reviews for: listing #92446 - South Portland, Maine Cottage rental

The Birdhouse at Willard Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Willard Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $180 - $185 /nt
    $900 - $1,200 /wk

sort by:

The Birdhouse is awesome

Review submitted: June 29, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The Birdhouse exceeded our expectations. The cottage is clean with nice ammenities. The owners go out of their way to have everything you need at your fingertips. Quiet neighbordhood 100 steps from the beach. Perfect place to relax and enjoy what the Portland area has to offer. We'll go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful vacation spot!

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

My family and I had an amazing time at the Birdhouse. We enjoyed the location and walked to the beach each day. Susan and Tony were great and the house was just as described. Willard Scoops has the best ice cream ever!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

If you seek peace, this is the place for you.

Review submitted: June 7, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

We are busy people who value peace and nature. Our week at the "Bird House" provided a sense of quiet as well as soft exposure to the raw vibrant beauty that surrounded us during our stay. Each morning we walked the still sands of the cove, taking time to stand above the rocky bluff to do our morning Qui Gong, Chinese breathing and stretching. We sat Zen Buddhist zazen "meditation" and did yoga on the enclosed front porch. At night we read and talked and listened to silence, interrupted only by the fog horn. Not once did we turn on the television. We are readers and thinkers and I, of course, found a mystery novel among the surprise lending library that is offered, talking the book home and leaving one of my favorites in exchange - an Irish classic, Among Women. Simplicity filled our time at the cottage and fueled our day trips to Portland to eat raw oysters at J's at the port and lobster everywhere. We visited one of my best friends who runs one of the best newspapers in America - the Portland Press Herald - and visited with a British cousin of my wife's war bride mother who had not seen my wife since she was a little girl, more than 50 years ago. We connected with Maine. We found refuge and shelter in the comfort of the "Bird House." Our trip was perfect..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A piece of local history in a heavenly location

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

The Bird House was everything Tony and Susan said it was! My wife and I along with three older sisters felt very much at home there. The daily walks to the Point or around the neighborhood and beach gave us renewed energy for all the day trips we made from South Bristol to Oxford. It was like being on a retreat and the cottage was most comfortable. Neighbors and dog walkers we met were so friendly. We will be back for sure. Thanks for everything

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cute little place

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

Cute little place, close to Willard Beach. I wanted to get away for a few days and came across this listing which was perfect for my dog and me. Dogs can run on the beach off leash through April. Everything in the house was clearly labeled, directions provided - I had no trouble finding or working anything. I purchased my seafood in Portland, and went to dinner one evening at the Docks. Can't beat the seafood in the Portland area. The house was immaculately clean and very cozy-thanks to the owners!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Home away from Home

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

The listing for this property is accurate but it is even better once there! Nothing is missing and it is well arranged - anything I wanted I could find. The owners are genuinely concerned for the comfort of their guests and take pride in their home.
I prepared most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen but we got take out from Thai Taste on Cottage road, a couple of minutes away. Great food!
This trip we did nothing but walk on the beach with our two dogs where they- and we! - met many happy dogs and their humans. Willard's Beach is perfect or dogs out of season as they are allowed off leash all day long. There is lots to do close by, but this trip we just relaxed and the Birdhouse made that easy!
Great home in a great area. Definitely recommend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Home-away-from-home.

Review submitted: March 23, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

The listing for this property is accurate but it is even better once there! Nothing is missing and it is well arranged - anything I wanted I could find. The owners are genuinely concerned for the comfort of their guests and take pride in their home.
I prepared most of our meals in the well equipped kitchen but we got take out from Thai Taste on Cottage road, a couple of minutes away. Great food!
This trip we did nothing but walk on the beach with our two dogs where they- and we! - met many happy dogs and their humans. Willard's Beach is perfect or dogs out of season as they are allowed off leash all day long. There is lots to do close by, but this trip we just relaxed and the Birdhouse made that easy!
Great home in a great area. Definitely recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very cosy and close to beautiful Willard Beach

Review submitted: February 13, 2014   Date of arrival: February 4, 2014

My wife Lauren and I needed to leave our home in Portland in a hurry to allow roofers to do work on our roof. Susan and Tony were able to accommodate us at the Birdhouse at very short notice. We did not know what to expect as we had done little homework basically deciding on the first property that would accept our little dog.
The Birdhouse turned out to be a very sweet little cottage just yards from beautiful Willard Beach. It is cosy, comfortable and everything you would want from a vacation rental. It was close to our home so we could go back and forth as required but when we stepped into the Birdhouse we felt we could leave our worries and stresses at the door and truly relax.
Susan and Tony could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Birdhouse and if you need any more persuasion then the best baker for miles is along the road and David388 is a superb restaurant well withing walking distance.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Birdhouse

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: November 10, 2013

The Birdhouse is a comfortable cottage a half minute away from the fantastic Willard Beach. I stayed there with my two dogs in Nov and Dec, and we had many great walks on the beach, as well as in nearby Fort Williams. Very comfortable queen bed, amazingly equipped kitchen - everything you need and more, and nice living room to read or watch tv in. The owners are extremely responsive, warm and friendly, as is the local caretaker, Nancy. The place is clean and pleasant. It has an interesting history - a retired lobsterman lived there, and made bird houses out of recycled materials. Replicas of lobster boats, and other marina and fishing buildings he encountered in his long life as a Maine coast fisherman.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birdhouse stay

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Overall very happy with the birdhouse! It was very convenient and adorable on our first trip to Maine. We loved how close it was to portland and Freeport outlets. Additionally the beach was a great place to walk our Bernese and have the kids run around. We hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming, cozy, and full of thoughtful touches

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

When we had to reschedule our visit, Susan and Tony could not have been more helpful nor more kind. Their concern for their guests is clearly genuine, and was greatly appreciated.

Had we never set foot outside the door, we would still have found the Birdhouse the perfect place to stay, but the pleasures of the Willard Beach community (especially the proximity to the ocean, and to Scratch Bakery) and of the South Portland area were not to be missed.

The house itself was astonishingly well-stocked with everything we needed and more. We loved the artwork everywhere, as well as the books (though we'd brought plenty of our own). Having a gas stove in the living room was a delight on cold mornings for the first person up. The only suggestion would be to upgrade the mattress in the small downstairs bedroom -- it's no doubt fine for kids, but was not all that comfortable for this middle-aged adult. Nonetheless, we have no hesitation in giving five enthusiastic stars, and two thumbs up, to the Birdhouse as a wonderful place to stay.

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Birdhouse and found everything you needed there - but we are distressed to hear about the mattress and thank you for bringing it to our attention. We will certainly replace it as soon as possible. A good vacation should always include a comfortable bed. We hope that you will return in the future and try out the new mattress!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: October 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

Pictures are accurate, the home had everything needed for a vacation stay. The house and yard were very well kept. We had a welcome message from the previous renters saying that we hope we enjoy our stay as much as they did theirs and a lovely note from Nancy the caretaker letting us know if there is anything that we need please don't hesitate to call. The owners contacted us not long after arriving making sure we were comfortable and if we needed anything else. All the neighbors that we met were very friendly and the neighborhood was very quiet. We would highly recommend this property for anyone looking to get away and enjoy a peaceful and relaxing time by the sea. Our time there was spent at the beach, our dogs were welcomed not only by the owners but also at the beach. We ate at a few local restaurants which were delicious, headed into Portland which was only a 10 minute drive by car for shopping, dining and sightseeing. Took a nice boat cruise (lighthouse lovers) out of Portland, walked to Spring Point Lighthouse and visited the local bakery. This home made our vacation easy, stress free and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and just like home

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

The Birdhouse is a great place to make as home base in Portland. Plenty of amenities such as a full kitchen, cable tv, internet access and just a 30 second walk to a nice beach. Located near two awesome parks: Fort Williams and Two Lights state parks. many of restaurant choices all within a few blocks or just a few miles down the road. Great place for dogs as well with the fenced in yard and dogs are welcome on the beach and both parks. Just a short drive to downtown Portland as well. The property is very nice and it felt like coming home each evening instead of a cold impersonal hotel room. Located on a quiet street so you can sleep in or if you desire, get up with the sun and walk the short distance to the beach and watch the sun rise over the water. I would highly recommend this location if you desire a great location in the Portland area. Also just a short drive to Freeport for outlet shopping or head south to Kennebunkport. Sebago lake is well within driving distance (about 45 minutes). I really enjoyed my stay here and I think you would as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A pleasant week in Maine

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

All 3 of us greatly enjoyed our time at the Birdhouse. Very clean, pleasant having a washer and dryer, comfortable. Minor issues with the TV. What a lovely walk a block from the ocean. Great memories!

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your week at the Birdhouse! The TV and its remotes are the only thing that we have ever gotten calls about from our guests - somehow managing the TV, DVR and Blu-ray player just does not have an easy solution! We put in a universal remote, which we hoped would make juggling three other remotes a thing of the past - but it has it's own quirks - as you found! We will continue to try to find a way to simplify the technology - and trust that our guests will let us know if they have difficulties in the meantime. (We are considering asking the neighborhood 12 year old boy to just move into the basement to be on call whenever there are technology issues!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Birdhouse vacation

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our week at the Birdhouse. We loved the house and the beach, expecially the porch. Very nice friendly neighborhood. We took a lot of day trips since there is so much to see in the Portland vicinity. The beach is family friendly and all the sailboats on the water makes it very scenic. The house was very well stocked with everything we needed.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Marvelous cottage and great beach!

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

Having spoken to Susan and Tony prior to booking our stay, we had a fairly strong idea of what to expect when we arrived at the Birdhouse--and we were definitely not disappointed. The cottage was as clean, comfortable and inviting as described--it felt as if we were staying in the home of a good friend. Everything we could possibly need for our stay was provided and easy to access. A quick trip to a nearby grocery provided us the staples to create easy and relaxing meals "at home"--although we did make daily trips up to the Scratch Baking Company for coffee, bagels and pastries. (Beware the peanut butter cookies--they are addictive!)--and we spent many hours just relaxing on the porch and the back deck.

The only shortcoming we found in the cottage was the current layout of rooms. (The first floor bathroom seems a long way from the master bedroom, especially in the middle of the night). However, the plans that Susan and Tony have for the remodel will correct this and make the cottage even more comfortable.

Although we have vacationed in the Portland area for over twenty years, the Willard Beach area turned out to be a wonderful surprise to us. The neighborhood is inhabited by interesting and very friendly people, and both of us and our schnauzer found the beach a great place to walk. A nearby point provided us a perfect location to sit quietly in the sun and watch sailboats, kayaks and paddle boards come and go.

We definitely look forward to returning to the Birdhouse as soon as possible, and we now think of Susan and Tony as not just people from whom we rented a cottage but as friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Birdhouse was just as charming as described.

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

The Birdhouse was the perfect choice for our family. The cottage was charming and well cared for, and the location was just what we had in mind for a quiet, peaceful vacation. The owners have done a wonderful job, making sure that guests have everything they could possibly need, and the fact that they make an effort to call and check on you after arrival is a very nice touch. We will be back for sure - can't wait!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The cozy "birdhouse" is a perfect place to nest!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Our second year renting "The Birdhouse" and not our last! Owners are so accommodating and friendly. The house is comfortable, descriptions are totally accurate, house has everything you'd need. Plenty of beaches, walking trails, state parks, this is an ALL MAINE kind of place, and just 10 minutes from the great city of Portland. You'll have a great time, just like we did.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun week at the Birdhouse

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The Birdhouse is in a great location and offers all the amenities you have at home. It is clean and cozy. I especially enjoyed the front porch where we would read or work on puzzles.

Susan and Tony were very helpful and nice. They even called to check and make sure all was going well at the cottage.

Willard Beach is very close to the Birdhouse cottage and a great beach for families. The playground and snack shack are a bonus. We enjoyed going back to the beach late afternoon when the tide was out so we could look for marine life.

Scratch Bakery and Willard Scoops is a short walk and both offer really yummy treats. You can also pick up the bus at Scratch Bakery and head into Portland for the day. We did this to attend a Portland Sea Dogs game.

The is a short drive from several lighthouses. It is also not far from Funtown Splashtown USA (fun amusement and water park), Len & Libby (home of a huge chocolate moose) & Freeport, ME (LLBean).

We enjoyed our week at the Birdhouse and would recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Loved the "Birdhouse"!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter, and I truly loved our week stay at the Birdhouse. The owners were very helpful and friendly from the time we booked the house with a follow-up right after our stay. We have stayed at many homes through Homeaway around the country and are delighted when we have caring & friendly hosts! The home was perfect as was the neighborhood and proximity to the ocean, shops, Portland, and our evening strolls to Spring Point Lighthouse House and "Buglight". We are very familiar with the Willard Beach area and this is why we chose this area in particular. The home was spotless and very cozy!! We loved this sweet home!! Thanks for an opportunity to get some much needed rest and for being the helpful, kind folks that you are!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A wonderful week in a terrific cottage.

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

I had a perfect week with my son and 4-year-old grandson at the Birdhouse. The cottage was perfect, with everything we needed in a convenient location - a short walk to the beach, and an easy drive to Portland...not to mention a short walk to Scratch bakery and the Scoop shop! We all look forward to a return for a longer stay next year - and we look forward to experiencing the changes planned for the cottage! The neighborhood is quiet and friendly, the beach not crowded, and we are delighted to recommend this cozy, comfy cottage!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming, comfy, delightful.

Review submitted: July 27, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We stayed a week at the Birdhouse in South Portland in July 2013 and were delighted. More than a few times my wife said, "I LOVE this place!"

Back deck for nice weather, enclosed front porch for privacy or rainy day. Private parking and fenced yard. Just as nice as advertised.

Charming, comfy, neat and clean. Very well maintained. Nice renovations planned in 2014. Owners are very caring and accomodating, with lots of helpful info, tips, etc.

Just a 2-minute walk around the corner to Willard Beach, then the shore walk at the community college and Spring Point Lighthouse -- one of our favorite Maine attractions. Portland Head Lighthouse at Ft. Williams Park in Cape Elizabeth and Bug Lighthouse Park in S.Ptld are each a 5 minute drive. Village ice cream shop and bakery are just a few blocks away.

We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The highlight of our summer, every year!

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Birdhouse with our dogs, and we wouldn't go anywhere else. The beach was a favorite place to visit (every morning and most evenings), followed by trips to the bakery and/or ice cream shop around the corner. Everything we loved was the same, and there were some new things to discover, too. The weather was less than perfect some days, and we found a real gem in Dock's Seafood when the temperature or rain made eating inside preferable to being on the water. Portland is nearby (10 minutes), with lots of shopping and dining options, but if you just want to relax and enjoy the water, Willard Beach is a little piece of paradise.

Owners response: We love having guests return to the Birdhouse and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and found new places to explore. It will be fun to hear how you like the remodel (we have planned for this winter) when you return next year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location, Cozy, Everything you Need

Review submitted: June 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay in the Willard Beach area, this is a gem. The location is quiet and tucked away on a side street, but it is so convenient while being close to the beach. You could tell that the owners put a lot of thought into the amenities and decor, making sure that our stay was comfortable. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch or in the yard watching the birds and enjoying the shade under the tree, going for walks in our neighborhood, and checking out local sights. The property was well maintained and sparkling clean, and we definitely would recommend it to a friend or relative.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Birdhouse at Willard beach .....

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

The house and property were as described, both clean and tidy.The location is wonderful.Short walk to the beach which was an invaluable resource of fun to our two yellow Labs in the mornings and evenings.The houses fenced yard also was a great asset.A lovely community.The lighthouses, and local history were complimented by a Portland Schooner sail on a clear sunny day.Our stay was a wonderful start to our summer, and the owners were very gracious in all transactions.We will return again, and recommend it highly.......... Karen & Kevin.....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our week at The Birdhouse!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

This adorable bungalow within feet of Williard Beach has all the comforts of home. Charming beach bungalow, clean as a whistle with a comfortable living room, great tv and a very nice kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed the week here. Portland is a quick drive and it was always great to get back to the serenity of The Birdhouse. The tree with all the birdhouses made sitting on the deck a special experience as we watched the birds (there are a lot of them) busy building their Spring nests. Great location and good value.If we return to the area we will rent it again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Weekend Portland Getaway

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Two blocks from the beach, the Birdhouse was a terrific location for our family getaway. We went off season, it was cold, but the beach was still perfect. We brought our dog who loved playing with other dogs, and our 2 year old loved the playground located on the beach. We spent one day in Portland, a quick 10 minute drive from the house, and one day in Kennebunkport which was a 30 minute drive. Everying was close. The house had everything we needed: enclosed yard for our dog and toddler to chase her around, lobster pot which we took advantage of, plenty of room for the family to sprawl out. Highly recommend Thai taste of Maine located close by as well as Taco Trio which was amazing (try their goat). Oh, and Scratch Bakery really is amazing.

Owners response: We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Birdhouse - we too feel that the off-season is spectacular - and our basset hound loves being able to go to the beach any time of day! Only one comment to make on your review .... our measurement of a block must differ from yours (or you live in the land of really small blocks!) as the beach is literally just around the corner, 60 steps away!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A most memorable Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

We had a most memorable Thanksgiving week at the Birdhouse. It was perfect for us. Empty nester Mom, Dad and a 20 lb. cockapoo needed a place to stay to meet and spend Thanksgiving with our daughter's fiancé’s family. The fenced back yard provided secure outdoor space for the pooch for short trips out to relieve himself. This was especially appreciated for the last trip before bed. (no leash, no walk after dark required). The beach provided all the entertainment and exercise all three of us needed. What a place for dogs and what a dog show! (If you are a dog lover who enjoys watching well behaved dogs play, the show we saw should not be missed) Even for non-dog lovers the beach provides plenty for the eye to feast on. Freighters, tugs, ferries etc. headed into/out of Portland pass right in front of the beach a mile or so out. We were able to watch lobsterman haul pots just off the beach. (take binoculars for that). The seascape panorama is magnificent. The house is all that is represented in the publicity and more. We were charmed and looking forward to our next visit. The Birdhouse provided us with a most memorable week in Maine. Susan and Tony run a classy operation! Sign us up again please!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for relaxing vacation!

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Wonderful cottage. It was just as described. Everything was very clean and well maintained and stocked with most everything you would need. The owners were very good at answering any questions you may have had and even called once to make sure everything was as expected. (which it was...actually even better!) Great neighborhood close to the beach, fabulous bakery and ice cream shoppe. Several lighthouses close by. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. I would without hesitation recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, scenic place to take a vacation. You can't go wrong if you rent this property. I just wished I had a dog to take along since it is a great place for them also!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy cottage by the shore

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in the Birdhouse. It was wonderfully decorated and fully equipped. We enjoyed the quiet location which was steps away from walks along the beach, and close to two scenic lighthouses. Our first outing each morning was a short walk to the bakery for coffee and fresh goodies. We also enjoyed (probably too much for my waistline) the nearby ice cream shop and restaurants that were closeby. The weather turned cool during our stay, but the heating system was easily up to the task of keeping the house cozy and warm.

Thanks for making our stay in Maine authentic.

Owners response: We're so glad that you had a chance to stay at the Birdhouse and got to enjoy it at one of our favorite times of year! While Willard is a wonderful beach in the summer and its charms are evident then, there's something very special about it during the off-seasons.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great llocation

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 3, 2012

We enjoyed this house very much. The location is great and the neighborhood is friendly and cute. The house was clean, fully stocked and had instructions on everything you need.

Owners response: The Willard neighborhood truly is a hidden gem, and it is such fun to introduce people to it. We are just minutes away from downtown Portland but in a little world of our own that we think makes the Birdhouse a perfect getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Birdhouse in August

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

The owners Tony and Susan are very cordial, friendly people. They really want you to have a good time at their cottage. I have to agree with the other reviewers, it's a great house, in a great spot, in a great comminity, in a great town. You really can't go wrong. We had spectacular weather so we were lucky in every way. You should rent this house with complete confidence if it suits your needs - you won't regret it. Everything was perfect.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We love the house ourselves and get great enjoyment when the people who stay there love it as well. We hope we will see you back here again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect getaway cottage

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Great place. Perfect small cottage for a small family or couple. House, beach and Portland very dog friendly. Willard beach is a dog paradise in the mornings and evenings as the locals bring their dogs to the beach to play together in the surf and sand. Our dog Jake was in heaven. Cottage is in a nice quiet neighborhood, and the neighbors were all very friendly and accomodating. Loved how close we were to the beach without having to pay the waterfront premium. 10 minutes from downtown Portland. We would gladly stay here again, and may, if our travel plans bring us back to Maine.

Owners response: We're so glad you had a great week! If you return sometime in the off season (October to April), Jake could go to the beach any time of day. It is only from May 1 - Sept. 30 that dogs are restricted to mornings and evenings!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Comfortable!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Birdhouse! The house was very comfortable and well maintained. Our dogs dogs were (still are) exhausted from their twice a day walks on the beach! The location was convenient for our trips to both Freeport and Kittery for outlet shopping. Enjoyed the pizza and other baked goods from Scratch Baking Company. Ice Cream was also good at Willard Scoops. Would certainly consider staying at the Birdhouse again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing spot for adults as well as families

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted a vacation spot where we could both relax as adults and would also provide convenient amusements for our young son. The Birdhouse did not disappoint in either regard. The neighborhood is a homey place without a tourist feel; we had many people stop and say hello while we were enjoying the outdoor space. Others have mentioned the tasty bakery and ice cream shop in Willard Square - we'll agree.

The house itself is homey and has the feel of a beach house. The master bedroom was large enough to move around easily even with our suitcases on the floor. We gave our son the small second bedroom on the first floor, which was just enough room for him. We didn't need to use the second bedroom upstairs but it was easily large enough for two additional people. The enclosed porch was nice to sit on at night and smell the sea air. The back deck was lovely to enjoy a quiet lunch on.

The beach was a very short walk away (I could easily carry my 2 1/2 year old son and all his beach toys without getting winded). I didn't have to worry if I needed to run back home if we forgot something or wanted to bring back a picnic lunch. My son loved playing in the sand, especially at low tide when there was hundreds of feet of wet sand filled with tidal pools to explore.

Having lived near Portland for several years we can also attest to the variety of things to do nearby if you want a break from the beach or there is a rainy day. There are many other local outdoor amusements - try Two Lights State Park in Cape Elizabeth or taking the ferry to Peaks Island. For adults, there are countless restaurants in Portland as well as shopping and museums. For kids, there is a great children's museum downtown.

It is obvious that Tony and Susan have spent considerable time trying to make their renters comfortable and anticipate what they would need during their stay. Anything we could have needed in the house was provided, including night lights, window fans and even directions to the supermarket. The lines of communication were very open throughout the entire rental process. Tony even gave me a call during our stay to ensure everything was going smoothly, which was very kind.

Owners response: It sounds like you had a great week, which is just what we wish for all of our guests. We hope that you will return to the Birdhouse often!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Ideal location and wonderful people

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We loved our time at the Birdhouse! Susan and Tony made everything easy and comfortable. Willard Beach is mere steps away and we spent part of each day there with our dogs. The house was comfortable and well-appointed, providing everything we could imagine needing. The fenced yard and deck were perfect for everyone in the evenings. Willard Square provided fabulous ice cream, a wide range of top-quality baked goods, wine, cheese, and more. The beautiful Portland Head Light is right down the road, and the Lobster Shack at Two Lights provided several wonderful meals. We have visited this area many times before, and the Birdhouse is definitely where we will plan to stay in the future.

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so pleased that you had a great time at the Birdhouse and we look forward to your return in the future. We will be sure to add the Lobster Shack to our list of recommended restaurants, as it is a wonderful place to get a lobster roll or a full lobster dinner and sit (inside or out) watching the waves on the rocks! Thank you for mentioning it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great Place for Kids!

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We had a wonderful time and totally fell in love with the Willard Beach neighborhood. The house was adorable and had everything we needed. My kids loved being able to walk to the bakery and ice-cream shop. It was great to be so close to the beach and all that Portland has to offer, the best of both worlds!

Owners response: We think we've found the perfect spot and are happy you agree with us. The Willard Beach neighborhood really is a great one for kids. How could it not be with Scratch Bakery and Willard Scoops around one corner and the Beach around another?

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birdhouse Cottage

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

The Birdhouse cottage on Willard Beach,South Portland Maine, was everything
we expected it to be and more. Comfortable, clean, charming and cozy.The owners
really took pride in restoring this vintage cottage into an ideal vacation home.
You won't want to leave. The Willard beach neighborhood is quiet and welcoming.
You will love cooking in the gourmet kitchen and sitting on the front porch watching
the locals stroll by. Make sure you walk down to Scratch bakery for one of their
famous "cracked apple cookies" Ask a neighbor how to get to the fisherman shacks,sit on the bench and breathe the Maine sea air! Enjoy!!!

Owners response: We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Birdhouse and discovered many of the pleasures of staying in the Willard Beach neighborhood. We hope that you will return again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and all the comforts of home

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

I recently had the great pleasure of staying at the Birdhouse at Willard Beach, and I can, without reservation, recommend this cozy cottage as an ideal spot to stay if you're in the Portland area. The neighborhood couldn't be friendlier, the 2-minute walk to the beach is so convenient, and the nearby bakery is fantastic. The Birdhouse is a great place to visit if you have a dog. Not only do the owners allow them, but they have a fenced in yard, and the beach is a great place to walk your dog. The bird houses adorning the backyard tree are worth the visit all on their own! I loved my first visit to the Birdhouse and I will return often!

Owners response: Tony and I are so happy that you liked the Birdhouse, and we hope that you and Emma will return often.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review