reviews for: listing #92644 - Lake Anna, Virginia Townhome rental

40 Tara Shores - Lake Anna
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  TSPOA
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $650 - $950 /wk

sort by:

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

We had a wonderful time @ Tara Shores! The house was spotless, everything you could possibly need was there, the neighbors were extremely friendly and the sand beach is perfect for children. Will definitively come back

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful getaway

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

40 Tara shores is a wonderful getaway on Lake Anna. The condo is quite spacious, inviting and comfortable; it feels more spacious than it looks on website. We were made to feel so welcome by Bill and Marlene with a handwritten note and snacks that we enjoyed while there. The expansive sandy beach melted into a smooth bottomed swimming area. Altho the beach is shared with the other residents, it was never crowded and residents were sweet and invited us into their conversations; we never felt like outsiders. The boat lift and covered slip were easy to use and a nice added bonus as was the sunsetter awning off the living room which helped ease the glare of the sometimes hot Virginia summer sun. The enclosed screened in porch with table and chairs provided an enjoyable spot to eat and enjoy the fantastic beatiful view free of mosquitos (altho we rarely saw mosquitos when ouside). The beds were comfortable and bathrooms large; kitchen had all the amenities we needed, down to tupperware containers for our occasional leftovers. Our mom is handicapped; condo is 1 story with a ramp into and out of the home and the slope to the lake is fairly navigable for handicapped individuals. There is much space to move around inside. The only thing missing for our handicapped mom was a walk in shower; we took her shower bench and with help was able to get into the shower and use the hand held shower head in the master bathroom. Overall, this is a wonderful and comfy place to enjoy Lake Anna. If we rented again at LKA, we would definitely consider 40 Tara Shores. Thanks :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are somewhat confused to get our first review less than 5* based on the comments :-(

The only thing we can think of is not having an ADA accessible bathroom. We do not advertise as being ADA compliant & explained the limited accessibility to the renter prior to completing the reservation. We do hope to make our home more accessible in the future, but it is an expensive & time consuming process.

Bill & Marleen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Property

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2013

We have spent the last two summers at Lake Anna in various properties. This is hands down our favorite thus far. First, Tara Shores is a great location with friendly neighbors and a nice cove with a beach off the main portion of the lake. As a boat owner, the covered boat lift is a huge plus and something we look for in a vacation rental. As for the home, it was immaculate with all the amenities required for the family. The TV with basic satellite channels was a huge plus for the two rainy days. All of the bath towels, sheets and cleaning are included in the rental price. Also the little details were taken care of; extra trash bags, toilet paper, and nice welcome basket on our arrival, etc.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderfully Maintained Condo

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Everything was in order, truly like being in a great relatives personally cared for home. Clean as it could be (they even fluff the carpet nap), well furnished, well decorated, well equipped, well maintained (everything was in proper working order), easy access to the water and boatlift. It was quiet, even during a get-together a few doors down. The end of the dock is an outstanding place to view sunrise. The neighbors were gracious and the exterior grounds were well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Stay on Lake Anna

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Upon arriving at 40 Tara Shores on July 21st I fell in love with Lake Anna. The townhouse was beautiful. Exceptionally clean and very hospitable is an understatement. It offered everything to complete our vacation. Swimming, boating and enjoying the beach was exactly what I was looking for. It was very quiet. The only question that I have is: "When can I reserve my week for next year?"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

40 Tara Shores Lakefront Townhouse

Review submitted: June 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Very nice weekend. The rental was as described. Very clean and well maintained. Since there were no renters following us the owner extended our checkout time from 11 am to 2 pm which was a major benefit with just a two night rental. We're already considering a longer rental.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Our trip to 40 Tara Shores was exceptional! It is perfectly located for beach, lake, and boat access. We spent everyday at the beach and in the water. The neighbors are fabulous and welcoming. The town home is perfectly equipped and spotlessly clean. The owners are easy and wonderful to work with. We were thrilled with everything about our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exactly what we needed!

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

It was quiet, clean, and contained everything we needed to make our extended stay extremely pleasant. The view was great from the master bedroom as well as the living area. Restaurants and groceries are both within a ten minute drive. We are looking forward to our next stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place at Lake Anna

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We were thrilled to stay at Tara Shores for the weekend with our three kids. The house was nicely outfitted with comfortable linens and towels, and the kitchen had everything we needed. The house was more spacious than we expected from the photos, very clean and things looked new. The kids loved playing on the grassy area and the beach, swimming in the very clean lake, and fishing from the beach and dock. I went cycling around the area, it is lovely rolling countryside and the few drivers I encountered were nice. The area is very quiet and peaceful, very relaxing. We would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Battlefield Vacation

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

Our original intent was to be close enough to spend a day at each of the 4 Civil War battlefields around Fredericksburg, but we were so lazy in the morning that we didn't have time to see everything. We quickly developed a morning habit of drinking coffee on the screen porch and looking at the lake. At night, we favored cooking something in the complete kitchen, then capping off the evening watching the big screen TV (I have to get one!). It was so peaceful, and the backcountry woods so beautiful, that I found I missed it more than I expected when I returned home. The condo was extremely clean and comfortable, and even better than advertised. I hope we can arrange to go there again. Bring a boat if you can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No questions asked, This is the place to go

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

Very clean and very nice, We wish we never had to leave. Really quiet cove, And boat dock was great - Loved it all - Everything was perfect A++. My every summer get away

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't miss this place!

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: June 12, 2009

Simply stated - a wonderful townhouse for a vacation at the lake - great community & amenities. Clean, clean, clean. The place was well stocked with everything we needed on our trip. The owners are very responsive and easy to work with for rentals. We loved Tara Shores so much, we actually bought a place here! You won't be disappointed with this property!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: September 8, 2009

Simply stated - a wonderful townhouse for a vacation at the lake - great community & amenities. Clean, clean, clean. The place was well stocked with everything we needed on our trip. We loved Tara Shores so much, we actually bought a place! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: August 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 7, 2009

Everyone had a great time. Joe caught fish. Brenda loved the beach & Jackie (18 months) ran around the grounds of the Winery & AnnaCabanna. It was a fantastic long weekend getaway. Thanks Billy and Marleen for taking special attention. The home is lovely and we plan to return!


Dates of Stay:
5/7 - 5/10

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderfully quiet and relaxing!

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

Wonderful home-it was very clean & extremely relaxing. Also you made the reservation & payment process very fast & easy.
We hated to have to leave. We will definitely be back again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

EXCELLENT- Better than Photos Show

Review submitted: October 16, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Bill and Marlene go out of their way to make your stay here as comfortable as possible. Marlene keeps the place spotless! By far the cleanest temporary accomodations I've ever stayed in and I travel a lot. The place is bigger than you might expect based on the photos and the high ceilings give the place a feeling of openness that is very relaxing. The beds are comfortable, the decks are roomy, and the view is excellent. They have just about anything you might need in the cupboards so you don't really need to bring anything but your clothes {and a boat if want}. The boat hoase with the lift was excellent and easy to use with power hookup right next to your slot. It was an overall outstanding experience that I would definately recommend to anyone. There's even a small beach for swimming right in front and the docks are good to fish from. Only thing that would have been an improvement would have been high speed internet access but it is not available in that area yet unless you have an aircard. They do have a phone hooked up for local calls only so dial-up is available if you go through a dial-up service like AOL. The neighbors were always friendly the few times that I saw them. It's definately a nice place for people to get away.
I stayed there for an extended stay of nearly 3 months and I can't complain about anything. I plan to come back in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mike & his co-worker were great renters! If all our vacation renters were like them we would not have to worry about a thing. They were very conscientious & even did cleaning during their stay, even though we said it was included & not necessary. A real pleasure to have stay & hope they return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 9, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a beautiful place to stay and unwind with a great lake view and perfect house with everything you could ever need in the house waiting for you. Having a boat dock with lift was extra special and a great way to enjoy the lake anytime. Great fireworks as well during the 4th from the neighbors. Great neighbors as well. Can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review