reviews for: listing #9188 - Siesta Key, Florida Condo rental

Gulf Front-Cresent Beach-Completely Renovated-Immaculate
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  House of the Sun
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $250 /nt
    $1,095 - $1,850 /wk

sort by:

Loved!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We had an amazing time in Siesta Key! It is beautiful and so was this condo! It was my two young daughters first time to the ocean and it was a memorable one! I already wish we were back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful 2014

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

The unit was everthing we saw in the listing photos. We were instantly in love with our accommodations for the next week!! We were very pleased with property. It was very clean and well maintained.

We used the grills and enjoyed the sun decks. We meet Bob and many new friends who we're doing the same thing we were......enjoying the beautiful Gulf of Mexico and our lovely accommodations.

We have been to Siesta Key many times and this is by far our favorite place we've stayed. We have found our home away from home when we vacation on Siesta Key from now on.

We have friends who play music in the Village at Gilligan's and also Captain Curt's which is right across the street which was great. You can take golf cart rides down to the village and back which was new since we had last visited - we loved that!

We sat on the balcony a lot while there and I was in no way disappointed with the view we had from 311 of the gorgeous Gulf of Mexico.

You can't go wrong with this Unit. Hope to return next year and maybe with the kids and grandkids. They will love it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful vacation

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We had a great time in Siesta Key! This condo is in a perfect location...close to shopping, restaurants and grocery stores (Publix, Trader Joe's, Costco, etc.). There's a great fish market within walking distance on Midnight Pass where you can buy fresh seafood to make at the condo...or you can buy delicious, fresh seafood there. My husband and I rented a kayak and went on a 3 hour kayak trip just a couple of miles south of the condo. The pool at the condo was not huge but nice and warm. We enjoyed playing ping pong in the rec room. The condo itself was very nice overall. There are NOT any spices (including salt and pepper) in the kitchen so be sure to bring your own. Also, bring your own dish soap and laundry detergent if you plan to use the washer and dryer. The owner Gary was very accessible by email during our time there and bent over backwards to help us when the master bed wasn't as comfortable as we had hoped it would be. Sadly, the weather was pretty stormy during a good part of our trip but we still really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return! One more thing - we loved to watch the sun rise and set on the rooftop! A beautiful place.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the feedback and for letting me know the mattress in master bedroom was not comfortable. As soon as you told me about the mattress, I ordered a new one. The new mattress was delivered and installed this past Friday. Your concern and feedback, has helped make the condo a better place to visit and of course to sleep in.
Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This was the best experience!

Review submitted: July 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My family and I just got back from a week at Siesta Key and stayed in this unit. This was our first family vacation to Florida so it was important that it go smoothly. We were thrilled when we arrived. House of the Sun was in the perfect location for us...a more quiet part of the beach with restaurants and stores within walking distance and the Village down the beach for when we wanted to visit it. The condo was beautiful! Furnishings were great, it was clean, and it was very large! The pictures were very accurate. We received all the information we needed prior to our arrival and the staff there were so helpful and polite. My husband had left the planning to me so I was glad to see he was so pleased. The beach was right downstairs! I compared to other locations and we decided that this was definitely the best location for beach access. Although many say the shells aren't so great here, my son and husband walked a short distance to point of rocks and collected some nice shells. They all tried out snorkeling for the first time. Within a 30 minute drive is Myakka River State Park where we rode the airboat to see alligators. We also drove 20 minutes to rent and paddle kayaks through the mangroves.... although you can rent kayaks across the street as well. The price of the unit was great. I did a lot of comparison shopping before deciding on a unit and have compared this price with other locations up and down the East Coast -- this was clearly a great deal! We are now dealing with the let down of leaving such a beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. Please come back and visit again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LO

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This unit was clean, up to date, and right on the beach. Comparing the cost for a week to other places at Siesta Key, this was very reasonable. We had a view of the beach everyday from our balcony. You have a view, but you are not gulf front. I wish somewhere in the information we had been told what the unit had, and didn't have. We were only allotted two rolls of toilet paper per bathroom, and the towels were limited, as well. We did find out when we checked out, that we could of asked for more towels. Because Siesta Key is so beautiful and the unit was so nice and so convenient to the beach, we would definitely stay there again. Our unit's owner was very flexible, too, when I had emergency surgery last year. He allowed us to reschedule our vacation for a year later. He was awesome! I would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonder stay on Siesta Key and House of the Sun

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

We spent a great 2 weeks in this really nice condo on the beach in Siesta Key. The condo is beautiful and we really felt at home. The sunsets on the roof deck were awesome! All in all a great stay and we hope to be back someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so happy you enjoyed your time on the Key. Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Holidays at this House of the Sun Property! Top-Notch Visit!!

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2012

I stayed in this Unit with my mother, sister and nephew for two weeks in December and
had an absolutely wonderful time! The unit is clean and comfortable and of course, located
in a beautiful setting on Crescent Beach in Siesta Key. We loved the view from the balcony,
as well as the two decks which we frequented for sunset almost every evening. The grocery
and drugstore are both within walking distance of the unit, and that made everything so much
easier! My mother, sister and nephew ate at Captain Curt's across the street and loved the food and service. They also used the free shuttle service available on the main road to the village and back (tips only) which also proved to be a great alternative to renting a car for the first week of the trip. We ate at Ophelia's for Christmas Eve, a short drive down Midnight Pass Road, and it was also beautiful and delicious (we sat outside on the water).
The two bedrooms and pull out sofa provided plenty of room for all. We loved having the
flat screen TVs in the living room and both bedrooms! The washer and dryer got plenty of use
also. The kitchen is updated and fully stocked. My sixteen year old nephew loved the tennis court, as it is in excellent condition and right on the beach! The pool was also very nice, with a lift available for those with disabilities. The beach, of course, was pristine and gorgeous; the beach chairs are all provided and easy to move further toward the water if desired.
This property is one of the most sought after on Siesta Key and we can see why! Gary, the owner, was right on top of everything; he answered my inquiries very quickly and was friendly and professional. We loved our stay and will definitely be back!! We highly recommend this property to anyone who wants a relaxing, convenient, comfortable and FUN ocean vacation in paradise!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend get away

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Absolutely will want to stay there again, condo and all of the facilities are spotless, local grocery and eatery and pub just a few steps
Away

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this condo,location was great

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We have been going to Siesta Key for the past 8 yrs. This was our first time staying at the House of Sun and we loved it and unit 311. Everything about the House of Sun and unit 311 was very clean and very well kept. We enjoyed meeting some of the other owners and guest, and we looked forward to sunset on the roof with Bob (the only permanent resident at House of Sun). Location was great for us as well since we love to visit our "Buckeye" Captain Curt's Seafood Restaurant just across the street. Even with the beach right outside the gates of House of Sun you still need to visit the public beach. Thanks so much to Gary for sharing his condo. We look forward to staying here again and again.
Things to do: Drum Circle at sunset on Sunday's at public Beach. Watch the sunset from roof top deck. Stoll the beach at sunrise and just relax and take in all the beauty Siesta Key has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We have stayed in many places &that this is probably the best! The condo is fantastic, clean & newer stuff and the beach can not be beat. We can't thank you enough Gary for the best beach trip we have ever had. Do not hesitate to book this unit, you will NOT be disapointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome accomodations

Review submitted: May 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in this condo on our visit to SK. It was the best condo we have stayed in while vacationing in SK. The condo was immaculate and furnished with high end ammenities. We have stayed in several other condo's in the past few years, but this unit is outstanding. We will be staying here again on our return trips to SK. Also to mention is that the mattress in the MB was heavenly. Thanks Gary for a wonderful stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation May 2012

Review submitted: May 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

The unit is a clean and comfortable one BUT it was advertised on VRBO as a gulf front unit when infact it is a Gulfview unit. You can double check that by going to the website for The House of The Sun. Would i stay there again no i would opt to go for a Gulffront Unit in # 315 or #316.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: I always considered the House of the Sun to be a GULF FRONT CONDO since it was on the beach. I changed one word on my heading so it is more clear and implies without question that the building is gulf front. Sorry for the confusion. Make sure other condos you referenced are updated-I don't believe they are renovated. Best of luck.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Couldn't have been better!!

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Me and my husband and daughter stayed in this condo for a week in early May. We were very impressed with the decor and cleanliness of everything. The leather couches were very comfortable as were the beds. Everything you could possibly need is provided. Gary was very friendly and responded very quickly to our calls. The convenience to the beach and pool is wonderful...the elevator and stairs are right next to the unit. I would recommend this unit to anyone. We can't wait to stay here next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

excellent property and unit!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in this unit and had a wonderful time! The unit was exactly as pictured, very clean, comfortable, newly renovated, and the kitchen was fully stocked with just about every utensil, gadget, pots and pans you could think of. The gulf view was really nice - it was great to open the huge sliding doors and sit out on the balcony. Having a washer/dryer in the unit was a huge convenience! The owner was great- very nice, always responded quickly to my inquiries prior to our stay. The property also has a rec room, complete with ping pong table, foos ball, and air hockey, which is adjacent to the pool that is near the tennis court (which is on the beach!). The two level roof top area has tables and chairs and offers spectacular panoramic views of the beach and gulf - it's a great spot to bring lunch/dinner and eat or watch the sunset. The location of the property is also excellent and convenient- a short walking distance to restaurants, market, drug store, bike and water sports rentals, souvenir shops, and more! I would definitely recommend this unit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House of the Sun

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Everything was perfect. Would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We stayed in this unit July 2011 it was very nice we had not one complaint or regret. The kitchen was well equipped and the furnishings comfortable. We would stay here again without hesitatiion! The location was also great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review