reviews for: listing #9224 - Cannon Beach, Oregon House rental

"Seagull Landing" deck ocean view-Home away from Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Arch Cape
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $255 /nt
    $1,080 - $1,785 /wk

sort by:

A Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

The home was clean and well-stocked. We had to walk only a few steps to get to the beautiful beach. Nice ocean views from the deck - it would have been even better if the deck was covered. The gas grill on the deck made family time at the home very nice. The owners left a little bucket of goodies for us upon our arrival (microwave popcorn, toys for the kids, snacks, etc.), which was a very nice touch! The beds were comfortable.

The owners were efficient in setting up the rental contract arrangements and responded quickly to our questions. No issues whatsoever.

It was an easy drive to Cannon Beach, Seaside, and Manzanita from Seagull Landing. We also ventured down to the Tillamook Cheese Factory where we enjoyed sampling cheese curds, ice cream, and a factory tour. My four year-old son recommends the Oregon Strawberry ice cream, while my 2 year-old daughter prefers the Udderly Chocolate. I had the Grandma's Cake Batter. It was fun.

We enjoyed several good restaurants in Cannon Beach and explored the tidepools of Haystack Rock at low tide, discovering such a menagerie of sea wildlife and birds - loved the puffins.

I worked out at Fit Manzanita which is adjacent to a spa there. There are also many stretches of beach that are conducive to long walks or runs.

I would recommend this property without hesitation.

Owners response: Carrie and Scott,
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at our home. It sounds as though you really took advantage of all of the sights, sounds and beautiful scenery available.
We are glad that your children enjoyed our gift basket and that the home met all of your families needs. Delighted that you made it down to the Ice Cream factory in Tillamook. The walk on the beach at low tide always is a thrill. Sometimes you have to look real hard for the sea life but it is there. We welcome your family back. Have a great summer.
Regards,
Mike and Debbie Pierce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute and Comfortable

Review submitted: May 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

We had a great time staying at Seagull Landing. At 5 miles from Cannon Beach it was close enough to explore the town but far enough away to have a virtually private beach! The house was clean and the yard was lovely. The second story of the house had a soothing view of the ocean, which could also be seen from the master bedroom. We went grocery shopping at Safeway in Seaside (north of Cannon Beach) so were able to prepare most meals at the house, in the well stocked kitchen. We were only at the house for 3 days and wish we could have stayed longer. We visited Cannon Beach and ate at the Wayfarer restaurant and Ecola Seafood for fish and chips. We enjoyed walking the beach with our five year old, visiting the tide pools and playing in the sand. The sand toys and beach chairs made our time on the beach very comfortable. Our son loved the bunk bed bedroom!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Ryan and Alisha,
Thank you for your great response about our beach house. We try very hard to make everyone's stay at our home pleasurable and relaxing. It sounds as though you found the great restaurants in Cannon Beach. Did you get an opportunity to go on any of the hikes that I suggested? The North Coast of Oregon is amazing and changes every minute. Just remember that you are always welcome at our home.
regards,
Debbie and Mike Pierce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

Cute and cozy place. CLEAN! Enjoyed the fireplace in the chilly evenings. Beach access was so nice and Arch Cape is within 15 minutes.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tausha, thanks for the 5 star review. So glad you enjoyed our cozy Seagull Landing and the beach a few steps from your door. Come back! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice place (but maybe not for winter months)

Review submitted: March 1, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

The Seagull Landing has a really great layout. It is an "upside down" house so the living room, kitchen and breakfast area have a really nice view from the second floor. The living room is cozy and the kitchen was the right size for the 5 of us. The porch is on the second floor and is spacious.
The three bedrooms are downstairs. There is a full bath on the first floor and on the second floor. The bunk beds are awesome for kids! Ours loved sleeping in that room.

There were two things that made the stay more on the average side for us.
1. The heater is very loud when it turns on. And it is right next to the master bedroom. But it is loud enough that all of the bedrooms downstair hear it turn on. This would not be a problem in the summer because you would likely not need to turn it on. But with winter temps it can't be avoided.
2. The house is close to the beach, but it is also close to the road (but not directly on 101). Because the trees don't have leaves in the winter the road noise is probably louder than normal. It's not loud enough to wake anyone up at night. But when you are awake because of the heater then it is apparent.

Please see this review in balance. The place is nice and in a good location. Just be aware of some of the limitations for the winter.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Owners response: Hi Robert, thanks for your review. I am glad that your family enjoyed Seagull Landing's living area, deck, kitchen and bedrooms, but I was disappointed that you only gave us 3 stars. We are used to getting 5 stars from our guests and we try hard to earn that rating. Your complaint is centered around furnace noise... the sound of the furnace turning on at night. We have stayed many pleasant nights at Seagull Landing and rented our vacation home to vacationing families for 10 years now and we have never heard that complaint before. We usually hear from guests that they enjoyed the sound of ocean waves from the house and deck. I am sorry that part of your stay did not work out well for you. We do have a second lovely home at Arch Cape called Ocean Landing and it has individual heating units in each room instead of a central heating furnace. That might work better for you. Call us when you would like to come back to Arch Cape and the beautiful Oregon Coast. We are determined to make your vacation special for you! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Arch Cape beach house!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Seagull Landing! Just a short drive from Cannon Beach, Arch Cape was peaceful and quiet. The beautiful beach, just a few steps away and so easy to access, seemed like our own private paradise. We were fortunate to have sunny weather so we spent most of our days outdoors. We walked the amazing beaches for miles, exploring the tide pools and birdwatching. Ecola State Park was a great place to hike and watch the surfers. One day we even went kayaking in Wheeler. So much to do and not enough time.
This charming beach house was cozy, comfortable and very clean. We appreciated the well-equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, good-sized bathrooms, one with a large shower, the other a tub, lots of thick towels. Most of all, we loved the large stone fireplace which we lit every evening when the sun went down. The views from the deck were magnificent and the sunsets - awesome!
While in Cannon Beach we enjoyed great pizza at Pizza a' feta, very fresh fish and chips at Ecola Seafoods, a nice casual dinner at the Driftwood Inn, but we always happy to return to our lovely beach house. It was the perfect choice for our family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Margot, We are thrilled you had a great time at Seagull Landing. Thanks for the great review and I wish that everyone could read the note you e-mailed to us after your stay, because Mike and I really got a laugh out of it. What a fun personality shines through in your writing. You said "On our last evening around 5:00 we had a visit from Jonathan Seagull. I think his new favorite treat might be smoked salmon.... For anyone looking for a lovely, private, immaculate beach escape, Seagull Landing checks all the boxes." We enjoyed your note immensely. Come back! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorable Sunsets - Storm watching

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 23, 2013

My wife, sister- and brother-in-law and myself experienced a wonderful stay at the end of the season. The weather was mixed and included a major storm, followed by another, but "Seagull Landing" kept us dry in comfortable surroundings.I suggest to anyone expecting to arrive in darkness to bring a flashlight for easy access to strongbox containing the key. Beach access is near and easy. At low tide you see many seagulls waiting to feed, so "Seagull Landing" is aptly named. The nearby community of Cannon Beach compliments the area with it's quaint shops. The restaurants were more than satisfactory, especially with the offerings of seafood and pizza.

This was our second holiday home rental this year, the first having been near Edinburgh/Scotland in May. In both instances we were extremely satisfied with the professional rental arrangements.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Manfred,
Thanks for the great 5 star review. We are glad you were cozy and warm at Seagull Landing on stormy days. It is fun to watch a storm raging over the ocean through the large windows, next to a cozy fire with a cup of hot chocolate. Come back again!
Mike and Debbie Pierce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our stay at Seagull Landing

Review submitted: October 5, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, so close to the beach, and surrounding areas. We felt right at home when we walked into the house. Tastefully decorated and comfy furniture, with a fireplace to enjoy a cool morning on, made our stay that much more enjoyable. And yes, a seagull does visit and sit on the deck rail every night. Highly recommended if you're looking for a vacation spot to remember for a long time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the comforts of Seagull Landing. The seagull's name is Jonathan Livingston by the way! LOL! His favorite snack is Cheerios. Come back soon. Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beach lovers get-away

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

Nice clean house close to the beach. Enjoyed the stay with our family. Bedrooms downstairs is comfortable for 6 (2 couples and 2 kids). Upstairs pull out is not comfortable to sleep on. Kitchen and living space is perfect for a family get together. Owners were very easy to deal with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Girija,
Thank you for your response. We try very hard to make our home clean, inviting and livable for our guests. I appreciate your comment on the pull out queen bed in our family room. We purchased a queen sofa bed with an extra thick mattress for more comfort, but I agree that sofa beds are never the same as a real bed. Putting the mattress on the floor makes it more level and comfortable. Glad you had a good time and come back! Mike Pierce-Seagull Landing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

very nice

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

This property is very nice and very clean. The deck isn't huge, but it has a nice view of the ocean and the house is tucked away. We really appreciated how clean the property was- there was ample room for our family of 4. :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mendy, Thanks for the 5 star rating! Glad your family had a comfortable stay and relaxing time at Seagull Landing. Beautiful Arch Cape beach is a great getaway spot. Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great home base

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Upon arrival, the house was clean and inviting. Only a short drive to Cannon Beach, Seaside, and Manzanita, the location was perfect. We loved having access to a private beach. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of activity. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Maki, Seagull Landing is a great home base with access to lots of activity nearby. Thanks for your great recommendation. Hope you come back soon! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Family Getaway!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

We traveled to OR from the midwest for a family wedding in Portland and then stayed an extra week on the coast - and we are so glad we did! We spent some time in Cannon Beach exploring the shops and eating some great chowder, and of course we spent a morning at Haystack Rock...but I am so glad we chose to stay in Arch Cape instead of Cannon Beach because the Cape is so beautiful and private. We went tide pooling everyday, visited Hug Point at low tide (don't miss it, this was awesome!), and just enjoyed playing in the surf and building sand castles.

We filled the beds with 3 young boys (5&3 in the bunk beds, 7 month old in our travel crib), myself and my husband and my parents; but we never felt cramped inside the house, it was very comfortable! There were ample supplies of towels, kitchen ware, beach toys, laundry detergent, and the home was very clean when we arrived.

We would love to visit again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Alanna, We are glad you enjoyed staying at Seagull Landing and exploring Arch Cape Beach! It is a memorable place, epecially since you are from such a different part of the country. Come back! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Arch Cape Beach

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

The house is nice, and only 70 yards from the beach. Arch Cape beach is a treasure that we lucked out in discovering, thanks to staying at Seagull Landing. If you want the full windswept, rugged pacific beach experience with hardly anyone else there, this is the place for you. Only 5 miles from Cannon Beach, if you want a bit more hustle and bustle, but the solitude suited us perfectly. The kids never got bored playing in the sand and flying kites. The house itself is very cosy, with a log fire and a kitchen well stocked with utensils and cooking tools.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Michael, Glad that you and the kids enjoyed Seagull Landing and our wonderfully private Arch Cape Beach. Our favorite time to be on the beach is at low tide when the beach and tidepools are alive with starfish and other sea life. Please come back when you need another break from the "hustle of city life". Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Absolutely everything you could want in a vacation home. It was so nice and clean. Our grandsons loved the short distance to the beach as did we. Mike and Deb were awesome and we will definitely be back. Thanks for everything including a beautiful vase of roses and a cute welcome basket. What more can I say!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Linda, we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed Seagull Landing and Arch Cape's secluded beach. We do try to have all the things you need well-stocked at the beach house! It makes us feel we have done a good job making you feel at home when people say "We will be back!" Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nice Home Next to a Quiet Beach

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

"Seagull Landing" is a cute house. The home is beautifully decorated and is very welcoming. The beach access is a very short walk (about 1 minute) from the home and it felt like a private beach because it was so quiet. We enjoyed a bonfire at the beach one night while watching the sunset. We also took a nice walk to Hug Point during low tide. The owners have provided everything you could possibly need at the house, including many towels, blankets, kitchen utensils, napkins, and marshmallow sticks. We had a wonderful time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Jaspreet,
Thanks for your review of our home. It sounds as though your family enjoyed the beach and walks. We are pleased that you had a great vacation and look forward to your return to our home.
Mike Pierce
Seagull Landing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Slice of Heaven

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We just returned from Seagull Landing, and can't wait to go back! This cozy house was a little slice of heaven. Very clean and well appointed! its a great place for couples or families. Note that the living area is upstairs, so it may not be suitable for anyone who is physically challenged. The big fireplace was a pleasure to enjoy after a chilly beach hike. We visited in late May, and it was chilly. The house is in a great location for beach and trail hiking, day trips to nearby towns, and minutes from Cannon Beach. (You will need a car while visiting.) The local restaurants were lovely, and welcoming. The owners couldn't have been more helpful....there were fresh flowers upon our arrival and very clear instructions for our stay...we felt right at home and we will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sue, thanks for the great review! We enjoyed the e-mails while you were at Seagull Landing. We were glad to hear that you were having a great time and finding the things you needed at the house. Thanks for taking good care of Jonathan, the little seagull that likes to visit. Come back! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This house is a definite 10!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed in vacation rentals in the past, and this property is at the top of our list. The house was not only beautiful, it was immaculate and comfortable with lots of amenities that are not typical with vacation rental properties. It was as if Mike and Deb anticipated our every need and provided it for us, it was just wonderful. Arch Cape is also so peaceful and the beach is just breathtaking, with many tide pools and caves to explore. We especially enjoyed being away from the hustle and bustle of Cannon Beach, but still close enough to enjoy the restaurants and shopping. If you're heading to the Cannon Beach area, I would highly recommend Arch Cape and this beautiful home, you will not be disappointed. We are looking forward to staying here again. Seagull Landing is a definite 10!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Lydia,
Thank you for the great review. We try to offer our guests amenities that are not available at most homes. We are elated that you enjoyed your Arch Cape experience and welcome you back whenever you need an ocean getaway.
Mike Pierce

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We would stay here again in a heart beat. Great little place with a private beach access.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Danielle, Thank you for that great 5 star review. We are so glad that you had a fun time during your stay! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AS GOOD AS ADVERTISED!

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 26, 2013

Hi -

Professionally, I'm a partner in a firm that consults to the luxury hospitality industry. As such, I've had the privilege of experiencing some of the best resorts and urban hotels that exist. My goal in looking for a house in or near Cannon Beach was dual - (1) book a comfortable place for spring break that was clean and well-located and (2) have easy access to a beautiful stretch of beach.

Let me just say that the owners property are as user-friendly to deal with as you'd ever want, and ultra responsive, Not only that, be happy to pay the cleaning fee because the place is immaculate. It's extremely cozy and comfortable - a bulls-eye as far as I and my family are concerned - but part of what makes that so true is that it's extremely clean. Everything described on the VRBO website is accurate, but what isn't described is also wonderful:
- I don't think I've ever slept on a more comfortable bed with more comfortable sheets
- All the furniture is in great condition and very comfortable
- I made pasta, but forgot to bring olive oil and needed one teaspoon - it was in the cupboard!
- The washer and dryer are large load, brand new, state of the art
- Furnace works beautifully
- Home is warm and you just want to be there
- The fireplace is wonderful and all the wood was beautifully set in and near the fireplace when we arrived
- The owner's have a local manager who is totally available to respond should it be necessary - it wasn't
- The kitchen is well-equiipped and there is a nice refrigerator and dishwasher
- The bedrooms are all downstairs, so children or others can sleep without being disturbed by upstairs activity
- There is a nice TV and collection of DVD's and videos
- Internet access was wireless and zero problem; plenty of bandwidth
- Beach access is a one-minute walk to a gorgeous beach that feels nearly private
- Cannon Beach stores, etc. are easy to access - five to ten minutes. We only left the house once.

My wife and our oldest son were on a separate trip, so I brought my dad and my boy and girl twins. Let me just say that not only was the house PERFECT for all of our needs, but I look forward to bringing my wife by herself, and my entire family again as well.

While luxury hotels and resorts make an excellent effort to be your home away from home and to deliver exceptional experiences, I give Seagull Landing the edge - it's a special place!
;-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kenneth, Wow! Thank you for that very generous and amazing review! I found it very interesting that you are a partner in a consulting firm for the luxury hospitality industry. I have been an executive in the hospitality entertainment industry for 25 years and so when my husband and I decided to rent out our beach house to families and groups on vacation, we put a lot of thought into making it a memorable and comfortable experience for our guests. It is wonderful to hear that an expert in hospitality feels that we nailed it! We are looking forward to your return visit. Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

comfy home in Arch Cape

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Seagull Lanind is a very easy home to relax in, it had plenty of room for our family of four, and is a short walk to the beach (2 houses in front of it before you get to the beach). We all enjoyed it very much.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Diana, Thank you for the great 5 Star recommendation. Mike and I are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Seagull Landing. It is a comfortable home- winter or summer! Please come back next year! Deb

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Seagull Landing" - Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "Seagull Landing". The house and property were squeaky clean and in excellent condition, supplied with everything we needed. The place matched the website description and had nice reminders throughout the house as to how things worked. We loved bringing our own food and being able to cook in a warm cozy environment - the kitchen was nicely supplied with various utensils and cookware. We even used the barbeque out on the deck one evening. It rained 3 out of 4 days so we really enjoyed the fireplace. Easy beach access from the house and we enjoyed watching the waves from the dining/livingroom. We specifically chose Arch Cape because we didn't want to be in the hub-bub of Cannon Beach. Our favorite spot was Oswald West Beach - a beautiful hike through the forest down to the beach (go at low tide) and walk along the beach out to the waterfall. Don't miss Ecola State Park with great views of Haystack Rock and Tillimook Lighthouse.

"Seagull Landing" was everything we expected - you have a lovely home and we had a wonderful time using it - Thank You! Would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Rainy weather and Nice ! clean Home

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 11, 2012

Though weather wasn't best for us, we enjoyed relaxing as a family at Seagull Landing. Very clean and well equipped. Really appreciated the new washer/dryer as we went hiking and got soaked! We ate out but enjoyed having coffee & muffins at the house. Fireplace was ready but we didn't actually use during our stay. Could see some water from house and walking on the beach was easy. The house is adjacent to main road. Though I didn't hear traffic, husband mentioned the trucks a few nights. Liked that is was a let free environment.
The beautiful roses from the yard greeted us when we arrived/departed! What a nice touch! Mike was easy to work with setting up our rental and graciously shared tickets to the Cannon Beach Fireman's dinner which occurred during our stay. Thank you Mike.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Karen, thanks for the great recommendation! We are so glad that you enjoyed Seagull Landing. Our housekeeper takes great pride in keeping the house immaculately clean. There is nothing more satisfying to us or our guests then walking out the door and onto the beach within a few steps. The low tide tide pools are spectacular! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

George and Lu

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 24, 2012

If you started to read my original review, be aware that my cat just walked across my keyboard and accidentally sent my incomplete thoughts....maybe not so accidentally!
I started to say that the non-golfing sisters rebelled against the golfing vacations year after year and we now alternate planning the Fall vacation...even though golf does seem to creap into the non-golf years! This year we spent a long weekend in McMinnville wine-tasting and then headed to Arch Cape for a week on the coast doing practically nothing except walking on the beach and reading, with a bit of shopping thrown in for good measure. Seagull Landing could not have been better for four adults who enjoy each other's company. The local art and accessories and the tasteful decor were a delight to eye, the art especially. Lots of information on local fun and games, where to eat, what to do. Kitchen well-stocked, extremely clean, quiet location, easy access to the beach, all just what the doctor ordered. We celebrated an anniversary while we were there and took your advice about Newman's at 988 in Cannon Beach. Dinner was superb, service excellent, wonderful wine list, an evening you would expect in a large city. In fact every meal we had in Oregon was above average. The boys played golf in Gearhart at The Golf Links and enjoyed the course very much (the girls were shopping). Seagull Landing is close enough to have fun and far enough away to be peaceful. Mike and Deb easily accessible by email and included a list of "Best Bets" that was very helpful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: George and Lu, We are glad that you enjoyed the tranquility and friendly atmosphere of Seagull Landing. Over the years we have collected the local art displayed at our beach house and our guests do love it. Thanks for the great comments. Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Old Time Favorite!

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 7, 2012

I've stayed in this house many times over the past 20 years. I have always loved this house and it's proximity to the beach and to Cannon Beach! This time was no exception!! The new owners have done a great job in some new appointments to this fine home and it well-furnished, comfortable in every way, exceptionally clean, and so enjoyable for 3 of us gals to just relax, cook, and enjoy our wonderful OR coast! I would say the photos accurately reflect the rentals appearance but it's better in person! The older oven didn't quite cook to temp., so things took a little longer....but we just enjoyed another glass of wine:) Over-all, I would definitely recommend this property!!! The owner was easy to contact and also, very helpful in every way.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jane, so glad you gals had a great time and enjoyed the house. It is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy friends and family. The stove was just purchased last January and is under warranty. We called the appliance store to check on the oven temperature controls and they made an adjustment. Thanks. Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent spot right outside of Cannon Beach

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Excellent private place just minutes from the bustle of Cannon Beach. Their home is lovely, just minutes from the beach. The week we stayed must have been a quiet time with regards to travelers. The place is nestled in serene location with many tide pools and caves to explore. Hands down, the best place I have stayed at or near Cannon Beach

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Nadeem, we love it at Seagull Landing too. I enjoy watching the ocean from the deck and walking out the front door and to the secluded beach at Arch Cape in about 200 steps! So glad that you and your family relished your get-away! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Location and great accommodations for a family!

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Awesome place for 4th of July! Fireworks on both ends of the beach. Private beach was beautiful! Easy walk to Hug Point at low tide, beautiful scenery. We were lucky with the weather, a great vacation! Seagull Landing is the perfect size rental, plenty of room for a family of 5, smartly furnished with everything you need. It was a home away from home. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, Michael! On on-line review is a great way to let us know you had a wonderful experience at Seagull Landing. It means a lot to us. Please return! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Seagull Landing

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

The house was just what was advertised. Wonderful location. Clean, well stocked kitchen. All amenities I would have wanted. I would certainly rent this house again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Janice. It was so nice of you to share your recommendation for Seagull Landing. Please come back! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SEAGULL LANDING VACATION

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

The Grandkids and adults had a wonderful time at the beach. Seagull Landing had all the necessary supplies and the place was awesome. Close to the beach and beautiful scenary. Rained every day we were there but the last day ,but it did not stop us from having the greatest vacation ever..Definetly would recommend the property to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Susan, We are glad that you and your family had an awesome time and thank you so much for the glowing recommendation. Our happy guests make it all worthwhile for us! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very clean and comfortable.

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Your home was exceptionally clean and full of everything a guest could need. We had such
a great time, felt very relaxed, enjoyed the view and the walk to the beach. Very happy
we chose this home and would rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kelly, Thank you for recommending Seagull Landing. We work hard at making our beach house inviting and interesting with lots of local art on the walls and fun little touchs that make you smile. Come back soon! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to land for a vacation along the Oregon Coast

Review submitted: April 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Seagull Landing in Arch Cape. The house was well suited for our family, a room for each kid, plus a bunkbed in one that our daughter loved to read on. The house has a view of the ocean with extremely close access to an excellent adventure on the beach. Aptly named Seagull Landing, we had a Gull friend visit us every morning on the deck during what we assume he cleverly realized was a meal time and was hoping for scraps.
This home is located conveniently close to Canon Beach, a lovely seaside town for shopping, dining and a walk on the beach to enjoy Haystack Rock. Ecola State Park is also a draw to this area. Seaside and Astoria are both short drives to the North. Tillamook, its cheese factories and the 3 Cape Drive are another good day outing within short driving distance. So much to do, I wish we had stayed longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad that you had an "excellent adventure" during your stay! We love to provide the comfortable, inviting home at the beach to return to. Visit us again! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Get Away

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2011

Loved this house for our family get away. We have never rented a house that was so clean and fully stocked with anything you could possibly need. Good view of the ocean and a very short and nice path led right to the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad your family had a great stay last weekend and enjoyed Seagull Landing! We find that it is a great place escape the rush of life, relax with your family and friends and enjoy nature's beauty. Please come back!! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Hello Mike and Debbie! Just wanted you to know we had a fabulous time at your home. It was so well equipped....you have thought of everything! The weather tended to be a bit misty/rainy, but it did not keep us off the beach when it cleared. Great area and lovely setting. Thanks so much for sharing. Out family could not have had a better time. It is so nice to be able to visit so many places within a short drive due to your wonderful location. Would we rent it again.....absolutely! Blessings to you, Sue and Craig.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SEAGULL LANDING

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Hi Mike,
Had a wonderful time in your cozy, extremely well-equipped beach house. The accommodations and location was perfect for our family. We walked on the beach many times when the tide was out, collecting shells and sand dollars. West coast beaches have magnificent waterfalls and the most interesting rocks covered with mussels and starfish.
East coast beaches are very different. The sand is loose, the beach is much deeper, and the water is warmer, more suitable for swimming.
We walked on the sand and flew kites, enjoyed the birds who visited your deck, ate at Mo's many times, rode the carousel in Seaside...fun for all. Tired at night, we enjoyed relaxing in front of the fire and sleeping in most comfortable beds. The girls especially like the bunks. We all loved pancakes in the morning and your kitchen had everything we needed. We all had a fun filled, relaxing vacation.
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home.
Carol and Steve Herman, Monroe Township NJ and
Lawrence, Jenny, Lily, Addie and Bryson, Tigard OR

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Carol, We are so glad that you had a great time and had everything you needed during your stay. We try to make sure that our renters are supplied with beach equipment, emergency supplies, games and movies, fire wood, as well as kitchen supplies. We are going to have a chance to see the East coast beaches for ourselves next year when we head to Bar Harbor, Maine for a family gathering. We hope you return to Seagull Landing! Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous home away from home

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

Having never used VRBO before, or rented someone else's house, all I had to go on were this site's photos, owner comments, and guest reviews. I knew the splendor of Cannon Beach coastline, and decided to risk the investment. Our group was pleasantly, happily surprised by how wonderful this property is in every aspect. It speaks of generous hospitality from the moment you step inside, with careful attention to details that folks would need and want for an extended vacation stay in one place. This is clearly someone's home, filled with warmth, charm, and meaningfulness. It felt like "home away from home." Would I return? In a heartbeat! The owners are fabulous hosts, easy to communicate with, and very considerate. Enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Chris, we are excited that you decided to take the "VRBO plunge" and try Seagull Landing, our vacation home overlooking Arch Cape beach. We try our best to make it a wonderful, relaxing place to come home to at the end of the day. Thank you for being such a delightful guest. We enjoyed getting to know you through phone calls and e-mails. We hope that you took home great memories of comfortable time with your friends and the beautiful Oregon coastal area. Mike and Deb

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

MIke and Debbie, We thank you so very much for sharing your lovely and comfortable beach house with us. We feel truely blessed. It was a joy each morning to sit on the balcony and watch the dynamics of the wildlife at your neighbor's feeders and having the hummingbirds fly in, pause in front of me, and then zoom away. Our grandson also loved prepping for the nightly fire in the fireplace. It was a joy to come "home" at the end of each day! I truely appreciated the well stocked kitchen- was amazed by it actually. The BBQ tools are a hoot and I loved the black, white and red..and you have a fantastic personal gallery of the local artists.
We spent hours on the various local beaches and the grandchildren are going home with a bagful of their special finds. Focused our time between Seaside to Manzanita this trip. All experiences were new for the grandchildren. My thrill was riding the Tilt-A-Whirl...my favorite. We are taking home some special purchases. Hate to leave!! Thank you again. Keith and Anna, Richland, Wa.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seagull Landing 07/10/2010-07/17/2010

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Seagull Landing was one of the most memorable places we have stayed in a long time. What a surprise to find a welcoming beach bucket and digging tools filled with treats on the dinning room table. We used this bucket on many occassions on the beach and felt bad that we could not pack it back in the plane for a momento. This home was sparkling clean and with easy access to Arch Cape Beach. We cooked numerous home cooked meals in this home and appreciated the fact that the kitchen is well stocked with all sorts of cooking vessels and appliances. My wife appreciated the fact that Arch Cape Beach was not as busy as any other and we had the feeling that it belonged to us. Also when the tides went out we had the surprise of all the Starfish and other animals clinging to the rocks right within easy walking distance of the house. A campfire on the beach making smores was the ultimate last night there. There is so much to do in the area that it would almost take a lifetime to see it all. All sorts of restrants were within a few miles and I think our favorite turned out to be Mo's just a couple of miles down the road. Cannon Beach was fun for a day of walking into all the different shops and art galleries and topping it off at the beach and viewing Haystack Rock with all the Starfish and water animals. I especially liked the demonstration of glass blowing at Icefire Glassworks. We visited many lighthouses and traveled many trails in the forests some of them were traveled by Lewis and Clark when they came upon the Pacific. Astoria to the north was fun and full of Marine museums along with many movie filming sites. We traveled to Troutsdale and then along the Historic Columbia River Highway to many waterfalls and the mighty Columbia River. All people we met in all places were down home courteous and friendly. This is such a beautiful comfortable home that the pictures cannot begin to describe what you find when you arrive. Communication from the owners was fantastic and all questions were answered promptly. Thank you for the opportunity to share this home for the week and if we ever make it back to the coast we would only want to stay here as it spoiled us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Perfect Home away from Home

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

Wonderful home, wonderful beach, wonderful owners. Thank you for sharing your home with us - it was perfect!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kim, thank YOU for the wonderful recommendation! Glad your stay was a great one! Deb and Mike Pierce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Coastal Heaven!

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

We spent 4 days on the coast at Seagull Landing...and it was truly wonderful! After being greeted by the resident seagulls the minute we arrived, we settled right in to this very comfortable home. It was such a wonderful location (only about a 1 minute walk to the ocean) and the home was very, very clean and very nicely equipped. We so enjoyed out relaxing stay, cooked and ate crab, scallops, shrimp, salmon and just had a wonderful time. Nice ocean views, quiet location and everything we could ask for! At the end of our four days...I wasn't ready to leave! Needless to say, we hope to return someday and enjoy the peacefulness and relaxation of Seagull Landing!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to give us your review! We are thrilled that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Please come back again to enjoy Seagull Landing! Deb and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2010

Sept, 13 2009 I am sitting on your balcony watching the waves roll in and looking at the gulls flying over them. It is cool and overcast right now, although we have had lovely weather since arriving. I am Kris and here with my husband Larry and best friends Ray and Sharon. We arrived at your darling and beautiful beach house on the 10th and we have had a wonderful time. This house is an absolute "treasure"! It is lovely, cute, whimsical, perfect in every single way. We have traveled all over the world and stayed many different places-hotels, motels, condos, houses, etc and this place is the most perfect I have ever seen. Everything anyone could need or want is here and it is decorated to a "T". You have done a fabulous job of making it attractive and comfortable at the same time. The cleaning people do an outstanding job getting it ready for each guest and it was perfect when we arrived. Larry and I found Cannon Beach three years ago by accident. We were able to spend only two nights here and vowed to return someday. Your beach is gorgeous, the surrounding area is lovely and on and on and on. I feel very fortunate to have located your beach house on VRBO. It is obvious that you have taken great care selecting the furnishings, art work etc. It is just great! We love it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

A wonderfully cozy get-away! My first time on the Oregon coast and I have loved it! I have had a sampling of life in this area with my friend Faith, who knows it well. Picked up lots of sand dollars yesterday at low tide on this beach-a rare find, and closed the day with a beachfire watching the sunset. Thank you for sharing your lovely home, so accessable to the oceanfront.
Peg from Detroit, Michigan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

reminders of Australia

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

Mike and Deb, Thank you for sharing your beautiful beach house with us! We loved all the comforts that your home provided especially the endless supply of fresh towels, the sun deck and the well-equiped kitchen. The sound of the waves remined us of our former home on the southern coast of Australia! We spent the weekend walking at low tide on the beach, drinking, eating, watching your DVDs, and talking. A very special family time. The weather was perfect and we slept like the dead!
Catherine, James, Andrea, Carrie, Jonathan, and Libby from Melbourne, Australia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Words from a poet

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2009

Well there we were,
we were working like that,
When who should move west,
but the oldest son Pat.

From Pennsylvania to Oregon,
is a very long way.
So Pat said to parents,
"I really must stay"!

After 10 months, the folks came to visit.
Pat said the the folks,
"the coast you can't miss it."

Seagull Landing was special,
had a wonderful time,
Watching the Oregon sunset,
sipping Oregon wine.

Tomorrow we are gone,
leaving Arch Cape behind.
But when we are back in PA,
your lovely home will be in our minds.

Richard, Miriam, Patrick, Irwin and Grandma from Somerset, PA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed a stormy weekend

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We have enjoyed a too-short weekend. The weather was stormy and windy-it couldn't have been more dramatic and exciting. We walked on the beach against bracing winds up to stunning rock and crevice formations. The view of the trees blowing and waves crashing while the fireplace crackled cozily was all we needed. We drove to see Cape Meares and it was a highlight of the trip. We also stopped by the Tillamook Cheese factory for some sharp cheddar and a scoop of ice cream.
It was restful to sleep in a quiet downstairs. We appreciate the welcome goodies, stacks of bath towels, abundant firewood and current magazines, movies and games. My family enjoyed the time together-we will remember this place fondly. Tina, Mikal, Gale and Rachel from Austin, Texas and Barb and Rodger from Tyler, Tx.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful house

Review submitted: January 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

Mike, We enjoyed your beach house very much. This beach is beautiful. We had beach fires at night and the setting sun just added to the picture. We rented equipment and surfed and even toured Tillamook Cheese Factory. Your house was a wonderful base and we took several afternoon naps and read books in the comforable living room. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 31, 2009   Date of arrival: December 31, 2009

My family and I have rented this home twice, both times during the 4th of July, 2008 and 2009. The house is wonderful, with tasteful decor, and is equipped with everything you might need. Upon arrival, you will find the house very clean. There are laundry facilities downstairs which you will find very useful after spending the day down at the beach. Speaking of... there is a path down to the beach just steps from the house. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, away from the bustle of Cannon Beach, but close enough to enjoy some shopping. We also enjoy going to Seaside, where you will find a Safeway. Sleeping comes real easy when you open the windows and catch a nice breeze and the sounds of the waves hitting the beach. Truly relaxing and rejuvenating!

Owners response: Thanks for the great comment! I hope that you decide to come back this summer! Deb Pierce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

Thank you for sharing your beautiful beach house with us! We loved all the comforts that your home provided especially the endless supply of fresh towels, the sun deck and the well-equipted kitchen. The sound of the waves reminded us of our former home on the southern coast of Australia! We spent the weekend walking at low tide on the beach, drinking ,eating and talking. A very special family time. The weather was perfect and we sleep like the dead!

Owners response: Catherine and James, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Arch Cape beach home.
Debbie and Mike Pierce

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

Mike,
We enjoyed your beach home very much. This beach is beautiful. We had beach fire at night and the setting sun just added to the picture. We rented equipment and surfed and even toured Tillamook Cheese Factory. Your house was a wonderful base and we took several afternoon naps and read our books in the comfortable living room. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review