reviews for: listing #92445 - Tempe, Arizona Apartment rental

Elegant 1 BR apt just 8 min from Scottsdale
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $49 - $69 /nt
    $245 - $399 /wk
    $899 - $1,199 /mth

sort by:

Roadtrip Mom

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 4, 2014

Great Vacation Apartment!
Perfect for all my needs. Very clean and well decorated. Nice neighborhood...safe for outdoor runs. Close to everything...extremely nice owners.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you. I'm glad you made it on to California and back to Minnesota. Lots of windshield! Thanks for your nice comments.
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shippy Chalet

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

The Shippy Chalet is very clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and it was a very nice shower. The garden outside was a beautiful perk.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks! Our garden is finally starting to take shape!
Wayne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PRIVATE ENTRANCE

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

We were visiting our children in Tempe so basically needed a place to sleep. This is a well thought out cozy space that gave us what we needed. We appreciated the quiet community, a private entrance, the resource book about the area, having two TV's and having the kitchen stocked enough to get us through the first morning. Although we didn't need to use them, there were laundry facilities available. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

EXCEPTIONAL HOST

Review submitted: February 28, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

I stayed in the apartment for a week when I was in town a baseball tournament. The place was centrally located for me, was very clean, and very quiet. Wayne was an exceptional host. I would definitely stay there again if I am back in town.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay in Tempe

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

My wife and I spent over three weeks at the Shippy Chalet in Mar. and could not be happier. Everything that we needed was provided including some basic food items waiting for us when we arrived. This rental is secluded, clean, quiet (we never heard a single car drive by), and very safe. It truly felt like home by the end of the first day. The owners are always available if any need arises and very easy to talk to. In addition, the location is ideal. It's just a five minute walk to the nearby grocery, pharmacy, and even a Wal-Mart, and it is any easy drive to many of the Spring Training stadiums, in addition to the many restaurants and stores that you would expect to find around a large university campus (ASU). My wife and I plan on returning to the Phoenix area several times in the next few years and we will always go back to the Shippy Chalet.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks. March is reserved for you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Perfect Getaway Cottage

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

As someone who travels and rents apartments often, this one is on the top of the list of my favorites.
I have already booked my stay a year away and if any vacation time comes before then this would be the perfect getaway spot.

It is in the perfect location, the perfect size for 1 or a couple. Quiet. Super Comfortable. Clean and well decorated. Has every appliance one may need, And even stocked with bfast food ,snacks and condiments. They even had my favorite coffee brand- Dunkin Donuts ! :)

After my 2nd stay now i feel fortunate to have found such a great place.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Shippy Chalet

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

Thank you so much for all of the comfortable touches in your little guest apartment. An adorable, super clean, and refreshing respite. It was an absolute pleasure walking in after a hard day of driving, moving my daughter into her apartment for school, and enduring the 110 degree heat in August. All of the comforts of home, including enough food in the refrigerator to be able to enjoy coffee and breakfast without having to shop for groceries. I look forward to the next time when my husband and I will be able to enjoy Tempe in a more favorable season. Would love to stay at your Shippy Chalet again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We look forward to seeing you in the winter!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great time!!!

Review submitted: May 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We love it there! It's great! We are planing on booking our next one soon. It's our home away from home.

Owners response: THANKS. See you in December! Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy, Clean, and charming

Review submitted: November 13, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

The Shippy Chalet deserves more than 5 stars it is even more than 10 stars. The moment I spoke with Wayne I knew I found the perfect place. It is beautiful and well decorated. It is immaculate and warm and cozy and quiet and just pure heaven. Nancy is amazing after traveling all day, how nice to have a welcome basket of fruit and milk. Both Wayne and Nancy make travel a pleasure and easy. Anytime I had a question all I had to do was email or call. Great location for walking and public transportation, close to the airport and surrounding cities. Shippy Chalet is perfect in every way. Thank you for making my return after 30 years to the valley so pleasurable.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: You are so kind. We work hard to make it a nice place to stay and your comments are so appreciated.
Thank you! Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

I spent a week at the Shippy Chalet and couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience! Wayne and Nancy were incredibly gracious hosts, available and unobtrusive at the same time. The apartment is well-situated...the grocery store is just around the corner should you like to cook for yourself, and I had no trouble getting around without a car. It's a beautifully decorated space, cozy and secure. I had access to the washer/dryer (so I could have packed less! haha!). I'll definitely be staying at the Shippy Chalet again!! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy you were comfortable and we look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Shippy Chalet is CHARMING

Review submitted: September 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

I like staying at the Shippy Chalet when I have to come to the East Valley. First of all, it must be noted that it is decorated beautifully. Every detail is well planned. It is new, clean, and fresh. Next, all you need is provided. Just pack your bags and stay. Finally, the Shippys are wonderful inn keepers with a sense of humor and delight in helping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Darling apartment close to ASU

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

LOVED, LOVED, LOVED, my weeks stay at Shippy Chalet!! It could not have been more convenient for me as I was moving my daughter into the dorms at ASU. It is only two miles from her dorm so it was the perfect place for me to stay. The apartment is darling, well appointed with everything you need and more! Located in a quiet little neighborhood right off a main road with many shops and restaurants in close proximity. Very safe, very private, very clean and newly decorated. The owners Wayne and Nancy were a joy and were there when you needed them. Thank you so much, I will definitely return for years to come, however, I noticed you are totally booked for the month of February :(:(:(. Please let me know if you get a cancellation because that is the month I wanted to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If we get a cancellation, we'll let you know!
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This is a small but perfect gem of a place to stay. Not only is it decorated beautifully, but also every amenity was thought of and provided for. One of the most efficiently organized spaces we've ever stayed in. Although the unit is attached to the owner's house, the only entrance to it is through a side, fenced-in courtyard, so it feels private and cozy. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Note: some maps will show that the street the unit is located on runs into Rural Road, but it actually doesn't - it's blocked off. The best way to enter is through Southern and Terrace.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks! You're right about the map. In 1989, the city closed Geneva at Rural but Google Maps hasn't figured it out yet :). We look forward to seeing you again.
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great place to stay

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

the Shippy Chalet was a wonderful place to stay. After a long hard days of visiting our daughter and sight seeing this was a relaxing retreat to recharge and do it all again the next day. They have everything you need for a stay. Thanks again

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SHIPPY CHALET

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Shippy Chalet for two weeks and it was perfect. We were moving to the area and needed a place to stay while looking for our new home, and the Shippy Chalet was great. Everything has been well thought out and they were more than accommodating. When our family comes to visit they will definitely be staying here instead of at a hotel. Thanks again Wayne and Nancy.

Owners response: You're welcome, and thanks for the kind words. Since you live only a mile or so from here, maybe we'll bump into you in the grocery store!
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely FABULOUS!!!

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at here for a quick weekend trip and we couldn't have asked for better accommodations! The Chalet had everything that one could possibly need and it was evident that they'd put a lot of time and thought into preparing the space for guests; comfort was obviously their priority. The garden view was wonderful and all the little touches made this visit one that we couldn't have gotten anywhere else. We especially appreciated the electronic entry so that we could arrive at 1:30am and not have to wake anyone.
The Chalet was close to everything we were there for (ASU, libraries, restaurants) and even things we weren't (SHOPPING!) Mr. and Mrs. were extremely helpful and made sure we knew they were available to us in the event that we needed something. We left yesterday morning and I think I've already told 5 different people about our stay - I want EVERYONE to visit the Chalet, at least once!
If we are ever in the Tempe area again we KNOW where we'll be staying!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We had so much fun designing this apartment and it is gratifying that you enjoyed our efforts! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and next time you come we hope the tomatoes are ripe!
Wayne & Nancy Shippy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spring Training Theme

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Found the unit in excellent condition with all of the amenities described in posting. Located in a quite , safe residential neighborhood of Tempe, . Convienent to,Mesa,,Scottsdale, and Phoniex. I found a great city park (Kawanis Park ) for my early morning walk around a large lake.Enjoyed the new modern Indian Casino's The Heard Museum in Phoniex, Downtown Scottsdale , and the Botonical Gardens and the University area of Tempe. Good value .

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Owners response: Mike. Thanks for your kind words. We hope to see you next year for spring training!
Wayne & Nancy

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Guest House!

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 29, 2011

What a perfect get-away home. We stayed for a month and enjoyed every minute. The owners are special people. They went beyond the norm. The guest house is even cuter than the pictures, and it comes with a laundry room! It was convenient to be able to walk to the library and grocery stores. Golfing is close, and affordable. It's a short drive to restaurants, but everything is handy for in house cooking. No negatives here. In short, it was a quiet, peaceful, restful hideaway, and we recommend it without any hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Judy. We hope to see you again sometime and we will try to have warmer weather! :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT!! Immaculate & cozy!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 4, 2011

We have so enjoyed this private, quiet and peaceful little rental. Everything is so neat and clean, and everything you could possible need is provided. Grocery stores are close (3 blocks), churches, library, museum and all within walking distance. I would certainly recommend this property to a friend or relative mostly because of the quiet and peace that we found here.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Happy New Year!

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

We were seeking a very clean and quiet retreat for our honeymoon while we tried to keep up to a hectic schedule celebrating New Year with friends and family in the valley. This place was perfect! By the second day it felt almost like home. No comparison to a large chain motel. Personal hospitality of the host was a big plus. We look forward to a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Wayne & Nancy Shippy

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

SWEET PLACE TO REST IN

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

Thank you so much for such a sweet place to rest in. What a great way to have a bit of a retreat. Thanks for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PEACE AND QUIET

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We checked into the Shippy Chalet and was happy to see the cozy apartment which met our needs. Everything was neat and clean. All the amenities were provided. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the area. Tempe was great for shopping. There was a good choice of restaurants nearby.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

MY FAVORITE LODGING

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

I like the location close to church, shopping, and restaurants. The Shippy Chalet is my favorite lodging.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

CONVENIENCE & BEAUTY

Review submitted: December 10, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

I arrived Sunday night and awoke with a refreshing rest. I only drove for five minutes to arrive at Dorsey Crossing for training. Convenience and beauty convinced me to come to the Shippy Chalet.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review