reviews for: listing #91897 - Yellowstone, Montana House rental

Beautiful Home on 20 Acres - Straight drive to Yellowstone!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Livingston
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $250 /nt
    $1,450 - $1,750 /wk

sort by:

Whispering Acres is a beautiful spot to stay!

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 25, 2014

Whispering Acres is as beautiful and accomodating as advertised. The ambiance is relaxing, rooms are large enough for several people to be comfortable, and the completely furnished rooms and kitchen made everything easy. The big windows gave us many breathtaking views of the surrounding meadows and mountain ranges! The western decor was tasteful with touches of France, which I particularly liked! This location is quiet and nature-filled, and the house was a "home" with all the necessary modern conveniences.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful home away from home

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 16, 2014

My family and I visited out daughter now living in the Livingston area and wanted a comfortable place for all to stay while we also enjoyed the winter time offerings of the region.

This home more than met our expectations. The views of the mountains are captivating and the home is well situated to take advantage of the vistas from both large living rooms.

We have had several stays with Home Away and VRBO and this house also stands out as being extraordinarily well equipped; the kitchen included some foods and even wine!! Detailed information about the surrounding area added to the overall hospitable presentation.

Were we to return to the area I would waste no time in looking for alternative arrangements, I would rent this home again without hesitation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for your kind and glowing review, Bram. I am so glad that you were able to spend quality time at the house and it would be my pleasure to make it available to you again…
Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Trip to 50th Class Reunion

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

Our vacation in Livingston, Montana for my 50th class reunion was very special because of the beautiful house that we stayed in at 45 Wineglass Lane. The whole family could be together instead of separate hotel rooms. The ammenities were superb. Everything that you could need or want was provided. It was amazing. The house was immaculate, and the furninshings were fabulous. My whole family was thrilled with our stay in Livingston. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Excellent

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

We were surprised with the amenities that were provided.Above our expectations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

This was one of several very nice places the we have rented for vacations over the years...most as repeat visitors. 'Whispering Acres' was the best. The place is in a great location, was very clean and provided virtually everything, and more that we could want, or expect as vacationers. Our group was absolutely comfortable here.

The well chosen furnishings, art and miscellaneous pieces of interest added to our experience.

Michael - the owner, and Laurie - the property manager, were extraordinarily friendly and accommodating; from making the arrangements, to preparing the place in a timely manner for our arrival...thank you!!!

Again, I can't say enough about this place...a very nice house, in a great location, a bunch of activities close by and great management.

I would recommend this property, or rent it again, without hesitation.

Owners response: Thank you very much Larry. I will forward this to Laurie who will be delighted to read your review. She IS the best and we love her...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AWESOME!!!!!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

WE HAD A AWESOME TIME! THE HOUSE IS WONDERFULL AND HAS EVERYTHING YOU WOULD EVER NEED! THE HOME OWNER IS GREAT TO WORK WITH AND I WILL RECOMEND THIS PROPERTY TO EVERY ONE! EASY DRIVE TO YELLOWSTONE! THANKS DARREN

Owners response: Thank you Darren. It is a pleasure to have guests as nice as you and your family at the house.
Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family vacation home

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

Whispering Acres was home base/respite for our long planned Montana adventure. The hiking, rafting, and fishing were fabulous but we all:- me and hubby plus 2 adult sons- all looked forward to relaxing at our temporary home. We really did feel right at home. The kitchen is as well equipped as my own at home and we put it to good use. Along with the great memories rafting and fishing with Montana Whitewater, will be the game nights and relaxed mornings gazing at that fabulous moutain view. Everything is exactly as advertised. We are definitely coming back and have not stopped recommending Whispering Acres to everyone we know.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review Paula. You know that you are more than welcome to come back anytime!
Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

From the time I spoke to Michael~ to the time we arrived~to the time we unfortunately had to leave this majestic place; our experience was nothing short of amazing! Michael has thought of everything you may need for your comfort and enjoyment of beautiful Montana and I mean everything: games, Wii, laundry detergent, movies, Ipad station, kitchen spices, a nice bottle of wine (and the list can go on and on). His delightful home is 1 hour from Yellowstone National Park and 1/2 hour from Bozeman; we fell in LOVE with both places. The home is close to a supermarket and other essentials. You will also love the views from the home-nothing I have ever seen! PLEASE run don't walk to rent this place. I can't tell you enough what a wonderful time we had. Thank you to Michael and Laurie, who oversees the place and is a delight to work with, she is SO sweet! They made our trip to Montana memorable! A million heartfelt thank yous!

Owners response: Jenny,
I sure would have liked to have met you. Laurie told me about how nice and cheerful you and your family have been to her. Thank you again for making my home a part of your vacation. I can attest that you are a wonderful person and a wonderful writer as well! I will make sure that Laurie gets to read this.
Again many, many thanks and I hope to meet you in the future; maybe even next year in Livingston.
Cheers,
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!!!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

My family and I saved up for 13 years for this special vacation and loved every minute of it! Everything in the house was perfect and immaculate. The furnishings were top of the line and kept with a rustic Montana feel. The home owner has thought of every amenity from a Wii (which our children enjoyed in the evenings) down to Q-tips and eye makeup remover pads ;). Grocery/pharmacy and gas are within 5 mins from the home. The Rib and Chop restaurant was a big hit with our family. We ate there 3 times in our 11 day stay...highly recommended, just 10 minutes down the road. Yellowstone's north entrance was less than an hours drive with great scenery and wildlife along the way, as well as some great fishing spots! A fabulous house and a great stay while in Montana's Yellowstone area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

This home was immaculate. My family and I loved it. The view was breathtaking. The furnishings were beautiful well maintained with a rustic feel throughout. The home owner has thought of all of the amenities anyone could need from a Wii (which our children enjoyed) right down to the Q-tips and eye makeup remover pads;). Groceries/pharmacy and gas were less than 5 minutes from the home, and the Rib and Chop Restaurant less than 10 mins away was a favorite of ours and is a must (we ate there 3 times is our 12 day stay)! Yellowstone's north entrance was less than a hours drive with great scenery. In all honesty a fabulous stay ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeremy and Tammy,
I'm sorry I did not get a chance to meet you. My housekeeper had nothing but praise to say about you and I am glad that you had an opportunity to enjoy the home. This house is always welcoming to nice guests like you and your family.
Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Livingstone Rental

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed for our entire 2 week trip to Montana. The house was beautiful and the hospitality provided by the owner was exceptional! We found a bottle of wine and chocolate truffles upon arriving, there were toiletries provided as well as all the necessary condiments and everything you could ever need in the kitchen. We enjoyed the view and the wildlife that was near the house. My kids enjoyed the use of the WII, videos and other entertainment options provided. It was perfect location for exploring Yellowstone during the day and I truly enjoyed having a home to come back to after long days exploring the park rather than a room in a hotel or a cabin. The price was perfect and we would definitely recommend this to anyone vacationing in this area. When we return, we will definitely come back here as it was fabulous! Thanks, Michael, for making our trip to Yellowstone so memorable!

Owners response: Thank you Nancy,
I am so glad that your stay was enjoyable. We strive to make the home as homely and comfortable as possible. I'm happy that your family enjoyed the amenities, games and all.
I look forward to making the house available to you next time you travel to Montana.

Thank you again for choosing Whispering Acres!

Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Listings are on HomeAway

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

All our reviews are posted on HomeAway, property 382677...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Whispering Acres Livingston MT

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 8, 2011

The pictures of the outside of the house are exactly what you see as you look at it for the first time. But the big surprise is when you first walk into the house. The inside of this spacious house is extraordinary. We sleep 8 adults very comfortably and was never crowded in the house. Looking out wall of windows at the mountains made for a good game of name the shape of that you see. The house was neat and clean an well kept and had plenty of items to use to keep you busy if you just stayed at the house. The house was well supplied and a great layout. The caretakers do a great job in maintaining the house inside and out.
We used it as home base for our 8 day stay. Yellowstone Angler which is close to the house provided us with a great full day of trout fishing, Flynn Ranch provided us with the best Cowboy Chuck Wagon Supper cooked over an open fire. The next day they provided us a great horseback ride with great back country scenery.
It proved to be a good place to stay and go to Yellowstone National Park and the Tetons National Park. But don't miss the drive through Beartooth Pass out of Cook City to Red Lodge.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your very nice review! We strive to make our home the most comfortable and enjoyable for our guests.
We are glad that you had a chance to stay and enjoy the property and its surroundings. We hope to see you there again.
Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ah, Heaven on earth

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

Our stay here was fulfilling on so many levels. The vistas were magnificent on all sides, yet the town and amenities were easily accessible. If we were adventurous, fly-fishing and hiking were there for the taking. But just relaxing and luxuriating in the beauty of the site and the impeccable accommodations was vacation enough. This place was not even a slice of heaven, it was a whole loaf!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind review Randy. I wish I had been there to spend a day or two with you and your family. I'm glad you enjoyed the house and I hope to see you there again next year.
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The mountain views are breath taking

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

Michael:
We had a great time at your place and would like to go again sometime. My daughter is going to go to college in Bozeman this fall so it was a great place to use as a home base.
To be honest with you, I could have sat in a chair on the deck and never have moved the whole time. The mountain views are breath taking. I love how you decorated the place as well.
Regards, Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you very much for sharing your home with us.

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

Dear Michael,
I just wanted to drop you a note to let you know that we thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. Thank you very much for sharing your home with us. Montana was great, but your home made it extra special. Very tastefully furnished and decorated. We loved it – and miss it already! I equally enjoyed your selection of literature.
Congratulations on your beautiful house and thank you very much for sharing it with us.

Best,
Lars

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

like a five stars' home !!

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Travelling up to Montana, since we came from the south of France with my brother, was a long way ! I new it could be just magic, but It was even more than I could imagine. This house is just SOOO huge (coming from France !) and the price is very reasonable considering you can sleep 8 persons at ease.

We stayed one week. It was at christmas time, a lot of snow and cold weather outside made me wonder if it could be warm enough in such a big house !! well, it was very comfy, I could have stayed all day long cooking, watching tv, and just meditating with this amazing calmness and watching the beautiful scenery from the huge bay windows like if I was outside !!

Of course, we did go outside visiting this magical surrounding with wild buffalos, icy rivers, sky resorts, typical montana's villages, and ..... typical indians and cowboys shopping !! yummi.... yummi....
I remember also super family restaurants with homy marvelous food..... Everyone was so friendly and nice !

Our one week stay was as wonderful outside as inside this home.

I liked the privacy you have in these large bedroom with their own bathroom, The linen and mattresses are very confortable and new.

This two levels house is like being in two houses in one, that made me think of coming back again with friends and easily have our own privacy.

The house is decorated with taste and well thought. Nothing has been forgotten.

We can't wait to come back again and try the spring time as I heard It was as marvelous like in the movie : "Et là où coule la rivière" with robert redford. Can't remember the title in english !!

a big thanks to the owner.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pure magic, Ideal location

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

I must have taken 500 photos, this place was pure magic. The neighboring hay fields, old barns, real cowboys and the horses, and the best purple-red sunsets from the floor to ceiling windows made me want to retire there! I now know why they call it big sky Montana, amazing. When we weren’t relaxing on the fabulous leather furniture admiring being right in the middle of our own private, nature reserve (20 acres around the house), we went into town. Livingston is just a few minutes away-- very close to all kinds of shopping like western wear, groceries, everything you could ever need, and lots of cute restaurants along the historic streets. There were some nice art galleries in downtown Livingston and you must try to eat at the 2nd Street Bistro that Anthony Bourdain featured on his tv show.

This rental house was the perfect base for our stay, everyone was really happy. Husband fly fished while I went to the Hot Springs. Of course we went to Yellowstone Park, saw baby animals and geysers then took the back way home where we stopped and picked huckleberries in the forest.

The house was immaculate, decorated tastefully with French antiques and country charm. The beds were super comfortable and nice, clean bathrooms. We slept so peacefully. The owners were very helpful and made us feel welcome. As an avid cook, I loved the kitchen island and the big wood dining room table where we had some great meals with our friends and family. We can’t wait to come back and stay here again! Maybe even buy a house nearby, this really is an ideal location, a slice of heaven.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, Thanks Riana, Benji and Amaya. We really enjoyed your visit at Whispering Acres. Thanks for leaving the house is such good condition and the kind notes in our guest book... We hope to see you there again very soon.
Love,
Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Breathtaking, cozy and comfortable

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

While I believe in brevity as the soul of praise (and wit, of course), one would be hard pressed to be brief when heaping praise onto Whispering Acres. The proprietor of Whispering Acres has maintained this property to the most minute detail. This home is meticulously clean and absolutely everything was as promised, something that, I've found, is fairly rare. I will try to limit my review to just Whispering Acres, as I don't think my words could do justice to Montana itself, something that I believe has to be experienced to be believed. It's simply heaven on earth. There. And Whispering Acres lies smack dab in the middle of it all. There is silence there that I didn't think existed, not to mention the limitless number of stars in the endless sky.

Livingston is one of the most charming towns I've ever seen and seems to populated with genuinely friendly people who, I found, were not only completely accessible, but engaged on a very high level.

Whispering Acres is only a short drive from the middle of Livingston, where there are dozens of truly fine restaurants and an Albertson's Market, where I found authentic baguettes for sale! I'm more of a foody than an outdoorsman, and the kitchen in this house didn't disappoint at all.

Since I live in a big southern California city, I'm not used to the cold temperatures at night and early morning in Montana. I must say that I was a bit skeptical of whether or not the house could be kept warm (especially at night), but my fears were completely baseless, as the house remained completely toasty all night.

I am already planning a return to Whispering Acres. I love this place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

MAGIQUE !

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Je suis venue de Paris (France) avec mon mari en août 2010 pour quinze jours. Nous avons été émerveillés par la beauté du paysage, et la gentillesse des habitants et des commerçants. Venir d'aussi loin et découvrir un endroit magique est une chose que nous ne regretterons jamais. Nous avons fait de longues promenades à pied et en vélo et nous avons découvert des endroits extraordinaires. Nous avons rencontré pour la première fois des milliers de bisons à Yellowstone !!!! La maison est extraordinaire et très agréable à vivre. C'était un vrai bonheur. La vue est tout simplement splendide. Je n'ai qu'une envie : revenir très vite !
Caroline et Patrick (France)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

This was my first visit to Montana and I loved it! The rental property was very close to fishing and hiking areas. I spent most of my time hiking and after long hikes it was great to come back to a comfortable home.

The house has very large windows with amazing views of the mountains. I visited in October so the mountains were snow capped. It was absolutely beautiful! I would highly recommend staying there, just for the views alone!

I can't say enough about the property, it was not only immaculate, but also very conveniently located. Everything in the home was clean and well kept and the beds were comfy. There's a Vons grocery store nearby so it was great to be able to buy and cook my own meals.

There's a park ranger station just a few minutes away so that was convenient as well. The rangers were very helpful with directions to nearby hiking trails, including Absaroka/Beartooth. They also directed me to a blue ribbon trout stream where i caught several 3 and a half pound golden trout.

All in all, I rate my vacation a 10 out of 10, in no small part due to the wonderful accomdations that this property provided.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting Livingston, Montana.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review