reviews for: listing #92280 - Cape May, New Jersey House rental

Cedar Haven - awesome Victorian estate
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $500 /nt
    $1,750 - $3,600 /wk

sort by:

Perfect

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

We rented this house because of the great reviews, the website pictures, and because the owner got right back to us--the reviews fit our experience. As an extended, multigenerational family of 6 from the Pacific Northwest, we traveled to Cape May for a Coast Guard graduation and wedding. Luckily we found this beautiful house, it was the perfect place to stay while celebrating two exciting life events!

During our stay, "family time" was enhanced because we were able to spread out under the same roof. This would not have been the case in a hotel. What we especially liked were the comfortable beds, the updated appliances and main bathroom, relaxing on the front porch, and the beautifully landscaped yard--a great spot for family photos! The location of the house is in quiet neighborhood a few blocks from the fray of downtown Cape May but an easy walk to downtown, the beach, restaurants, and shops.

The home has a great feeling to go with its interesting history. Ron the owner and his neighbor Todd were both very friendly and accommodating. I hope to return someday!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

multigenerational vacation fun

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My family stayed at Cedar Haven in July and we all, every single one of us, loved it. We were three elders(ages 65 and up), three 40-somethings, and two small kids(5 and 3). The house was wonderfully appointed and comfortable for us all, and was big enough to allow everyone some privacy and space (aside from individual respective bedrooms). Cedar Haven is on a lovely and quiet street, and it is easy to walk to restaurants meals out, groceries, and all important evening ice-cream cones. The kitchen and dining room were very accommodating to home-cooked feasts and we enjoyed many extended evenings at the table, chatting and laughing, as I imagine many families/friends have before. The gardens are a dream and very lovely to explore at all hours. The property has a really nice and quiet energy to it, very relaxing and and calm: it is a true vacation home and I would recommend it heartily!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A beautiful property.

Review submitted: December 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

Our ladies group travels to Cape May every year, and this past October we stayed in this beautiful Victorian house, making our visit extra special. The property is gorgeous. It is beautifully furnished and the gardens are a special treat.

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy, roomy, homey!

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We are "Women Of A Certain Age" who stayed at this property in October and it was wonderful! The yard was a true refuge, with a fish pond, hammock, "zen" garden, and gorgeous foliage. It is was evident that this is much more than just a rental property to the owner; it is a labor of love of which he is very proud, as he should be! He is a really friendly guy who was eager to answer our questions.
We very much enjoyed the coziness of the fire place, and the homey feeling in each room. There were 8 of us, and we never felt "crowded" - there is a LOT of "public space"; 2 living rooms (so comfy!!) and tastefully furnished, a large dining room very well appointed. All the amenities, including free internet!!
There was also plenty of parking, which was important to us, since we had several cars. I can't speak for how it is in high season, but in the shoulder season of mid October, parking was no prob. at all. Just down the street there are a couple of restaurants with delivery and nothing seemed to be more than a mile or two away, adding to the appeal!

The three main bedrooms on the second floor were beautifully and comfortably furnished, including lovely bedding (but you must bring your own sheets, of course!) coordinating window treatments, and lovely accessories. Not to mention flat-screen tv's in each room.
The two bedrooms on the third level, while not as big or "fancy" as the lower bedrooms, were tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable. However, only one of the rooms had a tv. But, and this was important, both had individual air conditioners. For families, these two rooms would be ideal for the kiddies, and other than the climb up the steps, they were more than adequate for our needs!
The location is great - not right in the "fray" of things. Walking to the beach is very do-able. Our stay was delightful, and we are eagerly anticipating our stay next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Cape May stay!

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

A terrific home with all amenties and just a short walk to the beach. All rooms extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated, made me feel at home and comfortable right away. (wish I could have stayed longer!) Also very close to neighborhood restaurants and easy to find. Would highly recommend planning a stay here!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Special Place

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

I have had the good fortune to have stayed at Cedar Haven on more than one occassion. It has been truly one of those memorable spots that sticks in your memory as a special place. The house is beautiful, the gardens and old trees give a very peaceful feel as you spend time outside. The home is close to all the activities and dining of Cape May, with the added bonus of feeling like you live there, and are not just a tourist. A great amenity is the storage box they have at the beach for your use. It really makes going to the beach very easy as you dont have to lug everything daily. They have a great outdoor shower (I personally love them) and even though the house has all modern amenities, I always feel like I have stepped back in time when I am at Cedar Haven. You will be quite happy staying in this lovely home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Slice of Cape May Paradise

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

I highly recommend this elegant, yet homey Victorian complete with surrounding gardens, to groups of friends or large families who are looking to be 'away, together.' There is ample room in this newly renovated property to curl up in a quiet corner with a good book, or to gather a group in front of the fireplace to play charades. All sorts of restaurants can be found, from two that are less than a block away to the center of town...just take your pick.

For invigorating exercise, get up early, go out for a hot cup 'a joe to go or make your own first in the fully-stocked kitchen... and then continue walking another 7-ish minutes and voila!, you are at the extraordinary Cape May Beach, looking out on the Atlantic Ocean, sun blazing over the horizon.  End your walk with breakfast at George's, an intimate little diner that overlooks the water. Spend the afternoon exploring the shops and galleries in town. Staying at Cedar Haven in Cape May is a little slice of paradise.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This is a wonderful home, beautiful, comfortable and perfectly maintained. I was there attending a training, and early in the morning I was able to run to the beach, which is close by, and come back in time to have breakfast with everyone half a block away from the house. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best stay ever

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

I have stayed here a number of times with friend and family. This beautiful Victorian was totally renovated. The interior decor is warm and inviting. Each room is charming and unique.
The garden is a botanist delight with a large array of trees and plants.

The house is located in the heart of Cape May, close walk to the beach & restaurants.
No matter what time of year you come this place feels like home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well Maintained, Beautifully Decorated, Very Welcoming and Comfortable

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

You will have to experience this Beautiful Victorian Estate for yourself to truly appreciate all it has to offer. The landscaping, gardens are Enchanting and are Ideal a peaceful walks, or simply sitting taking in nature. One step inside and you instantly feel welcomed and at home for your stay. All the rooms are very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Again seeing is believing and I highly recommend this estate for you next and future visits.
Also, a short scenic walk to the beach/boardwalk, or walk to Washington Square for shopping, or walk or short drive to the Abundant and great restaurants Cape May has to offer.
There is tons to do in Cape May, but to truly have a memorable experience, RESERVE This Victorian Estate during your stay, I give it 5 Stars and truly had an excellent time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enchanting

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

This amazing, prestine, beautifully decorated home is surrounded by such a magical garden that my family and I stayed on two different occasions during the winterish season and never even missed not going to the beach. It is an oasis. Give your soul a place to restore! Enjoy!
Dona L., New York City

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, Rejuvenating Stay at West Cape May Estate

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Peaceful, Rejuvenating stay at Beautiful West Cape May Estate
I highly recommend this home for your stay at Cape May. It is a historic home yet structurally so solid it feels brand new. Very clean, well-maintained property and home that is comfortable, warm and very charming. The expansive property includes serene and spacious gardens with a beautiful design and tranquil setting. The location is great, too. It is within walking distance or short bike ride to the beach, great restaurants and even a yoga studio. The owner, Ron, is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and can recommend great restaurants and key attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, Rejuvenating stay at Beautiful West Cape May Estate

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

I highly recommend this home for your stay at Cape May. It is a historic home yet structurally so solid it feels brand new. Very clean, well-maintained property and home that is comfortable, warm and very charming. The expansive property includes serene and spacious gardens with a beautiful design and tranquil setting. The location is great, too. It is within walking distance or short bike ride to the beach, great restaurants and even a yoga studio. The owner, Ron is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and great restaurants and key attractions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

My friends and I just got back from Cape May. What an amazing stay! I felt like I was home the entire time instead of on vacation. I can't wait to go back in the spring and see the gardens!! If you are looking for a place in Cape May that is near everything (within walking distance) but far enough away from the crowds, this is a great find!! I am already planning my next stay!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so excited that even before the peak beach season, this awesome home and property is attracting people. I am also thrilled that word of mouth has already begun and this is its first month of being available!

I hope you will come and find out why this home is such a standout...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice spot at the beach in Cape May

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

The Victorian home we stayed at was very spacious and had a huge landscaped yard as well. Thats very rare for the beach. It was close to town and about a 10 minute walk to The Cove beach which is the one with the lighthouse behind it.

Great spot and a great place, will be coming back in the spring and summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This is a very special place. Ron is wonderful, the property is stunning, and it feels like "home."

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

It's as if the home and gardens have a heart. I felt safe, happy, and at peace the entire time I was there. Ron is great--so loving and welcoming and no surprise, his home makes you feel the same way. It is decorated beautifully (awesome antiques and bright, uplifting colors), the gardens are stunning (you won't find much more private open space in Cape May, that's for sure!), and I will be going back again and again. Highly recommend it, you will sleep like a baby and love this home. Check out the rug in the Ocean Room! Bottom line... I have stayed in MANY gorgeous victorian homes in Cape May and this one feels most like "home."

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so pleased that this home has gotten rave reviews from the very first people who have come to take advantage of it being available for the first time. The only clarification I want to offer in this particular review is the comment about the "awesome antiques." I am afraid there are only a couple of antiques in the home (which must have stood out to this antique lover)...

but the truth is that most of furniture is brand new - decorated in a warm, inviting manner... and I want to give an accurate impression for you.

I feel sure you can see this from the pictures I have included of this beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review