reviews for: listing #9260 - South Padre Island, Texas Townhome rental

3 Bedroom Townhouse w/ Private Heated Pool & Spa
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $149 - $699 /nt
    $895 - $3,895 /wk

sort by:

Cognito Thumbs Up!

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

We stayed at this property for a week at the end of Jan. 2010...Was as described on the internet, no bad suprises! Loved the virtual tour beforehand! The private pool/hot tub was the best!! Had a problem with the refrigerator and the rental company didn't get back to us, but overall a very good experience, we would definitely go back and stay in this condo again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: I'm so sorry the rental company dropped the ball & didn't get back to you about the fridge... they had an appointment for the repair man to go out & thought when they didn't hear back from you that he had shown up and fixed the problem. We have since changed rental companies & feel the new rental managers are much more on top of things & have much better follow up.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 10 / 15

 

Our week long stay was AWESOME!

Review submitted: June 30, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

First of all let me say that check in was flawless. Aaron and Kay met us at the home and gave us a quick tour and we were set. The home is just perfect. We had a party of 8 and we had ample of space. We loved having the private pool and the walk to the beach is very very short! Can't wait to go back next year! Book THIS home......you won't regret it!

Owners response: Glad to hear it! We try to make the whole process as easy as possible for our guests!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent location, excellent accommodations!

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Have stayed at this location 4 or 5 times now and each time the accommodations are just perfect. The location can't be beat, beach access is 1/2 block away, neighborhood is quiet, small dogs are welcome and the beds are super comfortable. The pool and spa are wonderful. We normally stay at the beach in the fall and winter so having the pool and spa available when the ocean is too cool for swimming is just wonderful. You won't be disappointed. The management company is top-notch too!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Our Goal is for everything to be perfect so every comes back year after year.
Thanks
Bill

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect place for a family getaway!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We arrived early, and were told that the cleaners would need a few more minutes. They did call us as soon as the cleaners were finished and the rental agent met us immediately. The house was so cheerful. I loved the bright colors throughout. Especially because most condos decorate in the cliche seaside motif. The kitchen was VERY well equipped for a normal stay. I brought a lot of stuff from home because I planned to cook a large Thanksgiving meal for extended family who were staying elsewhere on the island. The kitchen galley was somewhat small for cooking the size meal I was cooking, but it is plenty big enough for a normal stay. I cooked and fed 21 people, and everything worked out great. The bedrooms were AWESOME! The SleepNumber beds were great! The master bedroom had a massage chair in it that I spent more time sitting in than I had originally planned! The pool area was beautiful, the hot tub and heated pool were blessings at the end of November, and there was ample seating for a group. They even supplied a baby gate, which was sorely needed with our adventurous toddler. The towels in the bathrooms were fluffy and soft, not like the worn-out towels you get in some condos. The beach access was a short walk away, and it was in close proximity to the neighborhood park and multiple restaurants. They allow small pets, which was a blessing for us and our miniature schnauzer. And the side of the condo has a large grassy area for walking your dog that has some nice grass that doesn't have burrs in it. I also loved that we could park our car in the garage because it wasn't filled with storage like many other places in south Texas. I notice that the recommendations ask if you would recommend it for seniors or disabled, and I would probably say that I would not recommend it if you can't navigate steep staircases well. Other than that, I believe this condo is perfect for anyone! I hope to be able to stay in this condo every time I come to the island!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Please note that the maximum occupancy for this unit is 8.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfort and Convenience

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This property has everything you need in one place, plus the beach is just a block away. The on site check in is very convenient! We will definitely stay again!

Owners response: The beach is about 3/4 of a block away & you don't have to cross busy Padre Blvd to get there!
Our hope is that every guest will want to return!
Thanks
Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Really Enjoyed Our Stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

The property was great. We especially enjoyed having the private pool and hot tub to come home to after a day at the beach. The house was clean. The management company was very prompt to our needs and the owner was very helpful and in contact throughout our rental process.

Owners response: Our new rental management company (starting 2013) offers a higher level of service. They are open longer hours & offer on site check in to make sure you know how everything works.
Thanks!
Bill

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

AWESOME VACATION

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

My husband and I were so excited about our vacation this year, and we were so relieved and excited that the townhome was everything the description said it would be and more. The proximity to the beach was great, especially with all the beach gear we hauled back and forth. It was very nice having a private pool and hot tub. It was nice not having to worry if the pool was crowded or time restrictions on pool time. The property was exactly like the photos. The property is very well taken care of. It was super clean and worth every penny. We had a small issue with the ceiling fan and when I called customer service, they answered promptly and took care of the problem immediately. Susan the and crew of Frankie Realty were so professional and nice. They really provided excellent customer service. I've recommended this property to family memebers and coworkers. My husband and I are already planning our next stay. I would highly recommend this property.

Owners response: We have installed a new ceiling fan.
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Very beautiful, well kept, spacious beach house.

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Awesome experience, very private with beautiful decorations. Great for any occasion and will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We hope you stay again!
Thanks,
Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

This was our second time to use VRBO, and we've been pleased both times. We stayed at this townhouse last week. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to South Padre Island. The townhouse was very clean and was more beautiful than what the pictures depicted.We had an extended family, and there was room for both of our vehicles. We had enough towels, dishes, etc. The living room was a little cramped for the 6 of us, but the backyard made up for that. Having a private pool and grill just made our vacation perfect. Other perks were the proximity to the gulf (an easy walk), nice TV's, and free internet. The only thing that we felt that the townhouse was missing was a blowdryer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Property

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

This townhouse was great place to spend a week relaxing with the family. We had space and privacy and everything was in great working order. The renting company was great and very helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We do our best to keep everything up to date & in working order! Our goal is to have every guest want to return the following year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

From the perfect weather, to the eat off the floor clean home, we had a wonderful time in SPI and the house was more then we ever imagined. I was a little nervous using a management company over the internet, but the entire transaction and details were so smooth and easy, I am so glad I found you. The house was absolutely beautiful. The pictures do not show just how large and beautiful the home is. Everyone we met was warm and very friendly. The pool/yard personnel keep everything in perfect condition. They were very helpful also, and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Bill and Michael are excellent hosts and Very nice people. They are gracious and has a wealth of knowledge about the island. We look forward to staying at their rental again and have already booked the Beach Walk house for Sept 6-13 with them again. Carmela and I wanted to write you and say a million “thank yous -Bless you and thank you a million times for making our vacation the most memorable ever. We can not tell you how pleased we were right from the very beginning and for anyone who may read this review and think I’m exaggerating… I’m truly not.
With most sincere gratitude.

Trevor & Carmela
Spring Branch, TX
-Trevor & Carmela, Spring Branch Texas (trevcarmela@gvtc.com)
-210-858-7901

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

From the perfect weather, to the eat off the floor clean home, we had a wonderful time in SPI and the house was more then we ever imagined. I was a little nervous using a management company over the internet, but the entire transaction and details were so smooth and easy, I am so glad I found you. The house was absolutely beautiful. The pictures do not show just how large and beautiful the home is. Everyone we met was warm and very friendly. The pool/yard personnel keep everything in perfect condition. They were very helpful also, and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. Bill and Michael are excellent hosts and Very nice people. They are gracious and has a wealth of knowledge about the island. We look forward to staying at their rental again and have already booked the Beach Walk house for Sept 6-13 with them again. Carmela and I wanted to write you and say a million “thank yous -Bless you and thank you a million times for making our vacation the most memorable ever. We can not tell you how pleased we were right from the very beginning and for anyone who may read this review and think I’m exaggerating… I’m truly not. With most sincere gratitude.Trevor & CarmelaSpring Branch, TX

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words... ;)
Take Care,
Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Cognito Review

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Cognito and would definetly recommend it. We especially enjoyed two things about the house. One was the beds. Very comfortable. Having travelled quite a bit, I know how a bad bed can effect your vacation. The beds were great. The other thing we loved was the pool and spa. It is fenced in and private and very relaxing. The rest of the house was in nice shape. I would highly recommend Padre Island as a vacation destination, especially if the weather is nice and warm (which unfortunately it wasn't for our vacation, but we enjoyed it anyway).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again next year.
Take Care,
Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

Why isn't there any comments after 2008? Can anyone comment about this property as we are looking to stay here in June. Thanks!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exactly what we were looking for.

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2008

We got lucky when we were able to rent this townhouse. Not only did the owner stay in close contact throughout the reservation process but so did the realty company. That was the beginning of our awesome vacation.

This townhouse was exactly what we were looking for. It was centrally located to everything on the island. It was quite. The private pool was the best!

I would recommend this place for anybody that wants to go to South Padre. Any renter that feels that he/she has a better place has never stayed here. It was the best place we have stayed at in years. So much so, we are hoping to stay here again the summer of 08.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Not wanting to leave

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 5, 2007

There is no place on South Padre Island where you get more for your money... Period!!!! My family and I stayed at Cognito back in early Sept 2007. As soon as we stepped through the front door, we were blown away. Never once did we look in any room of the house and find anything to complain about. With all the activites to experience while on the island, it was really the first time that we've been on vacation down there and been completely at ease with just staying out back by the pool. The comfort level of Cognito definitely left us with a feeling of NOT wanting to leave.

The only thing i would add to it is some kind of bug zapper out back by the pool....maybe 2!! The skeeters ate us up pretty bad. But, that's padre island. We accept it.

Thanks again for a one of a kind stay. We'll be back in September to enjoy your wonderful vacation getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome!!

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We stayed here two weeks ago and miss it already. this place is AWESOME!! We love the fact that the pool is right outside our door, the kiddo's had a blast. We will definately return

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 1, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We stayed here two weeks ago and miss it already. this place is AWESOME!! We love the fact that the pool is right outside our door, the kiddo's had a blast. We will definately return

Owners response: Thanks! We hope you come again soon!
Bill

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

THERE IS NO PLACE ON SOUTH PADRE ISLAND WHERE YOU GET MORE FOR YOU MONEY......PERIOD!!!! My family and I stayed at Cognito back in early Sept 2007. As soon as we stepped through the front door, we were blown away. Never once did we look in any room of the house and find anything to complain about. With all the activites to experience while on the island, it was really the first time that we've been on vacation down there and been completely at ease with just staying out back by the pool. The comfort level of Cognito definitely left us with a feeling of NOT wanting to leave.

The only thing i would add to it is some kind of bug zapper out back by the pool....maybe 2!! The skeeters ate us up pretty bad. But, that's padre island. We accept it.

Thanks again for a one of a kind stay. We'll be back in September to enjoy your wonderful vacation getaway.

Owners response: Thanks Thomas! I hope we see you every year!
Bill
(we will look into the bug zapper, but be sure to pack your bug spray, as mosquitoes are active during the summertime, mostly at dusk and dawn)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 10, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We got lucky when we were able to rent this townhouse. Not only did the owner stay in close contact throughout the reservation process but so did the realty company. That was the beginning of our awesome vacation.

This townhouse was exactly what we were looking for. It was centrally located to everything on the island. It was quite. The private pool was the best!

I would recommend this place for anybody that wants to go to South Padre. Any renter that feels that he/she has a better place has never stayed here. It was the best place we have stayed at in years. So much so, we are hoping to stay here again the summer of 08.

Owners response: Thanks Lauren... I hope you get a chance to stay with us again!
Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We feel like we really lucked out when we rented this house!! This was our very first visit to SPI and in addition to loving the island we felt so at home and comfortable in this rental! It's got to be one of the best places I've ever stayed on vacation! So much like being in our own house. The location to everything was just perfect. We were in SPI for a cheer competition so there were several families there. Many were quite envious of our accommodations. We had more than enough room and we were paying about the same as many of the other families who only had hotel rooms/suites with micro/fridges!

The owner and real estate company went above and beyond when it came to taking care of us!! They made the entire rental process so easy!!

We will definitely consider this exact house the next time we are in SPI!!!!! Oh, did I mention the house is so well stocked (and taken care of) that there was nothing we needed!!

Thanks Bill and Christy!!!

Owners response: Thanks Judy... I hope you visit again!
Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 9, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

I would recommend this condo to anyone. The place was very nice and within walking distance to the beach and several restaurants.

The Realtor company was also a pleasure to work with.

Owners response: Thanks Dottie! I hope we see you back again!
Bill

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review