reviews for: listing #92417 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

Amazing 5 BR Home on Ocean Discounted Aug 24-Sept 6
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $595 /nt
    $1,595 - $5,295 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Beach House on Ocean Isle Beach

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We rented this house the 3rd week of June and were very pleased. The house was exactly as advertised, very clean, well-stocked, comfortable, and an easy walk - directly across street from beach. The house and pool were well-maintained. The beach was beautiful, not crowded on this end of the island. The owners were very helpful answering questions prior to our stay. We would highly recommend this house to others and would definitely come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Home

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

This place is everything that was advertised and then some. Owners were very pleasant and accommodating. The home is very well appointed the views are amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Month at Ocean isle

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

My sister and I spent a wonderful month at the Blue Crab. Michele and Mary were great to work with.
Great views from front porch, wonderful shelling, secluded atmosphere, a great place to relax and reconnect with family and friends! Hope to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home, so close to beach and great views!! Wonderful owners!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Our family of 15 stayed in this beautiful oceanview home for spring break. The house is perfect for an extended family. Large rooms, very well-equipped kitchen and wet bar. Elevator was a lifesaver for mom who can't do stairs well.

The owners were great to work with, very quick to respond and friendly.

Highly recommend! We will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We had a great time.

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

My family and I had the pleasure of staying here for a week this past June and had a wonderful time. The house is very comfortable, nicely appointed and there was plenty of room for all of us. It's terrific that each bedroom has it's own bath - really nice detail. The views are spectacular and I can't tell you how many naps I took on that front porch! The owners are very accommodating, responsive and truly a pleasure to work with. You can tell the owners have thought about their guests comfort and needs as the house has plenty of dishes, pots, pans, serving utensils and bowls as well as beach chairs and toys and the added bonus of a pool completed the package for us. Thanks for the memories.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent home for a family vacation!

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 7, 2013

We had such a grand time at The Blue Crab! First of all, the owner was a total delight to work with and very generous since we were going in the off season, to allow early check-in. Everything was spotless and exactly as described. Kitchen was so well equipped - unbelieveable! Made it a joy to prepare meals for a crowd! Loved the labels in the cabinets and drawers so you knew where to return stuff - and it kept it all beautifully organized. Great views, super pool, comfortable beds....what more could you ask for. We loved our stay here and recommend it without hesitation. Thank you so much for all the nice extras to make this a great vacation home and one we'd love to return to.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easter Family Vacation

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The house has everything needed for a more than comfortable stay. The amenities are great. The property is well maintained. Numbers were available if anything wasn't working properly. My family loved using the outdoor showers after playing on the beach. It was too cold for the pool, but would be enjoyed if the temperature was a bit warmer. We also enjoyed listening to music throughout the house, as the house has speakers in many rooms. The view and location is perfect. Falling asleep listening to the ocean waves was just perfect. Our children did not want to leave. We wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful homes and great people to work with!

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Michele and Mary were the absolute best most flexible homeowners to work with! We planned our wedding for Oct 27 2012 and hurricane Sandy had something else in mind. Nonetheless, we had our ceremony on the beach infront of the houses Friday afternoon and had a catered dinner that evening under a tent that Michele allowed us to rent and put up. The next day we had a "reception" using the beautiful granite countertops as a buffet line and the large island in the kitchen to display the cake. These houses were perfect for accomodating our wedding party and their significant others in 443 and my husbands immediate family in 441. We also had guests (close coworkers) that rented the 414 property and loved it. This was such a nice trip and beautiful views from the homes during the hurricane! Our wedding guests loved visiting Ocean Isle Beach and enjoyed the homes as well.

My husband and I grew up with a home off of the island but decided to rent on the island for the wedding. This felt just like home to us and we are forever grateful to Michele and Mary for making our beach wedding dream a reality. I would recommend these properties to everyone as they are comfortable, affordable and beautiful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

441 2nd street beach vaction

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2012

This house is perfect for any vacation get-away; lots of room and provides a nice balance of space for family and friends to gather as well as privacy. We love to cook in and the kitchen has everything we needed and then some. Setting is pleasantly quite with nice views. We are already looking forward to next year. Thank you Mary and Michele!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rooms even more spacious than they appear online

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Home was everything we expected. Rooms were actually more spacious than anticipated. For some reason I thought the bunk room was upstairs, but having it down for the grandkids and their parents in the other bedroom downstairs worked out great.

Home was spotless.

All things worked great. We loved having the large ice maker, what a great idea.

Kitchen was better stocked than my kitchen at home, again a very pleasant surprise.

We love the end of the island because it was so much less crowded than the center, I really hope no one builds behind you in the future. We all did a great deal of bike riding and the 3 year old will always remember OIB as the place he learned how to ride without training wheels!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Vacation that couldn't be beat!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We were a family of 16 (8 adults, 8 children) that wanted a relaxing vacation. We sure found it! The house was wonderful. The beach (right across the street) was nice and quiet; never crowded. Perfect place for shelling. I have plenty of shells to prove it. The kids loved the fact they could have both the ocean or the pool to play in. The elevator made it easy to unpack all our gear so we could get to the beach faster. The kitchen was spacious and had everything we needed for each meal. The owners were very helpful before we rented and while we were there. Awesome vacation! Loved all Ocean Isle had to provide! I think we ate ice cream or had a slushie every night....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My husband and I have now had the pleasure of staying in this home twice, once during 2011 and again this spring. I can honestly say that this is a perfect vacation home where all of your needs have been met. The floorplan works very well for large families and there is ample space so that everyone can have their privacy. The kitchen is fully stocked with every type of pot, pan or utensil that you can imagine. And the location is perfect! The home is close to major attractions and the local restaurants have terrific seafood. The ocean views are wonderful and the area is very quiet and peaceful. If you are looking for a gorgeous home to spend some relaxing time, then this is the one for you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Property 32859

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our family spent Christmas weekend(4days/3 nights) at this lovely house. Beautiful views of the ocean. The elevator was extremely useful and very helpful. Loved the wrap around deck. The house was very roomy and comfortable- we had 9 adults. Too bad it was not pool weather as the pool looked very inviting. Thank you for opening your house up to VRBO and us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Outstanding Property

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This is the first time in twenty years of coming to OIB that we stayed at the far east end of the beach, typically we stay towards the center of the island, oceanfront. The accommadations were excellent, topped off with an outstanding view of the ocean. It was one of the most relaxing vacations I have ever taken and to the owners Michele and Mary they were great to work with. I highly recommend this property to anyone. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Jeff for coming back to stay with us again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 1, 2011

This house has such great karma! Obviously, other families have spent most happy and relaxed days here, just like ours did. We have two chefs in the family and they thoroughly enjoyed the kitchen, coveting that beautiful large island! And when any of us needed a little down time, the bedrooms which were all well separated from each other, offered lots of peace and quiet. Kids LOVED the pool which everyone voted a true must-have. And where did all that hot water come from? People showering constantly and magically the hot water just kept coming! Did I forget something? Oh yes, THE BEACH -- right out the front door and you're there! Great house, great beach, great time had by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great karma!!

Review submitted: August 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This house has such great karma! Obviously, other families have spent most happy and relaxed days here, just like ours did. We have two chefs in the family and they thoroughly enjoyed the kitchen, coveting that beautiful large island! And when any of us needed a little down time, the bedrooms which were all well separated from each other, offered lots of peace and quiet. Kids LOVED the pool which everyone voted a true must-have. And where did all that hot water come from? People showering constantly and magically the hot water just kept coming! Did I forget something? Oh yes, THE BEACH -- right out the front door and you're there! Great house, great beach, great time had by all!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

"The beach is in our blood. Everyone in our family returns to the beach instinctively...just like sea turtles"---Sandy Archibald
..... We will definately return to 443 E. We had an awesome vacation!!! Thanks for sharing our beach home with us; it was perfect

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a dream home

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at this home for my daughters wedding. We had a great stay. The wedding was beautiful. wonderful place to have a weddng. We plan to stay there again real soon. WONDERFUL person to deal with. Thanks Mary!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Thank you so much for sharing your delightful house with us. From my eighty-two year old mother to my twenty-nine year old niece, nine of us enjoyed two amazing weeks. The house is perfect both in location and amenities. That lifesaving elevator meant that both my mother and I could be more active. Again, thank you for providing such a wonderful place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Just a note to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your Ocean Isle Beach house this past week. We ate alot of meals there at the house and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare them. We did have a really great ocean views for not being on the front row. Hope we might be able to enjoy your place again

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Myra Monroe

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Thank you again so much for the use of your beach house at Ocean Isle!
The house was perfect for my family. Lots of space, so close to the ocean with a pool & elevator.
And close to the boat dock. I could not have hoped for a better place for our family vacation.
The house was all we hoped for and more. We rented bikes & all of the children & grands had a great time biking on the island.

The elevator was a blessing for me! I walk with a cane and have arthritis in my hip and knees. This was the first time in 3-4 years that could enjoy coming on vacation with my children & grandchildren. The elevator allowed me to be so much more mobile. I had the bedroom upstairs to the left and the deck & ocean views were tremendous - even during the lightning & storms. I enjoyed the deck so much! I could sit on the deck and get some sun, feel the breezes & just watch all of the fun they were having on the beach.

Thanks you again! My family has already started talking about next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vicki Walters

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

I just wanted to email you and tell you just how much I loved your house last week. It's just beautiful and so homey...beautifully decorated but not too fancy. It's perfect! We found the journal where past renters had journaled about their vacations there and it was full so I bought a little notebook to continue the tradition..I just thought that was wonderful...what a treasure! We have always stayed at Cherry Grove or North Myrtle until this year. As far as I'm concerned, Ocean Isle is the most perfect vacation spot ever...it's not overcrowded..kind of has a Cape Cod feel to it! Just wanted to say thank you!! Vicki Walters

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2009   Date of arrival: May 6, 2009

Dear Mary,

Thank you for working with us on our R&R vacation. You made the process so easy to rent and confirm our plans. It was truly a pleasure working with someone that was direct, flexible and kind. We have fallen in love with your house! We loved everything about it and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It felt very warm, open and as if you wanted everyone to have a wonderful vacation there. Our favorites: sunsets on the top porch, XM radio surround sound, the VIEW from 443 and the house binder and info. Thank you we'll be in touch to re-visit I'm sure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

We rented this house and the house next door for our daughter's wedding November 1, 2008. Most of the guest stayed at the two houses and a 3rd one down the street. The kitchens were well equipped and the elevator made it easy for those with problems with stairs. The caterer was able to work within the limits of the kitchen. One house was used for dinners and one for breakfast. We had a great time. Since we arrived several days before most of the guest we found the island had some very good restaurants. The farmer's market and butcher shop just over the bridge were very handy. We are hoping to go back with friend next fall.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We enjoyed our vacation and staying at your home. We loved the easy beach access and the colorful and beachy decor throughout the house. We are looking forward to staying there again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 24, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

This was our first vacation to Ocean Isle Beach after 24 years going to Myrtle. This was truly our best vacation ever!!We loved the house -- the well equipped kitchen was more than we expected & the furniture & decorations were fabulous. Our kids loved their private pool with night swimming, & the adults loved the view of the ocean, the uncrowded beach, & the great location of house on corner lot. Owners were great to work with answering our many questions. We hope to return to this house for many years to come, & encourage everyone to vacation at this house & with these owners. We are so glad we did!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 18, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

This house was spectacular. It had everything that you would want on a vacation. The views of the ocean fron the decks were great. It was like being ocean front. Everything in the house was top shelf. They have thought of everything for this house. If it doesn't have it you do not need it. The only thing nicer than the house were the owners. They were great to rent from. If you are going to rent a house on Ocean Isle, this is the one that you want. It will not disappoint.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 10, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Our whole family stayed at this home for my daughter's wedding. The house made a huge difference in the weekend experience. The kitchen was a chef's dream and we enjoyed creating meals there. The views were outstanding. This house was like home and had lots of room to spread out. The porches were very relaxing. There were many extras in this home. We will hopefully be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 24, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

443 is an outstanding property. From the time you walk in the door until the time you walk out, you feel at home. Fully equiped kitchen, the views are beyond belief! We hated to leave such a tranquil,beautiful house. If you don't rent this property you have missed the boat! There was not one thing that could have been any better. I hit the lottery with this house!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

We had a wonderful time staying at your home. The house was decorated beautifully and had absolutely everything we needed (and more). We also loved the privacy of this end of the island, the convenience of having beach so close to the house and the tremendous ocean views. We highly recommend staying at this house. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 17, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

We had a great time on our first visit to OIB. The house was great! It definitely stands out from the rest of the surrounding homes. This is a great family house and area to vaca. The ladies and kids enjoyed looking the big conch shells down by the inlet at low tide and the guys enjoyed the nearby golf courses. Very relaxing area and we enjoyed walking the beaches in the morning and evenings at sunset. Very friendly families and "locals" while we were there. The deck on the front of the house was a great place to be early in the morning before all the kids were up. The house was truly "as advertised"--beautiful inside and out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 26, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

WE LOVED YOUR HOUSE, IT IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. THE ISLAND IS WONDERFUL FOR FAMILIES ESPECIALLY FOR SMALL CHILDREN. THE HOUSE WAS WELL EQUIPPED AND THE DECOR WAS WONDERFUL. WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. WE WILL BE BACK NEXT YEAR. THANKS, AMBER.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2004   Date of arrival: June 10, 2004

We hope you enjoyed your stay. Our families love Ocean Isle Beach and are pleased to be able to share our new home with you. We are currently building an identical home next door, so if you want to return next year plese keep us in mind.
Michele and Tom Hoyes
Mary and Patrick Arnold

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review