reviews for: listing #9225 - Kailua-Kona, Hawaii Condo rental

Oceanfront across Alii Drive with180 degree ocean view
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kona Alii
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $135 - $139 /nt
    $945 - $973 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,700 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

Thai has been a perfect vacation without the use of a car. Each day we walked over to the farmers market for some fresh produce, we checked our e mail right next to the condo and we even played tennis whenever we felt like it in the public tennis court. Jeff would just walk out ot the condo, looked over to the tennis court and came back to to get me and the rackets, great.
We took the tour bus around the island
which also stopped by the Volcano.
Thank you for lsetting us stay in this wonderful, spaciour and comfortable condo.
Jeff and Helena Miller

Owners response: Aloha Jeff and Helena.
Yes, I agree that this is a perfect location when you don't drive.
Kailua-Kona is such a lovely town to walk around in. I also enjoy the little beach right across from the condo.
Please return

Best wishes

Marianna

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Welcoming, clean and bright. Very comfy.

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 14, 2013

Nice pool. Close to a lot of activity. Easy access to the island and the beaches. Many restaurants to choose from. Dolphins play in front. Good price and a place to return to. Wifi was a nice touch. Loved it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kona Alii #303

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

"Over the past ten years we stayed in all the major islands of Hawaii. We spent the last winter in Kona, Hi. We rented Marianna’s condo at Kona Alii (# 303), from November 15/2012 to March 30/2013. The condo is very well furnished and it is in one of the best locations in Kona. View of the ocean and sunset from the condo is just wonderful. From the condo it is just an easy walk to all the shops, restaurants, farmer’s market, library and the Kona pier. Best of all Marianna is a wonderful hostess. She is a very kind and considerate lady and always treated us as one of her best friends. She always took care of our needs promptly. We very much enjoyed our stay in Marianna’s condo in Kona Alii. It was truly our home away from home and we miss it very much. Thank you, Marianna.
Bob & Joyce, Kennewick, WA."


Warm Aloha and best wishes.

Bob

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing location, beautiful view

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Coming in from our outings, walking in the door, and seeing the gorgeous ocean right outside was so amazing. When I read other reviews saying the location was walking distance to places, I wondered if it really was for my son who really doesn't like to walk far. The first day I found a good ocean-front breakfast place online and found out it was literally next door! It really is an excellent location and you really do not need a car to travel within the town. And the owner was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely rent here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a great find, such a view

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

We stayed for a week and will book this condo again. Located in the lively part of Kona there are many shops and restaurants right by the condo so we only used the car for day trips and we bought our produce at a daily farmers market that is about a block from the condo. We tried a few restaurants within a block of the condo and liked all of them: the Thai Rin Restaurant, Lava Java and Bubba Gumps. The unit was very clean and modern with a remodeled kitchen and bathrooms and it is a big help that the unit has a washer and dryer in the unit so we were able to pack lightly.
The view from the Lanai is outstanding. We saw turtles and yellow tangs just looking down from the Lanai and one morning we watched a pod of spinner dolphins feeding and jumping.
We went swimming and snorkeling at the beach at the Kamakahonu National Historic Landmark a couple of times, walking rather than driving over there because it was so close.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Location

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Fantastic Location within walking distance to EVERYTHING! Right next to Lava Java, a perfect place for morning breakfast and coffee and evening dinners and live music, a short walk Hugo's on the Rocks and Don the Beachcombers for lunches and dinners. You could not ask for a better location on th Kona coast. There is no end to the places you can shop and eat at within a short walk. You can see the ships in the harbor and everything that's going on, it's an easy walk to the docks of Kona Town. We had a great time and would love to stay there again.

Owners response: Thank you.
I could not agree more.
Presently I am having the bathroom renovated with marble and granite It looks great and this should ad to your comfort pleasure next time you come.
Warm Aloha

Marianna

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The condo was actually better than we expected. We left the doors on the lanai open all the time we were there. The sound of the surf and the ocean breeze you can't beat it.
The condo is clean and well equiped Marianna is just a great lady and everything went smooth.
We would, and may stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Saw whale & dolphins from lanai in February!

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Marianna exhibited unbelievable customer service before and right after we rented her condo regarding our car rental. She saved us alot of money by making the reservation herself. We can't emphasize how great she was to work with. You can get away with not having a car rental at this particular location, but we would not recommend it. There is so much to see on the rest of the island that you would miss if you did not venture out. There is no air conditioning in most places in Kona, but the fact that we could open up the sliders to the lanai with the ocean breeze coming in was so delightful. No bugs to bother us, either. Wonderful ocean view. You can see the water even from the king sized bed. This is within walking distance of restaurants. Snorkeling nearby. Farmer's Market was just down the street and opened from Wednesday through Sunday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, Location, Location

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

This is the perfect location for Kona, you are right in the middle of everything. You can go north about 7+ miles and find two of the best beaches in Kona, (Kona Coast State Park and Kua Bay) head south about about 20 miles to Hookena Beach (black sand).

The condo is clean and welcoming. Great place to people watch, HA! We found the residents at Kona Alii friendly and helpful, they even like childeren.

Marianna, is easy to work with and has alot of ALOHA!

We hope to make this an anual fling!!!

Thanks, Marianna for everything!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location. Location, Location

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2009

The condo was perfect for our needs and the location was awesome. The residents of Kona Alii were friendly and helpful, sure made us feel at home.Very kid friendly!!!!!!

We will recommend it to our friends and family. While in Kona you need try out Huggo's a little spendy, but that's Kona, well worth the money.

Aloha from Alaska

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: October 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

We recently stayed at this unit. In my opinion, could not have been a better location. The condo was clean and nicely furnished. Nice having two bathrooms. No ac, but the breeze coming off the ocean was plenty. Several good restaurants nearby. What a beautiful island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

Aloha.
We really enjoyed our stay and looking forward to coming back!
Awesome watching the surfers from the balconi and the couch in the living room.
Everything was wonderful. You have an awesome place.
Thanks and mahalo

Rick and Sinead

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2007   Date of arrival: April 22, 2007

We had a lovely, relaxing visit.
Enjoyed the Cruise ships appearing and disappearing as if they never existed.
Saw the dophins and turtles and the many bays.
The location of this condo is perfect.
Hate to leave and hope to come again.
Sany and Bernhard

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 13, 2007   Date of arrival: April 13, 2007

Aloha.

We had a wonderful week over Spring Break. We saw whales, turtles, many fish and Surfers riding the waves.

Big Isand is the best!
Mahalo
the Young's

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2007   Date of arrival: April 3, 2007

Mahalo Marianna, for sharing your olace of paradise with us.
The oceanm the sunsets, the surfer, what wonderful views.
I got up at 6:00 AM. This is our last day. I sttod looking out over the ocean with tears in my eyes.
I guess that just says it all!!!
We enjoyed every moment.

Again, Mahalo and Aloha


Jim and Jean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: March 30, 2007

What a wonderful view, all day, every day, for the whole month of March
A 50th wedding anniversary to remember and cherish!

Thank you and Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 12, 2007   Date of arrival: March 12, 2007

First Visit to your condo.
View is fantastic. Watched the Spinner Dolphins each morning.Had another perfect visit in Kona. Very relaxing
Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 22, 2007   Date of arrival: February 22, 2007

From the wonderful view and sounds of the ocean to the frolicking green sea turtles in the waves under the lanai!
We will look forward to another visit.
This was the perfect extentions of our Hawaii/Maui/Kona Honeymoon.
It could not have been more perfect.
Mahalo M. and L

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 18, 2007   Date of arrival: February 18, 2007

Mahalo, Marianna.

What a wonderful place for all of us to be!
We thank you for the cracious space. The view and overall atmosphere was simply spectacular.
We had a whale of time.
Best wishes always

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2007   Date of arrival: January 22, 2007

What a great view!
We loved the open living room and enjoyed the ocean every morning during breakfast. It was nice being so closse to everything. A very relaxing vacation

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 18, 2006   Date of arrival: December 18, 2006

What a great location. The lanai was mezmerizing.
Great wheater, amaizing sunsets and tropical breezes.
You have some amazing peices of furniture that add a very special effect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 2, 2006   Date of arrival: December 2, 2006

Had a great time.
Thanks for renting us this condo.
Highlights:
Surfers, Sea Turtles and fish out the window, plus pounding Surf.
1st tune visitors in Kona, probably not last.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2006   Date of arrival: November 1, 2006

It was more than we expected. The view was awesome. We also enjoyed the comfort and space as well as the location. White Sands Beach and Kahalu Beach for snorkeling where just minutes away.
Thank you for letting us stay at this peaceful and lovely condo.

Jim and Jan Hansen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 6, 2006   Date of arrival: November 6, 2006

We had a wonderful time here in Kona. We very much enjoyed the condo, terrific view, plenty of space and all the amenities.
Marianna was very helpful and gracious.
This was our 5th trip to Kona. This is most certainly our favorite place that we've stayed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Fantastic stay here at the Banyan Tree.
Definately athe highlight of our stay here in Hawaii.
We will be back to the Banyan Tree. So much better that a hotel as far as comfort and facilities go.
We would like to thank Marianna for providing this spectacular condo.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 19, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

The condo unit was great. The view was terrific. The street noise was not a problem and people viewing from the patio was interesting. Would highly recommend--A great week....Becky Madsen

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 22, 2006   Date of arrival: May 22, 2006

What an awesome week here in Hawaii!!!!!
We enjoyed the condo so much. Kinda feels like you'r in a boat, you are so close to the water. Life does not get much better than this.
Loved it all
John and Shannon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 30, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

We had a wonderful time in Hawaii.
This condo is great.It was way beyond our expectations.We will certainly recommend your condo without hesitation.

J. and B. Starfield

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

This is a perfect spot. Since I do not drive I was able to fully enjoy all activities around the island and in town plus this lovely, clean and comfortable appartment offered me the peace that I needed and the fabolous views. Thank you, I'll be back.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2004   Date of arrival: June 1, 2004

Ein endloser Ausblick auf den Ozean.
Eine schoene,ganz private Wohnung in zentraler Lage fuer alle Aktivitaeten.
Ich wuerde es jederzeit weiterempfehlen.

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review