reviews for: listing #92435 - Cambria, California House rental

My Victorian Castle
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $225 /nt
    $1,250 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved staying here!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 10, 2014

Thank you, we loved staying here, You provided everything, we could possibly need.

Plus interesting books and so many intriguing and fabulous things and art to look at.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superbe Sejour dans votre" Chateau"

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

Superbe sejour dans votre 'Chateau".

Paysages a couper le souffle.

Merce!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely place and setting!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 4, 2014

Lovely place and setting, just what we needed to relax and recharge before carring on to San Francisco.

A must see home and lovely in door and out doors.

All the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time in your lovely home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 28, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time in your lovely home here in Cambria. Thank you so much for opening your wonderful home to us.

We cannot wait to come back!

Thank you.
P.S. There are 2 deers in your back yard, every day. I feed them, please keep on giving them food. I love them very much, there names are Eve and John, Thank you - Carolyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Fresh-cut flowers that greeted us !

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 25, 2014

My sisters, daughters and I had a wonderful vacation here in Cambria strating with beautiful fresh-cut flowers that greeted us upon arrival! Thank you.
The weather was surprisingly sunny this week and we were able to utilize the front deck to its fullest.
Your many artifacts inspired interesting conversations and, thanks to your WIFI connection, we enjoyed googling some of the artists.
The recommendation to the Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill for brunch on sunday was appreciated. We returned for lunch twice. The fish tacos are fantastic.
The views on the outdoor deck are amazing!!
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Home!

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: July 18, 2014

Thank you so much for the peace and quiet in your lovely home.

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This was by fortune perfect place to be.

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: January 31, 2014

We are a newly wed couple that wanted a simple get away. This was by fortune a perfect place to be, so luxurious, comfortable and romantic.

Thank you for allowing us to share your home with us.
It was simply beautiful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Annual Sister's weekend was most pleasant

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

We wish to Thank you for the use of your vacation home in Cambria, California. Our annual sister's weekend birthday celebration was one of our most pleasant and memorable in your beautiful house. It will be hard to beat.
Best wishes and may God bless and keep you and yours.
P.S.: Thank you for the birthday choclates, Delicious. - Sonya

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is both beautiful & inviting

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Your home is both beautiful and inviting. We had a wonderful visit in your beautiful castle,
Beautiful art and well maintained home/grounds. We loved all the little seating areas outside. Great Location too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My mother had a wonderful birthday weekend.

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. My mother had a wonderful birthday weekend.
Love, love, love and trully appreciate all your diverse reading material, sitting areas and especially your gardens and decks.

Sincerely,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful home and perfect location

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We had a great time. Beautiful home and perfect location.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a lovely home.

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

What a lovely home. We so enjoyed our stay. The beds were perfect, we hate to leave. The ocean view so delightful from the house. The grandchildren really loved it.

Hope to come back and see you soon again.

Love.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The fresh flowers were a wonderful touch!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Awesome home and awesome decks. All in all, a wonderful experience.
Thanks, we had a wonderful and most relaxing stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Spot to catch up with family.

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 2, 2014

Thank you for a great spot to catch up with family. Our 2 year old loved the stairs and exploring the nooks and crannies on the deck and house.

We are happy to have the luxury of staying in comfortable and beautiful home inside out. And we really enjoy being back on the central coast
(CPSLO Grads, both of us).

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, roomy and comfortable home

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 11, 2014

Beautiful, roomy and comfartable home. And such a wonderful decks & garden area. Thank you so much, we had a perfect time.
So enjoyable.
All our best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love this Castle!!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We spent Memorial Weekend at this beautiful Victorian Castle. The pictures do not do this lovely place justice. We felt royal sipping cocktails in the main room. The gardens are lush, the kitchen well equipped. All details are tended to and wine is ready upon arrival. Our family concluded that it's professionally decorated and we picked up a few tips on local art pieces to purchase in the local gallery. Families with small children, I recommend purchasing the insurance (I did and have teenagers). This home is walking distance to downtown and 10 minutes from Hearst Castle.
Also, if plans change let the owners know so they can plan on more or less guests. We ran into a snag when due to the extreme draught in Cambria, they aren't allowed to lend us the washer/dryer, so you will need to plan ahead and let the owners know total number of guests so they can plan ahead. They were wonderful with us and upon knowing our situation accommodated us with extra towels right away. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sister's weekend retreat

Review submitted: April 28, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

My sisters and I had a great weekend staying in the Victorian Castle. It was lovely to spread out, relax and enjoy the beauty of Cambria.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Linda and we are pleased that you had great time at our home and around town with your sister.

-Bally-

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing and beautiful castle by the sea - classy and inviting

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

We came from the East and in spite of days of rain and colder than normal temperatures...we thoroughly enjoyed Cambria and this wonderful home. The decor is absolutely beautiful. The backyard had places to relax and enjoy the flowers. The view of the Pacific from the balcony and Master Bedroom was impressive.

You will love staying at this beautiful castle!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Get-away

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this home in Cambria over Christmas holiday. The house was beautifully decorated with Christmas trees (one in the living room and one in the master bedroom), Christmas decorations and Christmas lights inside and out. We were not expecting the decorations, but it was a very pleasant surprise and made me feel like this was a home away from home.

The house and kitchen have all the amenities that you need. I spent all week looking at all the statues and various knickknacks the house had (inside and out).

Early mornings we sat in the living room with the fireplace going, while drinking our coffee and spent the late afternoons on the various decks watching the sunset, listening to the waves and watching the various birds, wild turkeys and deer that roamed through the property.

This was indeed a great vacation destination and would hands down recommend this place to others. We cannot wait to come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Jennifer ! Very sweet of you both. Please come back anytime. Glad you both had amazing time, enjoyed the decor, the house inside and decks outside. It is a beautiful place and I am glad you felt you were at home. Take care!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location, Spotless Accommodations, Incredible Comfort, Awesome Views

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

This home took our breaths away the minute we walked into the spotless kitchen. Beautiful decor, luxurious bedrooms, and so many balconies and outdoor decks from which to watch the ocean, the sunsets, and the stars. The kitchen had all the modern appliances, the dining and living areas were roomy and comfortable, and the high-quality linens and bedding in the bedrooms made us feel wrapped in luxury every night. Staying in this home was so delightful that we hardly wanted to go out. But when we did, downtown Cambria was only steps away. No driving required. Also helpful was that the manager was available at a moment's notice for any questions we had, and graciously met our every need. In sum, we had a wonderful stay and eagerly recommend this property to anyone who appreciates comfort and luxury.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our home and having a wonderful time.
We are glad that you enjoyed the art sculptures and the artistic ambience.....and the luxury linens and bedding.
Hope to see you back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

H.B four

Review submitted: January 25, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

A truly beautiful home, large and spacious with several decks to enjoy the outdoors. We were two couples celebrating our 46 wedding anniversary weekend and had a wonderful time. Wished we could have stayed longer and hope to stay again in the future. I would highly recommend it to any of our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Kathleen. You all are so welcome back and will find the terrace garden in the back forest fully complete for you to enjoy the wild life and variety of song birds. I am so glad that you and your friends choose Casa Victorian for your special venu and made my home part of your cherised memories. See you soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful!!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

Two Couples-friends for 36 years, we share the same anniversary, same day, same year. We have celebrated for this 36 years!!!! Together!!!!

Tomorrow will be our 46th wedding anniversary.
Thank you for a beautiful memory in a beautiful home. We loved our weekend getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is beautiful!`

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

The house is beautiful. The weather was perfect. We were two couples, who've known each other for years and we had the best geteaway.

It was all memorable.
We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect retreat next to Hearst Castle!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 27, 2013

Thank you so much for opening up your beautiful home for others to enjoy.

Amazing ambience inside and out. A Perfect retreat next to Hearst Castle.

Your decor is over the top.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We were fortunate to select Cambria and this House

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

We are four friends who met in 1980 when we all worked at the University of Redlands. Each autumn, we get together from our four cities in three states to catch up with each other.

This year we were fortunate to select Cambria and this wonderful home as our gathering place. We have enjoyed great hospatality here - cooking, laughing, talking, tasting of many local vineyards. Ofcourse, we answered the calls of all local shops.

May all who rest here find similar joys!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home away from home!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

This week we were to enjoy our anniversary in this wonderful home away from home. We are greatful and blessed.We did enjoy time.

How thankful we are that you have captureda peaceful setting and make it available for us to enjoy. And that bed in the master bedroom was heavenly to sleep on.

A thousand thanks and warm wishes to you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location in a Beautiful Town, view of Ocean!

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

We enjoyed your home-
What a great location in a beautiful town....and those Scarecrows are something else!!!!
Great home for the view of ocean too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Wonderful Cambria Vacation

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at this terrific house with another couple of friends. We're all in our 50s and 60s. Wow! It's very much like it was advertised and depicted in the photos.
It was clean, had a cooperative owner and was a VERY short walk to Cambria's main drag.
We took full advantage of the decks behind the house, built a fire in the fireplace back there (they provide ample wood), and got some great backyard-decorating ideas from their whimsical treatment of the grounds and trees.
All of Cambria's charm is at your door: on Friday night we had dinner at the Sea Chest, Saturday was the Black Cat. We were going to go to Caroline's on Sunday night, but opted for delivery pizza (just fair). My friend and I spent the first evening playing guitars and singing while our wives worked on a Beatles jigsaw puzzle that our friends brought. Saturday night after dinner was TV and jigsaw. Sunday night we watched 2 DVDs that we brought (and jigsaw - which they finished on get-away morning).
IMPORTANT: Make sure to read the TV/DVD instructions. It's complicated, but clear if you focus on the instructions that are left by the TV.
We brought our own K-cups for the Keurig, as well as our own creamer, snacks, etc.
The only disappointment was the shower pressure in the master bath; while we were able to shower just fine, the pressure is on the low side. I don't know how the pressure was in the guest bath, since we didn't ask. It wasn't that big an issue.
There are a lot of stairs going to the 2nd floor with the bedrooms, so if you have knee or hip problems.... Also, the stairs going down from the 2nd floor are just outside the guest bedroom door, and could be a safety hazard in the dark, so for safety's sake, consider putting young kids in the other guest room with the twin beds.
All in all, we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful time in Cambria

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

When we arrived, Bally had set up fresh flowers throughout the house that made all of feel so welcome. The house was just as advertised with plenty of room for 5 people! The bedrooms were large and the beds were warm and comfortable. The gardens were a perfect oasis for sitting and the front deck provided the perfect backdrop for watching the sun set after a long day of shopping! I would highly recommend this place and would stay there again!!!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful home with spectacular Ocean views

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

What a wonderful home with so much to see in all the rooms.

The views are spectacular. We have fallen in love with the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wonderful accomodations in a lovely area...

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful accomodations in a lovely area for a lovely "Mommy" getaway & Reunion.

Looking forward to maybe coming with my sometimes.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Wonderful accomodations in a lovely area...

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful accomodations in a lovely area for a lovely "Mommy" getaway & Reunion.

Looking forward to maybe coming with my sometimes.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you 4 your Grand Hospitality beautiful home

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

Thank you for your grand hospitality in letting us use your beautiful home. You are obviously a collector who has seen many parts of the world, and we enjoyed viewing your many treasurer. So many nice touches everywhere!

Hopefully we will be able to return to Cambria and stay here again.....

P.S.- Many Thanks for the birthday pie for howard! Loved it.
Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beautiful home

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

the home is beautiful with great gardens, I've had knee surgery in the past so I didnt like all the stairs I had to climb daily. My husband missed the last stair and fell on Monday morning and had to stay in bed all the time we were there he badly bruised his tail bone. Also on our last night someone broke into one of our cars trunk and stole some tools. So I can honestly say we will not be coming back to this house.

Owners response: Thanks for your compliments regarding our home and garden. We work hard to make it look beautiful and maintain it, so that our guests can enjoy their stay. Due to hilly area that offers excellent views of the ocean, it is natural to have stairs. It is rather unfortunate that your husband missed a step and your car was broken into. Hopefully, he is feeling well. Although, break ins are very rare in Cambria, but they still take place. We regret the unpleasant side experiences you faced during your stay although we cannot help avoid such occurrence.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a wonderful location with great views!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

Thank you for giving us the oppurtunity to enjoy your home and spend this time together as a family. my husband enjoyed bird watching. my daughters have been in every store. My granddaughter played on the beach collecting shells and chasing the waves.
This is such a wonderful location and the views from the porches and windows, is lovely. weeven saw a deer one morning.

Wonderful!! Many Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Cambria Vacation

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The manager for this rental was friendly and very helpful. We received a warm welcome. The location was perfect for walking into the main street of Cambria---near interesting shops and good food. The ocean view from the master bedroom windows and the various porches was lovely. We found the availability of a washer and dryer to be an asset. There are a number of stairs to take getting into the house and taking things to the bedrooms. Hearst Castle is about 20 minutes away as is San Simeon (wine tasting and very good food). About a half hour north is a turnoff where you can see a large number of seals on the beach during their molting season(s). Docents provide interesting/entertaining information. South is the city of Morro Bay-- stop on the pier and enjoy music with your lunch. Each morning, we had coffee and wonderful pastries at the French Bakery although there were many other good choices also. Friday we went to the Farmer's Market: great non-alcoholic drinks and almond brittle (our favorites); lots of fresh fruit to taste/purchase.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Mary for leaving a beautiful note at our guest book also. Yes the house is multi-level and outdoor decks are also on the hilly slope but we have hand rails for your safety everywhere. Yes the home is not recommended for some one with bad knees :)
I can understand you giving us 4 stars instead of 5 due to the multiple levels. But very glad that everything else was to your liking and we were able to accomodate you and your family.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow...Great House...Nice Town.

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Tracy's 30th Birthday.

Wow...I don't know what to say...awesome...great house nice town. It was a great place to celebrate with friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

May be 'the best One' in my mature adult life

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

May be the best one in my 'mature' adult life. Renting your house is the perfect home-away from home. Wake up when you want, shop til you drop in town and come 'home' for dinner, wine and laughing.

We did not even go out for dinner, house is fabulous being able to look in any directions and see beautiful art and interesting things everywhere.

Many decks to share with friends or be alone. Could not have asked for more...'LOVED IT' May be we will do it again next summer..Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Ideal Place to Celebrate Birthday

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

This home is a ideal place to celebrate birthday with 2 close friends.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

Thanks!

Beautiful and Luxurious home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Exactly As Advertised and More!

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

Bally, the owner was so welcoming and helpful. The house is HUGE and gorgeous. There are decks everywhere on the property for gatherings and/or alone-time. Location is easy to find and just up a small sloped hill from town...can walk there. House was very clean and orderly, has art everywhere. Two stories with huge master/bath with queen bed; a bedroom with another queen bed, and a third one with 2 single beds...all with ample closet and dresser storage (all closets have many extra blankets!) 2nd full bath upstairs, and 1/2 bath downstairs. Be sure to run the hot water for a few minutes for the showers upstairs (water heater in down in the lower level garage area. Huge living room with every kind of electronic entertainment equipment you could want. Plenty of parking and you can use the garage.

Kitchen fully stocked with dishes, cookware, etc. Bring your own food including extras like butter, peanut butter etc.

We shopped til be dropped in town for a full day, walked Moonstone beach on the boardwalk, and ate at the Moonstone Grill which offers truly memorable food.

We are considering returning next summer, and I would highly recommend this house and what Cambria has to offer for a wonderful, memorable vacation. Oh! There is also the neightborhood turkey that walks around the neighborhood occasionally garbling a warm welcome!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kate, Jill & Christine....

What great guests you were. It was all my pleasure...had fun spenting few momments with you all. Lookforward for your next visit...!

Have a great day every day of your life.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Gardens are so Picturesque !

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2013

Your Home is beautiful, and we love all the special touches.

The gardens are so picturesque and the decks are like an adult tree house.

Thank you,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

STUNNING!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Your house is soooooo nice, will definitely rent this lovely house again. Thank You,

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much and I am glad you enjoyed and had a wonderful time at my vacation rental.

Looking forward for your next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You really have a "Wonderful Home"!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Thank you for letting us enjoy your home. We all had a great time.
You really have a wonderful home.

Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Welcoming & Perfect setting!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

We celebrated Mom's 87th birthday here and had a truly lovely stay.
Your home is very welcoming and provided the perfect setting for our visit.

Thank you for making it so.

Best Regards!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was 'Perfect' !!!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 29, 2013

We truely enjoyed staying in your lovely home. Its such a pleausre staying in a peaceful surroundings with no worries.

We will definately stay here again. It was "Perfect".

Thank you Again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace,Quiet and Refuge ability....we loved it!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

I have to say, again, how thoroughly pleased we all
were at the peace and quiet and
refuge ability you have in your house. We loved the
little things, and were able to
fully enjoy ourselves TOTALLY in the time we spent in
the house.

Thank you yet again for allowing us to spend time
there. We all came away the better
for the time spent.

Again, our thanks!

George

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean View were spectacular.

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

My Favorite part of the house was outside It was beautiful with all the artfully landscaping and flowers. The wooden tree patio was beautiful and the ocean view was spectacular.

We definitely enjoyed our stay here.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home was enjoyable...everything was great.

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

'Happy St. Patrick". Our stay in your home was very enjoyable. Everything was great.

Many Blessings to you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all enjoyed the ocean view from the sunny decks

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Just wanted to say Thank You for allow us Ladies to spend a beautiful and relaxing weekend in your lovely home. We all enjoyed the ocean view from the sunny deck and all the interesting art/sculptures and collectables. It was so much fun as we sat in different places to say, " oh, look, I didn't notice that piece before".
I have recommended your home to some friends and hope we can rent it in the future.
I must also compliment your cleaning service, my sister-in-law is a real neat freak, and she was impressed and very comfortable with the cleanliness.
Thanks again,

Kathy Powers,
Hanford, Ca.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Left speechless - loved every moment, and cannot wait to return!

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 11, 2012

We've taken almost six months to write this review because we can't find the words to properly express how fantastic this property is. We had the most wonderful, relaxing, romantic getaway at "our Castle." Hands down, this was my best vacation ever - and my first VRBO experience. My boyfriend made the arrangements, and from all reports, things could not have gone more smoothly in setting up the stay. He also mentioned many times how prompt the owner was in responding to his queries. The owners were extremely professional and helpful, though the Castle was so well-appointed, we didn't have much occasion to ask for anything.
There was just the two of us in the wonderful property, and while it felt like we should have more people to soak in the atmosphere, fantastically relaxing to ramble through the gorgeous setting, just the two of us. There is gorgeous decking on the side of the house. I wish we had stayed longer to take advantage of the deck more often. No doubt we will return for at least that purpose! I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we return to Cambria.
While at the house, we saw deer, wild turkey, and some other native wildlife which made hanging out on the deck entertaining. We had a hard time tearing ourselves from the property, there was so much atmosphere there it was difficult to imagine having a better time elsewhere. Of course, there are many things to do within walking or short-driving distance, but I'd love to go back and stay essentially put in the Castle!
The house/deck/property etc. were all exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Not only *would* I recommend this property to a friend/relative, I already have. Though, I hope it remains secret enough that when the boyfriend and I are ready to return, we are assured accommodations at this wonderful spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time in your lovely home!!

Review submitted: February 2, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing Carolyn and I to use your lovely home. We had a wonderful time, wine tasting, hiking and snooping the Cambria Shops.

We look forward to coming again.

P.S. This was my 65th , your home made it special and it was wonderful:)

Sincerely,
Jared & Carolyn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Planning a trip to Cambria? Stay here!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: January 13, 2013

This was first time going to see Cambria, but I have been to other beaches, so I had a good picture in my head of how the houses were going to look like, but this house completely blew me away. The structure of it and the precise location of it....I was speechless. The house is just as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside; all the rooms are flawless and have a homey feeling to them which added on to the beach scene. My vacation was short, but there is no doubt that I will be returning. If you are thinking of getting away and take your mind off the crowded, stuffy, and loud city, I highly recommend this gorgeous home that is walking distance to the beach, not to mention quiet, peaceful, and overall fun!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your sincere feelings. It pleases me to know that our guests feel at home while vacationing and enjoy indoors and outdoors as well.
I will be looking forward for your next trip.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Home & Grounds!!!

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

Thanks!
Had a wonderful time.
Beautiful home and grounds!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Beautiful,warm Home!!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Thank you!

Thank you for allowing us to share your beautiful,warm home.

Our 25th wedding anniversary was very special, thanks to you.

Many Blessings!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We all fell in love with it!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Thank you so much for renting out your beautiful home for our girls weekend. We all fell in love with it and had an amazing time in Cambria and Paso. We hope to be back very soon.


Erin

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home gave us a beautiful place to 'Escape'!

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Your home gave us a beautiful place to 'escape' to for our girls weekend. Close to Paso for plenty of wine-tasting and right next to a quaint little town to window-shop through. We would love to come back.

Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

a Wonderful Romantic Weekend with my husband!

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

I had a wonderful & Romantic weekend with my husband. We celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary and my husband's 45th birthday. The decor was so fun and whimsical.
Thank you for letting us in your home. I am sure every piece of glass and seashells have meaning and memories. We felt like we were staying in a European home. The town is adorable and the food is great.
We will definitely try to stay here again on our nest trip.
This is a Happy House.
Love

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

European feel with turn of Century/Art Vogue..we loved the house!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My husband Joe and I loved the house. We loved all the space and the unique layout... The entire house was creatively decorated with a mixture of design styles; gallery style, (paintings, glass art and statues) American traditional, New Age (with a Buddha and Hindu idol pieces), French Country, California Beach Shore(seashells and ocean scene photographs and prints), Turn of the Century/Art Vogue, with an overall European feel Thank you for allowing us to stay at your place it was quite and close to the downtown. We got our food and ate it on the balcony.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for staying at my house and appreciating everything with your kind comments. I was glad that you both were able to celebrate your wedding anniversary and also your husband's birthday in a perfect location and a beautiful happy home(as you called the house 'A Happy House') in your personal note left in the guest book. I will be looking forward for your next vacation with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Turn of the Century/Art Vogue, with European Feel

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

My husband Joe and I loved the house. We loved all the space and the unique layout... The entire house was creatively decorated with a mixture of design styles; gallery style, (paintings, glass art and statues) American traditional, New Age (with a Buddha and Hindu idol pieces), French Country, California Beach Shore(seashells and ocean scene photographs and prints), Turn of the Century/Art Vogue, with an overall European feel Thank you for allowing us to stay at your place it was quite and close to the downtown. We got our food and ate it on the balcony.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Weekend in Cambria in your beautiful home!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Great weekend in Cambria in your beautiful home. The location was perfect. We walked to the beach, enjoyed downtown and visited our longtime friends. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful home in great location in Cambria

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

This house was perfect for 2 families (4 adults/3 teenagers) to share for the weekend. It was beautifully furnished, very comfortable, quiet, and in a great location just a block up from the main street of Cambria. It also had a beautiful garden area. We could easily walk to the boardwalk along the beach or to town for dinner or coffee. By the way, we had a great dinner at Robin's Restaurant.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your stay in my home. I am glad I met your expectations. It seems like you and your family, friends had a great time around town and at the house.
Glad you enjoyed the gardens, wonder if you had any visitors in the garden during your stay because Deer seems to like my succulent garden also.
Hoping to see you all on your next vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mom, Daughters, Grandaughters

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We had a very fun time in Cambria. The house was in a great location in the West Village, lots to do within walking distance, cute shops. The East Village was a short drive away, would recommend eating at Linn's there, save room for their desserts. Visited Hearst Castle, a definite must. Went to Moon Stone beach at low tide and explored the tide pools.
The house itself was very well appointed, extremely clean, and looked just like the photos. It was light filled and airy, with enough space for 6 women and all our luggage. We had plenty of room to be together in the living room and there was also lots of places to go off on your own to nap or read. Needed an ironing board and a few more towels, but that is all.
I would highly recommend this property, the owner was very responsive and we felt very comfortable in her home. It was truly a perfect "get away from it all" spot. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your stay! I am glad that you all enjoyed it and that everything was to your expectations. Regarding the ironing board and towels, we do have both, and apologize for the inconvenience. Housekeeping should have left a note with this information. The ironing board is in the closet next to the laundry room, and extra towels are located in the guest bathroom closet. Thank you again for your stay and review, we hope to see you back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing

Review submitted: August 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

This has to be on of the most beautiful places iv'e stayed at in Cambria and the surrounding towns. We were able to walk to town in just a few minutes and see all the art galleries and all the other quaint shops the area had to offer. The beach and bluffs were right down the street, it took about 5 minutes if that to drive there. The owner went out of her way to make us feel welcome and we had access to her at anytime if we needed to contact her. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE.

Owners response: I am so glad that you liked my place and enjoyed your vacation exploring around Cambria and The Central Coast.

You are always welcome and I am glad I was able to meet your needs and expectations. Hoping to see you next time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peace and quiet, your house is so beautiful.

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

Peace and Quiet that is what Cambria is all about and your house is so beautiful. Thank you for sharing the house with us.

We enjoyed your interior decor and out door gardens. My girl friends were so pleased and felt right at home, all they did was cook and cook and enjoy the house inside out. we all stayed at the house for all 4 days of our stay. It was so beautiful, everything was perfect to relax.

Thank you and Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time in house, Loved the location.

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Great time in house. Loved the location and all the wild life around.

Thank you for the extra cots and blankets.

Very blessed having a week with great friends in great home.

Thanks alot.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great week in a wonderful home.

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Had a really great week with friends and family in a wonderful home.

Got to see the turkeys and deer and enjoy some really great weather.

Can not wait to come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house is in a perfect place, it is beautiful

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

The house is in a perfect place and it is beautiful. We enjoyed it,

We love the landscaping and enjoyed the porch and decks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Location was perfect and we would love to ..

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

The house was beautiful with lot of beautiful things.

The location was perfect and we would love to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great Time

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 12, 2012

We had a great time. Your house is lovely, the best in the neighborhood.

If ever we will return to Cambria, we will definitely consider your house again.

Thank you very much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a wonderful time in your home!

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time in your beautiful house. We couldn"t get enough of this beautiful weather. Thank you. Next time I come I will have to bring my parents with just my husband and myself. Thank you again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Just got back from spending a nice leisurely long weekend here, and we most definitely WILL be back. This is one of the very best places we've ever stayed, it was comfortable, well appointed, and all of the little things that make a place wonderful were well thought out! I simply cannot rave enough about how neat this place is!!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Time in your home was very special///!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

I wanted to say Thank You again ... our time in your
home was very VERY special, and
everyone of us, without exception, wanted to let you
know of our profound appreciation.

Again, my thanks to you for providing us with such a
special set of memories.

George

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Almost Heaven!!!

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

I cannot say enough about how thoughtful and how wonderful this place is. This was our 34th year venturing out and finding a nice place to spend a long weekend. This is at least, in the top 3. A lot of places have thrift store furniture. This place had top drawer furniture, the beds were so comfortable, we all slept late (something we NEVER do), the living room had all new leather sofas and loveseats, the kitchen was very nicely done, the flooring was new and beautiful. We most definitely, WILL be returning!
Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much...for having a wonderful time at my home ...I like to be in the top 3 places in your list, it is an honor, not to say you made my year :), not only a day. I am so glad that you and your guests were able to relax and sleep well and enjoy the ambiance. and was able to utilize all the amenities.

I will be looking forward to hear about your future visit & if any thing else I can do to better your experience at my vacation home, let me know.
Thanks a bunch for choosing my place.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Myself and My Guests had a Fantastic Time!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

My guests and I had a wonderful time this weekend. We were in Cambria for a good friend of our's wedding which was on Saturday. As for guests at the residence, there were quite a few people comeing and going from the house throughout our stay All in all though, myself and my guests had a fantastic time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The week-end was perfect in every way!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Ms. Singh,
Thank you for the use of your beautiful home. The week-end was perfect in every way.
Sincerely,
Ray Avila

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Home is Lovely & we enjoyed every day here!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

"Your Home is lovely and we enjoyed everyday here. The house was fully furnished with everything you can think of!! Our 5 day vacation here was great and the price was great as well".
Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family of 5

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the house. It was my husband and I are 3 children (Ages 6,9,and 10). There are definitely a lot of glass objects in the house and our kids were very careful with all of it. The house is in a great location close to Hearst Castle, close to the the beach, and close to town. The listing was accurate and the house looks like it does in the photos.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you ,Pam. Yes! the art glass was definitely well taken care by you and your children....thanks to all of them for that.I am so glad that you & your family was able to enjoy the location of the house being close to everything. I am glad that my vacation home was able to deliver everything,the ambiance, comfort and luxury to you all as promised.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time & hope to stay again soon!

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We did have a wonderful time and hope to stay again soon! It is perfectly located for us to enjoy a get away without having to drive so far!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It's a Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My girlfriends and I really wanted to get away from the stresses of every day life. We wanted to go to a quiet city with great wine, as well as visit Hearst Castle. This was a perfect choice for us! Not only are you about a mile away from the beach, but you can wake up in the morning and have coffee, sitting on the deck watching the ocean. The city was quiet and we were definitely able to catch up on our much needed sleep. Nit Wit Ridge is literally a 1 minute walk up the street and was really interesting to see. Heart Castle was only a 10 minute drive, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The scenary is just so majestic and relaxing. In addition, the main street is less than 5 minutes walking distance. We window shopped, wine tasted, and had plenty of time to collect shells and make dinner. The owners were more than accomodating. We literally had everything we needed. They were absolutely wonderful hosts and I would recommend this place to anyone!!! We would definitely stay there again.

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your property -
Teresa Rivera

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wonderful, I am so glad you all were able to relax and was able to do fun things around Cambria. Walking to the Moonstone beach is a wonderful experience full of excitement with one of many nature's wonders around Cambria. Yes, waking up to ever changing view of Ocean from the house is a experience in it self. Looking forward for your next visit & thank you for choosing my vacation home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

It's a Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My girlfriends and I really wanted to get away from the stresses of every day life. We wanted to go to a quiet city with great wine, as well as visit Hearst Castle. This was a perfect choice for us! Not only are you about a mile away from the beach, but you can wake up in the morning and have coffee, sitting on the deck watching the ocean. The city was quiet and we were definitely able to catch up on our much needed sleep. Nit Wit Ridge is literally a 1 minute walk up the street and was really interesting to see. Heart Castle was only a 10 minute drive, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The scenary is just so majestic and relaxing. In addition, the main street is less than 5 minutes walking distance. We window shopped, wine tasted, and had plenty of time to collect shells and make dinner. The owners were more than accomodating. We literally had everything we needed. They were absolutely wonderful hosts and I would recommend this place to anyone!!! We would definitely stay there again.

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your property -
Teresa Rivera

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

castle on a hill, with great ocean views

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

My stay at this lovely home was wonderful. Furnishings were very nicely done and the property was very clean and It had everything you could think of.
Just bring yourself, little wine and food and your set. We enjoyed watching the deer and the wild turkeys as well as the sunsets from the two huge decks. This home rental was a great value, we were able to stay 4 nights for the price of 2 elsewhere. Just a short car ride to the beach, and about 35 min for wine tasting.I would highly recommend others to vacation here. Thank you so much Malika for putting together this gorgeous home for all to enjoy. Debbie Munoz

Owners response: We are so pleased to know that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our home. We are adding more amenities and always upgrading the furnishings for your comfort & pleasure. You are welcome & we look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fun times in Cambria

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

We spent a 5-day weekend in Cambria (Thursday - Monday) at this property and really enjoyed the house and the location. The home itself was spacious, clean and modern with a great kitchen. We had guests visit from San Francisco, Fresno and LA on different nights and were at capacity once or twice, but never felt like we were too cramped. Barbecuing in the evening or making breakfast in the morning, chilling out in the living room watching TV or warming up by the fireplace, the amenities in the house definitely delivered. One thing we didn't get to use as much were the large outdoor decks on the hillside above the house, bit it was a little chilly when we were there (Feb). It might have been nice to have an outdoor heat source there to allow for that.. As far as the location goes, you're a minute walk from downtown Cambria East with wine tasting, coffee, and the goodness of the Main St Grill at your fingertips. The beach was about a 10-15 minute walk, but for us, venturing beyond Cambria the best thing was that you could get to so many things from where we were: Paso Robles for wine tasting, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach- we went all over the area and were able to retire to the peace and quite of Cambria at the end of the day, which was nice. Also, the area around Cambria is very picturesque as you drive through it, especially if you're coming back from Paso Robles in the higher hills and start descending into an ocean of clouds that have rolled in at sunset- some really great photo opportunities there...

Anyhow, in summary, it was a great house, great location, and really nice people to rent from!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much!....I am so glad that you and all of your friends had a great time. We do have a outdoor Patio heater to use outside, I must have forgotten to list it. I am pleased to know that you guys were comfortable and was able to enjoy the ambiance...will see you on your next visit.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Peaceful getaway from a Texan!

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

My stay was very relaxing and peaceful. It was the perfect escape from reality and the hustle and bustle of the city. The home was beautiful and decorated tastefully. Modern amenities and very spacious. My stay was comfortable and felt like I was at home. Very close to the beach and can hear the waves from the decks! I especially enjoyed sitting on the decks to read a book, drinking a cup of tea, and having a BBQ with friends under the sunset. Shops, restaurants, and the beach are literally a 3-5 min walk away. Friendly and cozy! The house has lots of windows which made it bright during the day. You can see the ocean from the decks and from inside the house through the windows. Highly recommended and I will definitely come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to visit my home for your vacation. I am glad that you enjoyed your vacation and the house was comfortable and met your needs.I am always upgrading the place with seasonal decors and amenities to meet our guest's need and your suggestions are always welcome. I will be looking forward for your next visit.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wow...it is Castle at your service with beautiful views & all the ammenties!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

Beautiful home, great view outdoor garden decks, clean,organized and maintained home, just beautiful. The view is beautiful, loved hearing the ocean and watch the wild life pass by. We want to thank the owner/manager- your home is beautiful-you thought of everything :) Thank you! Looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you and we will be looking forward to see you again!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review