described. The place was beautiful, clean, and well maintained. Quiet location, pool basically to ourselves, but close enough to Rum Point for all the basic activities. Just a mile or 2 west of the condo. (Food,drinks,shop,water activities, its all right there.) There are 3 restaurants in the immediate vacinity and all 3 were good. (Over the Edge, Kaibo, and Rum Point) Steve provided us all the necessary information and answered all the questions we had, making us comfortable with our choice. You should rent a car to see as much as you can at your leisure. You are about 45min to 1hr away from the airport and 7 Mile Beach, where you can find the tourist activities and the cruise ship crowd. You can do the entire island in a couple of hours. A good map helps because some of the roads aren't marked well. We had emailed Steve during our stay and he was very prompt to reply to us. Free WiFi was provided at the condo. This helped us to keep in contact with our family back home. All in all, I can't say enough good things about our trip, Steve, and our stay at Island Time II. I would definitely recommend this condo to others. Oh ya, Stingray City is a must. Great experience. Red Sail Sports has trips out of Rum Point.
Steve, thanks again for sharing your place. Looking forward to a return trip.
Mark and Mary

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

We'll be back next year!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Your condo is gorgeous and so well-appointed with everything we could ask for. I've stayed in houses in St.John VI and other places that do not compare with what you provide to your guests. Your recommendation of Marshall's car rental was excellent. we've been relaxing by the beautiful pool and watching the ocean and enjoying the breeze from the lanei. Yesterday we went on a horseback ride/ocean swim on Bodden Town beach with Coral Stone Stables which was fabulous! We are having so much fun that we may not even make it over to the other side of the Island.

We've only been here two days of our seven, but we absolutely want to reserve for next year!!

Thankyou - Julie from Ohio

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We'll be back next year!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2012

Your condo is gorgeous and so well-appointed with everything we could ask for. I've stayed in houses in St.John VI and other places that do not compare with what you provide to your guests. Your recommendation of Marshall's car rental was excellent. we've been relaxing by the beautiful pool and watching the ocean and enjoying the breeze from the lanei. Yesterday we went on a horseback ride/ocean swim on Bodden Town beach with Coral Stone Stables which was fabulous! We are having so much fun that we may not even make it over to the other side of the Island.

We've only been here two days of our seven, but we absolutely want to reserve for next year!!

Thankyou - Julie from Ohio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

High expectations fully rewarded

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We're just back from a 2 weeks stay in Steve's condo. 2 adukts and 2 children (4 and 9). The pool was ours for nearly all the time, the condo gace us the real waow effect when we entered and we were delighted for the beds, the kitchen, equipment as well as the view from the lanai. This was the first time our children did not want to leave a place. Picking up shells at the beach, playing with the local cat, jumping into the pool and not to forget the many great strolls on the beach. Hurrican Sandy made it impossible to snorkel in front of the condo most of the time but the few times I went out I found lots of coral, reef fish and a nice barracuda. The place is really quite, no annoying noise from anywhere. Make sure you go to Starfish point (just besides Rum Point) when you stay here. No need to take a boat go by car ..we had more than 50 big Starfish in knee deep water.
Back to the condo: fantastic towels for the beach , a big washing machine and dryer as well as dishwasher lots of kettles etc--nothing one could miss. The surroundings were cleaned every day(did the cleaners come at 4 am?) including the beach and the pool. Ah yes there were no toys for the children to play in the sand (we did not expect any)--now there are as we did obviously not take ours back to Europe. Bad news for you Steve--the whole family already agreed that we'll be back if you re rent your condo to us ;)

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

This was a great place to stay for all of us. There were 2 couples and we loved it. The price was great for the location also. The views and snorkeling was so much fun. We seen a shark and many types of fish. They have some really good resturants in the area too. The owner is so helpful and lets you know tips about the area before you get there.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Two weeks of uncomplicated, stress-free bliss!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

We were very please with our stay at Island Time and would recommend this condo to anyone. We had high expectations and I have to say our expectations were met and exceeded. We knew the location and the unit were going to be nice, but we just weren't prepared for how nice it was: clean (no, pristine, actually), well stocked and cared for, great ocean view, private, quiet, and a salt-water pool to boot! The price is extremely reasonable, the location secluded yet close enough to everything you might need, and best of all - the bed in the master bedroom is extremely comfortable (didn't wake up with a sore back once). If we ever come back to Grand Cayman (and it can't be soon enough), we will definitely be staying at Island Time. You should, too :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent place to stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

My husband and I as well as two of our friends just got back from Grand Cayman. We had such a good time that none of us wanted to leave. This condo is perfect!! We loved everything about it. Rooms are big, beds comfortable. Great furniture throughout the condo.There were plenty closet space, towels, comfy chairs; kitchen had everything you could possibly need. The entire condo was spotless. Central AC was also very much appreciated. Pool was great and a lot of times we had it just for ourselves. We snorkeled in front of the condo and saw many different fish, you do however need your water shoes.
We visited all the local restaurants that Steve recommended and we loved them all. If you stay at this condo and I hope you do you must visit Rum Point. What a great place this is.
We went to GeorgeTown and Seven Mile Beach, we had a good day, but overall couldn't wait to get back to north side.
If you looking for quiet and beatiful place to stay, look no longer. This is your place. We loved it and you will too. Guarantee!!! Steve thank you for promptly answering all our questions. We loved diving shop you recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Accomodations

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

We just returned from our vacation to Grand Cayman and could not wait to tell everyone about your amazing condo. From the cleanliness to the well stocked kitchen, as well as the quiet location , we could not have asked for anything more. We have stayed at other places in the Carribean and would say your condo was the BEST!!! The lanai was a favorite place to relax and listen to the waves. We enjoyed being close to Rum Point Beach and enjoyed dinner at Kaibo (the Kaibo House Salad with Grilled Mahi Mahi) was great! We loved Cemetary Beach for snorkeling and calm water. Steve, you were a pleasure to deal with from the first phone call with information and suggestions for diving and restaurants to all of the other emails, your personal service was appreciated. We will be sure to spread the word!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful and Relaxing

Review submitted: February 18, 2011   Date of arrival: February 10, 2011

We just returned home from a week at Island Time. The condo was perfect for our family vacation. It was very comfortable and immaculately clean. If your looking for a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle of the south shore/Seven Mile area this is the perfect place.

Most of our time was spent enjoying the view from the screened in lanai and listening to the waves come ashore.

We saw 9 conch one evening as we walked the shore line by the condo. We did a lot of snorkeling and went reef fishing. Tried a new restraunt every day and we weren't disappointed by any of them. We topped our stay off watching the sunset from Rum Pointe just down the road. What a beautiful week we had.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Accommodations!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We enjoyed our visit to very much! The Condo is lovely---intellgently arranged, beautiful view, spacious rooms, and a wonderful beach. The beds were very comfortable and everything was in working order.

Thank you for all of your help to make our visit more enjoyable. Your
directions were good and we enjoyed your recommendations regarding shopping and eating out. I hope that we will have an opportunity to visit again. Feel free to give our name and e mail to any prospective guests. I would be happy to provide a "glowing" recommendation to them.

Thank you,
Michael

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful choice

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

This is an excellent location and it was very quiet when we were there in mid-January. It is a drive from the airport but is a totally different island compared to seven mile beach area. It is what GCI was like years before. Still plenty to do. Nice, shallow snorkeling area in front of condos. Excellent, well-kept pool. I recommend renting a boat from Moore Marine.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

fantastic spot in cayman

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

there in november 2010 weather perfect , never rained windy north side, secluded spot , property is fantastic n new n exactly as described, betterd my expectation , steve owner is great to deal with smooth transaction, , best condo best spot rum point!! 5 star!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely the Best...Book Now!

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 14, 2009

You couldn't ask for more...! Newly constructed, well appointed end-unit condo. Complex has only 10 units, so beach and pool areas are very private.
Condo has huge lanai with direct access to a beautiful, sandy beach... 30 second walk to the water!! If a pool is more to your liking, it's a 60 second walk. Pool is clean and lounge chairs are very comfortable.
Rooms in the condo are large and tastefully furnished. Beds are comfy, kitchen appliances are upscale and cabinets hold all the kitchenware need, if you decide to eat in.
On the ride to the condo from the airport, there is convenient shopping for groceries and liquor. If you run out of supplies, there is a small grocery a few minute ride away from the condo. Don't miss the BBQ at the restaurant next door!
Book you stay now. You certainly won't be sorry. As the word gets out, this condo will book quickly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Anniversary Surprise

Review submitted: November 30, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

My husband arranged a surprise week in Grand Cayman for our 25th anniversary and what a surprise it was! The owner, Steve, had arranged to have lit candles, soft music and a bottle of champagne placed in the condo when we arrived after stopping at the Lighthouse for dinner. (Steve also made the reservations for us) The food was delicious and the ambiance was perfect for our special day.

We went to Rum Point, Over the Edge and into Georgetown for lunch and visited the Turtle Farm, Hell and took a boat out to swim with the stingrays. We snorkeled in the ocean right out in back and saw beautiful coral and many fish.

We enjoyed several meals on the beautiful lanai. The condo was very well equipped so it didn't seem like work to fix meals or clean up the dishes, etc. It was a wonderful experience and we can't wait to go back. We will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Cayman Island Experience

Review submitted: November 29, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Our visit to New Island Time was a true vacation in every sense. The unit was well furnished, clean, quiet and a superb way to relax in a non-ordinary setting. We had lunches at Rum Point, dinners at the Lighthouse, swimming with sting rays, snorkling out of the back door and enjoying quiet stays in the condo if we chose. We have recommended this experience to many of our friends and would return at our first opportunity.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review