reviews for: listing #92401 - Oceanside, California House rental

Jan &Feb $1990/wk Spectacular Beachfront With Private Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,990 - $6,200 /wk

sort by:

Magical Christmas

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our family decided we wanted to spend Christmas in a sunny location.
We saw this beach front house & it was just what we all wanted.
Everything was exactly like pictured & quoted. (It suited our family of 6 adults and 3 children. All the other furniture was plush and comfortable though.)
Waking up & watching the dolphins & surfers from the balcony was a perfect start to our day. (We rented wet suits and surfboards from a couple local shops and went in the ocean everyday. The beach was lovely. We enjoyed the private beach area and used the fire pit for our Christmas dessert ambiance.)
We made certain we were home every evening to witness the spectacular sun set.
The owner Kim was very accommodating to our requests.When I mentioned I'd like to put something in a crock pot while I sat on the beach, Kim had a brand new one awaiting our arrival.
The house was clean, all appliances worked. (Our Christmas dinner came out perfectly.) There were plenty of delicious restaurants nearby, (such as Ruby's diner on the pier, the Lighthouse in the harbor, the Beach Break in walking distance or the Breakfast Club Diner to name a few. Grocery stores or convenience stores were also either within walking distance or a short drive away. We all enjoyed discovering Oceanside's charm.)
It was a Magical Christmas in a perfect beach house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for renting this house to make all your family memories. Family time is so important.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Please save next year for us

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2012

We have been wanting to find a home that suited our family and now we have. Just pencil us in for next year! Loved the flowers and water- so thoughtful. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our home away from home

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This is the perfect place for our three generations to relax and enjoy being on the beach!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most relaxing getaway EVER!

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

Sandcastle had us at the view from the living room/great room--wall to wall panorama of the ocean! Watching fabulous sunsets from the huge deck and having an endless beach to walk -- SO relaxing. The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the kitchen has everything you could want. We went once and, before we left, reserved the same week the next year!

Owners response: Thank you for staying at our "Sandcastle Beach House" and thank you for such a kind review. Since you were last here, we have a new sofa seating group in the great room so there are two seating area, one for watching TV and the other for watching the ocean. See you this fall! KD

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Bon fire on the beach

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Thanks again . Our kids said they loved the bon fires on the beach the most

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Escape from the snow

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

We needed to get away form the snow and it just could not be better than this. 75 degrees in Jan! Just a great beach house and thanks for the flowers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Huge beach house

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

What a great place , we cant wait to return. We had no idea it was such a big house and the kitchen was amazing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just the rest mom needed

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Thanks for such nice welcome flowers and treats. Our mom is just getting over Chemo and we wanted a nice relaxing place as a family to rest and enjoy being together. Your home was that and so much more. Our kids are still talking about how much fun they had, thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Real Beachfront Sandcastle

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

This has to be one of the largest beach houses in the city. I think it gets overlooked because all you see from the street is the garage but one you enter, the entire beach is in front of you. Our bedroom opened up to the beach. Kids used the bonfire ring all week. So many of the rentals are really condos with a walkway and rocks that keep you from being true beach front. This one is one the sand with its own beach. This is a single family home so it was nice and quiet. it was so nice to to have to share the property with other renters. We are conservative and worried about who would be sharing the condos on the street with us. And the price is great. This home was less than many of the condos we looked at

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guestbook

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Thanks for a wonderful time. It gave everyone a relaxing week on the beach and time with our family. We don't get a lot of time with each other and this was amazing. Thanks for the welcome gifts and flowers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

From our guestbook

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Thanks for a wonderful time. It gave everyone a relaxing week on the beach and time with our family. We don't get a lot of time with each other and this was amazing. Thanks for the welcome gifts and flowers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Family Beach House

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We celebrated my 60th birthday with my kids and grandkids and it was just wonderful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Our cares were washed away the minute we walked through the door and were greeted by the expansive view & deck, fresh ocean breeze and crashing waves. What an amazing week! The house was wonderful! We had our coffee every morning on the upper deck and watched the surfers, anglers, boats and dolphins. Our baby played in the private sand yard while we sunned, we walked the beach, collected shells, and RELAXED! The kitchen & grill (and the great folks at Ralph's) saved us a ton of money in food, it was wonderful to go home with laundry all clean, and there was plenty of room for five of us to do our own thing. The neighbors were as sweet as could be, and everyone we met was super friendly!

We absolutely can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are elated you had your "Best Vacation Ever" Thank you for such a wonderful review

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Thanksgiving at the Beach!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We stayed in this beach house with family and friends over Thanksgiving this past year. It was absolutely lovely! There is nothing better than roasting marshmallows on the beach right outside your bedroom door and falling asleep with the windows open so you can hear the waves crashing when you wake up! We're from Idaho so obviously, this was an absolute treat for us. Previous reviewers mentioned construction but we did not have these issues - we had no problem sleeping in on the few days we wanted to and we didn't hear any construction noise so whatever was going on must have been completed before our arrival. The house is decorated adorably and the management was so nice and accommodating with the few requests we made during our stay (namely a couple cooking utensils we needed for our Thanksgiving dinner and a couple other referrals for things to do/places to go in Oceanside). We will definitely be back - the weather was nice for November, no rain or anything, but I would love to stay here in the summer when it's 75 degrees and gorgeous! Another tip: the house is definitely big enough for a couple families so it's totally doable if you want to do a vacation with another family or friends! A great holiday vacation - looking forward to staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the beach house. Wonderfully,for you and all of our guests, the construction is all completed and a beautiful new house is next door. We are all back to enjoying our spectacular beach front.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Beach Vacation!

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here recently and we LOVED the house! It is right on the water, I stepped out of the back door and onto the beach everyday there! It was an amazing vacation and I would highly recommend it! The owners were great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your great review! We hope you enjoyed using the bon fire ring- such a great way to watch the sunsets. You are welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Way To Have a Beach Vacation!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

This was our first time renting a beach house, and we're afraid nothing else will measure up to this amazing vacation! The backyard is the beach and ocean! Kim was very upfront about the construction taking place next door, but lucky for us, the construction was finished!! There were no disruptions at all! We are two families with kids between the ages of 7 and 10. It was so nice to be able to sit on either balcony and watch the kids playing in the sand. We preferred to be on the ground level when they were in the water, but that was fantastic too! There were tons of sand toys and boogie boards for the kids. We ate dinners on the upper balcony with an amazing view of the ocean. The bedding and bath towels were nicer than what I have in my own home, and the washer and dryer were lifesavers! Walking to town was a bit of a trek with the kids, but it is totally manageable. We rented an electric boat at the harbor and cruised around for an hour. Then we had lunch at the Mexican restaurant on the pier (don't waste your time). Ruby's was a big hit with the kids, and we saw TONS of dolphins swimming in the ocean while we were there. The Sunset Market on Thursday evening is a must do! This is a property we will visit again and again!

Owners response: Thank you for selecting this home for your family vacation. Hearing you were so pleased just made our day! On your next trip back, try Garcias- a fantastic new restaurant nearby. And next time, you can have the kids take private surfing lessons from the house itself. Surfride will send insructors, surfboards and wetsuits right to the house!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

On vacation with a construction crew :(

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

We booked this house at the end of March. After booking and sending in our depost, we discovered (only through reviews) that construction was going on next door. We had 1 month before our arrival. When I contacted the rental company about the construction, the only offer was another house that cost substantially more for the week. With only a month before our vacation and plane tickets purchased, we felt we had no other options (most beachfront properties in this price range had been booked!!) but to stay with the house. We figured the construction wouldn't be so bad!

We were woken up 5 out of the 7 mornings by the crew next door. The house under construction is SO close, it sounded like 3-4 men were in the house with us. We expected some hammering, noise etc, but we did not expect all of the yelling, swearing, singing etc noise. Not only was the noise bad, but the sight of the house is a complete eye sore. It is surrounded completely with a chain fence and a tarp which even blocks the beach views to the right! This was NOT the view that we payed for.

We were quite disappointed to say the least!! I think it would have been only fair to have been notified at the time we made the reservation in March of this construction. It is not very professionally or ethical to NOT make this information known to renters. We would have definitely not made the reservation!!

This "business" also will only accept cash in full on the day of check in. This was told to me in 1 email which I did not notice. It never occurred to me we would have to pay in cash!! We were told by the rental company that this was because checks have bounced in the past. We called our bank on Mon and they assured us that it would only take 24 hours for our check to clear. We communicated this to the rental company but they still demanded cash and got very snarky with us about it. We had to spend a half a day on the phone with our bank and make several different trips to the ATM to get them the cash!

The house is nice. The beds and bedding are good. The kitchen has everything you could want. The house would have been great if not for the construction.

If you like sitting by the fire watching a construction site under way, if you like staring at a hideous tarp, if you like being gawked at, if you like vacationing with a construction crew, if you like sharing a morning coffee with them in your pajamas, then this is the place for you!

Owners response: We are happy to report, the home next door is now built. It was a noisy construction process that bothered us all and sadly we had no control over this project. All we could do is to let guests know of the construction before they booked and offer a discount. This renter now seems to have forgotten these options. This renter was actually told as soon as we knew of the impending construction and given several options including other rentals, other weeks. They opted to stay in the house at a price thousands less than the typical rate for this time of year. The renter was also told to pay in full three weeks prior to check in, so we can assure that all checks clear the bank. After that point, any balance still unpaid at time of check in is due in cash only so we dont have to worry about returned checks. The renter was provided these terms in their contract. I am sorry to see and hear she now does not remember the discount we provided and the rules regarding when payment by check is due and at what point we can no longer accept checks. In any case, the construction of the home next door is nearly over. The home is up , stucco color coat is on, roof in on so we are looking forward to a wonderful summer!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easter at the Beach!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

Hello to all! We are having a FABULOUS Easter vacation in Oceanside! This beach house is truly the perfect place for a family vacation. The accommodations are welcoming in its decor, comfy in its style and clean in its appearance! Kitchen is amazing. The beach experience is even better. We feel as if this is our own private, family beach. We are making so many amazing memories. Kids love playing in the surf and its is so safe for them, makes it easy to relax! Rating: 5 out of 5

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beachfront Vacation

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We had such an amazing family vacation at this beach house! The house is perfect -- spacious, beautifully decorated and right on the beach! No road to cross which is very important with our young kids. The beach itself is very private and big. We enjoyed many walks down the beach to the pier and there is a great play structure on the beach easily walkable from the house. Watching the sun set on the back deck is heavenly! No need for a car. Downtown Oceanside is walkable from the house. But, we did rent a car and went to Legoland with the kids and that is close by too. I would highly recommend this beach house to anyone!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely but....

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We just spent the first week of April 2012 in this home and it was lovely and very comfortable, BUT the entertainment center in the great room was not working when we arrived and there was major construction going on next door, four feet away, which started at 7am each morning. The manager and owner were prompt about getting the entertainment center fixed but it stopped working again after a few hours and our requests to get it reset again were completely ignored. (We only wanted it for the news and a movie or two in the evening, but five adults with advanced degrees could not get it working and the two pages of instructions left with the house were contradictory.) The construction noise was terrible, especially at 7am (is that legal?)...nail guns, lumber dropping, sawing, a crane moving, and they used up most of the street parking near the home. The garage only fits one car. It was very unpleasant and uncomfortable to sit out on the terrace drinking coffee in the morning with workmen just a few feet away using nailguns. Yes, we enjoyed watching the dolphins and surfers, but it was hard to tune out the rest. We were warned there would be contruction, after we paid the deposit, but they said they didn't know what stage it would be and we were unable to rent anything else on the beachfront at that point so we took a chance. We did like the house and the location very much, and we had a wonderful family vacation in spite of the above, but we were sorely disppointed in the response of the owner. I also just noticed that we paid $500. more for the first week of April than what is listed here now. I think it will be a very nice place to rent once the above issues are resolved. Note, the laundry room is inside one of the bedrooms and there were air fresheners are in every room when we arrived. I had to unplug them all and put them in cupboards, etc., due to asthma in our group.

Owners response: Thank you for staying at this beachfront home this spring. We so appreciate your comments of : "We did like the house and the location very much, and we had a wonderful family vacation" along with "and it was lovely and very comfortable". That tells us you really did have a great time. Each guest is special to us and we do everything possible to make your stay wonderful. We are sorry about the neighbors decision to have a project going on during the week you stayed on the beach. Although we were able to let you know about this ahead of time, and provided you with options, it was something out of our control. In addition, we have lowered our rates. Your review also mentioned how you had a hard time turning on the TV during your stay. After four visits by our staff, each time you requested help with the upstairs TV, ( there was never an issue with the downstairs TV) ,we finally realized that some of the kids in your group were, without any of the adults knowing, turning on a video game with a different remote and thus turning off the TV connection to the satellite. We have since removed that particular video game remote. We provide parking for two and up to three cars, depending upon their size. In any case,we do look forward to hosting your family on the beach again next spring break. I think your husband really enjoyed building the bon fires on the beach with his grand kids and they will treasure that memory their entire lives. There is nothing like a hot dog and marshmallows cooked over an open fire on the beach- what a treat and thank you again!
The Staff at Beachfront Vacations

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Loved this place!!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Love it! I think this is the best place to stay for week long vacations to So. Cal. It is in the perfect location for attractions and nightlife. Just minutes from great restaurants. This beach house has been tastefully decorated with full size kitchens, large beautiful bedrooms, and directly on the beach, I loved staying here. I will definitely be coming back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beachfront Bliss

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

Staying at this luxurious beachfront paradise was the very best part of my vacation and always is! It truly feels like a home away from home...soft blankets and comfy couches (oh, and a flat screen tv!) Also, everything culinary you need to make a wonderful meal OR order in and enjoy a bonfire on the beach. This house is fabulous! Another thing treasured is public beach access. At some rentals giant rocks make accessing the beach quite difficult in Oceanside but NOT at this location! It seems owners have removed rocks and added cement to make a dip in the ocean a breeze.

While staying in Oceanside, I treated myself to a massage at the Chopra Center in La Costa Spa, Carlsbad and I highly recommend it to you.

All around very friendly service (Thank you, Kim!) and tranquil atmosphere...a magical vacation you won't forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Great to hear about your trip. Perhaps next time you may want to have the spa come to you at the house- we can help make that happen. Many of our guests enjoy having massages and manicures right on the private beach!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Paradise

Review submitted: September 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

The house was great and very well appointed. It was very clean and well maintained. Plenty of chairs, tables and space to play, lounge and relax. The kitchen was fantastic. The bedrooms are roomy and there is nothing like falling asleep listening to the sound of the ocean waves.

The best thing about the house is that offers private beach access! You walk out the door, down the steps and onto the sand.

It is the best vacation my family and I have ever had!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thak you! We try very hard to make sure each guest has the perfect beachfront vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Beach Vacation

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

This vacation on the beach was just what we wished for! Great house and beachfront. House had everything we needed. Loved eating at 333 in Oceanside and Garcia's in Carlsbad. Great service. The gourmet kitchen had every possible tool and when the can opener stopped working, the staff had it replaced in 15 minutes! The kids just loved the bon fire- we used it every day.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

I have stayed at this beach house a few separate times and it is one of my favorite getaways. Although there is plenty to do very close...I spent much of my time enjoying the private beach right outside. Typical day looked like this: wake up to sound of the waves. sip a cup of coffee on deck while watching the morning surfers. Spend day walking around Oceanside shops. Come "home" to luxury. Play in the ocean. Make dinner in a kitchen that whoever built it must have loved cooking. The layout and amenities are exceptional. Eat dinner on the deck while watching the sunset. The listing is accurate regarding how clean the house is kept--and I've never slept in a more comfortable bed! I don't think you can find a better beachhouse for the price. I will defiinitely return again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us once again. We look forward to your next stay.
Abalone Beachfront Rentals

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What a View! Like a little slice of Heaven.

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

How do I say this? It was like a little slice of heaven--in fact I felt as though I'd died and gone to heaven! Everything was superb, clean and well taken care of.

And talk about views; this one can't be beat! Fresh ocean air filled the house, as well as that wonderful surf sound that's found only on a true beachfront property.

The kitchen was five-star and very large--no bumping into one another while preparing dishes and cooking meals. A real money saver being able to eat at home and not go out for every meal. There are so many choices of where to eat too! From stools on the huge granite countertop to the large, family style dining table, out on the deck enjoying the ocean view or right down on the beach watching the surfers and boogey boarders.

There was plenty of space for all in every way, including where to sleep. So comforting falling to sleep with the sound of the ocean waves breaking on the beach.

We rented a car but used it only twice to go to the market and once to the pier. It wasn't really necessary and we could just as well have taken a cab the short distance and saved a little that way.

I really have nothing bad to say about the property. It was just beautiful, better than I could have imagined. Worth every cent and a super fun time for the entire family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying at this home and we appreciate your wonderful comments

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

My favorite beach house

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at your wonderful beach house. The house was well equipped and much more than I had expected. We loved walking on the beach in the morning. We would go sight seeing during the day and came home to relax. It was a great vacation for us and we did not have to go too far from home. We would recommend your beach house to our friends. I definitely will return to your house.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review