reviews for: listing #9199 - Kihei, Hawaii House rental

Luxury Craftsman-Style Beach House
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $335 - $495 /nt
    $2,350 - $3,450 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We stayed at the house from 9/30 - 10/6. We were in Maui for my wedding in 10/5. It well exceeded all of our expectations. The house was extremely clean, beautifully decorated and well equipped, we didn't miss a thing. The lawn chairs, beach umbrella, snorkeling gear and boogie boards really came in handy. Very spacious for our group of 6 adults. My husband and I got a different condo for our second week/honeymoon and it was not nearly as comfortable or as clean as the beach house was. We cannot wait to come back again someday, it really felt like our home away from home!

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 9, 2014

This is a beautiful and well kept home just steps from several of the most quaint little beaches I have ever seen. With 4 teenagers and 2 adults, we had plenty of room to accommodate everyone...even in the kitchen! The home is well stocked with amenities that you wouldn't typically purchase for yourself on vacation (such as apple cider vinegar, spices for cooking, boogie board and beach chairs). There were also lots of towels, plus a washer and dryer.

In addition to a beautiful home, Kehei is a sweet little town where you can walk to almost anything in under ten minutes. Far more affordable than Wailea or Lahaina, it even has one of the best beaches for learning to surf in all the Hawaiian Islands at Kalama Beach Park (which is also only a short walk away from the home).

I am not sure when we will get back to Maui, but when we do we will definitely stay at Maui Beach Walk!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Private, Close to Beach

Review submitted: July 5, 2014   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

My husband and I booked this home for two weeks in the beginning of September. The home is very nice and very close to many things. The Beach is a two minute walk and the Cove is maybe a one minute walk. We walked to the Cove every morning and had coffee with several transplant locals and watched the paddle boarders. Really nice bunch of guys. The home is big and spacious, well stocked with lots of essentials. My husband caught a cold while we were there, so we spent a few days inside as he really felt bad. The air conditioning was wonderful on those days. This home has plenty of space to hold a larger group and the front yard has plenty of space for children to play out front. The gate is nice to ensure your children do not wander out onto the street.
My one and only con would be that the house is a little dark FOR MY TASTE, but that is me. The house is incredible! The flooring is dark and with lots of trees around (which does help keep the house cool which is an added bonus). There were lots of birds around that were really cool to listen to every morning. This is a wonderful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Well-kept Beach Home With Great Location For Exploring the Island

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 10, 2014

We loved the accommodations and the amenities provided. There was ample of everything, such as towels and kitchen items, and we appreciated the quality of the items provided. The children enjoyed the huge yard to play around in and the outdoor bathtub. We enjoyed sitting on the front porch area to visit and relax. It was a very private and quiet location. The location was also ideal to explore different areas of the island. If we were to come back to Maui, we would definitely consider staying here again and recommend the home to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful place for an AWESOME Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 23, 2013

Wow, we've been to a dozen? VRBO homes. This is definitely one of if not the best. Rhonda and Richard were so wonderful to work with, the home is incredible, the fenced yard is excellent esp for young peeps. Loved the mangos too. Loved the outdoor bath. Great kitchen, liked eating outside. The location is so excellent, with the family safe Charlie Young Beach a 1 min.? walk down the road and the Cove if you like to surf. We had a blast, thank you. PS Rhonda called and realized we left our camera battery pack, offered to send it free of charge. She is the best person I've ever worked with for a rental home. You can't go wrong.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Delightful

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

We booked this very comfortable, attractive home for a family reunion. It looked good on line and it exceeded our expectations. Great location too, very close to beaches and amenities. Loved the smoothies from Cafe Olei.
Would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review. We hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

Rhonda & Richard Fulton

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

The location is absolutely amazing. It's so close to a fantastic beach, and it's within walking distance of groceries. It was very clean and the owners were very accomadating!
The upstairs beds are best for the kids or for petite adults, but other than that it was fantastic. We have recommended it to several people already, and hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome hideaway in paradise

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

This home is the ultimate in luxury travel. We had a party of 7 adults who fit very comfortably with plenty of space. The kitchen is amazingly well stocked and the owners only ask that you replace edibles that you eat. The coffee pot grinds beans and makes awesome coffee--it was identical to our pot at home. Can't say enough great things about this home and the owners. I'd highly recommend this home with a gate that manually closes across the driveway and a 6ft adobe fence around the entire huge lot. Clean, spacious, cozy, etc., etc., etc.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your lovely comments and for leaving our home in great shape for our next guests.

We hope you get back to Maui soon,

Rhonda and Richard Fulton

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Maui Beach Walk in January 2010. The house was truly beautiful, and offered a welcome and quaint atmosphere. We enjoyed the back BBQ area and the private back garden immensely, while the large front garden and lawn were perfect for lounging and games of soccer. The private back garden boasted a deep, clawfooted outdoor tub. It was so fantastic that you could actually arm wrestle over the privilege to be the first to jump in for a soak. Our older parents could hardly be coaxed away from the tub/garden to anywhere else on the island!!! The house itself is open, bright and comfortable, with lots of room for our group of five (and a entire upstairs loft with sleeping room for another four spare). The kitchen was well equipped and designed for larger groups. The house is central to everything on the island, and seems like paradise to come home to after trips away to local beaches, shopping or driving trips. We will certainly go back, the sooner the better!!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

The house was perfect for 6 adults (my husband and I,our 2 adult children one significant other and my brother). We traveled to Maui for my nephews wedding. One night we grilled steaks and fish for 12 people. The house was perfect for entertaining! We played horseshoes and just hung out and got reacquainted with family!
It was also very nice to be able to walk to the beaches & good resturants! We rented kayaks and surfboards just a short walk from the house.
We hope to be able to return to Maui and stay at this wonderful home again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

This place was awesome and perfect for family holidays. It is in walking distance of beaches, shopping, restaurants and a playground. The yard is nice and big and safely secured; perfect for younger ones to play safely (there is even a sandbox). This house is nicely furnished with some unique characteristics. It was bright and clean. It has all the amenities you can think of and more. I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

What a great place! The house is close to all amenities & a 2 minute walk to two beaches. Not only are all the essentials provided, it also has a relaxing homey feel. We had a great holiday with exceptional accomodations & look forward to returning. I will definitely recommend this house to anyone going to Maui.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 21, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We stayed at the house from September 6, 2007 to September 12, 2007. This was by far, our nicest vacation rental experience. The attention to detail and great location made this an unforgettable experience.

Our friends were renting two other houses in Kihei, the price was comparable, but the other homes were not as comfortable, clean, or well appointed as MauiBeachWalk. From Bali to Belize, this is the best!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We stayed at this property from 4/14/07 - 4/21/07 and loved every minute of it! The house was clean, well decorated and very roomy for our group of 6 adults. The location can't be beat. Charlie Young Beach is just steps away. Shops and resturants are just a short walk. We would love to stay here again. Highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 8, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

My family and I spent a terrific Christmas at the house. The location was perfect - a 2 minute walk to the Charley Young beach, which was gorgeous and uncrowded, and an easy walk to many shops and restaurants. Everyting in the house was clean, up-to-date and in good condition. The house is stocked with beach towels, bath towels, soap, shampoo, a hairdryer, dishwashing and laundry detergent, etc. Mercedes, the housekeeper, is also terrific and responded quickly and efficiently to a minor problem we had with the refrigerator/icemaker. I highly recommend this property!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We stayed here the last two weeks in August 2006 to celebrate our 25th anniversary with our two adult children and their 'significant others'(age 22-24). It was a perfect choice for us. We appreciated all the attention to detail in the home.... beach towels and chairs, ice and (filtered) water on the fridge, laundry facilities, great ambiance, large yard with four separate places to sit around the house, (warm) outdoor shower, and more.....You won't be disappointed!
The location is fantastic for those who want to be in town rather in a resort-type area, but also within walking distance to the beach. (I ended up walking home to shower rather than use the public one...It is that close!)
We mostly cooked for ourselves (Costco is a 20 drive minute away.)but also walked to some very good restaurants. Kayak, surf board and bike rentals are within walking distance. There are at least two walk-in clinics close.
We had to contact the owner for some internet hook-up information and he responded right away.
The house is gated, and has a security system. We never felt at risk.
I can't recommend this house highly enough! It is up for sale, but I can only assume that another owner would look after it as well. I would definitely book it again! Thank you to Jeff for sharing it with others.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Dear Jeff, We found the house to be
perfect. We loved Kihei and the more
relaxed atmosphere on that side of the
island. The Kihei caffe (just down the
street) had the perfect breakfast. We
really enjoyed both nearby beaches. I
would highly reccomend this property to
anyone thinking of renting in Maui. We
have rented homes everywhere from
Thailand to Portugal and this was one
of the best.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 11, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

We had a wonderful stay at your beachhouse. The
accomodations were outstanding, the proximity to
the beach was especially convenient, and we liked
how the house was set back from the street so it
seemed isolated from the rest of the surrounding
homes. Thank you for making our Maui vacation so
pleasant. We would recommend this home to any
of our friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2005   Date of arrival: September 21, 2005

Dear Jeff --I just wanted to take a moment to thank you so much for our time in Maui.The properties, all three of them, were perfect for our group. Your house (2165) is a gorgeous house, with all the amenities one could ever ask for, and the close proximity to the beach house (2192) was perfection - just like our living situation here in Los Angeles where all of us live in the same apartment complex. We couldn’t have asked for a better vacation.Thank you so much for you and your professional staff for making our vacation and Dan & Susan’s wedding better than any of us could have anticipated.I have made sure that our entire group has your contact information to forward to all of their family and friends for any future trips to the island.Best,Laura Cohen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 21, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Dear Jeff --
I just wanted to take a moment to thank you so much for our time in Maui.
The properties, all three of them, were perfect for our group. Your house (2165) is a gorgeous house, with all the amenities one could ever ask for, and the close proximity to the beach house (2192) was perfection - just like our living situation here in Los Angeles where all of us live in the same apartment complex. We couldn’t have asked for a better vacation.
Thank you so much for you and your professional staff for making our vacation and Dan & Susan’s wedding better than any of us could have anticipated.
I have made sure that our entire group has your contact information to forward to all of their family and friends for any future trips to the island.
Best,
Laura Cohen

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 25, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

Dear Jeff, We had a fantastic time in Maui. The house was nicer than we ever imagined. As soon as we walked in the front door we were wowed. The flooring, woodwork, showers and especially the tub outside the bedroom were just beautiful. We loved Charlie Young beach, just a short walk from the house. We hope to visit Maui again and hope to use the house again if it is still available. Thanks for all your help. The Miller family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

My husband and I were married on Maui and stayed here while celebrating our 10 year anniversary. We could not have been more pleased with this beautiful house and the relaxing environment. The private outdoor tub, which fits two, was a lovely and romantic and we look forward to a return visit on our next trip to the island. The beaches were absolutely perfect!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 23, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

MauiBeachWalk is a beautiful house inside and out. The large private front yard was great for play time and relaxing and the home interior is very nicely appointed. Charlie Young beach is a very short walk and great for swimming. Cove Park is, again, just a short walk for surfing. Golf, shops and resorts of Wailea are just a short drive. Our family enjoyed the accomodations completely.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 12, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

Hi Jeff:

My family and I LOVE your place! We
were in Maui for the first time to
attend a wedding and made the best
choice by staying at your vacation
home. It was greater than we ever
imagined! Access to the beaches
was wonderful, the house was
beautifully designed and had the
greatest special touches, the yards
were great for barbecues and
relaxing, the location was IDEAL
since it was VERY close to shopping
centers and grocery stores. We are
definitely going to stay at your place
the next time we're in Maui.

DON'T PASS UP THE
OPPORTUNITY TO STAY AT THIS
HOME! IT WILL BE THE BEST
CHOICE YOU EVER MADE --
GUARANTEED!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 2, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

I originally came across the property on the internet and really liked what I saw, but if I have one comment it's that even your website really doesn't do it justice.

The location is terrific; we were able to easily walk to two beaches (coined 'the surfing beach' & 'the boogie board beach' after we rented some boards for the week), as well as restaurants and shopping, yet felt like we had all the privacy in the world (in fact, we arrived at night and the first morning there we actually walked by the property TWICE coming back from the beach, being secluded and set back from the road like it is we went right by). The house itself is wonderful, with more than we could have expected in terms of furnishings, outfitting, and 'nice touches' that made it a nice place to hang out when the day was done.

In short, the experience exceeded all of our expectations, and my family now thinks of me as a high-roller! Hope to come back again sometime, and would recommend the house to anyone.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 22, 2003   Date of arrival: October 1, 2003

Hey Jeff,

I just wanted to drop you a quick note to say that this place is incredible!

We're just floored at how nice your house is. You should be very proud of what you're providing your guest during their stay on this beautiful island. We're all so happy to call it home for the next few days!

Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 17, 2003   Date of arrival: October 1, 2003

Mr. Galvin,

I wanted you to know that we had a great time visiting Hawaii.

The stay at your lovely home made the trip all the more special.

There is not a single thing to complain about or suggest for you to change.

The decorations, the landscaping and the location far exceeded our expectations.

While we are not yet planning a return visit, I cannot think of another place on the planet that I would rather return to.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 2, 2003   Date of arrival: October 1, 2003

When we began looking for a place for ten members of our family to spend a Hawaiian vacation we had no idea that we'd find anything this wonderful. Not only is the house the greatest, most comfortable place - - the location is to die for - - beaches are close, great restaurants and shopping are only minutes away. We will do this again!!! What can I say - - You're going to love it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review