reviews for: listing #92516 - US Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Blue Agave Villa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Chocolate Hole
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,700 - $5,500 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful two weeks staying at Blue Agave. I must say we all had a wonderful time. Every night we sat outside under the stars eating our dinner. The views are unbelievable! The lights from St. Thomas are wonderful and made us realize how much nicer it was to be in St. John's instead of St. Thomas.
The owners, Debra and Ted, met us at the ferry and took us to their home and you could see the pride of ownership in their eyes and the care they took in putting their home together for their use and ours.
The outside deck was wonderful and when we weren't at the ocean we were on the deck. The flowers, trees and animal life was so much fun to check out. Lunch at Miss Lucy's or Skinny Leg's. Beach Bar, right in town. The closeness to town was nice too. A new market has opened up just down the road from Blue Agave was a wonderful plus. We were sad to leave and can't wait to get back to St. John's again.
Thank you for a wonder stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It gives Ted and me great delight to rent our home for vacationers to enjoy the dazzling views from our pool deck and the beauty of St John. We are lucky to own a piece of Paradise.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Unbelievable

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We have stayed on St. John in the past and stayed in villas that were not as advertised. This was certainly not the case with Blue Agave. The pictures online tell the correct story. We spent three weeks at Blue Agave with two other couples. The views are fantastic. We put a lot of them on Facebook and friends at home were jealous. The house is huge as is the deck. The pool was large enough for all of us and there were several sitting areas so some people could be in the shade and some in the sun. The landscaping surrounding the villa is lush and well taken card of. Pool cleaners came in weekly. We planned on eating most of our meals out but the kitchen was so well appointed that we cooked most of our meals also using the BBQ on the patio. Bedrooms are very large with plenty of drawer space and hangers. The bedrooms are air conditioned. We were a little concerned before we got there that the rest of the house did not have air conditioning but that was certainly not a problem because there was a great breeze which kept the rest of the house very comfortable. The laundry had an extra large washer and dryer. There was even Tide Pods so we didn't have to buy laundry detergent. The location was very convenient to grocery stores and our favorite bars and restaurants. When we return to St. John we will plan our trip when we can rent Blue Agave again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you will be back! 3 weeks is such a nice long time to relax and enjoy St John. I hope that you all remember the view and ocean breezes through the winter. We love having a better view than any restaurant in St John.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing villa, amazing vacation!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

The villa was all that was promised, it looks exactly like the photo's. Well appointed, spectaular views, very easy access to the grocery stores and Cruz Bay. It was an amazing vacation and we plan to return to Blue Agave soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spectacular Villa!! Peaceful and Beautiful!!

Review submitted: April 6, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We just returned from an amazing vacation at the Blue Agave. The villa is simply spectacular!!
Where do I begin? The view is stunning! You can see several local bays, the lights of St. Thomas, and even the mountains of St. Croix in the distance. The deck always seemed to have a gentle, tropical breeze - so peaceful that we ate every meal there. It was so wonderful to begin the day sipping morning coffee, looking out over the canopy of trees to the ocean below. We loved the pool! My children swam every evening and most mornings. The furnishings on the deck and in the villa are lovely. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything we needed. The living room has large windows which allow for a nice cross breeze. All the rooms of the villa are very nicely appointed and well maintained. There is also a nice outdoor shower. It is a lovey house!
The location was ideal. We felt like we were out of town, yet it was surprisingly quick and easy to get to the supermarket and Cruz Bay.
I would also like to note that my husband is a paraplegic and in a wheelchair, and he was well accommodated at this villa. The main floor bedroom and bath were very accessible. The kitchen was also set up well for him and he was able to cook meals. Best of all, the pool and deck were very easy for him to access with no assistance from someone else. There is only a small step to get into the house and he had no trouble with this by himself. The expansive deck was a wonderful place for him (and everyone else) to relax. The pool is also accessible and has a support bar. He needed minimum assistance over a couple low steps from the driveway to the walkway of the villa. All the doorways of the villa are comfortably wide for a wheelchair.
Blue Agave is an amazing villa and we are so happy that we got to spend one magical week there!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Villa Perfect for Family With Kids...Location Unbeatable

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

We stayed at Blue Agave for a week in January of 2014. We took our whole family which included six adults and two kids aged 4 and 2. The layout of the villa is perfect with everyone getting their own privacy when needed as well as large common areas for us to meet at night and over some drinks enjoying the unbeatable view.

The location is unbeatable just a couple of minutes into Cruz Bay and close to the supermarkets and gas!

Really can't imagine there is any better deal on the island then what Debra and Ted provide so I am hesitant to promote my new found secret here on VRBO, but they have wonderful place and they deserve a top review for what they provide! We look forward to coming back next year!!

Clean, large, great views, great location, good for kids, privacy for all who are staying, all amenities...don't know what else you can ask for? Also Nancy the property manager is awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so delighted that you will be back. Family fun and memories are what are valuable in life. No one at the end ever says, I took too many vacations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You won't be dissapointed!!!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 30, 2013

Debra we have been having a wonderful time. We both love the house and feel very comfortable here. My husband is Mr. Handy Man he always has his eye out for things that need fixing and quite frankly at your house nothing needs fixing everything is perfect.

We have had some rainy weather but even on those days parts of the days are nice and I prefer it when it's not to hot. Most days are in the low 80's although yesterday was 91. Never yet needed to turn on the AC. By the way one good feature the water tanks are full and I have observed overflow some days.

We have been to a lot of nice restaurants, Zo'Zos. Ocean 364, The Terrace, Rumb Line, Sun Dog and the Waterfront Bistro.

We also went to Coral bay and went to Lucy's and Vies.

We went on a great charter to the BVI which we really liked.

I asked my husband where he wanted to go next year. I said how about Costa Rica as we have friends there and we looked into it or the BVI but I said I would rather go here. What ask could you want. It's fairly close, the phone works, beautiful house, nice beaches, Internet, good restaurants and its in the USA. Everything is close unlike Hawaii where everything is a long drive and it takes am long time to get there for us 13 hrs.

So we will see you again next year.

PS: This is our second trip to the Blue Agave. We visited last year and had the same experience.



I just saw the weather at home. Lows tomorrow night 14 degrees, snow, makes it even nicer here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that you are reserving for your third visit to Blue Agave Villa next year. Ted is excited that no repairs are needed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, great house and accommodations!

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

We had 6 adults for our stay, plenty of room and the house location was close to everything we had planned. We chose not to rent a car and had great taxi drivers recommended by the property manager. Fantastic, stress free trip!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning Views

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

Owner and staff helpful and courteous on line and phone. House, deck, pool, and rooms clean and as advertised. Very comfortable for our group of 4 couples. Killer views!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy that you greatly enjoyed Blue Agave Villa, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a way to celebrate!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Our stay at the Blue Agave was AMAZING!! The views were phenomenal and the accommodations were perfect! The villa is close to the market, gas station, and Cruz Bay. . . everything we could have needed was either at the villa or only a short drive away. We selected the villa for a girls trip to celebrate a milestone birthday and everyone had a great time despite T.S. Gabrielle trying to rain on our parade! We had the first half of the week for fun in the sun and exploring the island and spent the latter half enjoying the quiet beauty of the island at the Blue Agave. The covered porches offered the perfect spot to watch the rain (and the rainbows!) and the pool was refreshing! Would definitely recommend the Blue Agave!

Also important to note that prior to arriving in St. John, both the owners and property manager were very helpful - gave us all the info we needed and answered any questions we had! Overall a 5 star experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Blue Agave A Perfect Place To Enjoy

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Blue Agave for 3 weeks in June and July. The photos do not do the views justice. The home was not only as advertised but was way above expectations in convenience, and comfort. It was also well equipped with everyday essentials needed during a stay. The home was great and we had a wonderful time with family and friends who came to the home. For beach and snorkeling activities they had chairs, beach towels, and even sand toys for the little ones. I can not recommend this home enough, we had family with kids 2 weeks and adult friends 1 and house adapted to both situations wonderfully. We will be back to Blue Agave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Family trips are so important! We are delighted that you will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Villa, Great People!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

The Villa - The villa is in superb shape and has everything you need to spend a great week on the island.
The views and pool were great and we spent some quality time just relaxing by the pool deck.
The description and photo`s of the villa are 100% accurate! The location is very convenient
to town and offers total privacy, perfect!!
The owners - The owners are easy to work with and supplied all of the necessary information that we
needed, they take great pride in their villa and it shows.

The villa manager - Nancy was an absolute pleasure to deal with and took care of us like
family.

This review is short because I am still recovering from another great vacation on St.John!!

If you are looking for a villa I highly recommend you take a look at this one!

Mike G.

Owners response: Our villa manager, Nancy, is an absolute treasure. She has lived on St John for years and knows everyone and everything going on! She really desires that everyone who stays at Blue Agave Villa has a GREAT vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Winter Escape

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Our group consisted of 4 retired couples who are, at this point, sick of winter. Blue Agave was a beautiful place to warm up in paradise. It was great to have 4 spacious bedrooms with private baths. There was plenty of space for us to mingle in the kitchen, living area, and the deck. We enjoyed our breakfasts and dinners in the outdoor dining area while enjoying the view of a lifetime. We gathered at the deck and pool area in the afternoons and watched beautiful sunsets in the evenings. The iguanas and bananaquits entertained us, and the beautiful flowering bushes and plants gave the house a tropical feel.
All in all, we couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to spend the week. We were close to town. The house was beautifully furnished, spotless, and lived up to it's billing %100. Nancy met us, and after a half hour tour, we felt like we were at home ( minus the snow and freezing temperatures ).
Thanks so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: There is NO better place to spend a week in winter than St John. 80 degree temperatures are wonderful. We are so glad that you had a great time at Blue Agave Villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Week in Paradise

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

An excellent week!! Villa was all that you said it would be. St John is a great place to relax! Would recommend to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is Paradise!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible vacation vila for friends or family !!!!! Wonderful Blue ocean views and skies!!!

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We just returned from a fabulous week stay at the Blue Agave. It is all the pictures show - but they really do not do justice to this beautiful villa on St. John. You will not believe the wonderful weather, fabulous views and breezes and gorgeous accommodations. The owners have given such thot to detail. We cooked our dinners in most evenings and had every utensil, pot or pan or device we needed. The bedrooms are all lovely ( 4 in all!) and the outdoor porch/deck is beautifully set up with everything you need. The manager of the property is incredible as well - she knows the area and set us up perfectly for our week long stay ! You will never regret a stay at the Blue Agave ! Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad that the birthday celebration with friends was so wonderful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Blue Agave

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Outstanding views! Nancy the manager was easy to deal with and gave us our privacy. Blue Agave is perfectly located to town and Centerline Rd, the king size bed in the masters bedroom upstairs was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. I would stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seeking relaxation

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Blue Agave, it was one of the most beautiful setting a home can have. We LOVED it so much we did not rush out to go to the beach or visit places since we had such a beautiful place to swim and play in the interim. We felt guilty going to town to have dinner since we really wanted to see the views of St. Thomas lights and the cruise ships floating accross the ocean every evening. It was a stunning home and made you feel secluded from the world, yet only 1-2 minutes from everything. Don't bother getting another home...This is the perfect home for anyone. We will definitely be back. We are counting down the days until we can be there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: There are few things in life more precious than a great family vacation. We are so thrilled that you will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Scratch ultimate island sunset view off the bucket list!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I've watched sunsets in Hawaii, Jamaica, Turks & Caicos, Bahamas, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun and California, and none of them match the view we had from the spacious patio at Blue Agave this past October week. Even better, we watched from the upper-deck pool, with a completely unencumbered view of the bays of St. John's below. I can't imagine a better island vacation base.

The half-dozen beaches we visited were small, intimate, uncrowded and nothing but clean white sand, thanks to the national-park influence. The park guides offer great hiking tours -- don't miss the Reef Bay Trail, which includes historic sugar mill ruins, petroglyphs and return by boat. I was pleasantly surprised by the great night-life options for food and cocktails. Woody's, the Beach Bar, Skinny Legs are great spots to get started, and we had great meals at Margaritas, Rhumba (awesome pad thai) and Spyglass.

Two nights we grilled mahi mahi on the Blue Agave deck -- the perfect place to relax. Our group filled three of the four bedrooms. When we weren't at the beach, we spent all of our time on the travertine-covered patio with lots of room and lounges to spread out, watch for iguanas in the trees, talk and party. The rooms are all updated with flat screens and wireless. Very private. Best of all, the owners are meticulous about keeping the rooms clean and the property tidy.

Bottomline: This is the best beach vacation I've enjoyed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Scratch ultimate island sunset view off the bucket list!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I've watched sunsets in Hawaii, Jamaica, Turks & Caicos, Bahamas, Puerto Vallarta, Cancun and California, and none of them match the view we had from the spacious patio at Blue Agave this past October week. Even better, we watched from the upper-deck pool, with a completely unencumbered view of the bays of St. John's below. I can't imagine a better island vacation base.

The half-dozen beaches we visited were small, intimate, uncrowded and nothing but clean white sand, thanks to the national-park influence. The park guides offer great hiking tours -- don't miss the Reef Bay Trail, which includes historic sugar mill ruins, petroglyphs and return by boat. I was pleasantly surprised by the great night-life options for food and cocktails. Woody's, the Beach Bar, Skinny Legs are great spots to get started, and we had great meals at Margaritas, Rhumba (awesome pad thai) and Spyglass.

Two nights we grilled mahi mahi on the Blue Agave deck -- the perfect place to relax. Our group filled three of the four bedrooms. When we weren't at the beach, we spent all of our time on the travertine-covered patio with lots of room and lounges to spread out, watch for iguanas in the trees, talk and party. The rooms are all updated with flat screens and wireless. Very private. Best of all, the owners are meticulous about keeping the rooms clean and the property tidy.

Bottomline: This is the best beach vacation I've enjoyed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You love St John and Blue Agave for exactly the same reasons that we do!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Family Vacation Ever

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a fantastic family getaway at Blue Agave! My husband and I traveled to St. John with our 16 and 20 year old sons in tow. Being teenagers, our sons were doubtful of yet again another family vacation with the folks. Boy, were they blown away by the island and Blue Agave. The view is incredible and pictures taken from the deck were immediately added as screen background on everyone's I phones. The boys could not believe the villa was totally ours for the week. We explored the island; snorkeling, hiking and jeeping. However, our most memorable moments were simply relaxing on the deck and reconnecting as a family. Just lounging in the pool away from all technical distractions, our boys talked for hours. Blue Agave was definitely paradise for this busy family. Our sons rated it as the best vacation ever! St. John and Blue Agave were absolutely perfect! We hope to visit again very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Family vacation memories are so precious. Enjoy those photos. We are happy that you had the best family vacation ever!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Expectations Exceeded at Blue Agave

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We have just returned from what was probably the most relaxing vacation ever thanks to the wonderful accommodations and welcoming manager of this villa. We could not have asked for anything more except an extended stay and will most definitely make this our home away from home on St John again. Thank you, Debra and Ted, for making our vacation so effortless. Your home is perfectly represented on this web site by the photos and each description of the amenities provided. We stayed
in one of the spacious lower level suites and it was a priceless gift to take in the panorama provided from the pool deck on the upper level each morning. Blue Agave is a treasure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your compliments. We are happy that you enjoyed our villa as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Villa in Paradise

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful St. John home. It is so lovely. My husband and I have visited the island 9 times total. We pick a different home each visit. I can honestly tell you that Blue Agave is the only home we will choose for a repeat visit. Most villas are lovely with nice views, but during the daytime hours they tend to get very hot and uncomfortable. Your home was pleasant all hours of the day and the view was spectacular. We were able to hang out and cook many great meals and enjoy the wonderful view. We saw cruise ships head out a couple of nights, it was so relaxing.
There were 5 of us on this family trip. We had a blast! We snorkeled at Gibney, Trunk, Maho, Francis, Haulover and Lameshur. We even tried mangrove snorkeling at Princess bay. Of course, we stopped at the Smoothie Van a couple of times after snorkeling and swimming. We also ate out at Fishtraps, Aqua-Bistro, Shipwrecks and Skinny Legs. All other meals were prepared at the Villa.
The highlight of our trip was a day on Stormy Petrel with Galen. The trip to the Baths was fantastic. Galen is such a great guide; he provides a guided tour through the Baths with lots of history and fun facts. The snorkeling in BVI is unbelievable. We have also been on several charters and this one is the absolute best.
St. John is such a special place, we just love it there. We look forward to a return trip in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad that your family vacation was full of wonderful memories. We agree that Blue Agave Villa is a beautiful villa in Paradise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous week in June

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My husband, sister, brother in-law and I spent a week at Blue Agave in June. We were pleasantly surprised how close you are to town but far away enough for plenty of privacy. The house is lovely, the bedrooms and baths were perfect. I can't think of anything that did not work. You can tell a lot of thought went into the design of the house. My favorite was the outdoor living level, we spent most of our time there, we grilled at "home" 6 of the 7 nights we were there. A few nights we had a little neighbor dog come to visit, what a sweetheart, he knew just when we fired up the grill! I want to thank Debra and her husband for sharing their home with us for the week, you will not be disappointed when you choose to spend your island time at "Blue Agave".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful compliments!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our second great stay at Blue Agave

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Our entire family, six adults and one two-year old, just had another great week at Blue Agave. Our second time at the house again lived up to everything we were dreaming about for the past year! Nancy the house manager was extremely efficient and helpful, though we really didn't need help with anything as the house is so well kept and equipped. The house is still beautiful, and spotlessly clean, and the location can't be beat for the view and proximity to town.
As our grandchild is still in the provided Pack and Play, the house set up with exterior room entrances was not an issue. Our understanding is that this is a common design on St John, and we are going to stay with Blue Agave even as our grandchild gets older.
We spent mornings at the beaches, afternoons at the house in the pool and enjoying the wonderful deck. We only went out once for dinner. It's just too nice at the house in the evenings!
Hope to be back next year!!

Owners response: Nothing is more important than family time. We are so glad that you returned to Blue Agave Villa a second time to make more memories. A two year old at the beach is a joy to behold.
Thank you for the compliments.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved our stay!!

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

The location was perfect!!! The house was nice, I really liked the separation of the lower bedrooms from the main house, although my husband didn't. The only way to get to them is through external entrances. So if you have small children this may not be the ideal house for you. For us, we had our nine year old stay on the main level with my hubby and my adult daughter and I each had a private room below. I will emphasize the slippery tile when wet is something you really need to be careful with and also navigating the stairs at night. we didn't realize there is a light switch for the stairs until after my older daughter fell and busted her face on the big rock at the top of the stairs. Put a bit of a damper on the rest of the vaca. Not the fault of the house, just our own lack of awareness. They view was out of this world! The pool is fairly small but it wasn't a problem it was perfect for our 9 year old and for cooling off. I would def rent this house again! We didn't have a bug problem for our stay in early March. No significant mosquitoes and perfect low humidity temperatures! If you see a forecast of rain don't fret, the rain rolls through so quick it's actually refreshing.

We only had one minor gripe with the whole experience, the house manager was not as friendly as I had expected, made comments she shouldn't have but we let it roll and didn't have to deal with her the rest of the week.

The house is fantastically furnished with anything you could need, all beach stuff (including coolers) all kitchen stuff including paper towels, toilet paper, spices (you really wont need to bring any) etc etc.

We had a fantastic vacation, the best Island I've been to and I've been to many!! Can't wait to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope that you come back soon, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Our stay at Blue Agave was wonderful. The property owner Debra, and the property manager Nancy, could not have made the process any easier. Every detail was attended to before, during, and after our vacation. The villa itself is beautiful, each room is nicely decorated giving you that "island" feel when you arrive. Our favorite place to be was the huge deck area with pool that had a spectacular view looking out to the ocean. We saw amazing morning rainbows, colorful sunsets and a night skies full of stars. The location is close to Cruz Bay if you need anything but far enough away to feel very private. We would highly recommend this property to anyone planning a trip to St John and hope to return ourselves soon.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We hope that the island feeling stays with you long after you return home. We are so delighted that you will be returning to Blue Agave Villa.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Christmas Vacation!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We wanted to thank you both for such a wonderful holiday. We traveled from NY and SC to the villa and had five adults staying and it was perfect. We took many of Debra's suggestions for meals out but I think we enjoyed our meals on the patio the best of all. The views from the deck are amazing! The kitchen is fully stocked with equipment so even cooking for a larger group is easy. Sunset cocktails on the patio were another favorite. Also, we went out on Double Header and caught loads of fish that made great meals. The beach trips during the day were made easy with the lovely beach towels, coolers and chairs provided. It was just a wonderful, easy trip and we can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that your vacation was amazing. Ted and I agree that the meals on the deck are our favorites, too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

This was my second trip to St. John and by far the best vacation I've had. Our stay at Blue Agave definitely made the trip fully worthwhile. Everything posted on the website is fully functional and we had no problems with anything while we were there. Great views of three bays on the south side of the island made relaxing by the pool even better. I would highly recommend this rental to just about anyone and will definitely be looking to rebook Blue Agave in the future. Nancy, the house manager, was very helpful in getting us set up and helped us get our the island when needed. Definitely a 10 out of 10 and worth booking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: I am so glad that you had your best vacation ever. That is high praise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Taste of Paradise

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

If anything, the listing description is understated. This is a comfortable HOME, not just a place to sleep on vacation. It is convenient to the village and national park tours and water sports. In our short visit, we spent a day sailing, several days at the fabulous beaches, and hiked the park trails. Blue Agave was always a treat at the end of an adventure, offering relaxation and all the comforts of our own home. We were awed by the panoramic views and spent lots of free time in the immaculate pool. In years of travel throughout the Caribbean, this is the nicest place we've stayed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you had a great family vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Great Place!!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

We chose Blue Agave for our 2011vacation with family and friends celebrating our daughters graduation from high school. We rented the home from July 23, 2011 to July 30th, 2011. Since we had several people, we also rented the home just down the street( i.e. Christmas Winds). Blue Agave was perfect! It has 4 seperate Master Bedrooms (all with their own bathrooms) and all bedrooms are seperatly air conditioned. It has a great kitchen and the home is supplied with everything you need including ice chests for the beach, beach chairs,beach towels, washer/dryer (to wash the beach towels).
The property manager (i.e. Nancy) was excellent as well. She met us at the car barge and lead us to Blue Agave. We also had her "pre-stock" the refrigerator with staple items such as bottles water, eggs, milk, breakfast food for the kids, etc. Upon arrival, Nancy showed us every room and explained the "do and dont's" of the property. We tipped her for the "pre-stocking" and re-paid her expenses as well. How handy is that?
The house has a wonderful pool and outdoor eating area that seats 8 comfortably. We had every breakfast outdoors enjoying the view. The home overlooks Chocolate Hole and, on a clear day, you can see St. Croix in the distance. You can also see the lights of St. Thomas at night. However, the most impressive viewing is the stars! It is an amazing view on a clear night. At the owners suggestions, we only turned the air on right before bed and it cooled th bedroom down in about 10 mins,
The owners of this home were wonderful to work with and really want all guests to have a wonderful time. They even have a notebook on the living room coffee table that has a variety of informatioin including restaurant menus, snorkeling suggestions, etc.
I would do this trip and house again in a heartbeat! Thanks Ted and Debra!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad that your family celebration was wonderfully memorable and that you enjoyed Blue Agave as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Magical...again!

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

This was our second visit to Blue Agave and it was just as special as the first time. We were stuck in Puerto Rico overnight, but all the travel stress melted away the minute we arrived at Blue Agave. The view is mesmerizing. The house has the perfect layout for families to share, but you will spend all your time out on the deck. We found out we know nothing about astronomy as we had the kids gazing at stars every night. It's a lucky life to live when you have breakfast overlooking Chocolate Hole! The location is perfect for touring St. John. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing Blue Agave for the past two years. We hope that you will return next year. The beauty of St John is addicting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect family vacation!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Blue Agave, and it was everything we could have hoped for. The house is unusually well-appointed for a rental property. We appreciated all the extra touches and effort the owners have provided their renters. It made us feel "at home". The location can't be beat and the scenery is terrific. We had five adults and our one-year old granddaughter. The house layout was perfect. We had to pry ourselves away from the deck and pool to go to the beach! Nancy, the villa manager, was a delight, though we didn't need her services because everything was perfect! We will be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Family vacations make so many wonderful memories. We are so pleased that other families can experience the fun, enjoy the scenery, and escape the cold northern weather. It is great that you have reserved again for next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

All homes offer the beauty and activities of St. John, however…..

As long time residents of the Caribbean, as well as, being people who tend to vacation in the islands; we have had the opportunity to visit many, many island homes in four island nations in our careers. None, in our opinion, can match Blue Agave for lay out, comfort, cleanliness, and a fully equipped kitchen (a plus for foodies, like us). Blue Agave is simply a crisp, friendly, happy place to be. It truly ranks as one of our top experiences!! The Layne’s are a delight and committed to their guests have an exceptional visit. Nancy, their on-island manger is an island veteran who gives nonintrusive care and follows up.

As St. John veterans, who enjoy all that the island offers as stated in the numerous postings, for those who may be planning their first visit, Blue Aqave’s location is perfect…if you need to make a quick trip into Cruz Bay for something; it is a breeze, not a project. We also think that the location provides quicker access to the North Shore beaches compared to many homes on the island…a huge advantage. Then again, we did not want to leave the house for anything other than provisions!!

When visitors to Anguilla hear that we have lived in the Caribbean for an extended time and have visited many islands, we often get asked, “Which is your favorite island”? My response has always been, St. John. Now we can be very specific regarding exactly where on St. John!!!!!!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We agree that Nancy is the BEST manager on St John. We are delighted that you enjoyed our villa as much as we do.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully maintained home, we can't wait to return!

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

This was our fourth trip to St. John, and Blue Agave is the only house we'd stay at again. We loved the location, as we could get to Cruz Bay within 5 minutes and the north shore beaches within 15 minutes. The drive to the house was very easy, no harrowing switchbacks which are so common in St. John neighborhoods. We appreciated all of the detail that the owners put in to Blue Agave - it's clear this house is well-maintained and well-loved. The kitchen is fully stocked, the bathrooms are all large (especially the three downstairs) and there are plenty of towels, chairs, coolers, etc. Bring your swimsuits, snorkel gear and rum and you are all set!

The pictures on this site do accurately represent in all respects except one: the view is better than the photos show. I corresponded directly with Debra when booking this villa and she answered my many questions promptly and thoroughly.

The owners provide a wonderful book full of activity information for the island, and thanks to them we discovered a new restaurant called Happy Fish, which had very good sushi and A/C (rare for restaurants on St. John). We had a fabulous meal once again at Asolare and enjoyed a day charter to the BVI.

We took the smallest room downstairs (with a queen bed) because the room had a nice cubby area for our son's pack 'n play. Even the smallest room in this house was plenty large for us and we never felt like we gave up anything. Do note that the three rooms downstairs do not have ocean views, but that never bothered us. The A/C in the bedrooms worked well and quickly, which is great since we left it off during the day so as not to waste power.

We (obviously) love St. John and really loved Blue Agave. We'll be back! Thanks Debra for opening your home to visitors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed Blue Agave as much as we do. For us, St John defines Paradise....and we have the perfect view of it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for the big 5-0

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Spent a week with family and friends for my 50th birthday. The Villa was even better than the photos and descriptions. Great location. Close enough yet far enough away from "town". Nice grocery and liquor stores within a 5 minute drive. Ate many meals there with the great kitchen. LOVED the downstairs ensuite bathrooms! Before the trip, the owner and the property manager were readily available for help and questions we had. Few minor issues came up while we were there and the property manager was there as soon as she could get across the island! First morning she came with a repairman for the barn doors and we invited them to breakfast! Would I return? OH YES!
If you have the chance I highly recommend taking the Bad Kitty tour of the other islands -- Jost Van Dyke, Cooper, Norman, Virgin Gorda. At least go to see The Baths.
As for dinner, don't pass up La Plancha del Mar just because it is above the grocery store. The food was wonderful. Especially the Chocolate Brownie Waffles!
Blue Agave Villa made turning 50 memorable. Thank you for sharing your home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Life is to be celebrated! Congratulations on celebrating so well. Thank you for choosing Blue Agave Villa as a setting for making new memories for that special week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dazzling sunsets and full moon too.

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

Blue Agave was great- looks just like the pictures except that the views are even better! Loved the decor, the pool deck was where everyone gathered and had beautiful tiles that never got hot. The pool was delightful and great for cooling off after returning from the day.Extra things were nice- chairs for the beach, lots of towels, kitchen well stocked with everything you need and a good blender for those island drinks. The views were so great and the kitchen and grill great, that we rarely ate out. The new grocery store was very close and well stocked (doesn't look like much from the outside but had everything you need). .We have stayed at another villa a few years ago and liked the location of this one much better- it is very close to town yet seems very private, you never even see another house once you are inside. The bedrooms were very spacious as were the bathrooms, the downstairs is all new and fresh. Iggy made an appearance almost every day to sun on the trees! We will definately choose this villa for our next St. John trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that our guests love Blue Agave as much as we do. During our cold days in Colorado, we dream of St John.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best time EVER!!

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

This Villa is fantastic! The views were stunning, the pictures do not do them justice. We were "forced" to take our vacation in St. John instead of Hawaii this year for a friends wedding and we are already planning our trip back next year. We are hoping to stay in Blue Agave again, the upstairs room has beautiful views, there is comfortable air conditioning in every room (the locals said it was unusually hot while we were there, so they came in handy). The 3 downstairs rooms don't have the sea view, but were very quiet and comfortable. The house is stocked with everything you could imagine, tons of towels, beach towels, state of the art laundry facility, radios, video games etc. The owners and property manager were so nice and helpful. We had to call the property manager one time while we were there and she had people at the house to fix the problem in less than 5 minutes. We will definetly be trying to get back next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is wonderful to have a villa manager who lives minutes away and who is committed to the guests having a great vacation! Nancy is amazing and knows everyone on St John.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It really is paradise

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

The pictures don't do Blue Agave justice, and the pictures are great. It is a wonderful house with fabulous views. The house is beautifully maintained and there was not one thing we needed that we couldn't find. The layout is perfect for couples or families to share. All 4 bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms are huge! The pool was a perfect spot to relax after a long day of snorkeling. Blue Agave is very easy to find and is located close to the Starfish Market, yet the views are breathtaking. We had no problem getting around the island from the house. The house manager met us at the ferry dock and helped us get our rental car and luggage up to the house. She was so sweet showing the two kids in our group their "special room" with a game system and a flat screen tv. But the kids were way to busy in the pool and naming the iguanas (George, Sam and Mike!) to use the TV. It is a truly special house on a special island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: St. John is truly America's Paradise. We are thrilled when our guests feel as we do about Blue Agave Villa and our island. It is a perfect place for couples and families of all ages.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Villa

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We stayed at Blue Agave the week of March 6, 2010. We are frequent visitors to the Caribbean, staying both in hotels and houses. Blue Agave was one of our favorites. The views are gorgeous from the very spacious and well-appointed deck. The downstairs bedrooms all have been recently constructed or redone--large rooms with huge marble bathrooms. Upstairs you will find everything you need--we have never seen a rental kitchen so well equipped.

The house is located just a mile or two past the Westin in a very nice, safe residential area. The drive to Cruz Bay takes just a little more than 5 minutes.

We really had no problems at all with this lovely house. Nancy, the owner's rep on the island, is a treat and will take good care of you.

GWill

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad that your vacation exceeded your expectations. Thank you for commenting on the many amenities of Blue Agave Villa. We usually eat in half the time for our vacations there, so the kitchen is important to us. We have a great location and feel that it is ideal.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: March 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

As advertised--the daytime and evening view is awesome from the great outdoor open and covered deck including view from the pool, kitchen/dining needs are well supplied/outdoor gas grill is excellent--quick access to grocery/Cruz Bay. An easy place to stay and hard to leave after 2+ weeks,Feb 2010!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

Just got back from a wonderful 2 week stay at Blue Agave. The owners Debra and Ted met us at the ferry and took us back to their home. When we arrived it was after dark and the lights on St. Thomas were amazing.Their home was great from the pool, the decorations,view and the pictures only begin to show you how beautiful it is there. Close to town and the beaches. New grocery store just down the road. Friendly neighbors, eating dinner outside every night. It was wonderful and can't wait to go back again next year. Thank you for sharing your home with us. Loved every minute there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Gem of a House

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 22, 2009

This is such a great place to stay. The house is situated above Chocolate Hole and the views were fantastic. It was just as shown on the website, very clean and well maintained. The house is also designed to accommodate larger families/friends yet it also perfect for just a couple. We tremendously enjoyed our stay at Blue Agave and would highly recommend it to others interested in staying on St. John.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so delighted that all our guests have found that Blue Agave Villa has exceeded their expectations. Vacations are a special time with special people. What could be more perfect than a island in America's Paradise like St John?

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: August 3, 2009

We recently stayed at the Blue Agave villa and it was the most wonderful rental we have ever stayed in. It exceeded our expectations. The description and pictures did not do it justice. The villa is very beautiful inside and out. It has obviously been well taken care of and has all the modern amenties with new washer and dryer and a/c units. The views are spectacular. You can see St. John bays in almost all directions. I would say it has one of the best views in all the island. It was extremely clean and I hope to return some day soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Being veterans of renting homes on St. John, we know the views can be impressive. The Blue Agave was the best of all. The views were outstanding and the home was fantastic. The attention to detail on the home is what made it so comfortable. Everything was there for our stay to make us comfortable. The Mells Palm harbor, fl

Owners response: We LOVE our view, too!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review