reviews for: listing #92217 - Wintergreen, Virginia House rental

Wintergreen Family Vacation Home with WiFi & Resort Passes
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Wintergreen Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $250 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,400 /wk
    $3,250 - $3,250 /mth

sort by:

AWESOME PLACE!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

If you are thinking about staying at this place.. DO IT!! The house was everything that I expected and more. There was a spacious living room with a fireplace and a big flat screen TV, 2 bedrooms and an AWESOME master bedroom with a HUGE bathroom, and a great looking kitchen for all your cooking needs. AND I must mention how the owner really tried to accommodate our every need. I am definitely going back to this place next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Rental Property

Review submitted: August 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

A beautiful property on the Stony Creek part of the Wintergreen Resort. Nicely away from the hustle of the city but close to plenty of activities, stores and gas stations! The house is extremely well kept, very clean and well maintained with all modern conveniences. We made full use of the cooking, washing and outdoor grill facilities, the outdoor deck is a lovely place to chill with a glass or two in the evening.

The owners were very responsive to questions beforehand and also volunteered information about upcoming events to inform and warn of possible congestion. Being English we love our tea (stereotype but true) and could not find a kettle to boil water - Tom made sure that a kettle was delivered to the house the next morning - what great service, thank you Tom and Eileen (sorry if I got the name wrong).

Monagan lake was lovely for lounging on the beach and watersports with the ladies in the party rating the spa at Wintergreen very highly. The pool facilities at Wintergreen are excellent and were very quiet whenever we used them. There is a fee for using the lake and pool, the cards provided give you a discounted rate.

The local restaurants were excellent as well, we used Giovanni (I think) pizza place on the first night and the quality was really good with live music and very reasonable prices. Our last night was at Wild Wolf Brewery and again great value with great food and outstanding service. The beers are amazing, try the sampler!

We saw a lot of the area but would especially recommend Veritas vineyard, Crabtree Falls (3.4 mile hike) and kayaking on the James River. If you are there for a saturday morning we highly recommend the farmers market just by the entrance to the Stony Creek resort. Fabulous food and crafts with a live band playing as well, sorted all our holiday gifts in one place!

All in all, one of our best holidays ever and we would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Amazing!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 26, 2013

This place was perfect for our Girl's getaway weekend. The house is beautiful and set in a quite, peaceful surrounding. The listing description was very accurate and the house was very clean and comfortable. The owner was very helpful in giving ideas and suggestions for area attractions, restaurants and wineries. I would definitely recommend this home to anyone and look forward to returning someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Special house in Wintergreen!

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

Wow, What a gem! We wanted a house where we could enjoy the mountains and the kids would have room to roam. The kids enjoyed the freedom of the huge yard which is nicely wooded and the adults enjoyed the large screen TV and the lovely fireplace. We were a short drive to sking and tubing and super close to the little town of Nellysford. The kids enjoyed dinner and a movie at home while the grown ups had dinner at the Wild Wolf Brewing company! A delicious spot and close to the house.

The house easily accomadates two families with nice large bedrooms and a huge table. Very clean, plenty of blankets, sheets, and towels. We are already planning our trip for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Thanksgiving

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Our family was looking for a relaxing Thanksgiving and we chose this home based on the amenities, location, positive reviews and surrounding activities. Everything in the listing is accurate and we are already discussing when we might be able to return. Owner was very responsive and check in/out was easy. We would highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for romantic getaway!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

I picked Tom's place near Wintergreen for our engagement weekend and I'm so glad we did! The house has all the amenities you could want for a romantic getaway (jetted tub, fireplace, quiet neighborhood) and the house is convenient to local breweries, wineries, grocery store, and Wintergreen ski resort and close enough to Charlottesville that we went into town for the day!

Tom is very nice and made the booking process very simple. We would definitely come stay again! Thanks again Tom!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wintergreen Golf Front Home

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Excellent place for us in every way - especially enjoyed the back deck.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Stoney Creek/Wintergreen Home

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

What a lovely home. All the things you need to make you feel at home while away for a relaxing weekend in the Wintergreen area. The home was extremely clean and comfortable (although twin beds in third bedroom could be a bit more comfortable). Having the guest passes for the pool and lake use was a huge plus to us when selecting this place over others - and the homey yet accessible feel of the house just reinforced that we picked the right spot. Well appointed kitchen for those who wish to cook. Owners were extremely easy to deal with and pleasant in our exchanges. My security deposit was returned lickety split!
We definitely plan on returning. 4 stars only because I feel I must reserve 5 stars for that dream home rental (that I probably cannot afford!).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, enjoyable stay

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

We loved our stay! This beautiful home nestled at the base of Wintergreen was perfect for our group. It was very clean and beautifully decorated. We hope to return one day! Owner was wonderful to work with. 5 stars all-around!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nellysford, VA

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We arrived and found the vacation home clean, the directions for entry with ease, and with all of the amenities exceeding our expectations. The property was well equipped and well appointed. The description that the owners provided of the property was quite accurate.
We used the driving range, visited three local vineyards, participated in a wine tasting, visited the "Bare Necessities" organic market and cafe, and had a grand time at the Edible Landscape gardens.
We dined at the Copper Mine at Wintergreen Resort the first night and the Devil's Backbone the second night, both were very good.
I would gladly return again and highly recommend this property to others.
Thank you for a lovely weekend, we loved it!!
Dixie Miller

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An ideal getaway

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

This house is a great size in a great location. It was close enough to everything for easy access, but secluded enough that we couldn't see any other houses, neighbors, etc. The yard is beautiful, the kitchen is really nice, and the master bath is huge.

We traveled with a 1-year-old baby, and another couple joined us with their 6-month-old. Once the bedroom doors were closed and the babies fell asleep, the noise from the living room did not bother them at all. (**One note - babies had trouble falling asleep now that it stays lighter so much later, partially because they weren't used to the house, but partially because of the thin curtains. Not a huge issue, just an "FYI..." They DID sleep in an extra hour in the morning, though!)

The nieghborhood has a lot to offer, especially when the weather is nice, and the drive to Wintergreen was definitely worth it. We even managed a few wineries and breweries, too! Overall, this house offers much-needed, relaxing long weekend that I WISH I could repeat EVERY weekend!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really nice home

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

Really nice home. It is very well situated for activities. A little distance from the overall resort area, but it is not a difficult drive. The nice thing is the house is only a 10 minute walk from tennis, pool and golf in the Stoney Creek development.

The house has a very nice layout with two bedrooms on one side and the master suite on another. Ideal for privacy for couples with children. The master bathroom is wonderful with the separate soaking/jacuzzi tub and also a two person, multi-headed shower.

The only slight negative was it was a fairly bare cupboard with a lack of spices, oils, etc. It wasn't a major issue since we ate out at area restaurants for dinner, but for people who like to cook on a vacation.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend the house to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: We're glad our guests enjoyed their stay and and would love to have them come back again.

Regarding the spices and oils, we provide basic spices as a convenience to our guests. We also provide all the necessary kitchenware to cook meals in the house but the renters supply the ingredients. It would be too difficult to keep the kitchen stocked with spices and oils for each guest.

If you have special requests we will do everything we can to accomodate you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, affordable with every convenience

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

We had three couples stay two nights March 2012. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook four meals for the six off us. Plenty of blankets, pillows and towels. Loved how there was wood and kindling for the fire. The best thing about this rental is the owner. He is very friendly and accommodating. He took a personal interest in making sure our holiday was perfect. Thank you Tom!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: February 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

Seven of my friends and I rented this house for a weekend getaway. Upon arrival, everyone was impressed with the house, for both its appearance as well as its location. (Sitting in the woods just off a beautiful golf course. We spent the day Saturday at Wintergreen, it was a very short drive from the house to the resort! This house was equipped with anything one could need and more and sleeps eight VERY comfortably! I would recommend it for almost anyone...families, girls' trips, guys trips, ages 55 and over...it accommodates pretty much everyone! My friends and I plan to make it an annual visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic getaway

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We made a last minute decision to travel to Virginia for Thanksgiving to meet my wife's family halfway between our homes. After looking at some hotel options, we found this vacation home on homeaway. Although it was literally the night before we had to leave, it turns out there had been a cancelation, and I was able to call Tom at 8pm the night before and book the home. Tom was very accommodating.

The home was great for our collection of 5 adults and 3 kids. It is one level, so we didn't have to worry about blocking off any steps for our 1 year old. The surrounding area is beautiful, and the home is as well. Very clean and well cared for. A very relaxing place to stay for a few days with family. We had a great Thanksgiving and are thinking of meeting there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Years

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Really enjoyed the house it was clean, and nicely appointed. The only negative for us was that it was a bit far from the slopes.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved this home!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

This house is wonderful!! We met extended family here and chose this house based on its proximity to Wintergreen as well as its suitability for our family. The house is beautiful! We cooked every night in the kitchen - it had everything we needed. The dining table was perfect to fit all of our family and we enjoyed many games there, also! The master bedroom/bathroom is very spacious. The house is located in a nice neighborhood, although it feels very private - we never saw any cars or neighbors while in the house. We were able to get to Wintergreen very quickly and hiked to a beautiful creek. Everyone we met in the area was super friendly. The owner was very communicative and helpful. Our experience was fantastic and I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a house in this area - it will not disappoint!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun at Wintergreen!

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We rented this house for a family gathering and it was fantastic! We had a very good time. This house was clean, spacious, it comfortably accommodated our family of 8.

I recommend it.

Thank you

The Arouca family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic stay & pleasant owner

Review submitted: November 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our 9 days stay at this property. From the start, Tom was easy to deal with and very helpful. The house has everything a family needs especially the kitchen. Definitely, We will be coming for another stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Get it all.

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

We were very pleased with our week's stay in the this lovely home....and it felt just that.....home. Centrally located, this allowed one to take advantage of day trips to enjoy what the area had to offer, and there is lots of it; orchards, wineries, pubs, breweries, golf, skiing, along with entertainment for children including a petting farm. Area also has a number of good restaurants.
Home has ample features to keep one (or more) enjoying the time there in this quiet and peaceful retreat. Our stay was in early October, but the area has an attraction for all four seasons.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Escape to the Woods!

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the quiet, beautiful setting we found when we arrived. The house was set back in the woods and and invited us to step out of our busy lives, sit down, and unwind as soon as we walked in the door. It was tastefully furnished, spacious, and had everything we needed. After spending some time in the cozy living room reading and just enjoying the quiet, we found ourselves wandering out to explore...and even spotted a few deer. We also enjoyed playing horseshoes in the front yard with our son and nephew, and later visited the lake and the aquatic center. All the resort facilities were clean and modern, and we found plenty to do. At night we all found the beds very comfortable and slept like babies! The owners were fantastic and gave us great recommendations, from restaurants to fun hikes nearby. We all agreed we would love to come back again, and maybe see the house in the winter as well. What a fabulous mountain retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Weekend in August

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, it was really like a home away from home! The neighborhood is beautiful and we enjoyed going for a walk each morning. The house set-up is perfect for 8 people, we would definitely stay at this home again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Respite

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

We had a great time in your home in the Wintergreen Resort. The house was fantastic. The way it is situated in the woods created a very secluded, peaceful setting that really recharged our batteries drained by the hectic day to day grind in Washington DC. We thouroughly enjoyed all that the Wintergreen area has to offer and will certainly be back. Highly recommend your home to anyone wanting a great place to stay in Wintergreen. It is well worth it and Tom (owner) is tops to work with. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My family had a great time!!!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

The pictures really do not do this home justice. It is much larger than it appears in the pics and is really quite beautiful. The community and environment in which the home is set is quiet, scenic and relaxing. There is plenty to do in the area. For the price, you absolutely cannot beat this. Tom, the owner, was helpful from the time I booked with him, all the way until we checked out. When we arrived, everything was neat, clean and in perfect order. I received my deposit back promptly and even got a nice note from Tom, thanking us for staying at his home. A++++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer vacation for a family of 4

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

We had a great week in Wintergreen. Thanks to the owner for sharing the resort guest passes, we had so much fun swimming at the pools and the lake. Less visitors on the weekdays, so we felt like we were swimming in our own pool. The house was very clean, comfortable, and relaxing! It had everything we needed. The guide blinder created by the owner was very handy and informative as well. We enjoyed it so much!

The great collection of children books was a plus. My preschooler enjoyed them so much. She has her 1st s'more there which would be a lasting childhood memory. "I had my 1st s'more in Wintergreen..."

We truly enjoyed it and would like to go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place...Beautiful area

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

The property was everything we expected and located in a very quit
and peaceful area. It had everything you could need and was well
kept. The house was just as pleasant, on the inside, as was the
surroundings. We will definitely stay there again, not one complaint!
Perfect stay for a golf getaway...Wintergreen's Stoney Creek 27 holes
and Devils Knob 18 holes, 2 and 20 minutes, away respectively. Sping
Creek golf course 40 minutes away, a must play!!! We had an awesome time and look forward to doing it again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing in the Rain

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

This is a lovely property in a lovely location. There are a great many things to do in the area, and the owners have provided a helpful binder to guide your selections. The rooms are well-appointed, and the kitchen provides plenty of space to prepare meals if you choose to dine in. We encountered rain during one day of our stay, but the wooded and quiet setting made for an ideal spot to relax and enjoy nature.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

First off, when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the neighborhood and how quiet/peaceful it appears to be. There was very little traffic, and some great areas to take a quick stroll or just grab a comfortable seat on the back deck. If you are into golf, you will love taking a break for a few days in this prime location.

The house was immaculate. The kitchen, common rooms, everything. It really shows that the owners care about the home. The appliances are all newer models and were very quiet. The kitchen is HUGE and allowed for plenty of workspace. Bedrooms are generous in size, so our family of five had plenty of room to breathe. Lots of windows provide for a welcoming look into the trees and adjacent golf course. In addition, the fact that there are games in the cupboard, books on the shelves, wireless internet access, a stereo ready to play our tunes and plenty of firewood outside makes this home vacation-ready from the moment you arrive! We had a great time! Thanks for sharing it with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely property

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

Very nice, clean, private and affordable property. We loved the open, airy atmosphere and had everything we possibly needed. Great location, 15 minutes to the ski slopes and less than 5 minutes to the brewries and wineries. I would definitely recommend this property. This is one of my favorite places to visit in Virginia!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We had a great stay at your home. It is very nice. We are thinking about possibly returning to Wintergreen over the holidays at the end of the year. I would highly recommend your house for anyone going to Wintergreen. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place, great location, good price

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We loved it there. The house is open, airy, and filled with natural light with a nice living room and fireplace, plus a huge deck out back. The master bedroom and attached private bathroom are unreal; they're extremely nice, especially the large whirlpool tub and comfy king bed. The kitchen has all the latest appliances so bring some food and cook at home! The location is great; it took us about 20 minutes to get to the Wintergreen lodge, and it's right near the golf course (I don't golf, but for those who do...). Plus, Tom (the owner) was very helpful and friendly. Highly recommended, thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Home, Easy owners!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 20, 2011

We truly enjoyed staying at this lovely vacation home. Everything was clean & well maintained, a well-stocked kitchen, wonderful wood-burning fireplace (and plenty of wood provided). The owners were tremendously easy to deal with -- they kept the calendar up to date, responded quickly to requests and were right on top of everything! The garage was a huge plus in the winter -- nice that our car didn't get covered in ice & snow. The discount passes saved us a ton of money. We will definitely stay here again, and will recommend this home to any of our friends.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review