reviews for: listing #92251 - San Diego, California Townhome rental

Private, Quiet, Bright 1BR near Gaslamp, Zoo, Petco Park
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $109 - $250 /nt
    $699 - $1,680 /wk
    $2,499 - $4,020 /mth

sort by:

Very Nice 1BR

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Nice apartment, pretty much as described. Very clean and all appliances worked (did not use dishwasher). Very comfortable bed. Adequate closet/cabinet space, but would have been helpful to have some clothing hooks. Nice to have your own secure garage space. Friendly corner grocery met basic food needs, 7-11 and pretty good pizza place at other end of the block. Easy access to freeway and the rest of San Diego. If you're from out-of-state or unfamiliar with SD, get/use GPS to get around, we did and had a great time. Alik, the owner, responded to our initial call, letting him know we had arrived, and again when we checked out. He is friendly and efficient. Would recommend for a couple or small (3-4) family. One minor CON: firehouse is around the corner and if active, sirens will be heard-not bad, but be aware. Overall, a very nice place, we would definitely pick it again.

Owners response: thanks. please come back.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

good location to enjoy San Diego

Review submitted: December 8, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Clean and in a good location for getting to Balboa Park and downtown....
Good space to relax when there, but we were out and about much of the time. There was no bottle of wine as listed though...

In walking distance is the park, a great morning breakfast spot and Counterpoint restaurant right in Golden Hill Neighborhood...

Owners response: Thanks for your review and the stay.
Sorry the wine wasn't there. Not many people actually drink it not realizing it's free and the cleaning crew sometimes forgets to check and replace.
Wish you'd told me. I would have gotten one to you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Loud and dirty

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

I arrived the 1st night of what was suppose to be a 5 day stay and the place had never been cleaned up after the last guest. The bedding appeared to have been slept in, a paper lamp in the living room was lying on its side sad and broken, there was no wine like mentioned in the listing or FAQ and there were several dirty dishes in the kitchen. The floor was also so dirty that walking around for 15 minutes in my bare feet, my feet turned black on the soles. But that wasn't even the worst part.

The worst part was that although it was specifically called out as "quiet" it was actually quite noisy with a loud water heater. Having no other place to go with my one year old son and husband we decided to make the best of things and stay the night. MISTAKE. Around 3AM we were woken up by a loud squealing sound coming from the general direction of the water heater that came and went randomly for the rest of our stay there.

When I contacted the owner I explained we would were leaving as soon as possible and asked that he please issue us a refund. He reluctantly issued us a refund for the nights we did not stay there but refused to issue us a refund for the 1st night even after I sent him video proof of the loud squealing noise. His only response was, "I've spent the last 24 hrs in the unit, taking multiple hot showers and otherwise running and not running the hot water and have not been available to reproduce even a squeak. Are you sure it was coming form the water heater and not something else? Also never had anyone report it before."

When I responded that I didn't know exactly where it was coming from, he simply stopped responding. AVOID this place. And if you don't make sure you pay with a credit card so you can get your money back if things don't work out. Ugh, so unprofessional.

Owners response: I was traveling across the country to deliver emergency supplies to the hurricane Sandy victims when this person asked to book the place last minute and checked in, handling all my business form a moving car. As a result I did get confused and screw up thinking the place had been cleaned when I t has not. That much is true.
The rest is unwarranted and false.

For starters, all the things she list as “wrong’ are just the details of a place that was not cleaned by mistake, which she already knows.
Upon finding out and confirming this I immediately dispatched the cleaning crew to go out there AND offered to refund the cleaning fee regardless.
She said she preferred to check out and get a refund for the “remainder of the stay” (her own words) and even though that’s not normally an option, under the circumstance I apologized and immediately agreed (there was no “reluctant” whatsoever) and even told her I’ll still also refund the cleaning fee, even though she didn’t ask for that. (I can only assume she really left as she knew I wasn’t there to check).

She agreed and said that would be fine.
Then, AFTER getting the refund, suddenly demanded an additional refund for the time she did stay, threatening to complain otherwise.

She also made claims of a water heater making a whistling noise and smelling gas. But when I told her the whole gas system was literally just upgraded, tested, and inspected by the city AND the utility company, she suddenly dropped the claim (I believe she read if from previous review before the upgrade and decided to use it).
I also spend a full day in the unit, even spending the night, waiting for the claimed heater noise, but there wasn’t a peep-squeak, whether or not I used the hot water.
There have also been no such complaints from anyone ever before or after.
She emailed me a phone video of the water heater doing nothing with some kind of noise in the background that could be coming from anywhere including something in her hand which suspiciously does not change as she get closer or farther form the water heater.

I now believe this is a con artist trying to get a free stay and retaliating for not pulling it off all the way.

Don’t believe it? Read all my other reviews, including the other units - all on the same property.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Perfect

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

We stayed for a week here, and we completely loved it. It was cozy, and made us feel right at home. We were close enough to many of the things we had wanted to see while in San Diego. I really enjoyed my stay here, and plan and visiting again!

Owners response: Thanks. Good guests. Would definitely welcome again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Best Location!

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

This place had a lot of pros, and just a few cons, as mentioned by previous reviewers. Starting with the pros:
1. Location - near the most amazing little restaurants, and the grocery store/Mexican bakery was convenient. The walk to Balboa Park is nice, and was perfect for us and our two dogs.
2. Dogs - Alik was great about our dogs, esp considering one of them is a Great Dane pup. For us, the folks next door with the two big dogs was also a pro, because those dogs are friendly, and made for great playmates. But they are big and slobbery and cuddly, so if you are not a dog person, go inside. 3. The shared yard was nice.
4. Amenities - as described, down to complimentary bottle of wine. We made use of the kitchen, but if you are a culinary genius, you may want better knives and pots. But, all were sufficient for our purposes. There was plenty of towel/sheet/blanket stuff for 2 people.
5. Space - perfect for a weekend away with two people and two dogs. I wouldn't try to fit more folks/pets.
6. Instructions - Alik provided perfect instructions on keys/garage door opener, etc, as well as where everything was in the townhome.
7. Garage - It was great to have one! But if you drive a giant truck, it may not fit. Our Tacoma fit tightly with the side view mirrors folded.
8. Flexibility - Alik is one of the few VRBO folks in San Diego that does not have a rigorous rule for length of stay.

Cons
1. No AC. This should not matter any other time of the year than two weeks in August. We were there during that period of time. And we're from Phoenix! What was perplexing was that it was hotter inside than outside. This made for fitful sleeping because the place never cooled down. Advice - close the kitchen, because that is the hottest room and the fridge radiates heat. Once we figured that out, it became bearable, although still uncomfortable. Also, bring a fan. The fan in the unit is terrible.
2. Natural gas smell. We emailed Alik promptly when we arrived bc we smelled gas, and he responded very promptly. Apparently there is a small leak somewhere, but they don't know where. Well, its gotta be the oven, because if you open it, it reeks. When you close off the kitchen, the entire kitchen smells strongly. The closet in the bedroom that shares a wall with the kitchen also smells of gas. We did not use the oven, but did use the stove on top with no problem.

But, overall, a lovely stay, only marred by the difficulty we had sleeping due to heat and smell.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Small, but cozy and well appointed.

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

All in all our stay was quite pleasant in Alik's cozy cottage. It is a quite small one bedroom with a small kitchen and eating area. It was about right for the two of us, but it would get crowded quick with more. Alik was very helpful in setting up the stay and keeping us informed. The location, while not ideal, was a less than $10 cab ride from the heart of San Diego night life. Most of the time we walked down (about a 40 minute leisurely walk), and cabbed back.

The neighborhood feels a little run down, but never at any time did we feel unsafe. Everything we wanted was close, the grocery store around the corner was a very handy for getting the minimal supplies we needed. The Mexican Bakery a couple of doors down from the grocery was amazing. The pizza place a couple of blocks up makes an outstanding Calzone.

There were some minor downsides. The cottage definitely has a musty smell which I assume is because it is closed up so much, there is no air conditioning, which might have been a problem if we had been around during the day, but San Diego cools off most nights so it wasn't a problem for sleeping. The unit could use a few care and feeding repairs. It is not run down, but clearly some little wear and tear issues should be tidied up. The lady in the next unit has a couple of large dogs which she sometimes lets loose in the shared yard. They seem friendly enough, but can be quite a shock if you are not expecting it.

Would I stay here again! Yes! The value for the location is outstanding. Just be aware of the limitations.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Good guests. no problems. Would recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Good guests. No problems. Would recommend as a guest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Location

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

We originally booked this property for three nights, but had to leave after one due to a family emergency. Alik was very helpful and accommodating. The property is close to everything and located on a very quiet street which was perfect for our family. Parking in the back is tight, but there is plenty of parking on the street in front of the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Visitors

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

Hi Alik, My husband and I rent property too so here is my advice. You need to have a professional cleaner come to your apartment. The blinds were very dusty, the plates had dust on them and need to be swiped clean. You had a good amount of cleaning agents. You need to buy a dish strainer to put the dishes in because you are not using the dishwasher all the time and you need to buy a stopper over the sink drains to hold in the water for the dishes. Also, you need to buy a dustbroom and dustpan and put them in the kitchen by the refrigerator for small sweeps. There is a big crack in the window by the kitchen. The blinds are very old and a couple of the blind slats are cracking and broken. Two of the windows would not shut tight and in October the nights and mornings are cold. The heater did not work.. Alik, you answered our questions well enough but hopefully these observations can be remedied.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thank you. I think the place just got dusty siting here while I was getting it ready to start renting and I apologize for that. Those plates used to be my own and they were certainly clean when I put them there. You were actually my only second guests.
The heater actually does work but the pilot just wasn't lit yet because it hasn't gotten cold yet until now. Either me or the utilities company would have come out there to light it for free, though it's very simple, and safe to do it yourself. I wish you told me. I have actually already lit it since then.
But regardless, thank you for the input.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Interestign frinedly couple

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Stopped by to drop something off and ended up losing track of time actually having an interesting conversations with these guests for two hours. Fellow VRBO property owners and good people.
Would gladly have them back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice people. Please to deal with.

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Nice Russian family. made obvious effort to leave the place neat. One sheet was missing by an obvious over-site and they had no problem at all reimbursing me for it.
Will gladly welcome them back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good guests tak care of their own leanup.

Review submitted: November 5, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Andrew and Moe stayed were the first guest at my place an were not only considerate to wash their own sheets, but Moe actually cleaned my oven which they did not use just because he wanted to.
I want guest like that all the time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

goformojo@gmail.com

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

The location was very accessible to many of the things I saw and did. Near downtown and freeways, and just a few minutes from different parts of Balboa Park and museums, and about 15 minutes to the beach. The apartment was nice and clean, comfortable, and I did a little cooking there. There were some good little restaurants/eateries in walking distance of the neighborhood, Luigi's Pizza, Surf n Turf, a cool cafe indoor/outdoor, can't remember the name. I would recommend checking out the museums and the SD zoo at Balboa Park. The place was comfortable for the two of us. And, it is situated in a friendly private community.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. Come again.
FYI - the name of the cafe is Krakatoa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review