reviews for: listing #92250 - Cape May, New Jersey House rental

Cape House on Dunes,WIFI, Dog friendly, Wedding, Sunsets
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,000 - $3,850 /wk

sort by:

Great House , Great Location.

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

First let me say, are the house is even nicer than the pictures!!! What we liked most about the house was the location. Being on the bay, we had warmer water than the ocean without the waves. Having little kids with us allowed them to play in the water. The beach was less than 200 yds from the back door and was very private. The fenced in backyard also allowed the kids to play outside. At night, it was only a short 15-20 min ride to the Cape May boardwalk. The rooms were all spacious and very clean. My only suggestion would the house have a couple more coffee mugs.. We had 14 (including kids) and had no trouble accommodating all of us without getting in each others way. Bettina, the property manager, was always responsive to my inquires. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your generous comments. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our house. We very much appreciate your suggestion and we will make sure to follow up. As you mentioned, besides the house, one of our best assets is our beach, warm water, no big crowds, spectacular sunsets and no tags required. When you're not enjoying the beach, and as you also mentioned, you're just minutes away from lots fun places like Cape May and the Wildwoods where there is something for everyone in the family regardless of interest or age. You are right on the mark about our property manager too. Bettina makes it all come together and always strives to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience here at the shore. Thank you for choosing us for your vacation, we appreciate you being our guests and hope to see you here again!

All the best
John

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful House and View!

Review submitted: September 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

Me and 9 of my friends rented Cape House at the end of August for one week and we had a wonderful experience. The house was large and spacious with a comfortable and airy open floor plan. There were lots of windows on all three floors which provided tons of sunshine and an opportunity to enjoy the wonderfully cool ocean breezes. I particularly LOVED falling asleep to the waves crashing on the surf every night! We all enjoyed the steam room, an amenity you rarely see, and whirl pool located in the 3rd floor bathroom. The fact that I was permitted to bring my dog, as were two of my other friends, was a HUGE plus; and, since the beach is private, we were permitted to bring our dogs with us when we went swimming or on early morning walks. Cape May sunsets are phenomenal and we had a picture perfect view of them every night! Everything was clean and exactly as described and we could not beat the price. We will definitely be back again next year! Thank you – Marie J & friends

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Wedding House

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

We chose this house as a setting for our beach wedding and reception. It was absolutely perfect! The home is set up so spaciously that even with a very large number of people visiting, we were very comfortable. The views of the sunset are incredible. We had 60 guests at our reception in the backyard and it was very accommodating. Bettina, the property manager, made sure we had everything we needed and responded quickly to any questions we had. Looking at some of these reviews, it is important to remember that when renting a private residence you are subject to dealing with situations based upon other individuals having used the property before you and be aware that things may not be 100% in order when you get there. We needed the lawn cut...it was done....needed the thermostat opened...done...Bettina even supplied us with an iron, ironing board and new coffee pot! There was nothing that wasn't addressed immediately! One also has to keep in mind that the owner of the property may not keep it up as he/she should and it all falls on the manager to "fix" everything. She did a exemplary job at handling everything! We had a wonderful vacation.....and memories we will never forget.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Serene setting!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Upon arriving at the property at our check in time, we found the cleaning crew was still there cleaning due to staff shortages. Bettina, the property manager, was quick to respond and got us all settled in and even compensated us for the cleaning crew being late. She did everything she could to make sure we had an enjoyable stay.

As for the property, if you are looking for privacy this is the place to stay! Beyond the fenced in back yard, the house has a private walkway to the bay. The water was warm and you could enjoy the beach without the fuss of the crowds. We did find that there are a couple of large drainage pipes that lead into the bay for when there are storms. After talking to a local couple who live right on the bay, we were assured they were just for water run off and are prefectly safe and normal. After the initial surprise of seeing them, we forgot they were even there! Sunsets were amazing setting over the bay and low tide was perfect for bringing the dog out off leash for a little play time. Perfect location to relax with friends or family and get some quality peace and quiet!

The house was just as expected. Very nice and clean, pillow top mattresses in 2 of the rooms and plenty of hot water which is a plus when you are near the beach! Large bath tub and sauna were a nice thing to have as well. Upon arrival, we filled the propane utdoor shower was great for rinsing after the beach. Wildwood was only a 15 minute drive and downtown Cape May was about the same. Grocery store was only 3 miles away as well.

Overall, we had a really great time. We enjoyed the serenity of the bay and Bettina was always willing to help if we needed something!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Owner has a lot to learn

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Never in my life!!!! Owners actually put locking thermostat guards over the thermostats. Set for 70 degrees we froze. I've used Vacation Rentals for years and years and this is the first time I've been disappointed. Well water ran out. We lost two days because of no water and owner would not refund a dime!

Place was filthy! We spent the first day cleaning. No steak knoves, no can opener. Just too many issues for a nice vacation home. Every room needs maintenance. Outdoor shower is a cold water faucet and a wood platform with no hot water or walls.

View was great from balcony, nice gas grill but that is about it.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: The renter reported the water outage to the owner who was out of state and not to the property manager who was located minutes away. The renter had clear written instruction to contact the property manager for all issues regarding the house. In view of the fact that the outage was reported hours after it occurred and then not reported directly to the property manger time was lost. When the property manager was notified she responded immediately. Now, being late in the day, on a weekend, a plumber could not respond until the next day. When a licensed plumper checked the system, he found good water pressure on every floor and absolutely no problems with the water systems and absolutely no reason for the water outage.

What the property manager did find was that someone had pried the covers off of the thermostats and lowered the temperature . The property manager, is located minutes from the house and if there was a problem with temperature she would have gladly made a change. The thermostats are set at the temperature the owners keeps the house when they live there. However, we understand that others may desire a different temperature and we will adjust accordingly.

As for cleaning, the house is thoroughly professionally cleaned prior to the arrival of guests each and every turnover.

As for the steak knives, there are 16 sets of silverware which include 16 serrated edge knives.

The purpose of the outside shower is not for bathing but, to rinse sand off feet and bathing suits before using the inside showers

As for the rest of the list, we thoroughly went through the house prior to rental making sure it is safe and would give our guests a great vacation experience. We take all suggestions to improve CapeHouse seriously into consideration but not blanket statements clearly meant to demean the entire property.

CapeHouse is great place, right on the beach, able to sleep 14, secluded with plenty of privacy and room inside and out. We take pride in the house and do what ever we can to make our guest stay a pleasant one.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review