reviews for: listing #92669 - Puako, Hawaii Villa rental

The Home of the Hula Moon
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Puako Beach
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $2,200 /nt
    $10,500 - $15,400 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of Magic in and around your Lovely Home.

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We agree with all of the other comments in this book- a very special place in paradise! Just perfect for us and our two grandsons. Lots of magic in and around your lovely home. Best wishes to you-

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A very beautiful, calm & relaxing setting

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

Fabulous! Couldn't have asked for a better 60th birthday present. All of our children were able to join us here and we had a spectacular time. Especially enjoyed my choices to work out, bikes, pool, and exercising with the waves. The whale watching was soooo....magnificent.
"Home of the Hula Moon"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an amazing home to be able to stay at

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

Every morning, drinking coffee and watching whales has been fantastic. Thank you for providing so many things at your beautiful home to make our trip so memorable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would love to buy the home!

Review submitted: April 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

We made a lifetime of memories!! South Dakota will never seem the same.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week with siblings...

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

My husband and I came to the Big Island for a get away with my brothers and their wives. Home of the Hula Moon was the perfect oasis for our visit. It has four king bedroom/bath combos which gave each couple welcome privacy.
The kitchen was awesome with a very nice grill just outside. We cooked dinner in on four different evenings. Enjoyed wonderful meals on the lanai looking out over the ocean. (Picked up fresh fish at the fish market a few miles up the road) Spent several hours in the same spot each morning drinking coffee and watching the whales! They put on quite a show for us-wonderful entertainment! We also enjoyed wading in the tide pools out front. Saw many sea turtles every day!
The Puako area is a very peaceful area to stay. Make sure you visit the General Store during your stay-they carry more supplies than you would believe and are competitively priced. Also recommend a visit to the Red Water Cafe in Waimea. No view but we had a great meal there our last evening! Thanks for recommending it to us Niki!
Overall, we were thrilled with our stay at the Hula Moon. It is a lovely and very clean, comfortable property. Look forward to a return visit some day!

Owners response: Thank you so much for your great review. We are very happy that your family had a wonderful time. And I am glad that you were able to be together and enjoy the magic of "The Home of the Hula Moon". Please return if you can. We look forward to seeing you again.
Warmest aloha.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

stress reduction office trip

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

in canton ohio during the snowy season, I decided to take the office staff with spouses to hawaii.

the trip was to reduce stress and build relationships. I took a chef and the comments from her about how well stocked the kitchen was repeated several times. " designed by someone whom cooks" she was amazed at the pantry And the supplies. 40 minutes away was Costco in kona, on the owners suggestion I opened a membership and was able to purchase food for the group. do not forget the local market on Wednesday to freshen up the pantry.

the backyard was the highlight!!!! a wine cooler with large table was great for breakfast and evenings. the whales are in season and we were able to see them daily just out to sea!!! the turtles in the tidal pools swimming right with you!!! amazing serenity.

do not like the ocean water, try the pool which was large for a house. the wind from the beach was not there, but was barely used.

the abundance of supplies; snorkel, beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, spices, computer printer, free internet, was amazing for a rental. I travel the world and this was the best stocked house ever.

my wife did not travel this time, I slept in the office bed located in the loft. this also was comfortable.


location location location!!!! secluded and private, but beaches and golf are within 15 minutes .

office staff was refreshed; 10 people but enough privacy you are not overwhelmed.

my deepest regards for the home and help

thanks

wayne

ohio

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Wayne, Thank you for your kind words and we are so happy that you enjoyed our home. We want to make it as perfect as possible for our guests. It sounds like it worked out really well for your group. We would love to have you visit us again. Guests like you make us feel great! Warmest aloha from our ohana to yours.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The PERFECT Big Island Vacation Spot

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 days and were simply BLOWN AWAY by this EXTRAORDINARY property. Every single room has a stunning ocean view, the property is quiet and feels secluded yet you are walking distance from a variety of beaches, snorkeling/scuba diving locations and the ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs sites. The bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen and living room were fully stocked with anything you could imagine (cooking materials/ingredients, towels, DVDs etc.) The owners are timely, incredibly clean and truly willing to make your stay one of a kind. Every morning we would make breakfast and eat out on the backyard porch where we would watch sea turtles sun bath, we would then walk to the beach access where we snorkeled and boogie boarded. We used the outdoor grill every single night and were able to enjoy our dinner outside at the huge dinner table. The serenity of the house is incredibly relaxing and was WITHOUT A DOUBT the most INCREDIBLE vacation we have had to date. Thank you so much for letting us stay at your house. There is no doubt in my mind that we will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a large beautiful home on the ocean

Review submitted: December 25, 2013   Date of arrival: December 14, 2013

Gorgeous home that was immaculate when we arrived. Nice woman met us there and answered our many questions. It has beautiful furnishings. We had a lovely time. Mahalo for sharing your paradise with us. We will return to the Hula Moon. 5 stars for certain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything About Hula Moon was Perfect

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 6, 2013

Everything about Hula Moon was perfect, a very special place on a special island.

And we would highly recommend visiting a couple of less famous spots here: Keokea Beach Park where we saw a monk seal and calf up close (North Kohala) and snorkeling at Honaunau Bay, 10 miles south of Kailua.

Aloha,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for providing a beautiful setting

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

Thank you for providing a beautiful setting for our family reunion. The crew relaxed here for 7 days and we caught up on our busy and varied lives. The two young babies enjoyed the ocean and the grass. The parents enjoyed drinking wine in the perfect conversation spot on the porch. This house lends itself to community and conversation. Thanks for allowing us the chance to relax and catch up.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All enjoyed your lovely home - Mahalo!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

We had 3 families with young children, all enjoyed your lovely home - mahalo-the pool, the tide pools, the grassy space, the lanai, the bedroom suites - all allowed us to find enough space to spread out and relax. We hope to come back! Aloha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Visit to Hawaii Ever!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

Yes, this place is great. The house is huge, the owners and managers were really nice and helpful and the home is so well-maintained. We all had our little privacy zones and places to hang out. The swimming pool is pretty big and really warm and it was always sunny the whole time. It was a sweet vacation for the whole gang to be right on the ocean like that. We barbequed alot and bought local fish from "da fishhouse" up the road, so it was the best visit to Hawaii ever and we used to live in the islands so this great to return to such a nice place for our families reunion. Mahalo. We want to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Warmest Aloha and thank you. Come back again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Best Visit to Hawaii Ever!!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 22, 2013

Yes, this place is great. The house is huge, the owners and managers were really nice and helpful and the home is so well-maintained. We all had our little privacy zones and places to hang out. The swimming pool is pretty big and really warm and it was always sunny the whole time. It was a sweet vacation for the whole gang to be right on the ocean like that. We barbequed alot and bought local fish from "da fishhouse" up the road, so it was the best visit to Hawaii ever and we used to live in the islands so this great to return to such a nice place for our families reunion. Mahalo. We want to come back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing house that was perfect for our anniversary

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

An amazing house that was just perfect for our extended family vacation.
Celebrating our 40th Anniversary here was heaven on earth. Mahalo!
........
It's kinda hard to leave. Can't wait to return. Hawaii made us all so HAPPY!
.........
Had a wonderful relaxing vacation with my family ! Thank you.
..........
Thank you for letting us stay in your amazing house. It was an incredible experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing is the word we used the most here.

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

How wonderful to be able to walk outside, and swim, drive 5 minutes to a beach, rides the bikes at sunset, amazing!

Had a wonderful vacation with my family.

The pool is awesome - Dharma

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I hope we get to come back another time!!!!

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

Hi my name is Rachel. I am from Dallas, Texas. I loved staying at this house! Me and my friend Alex swam in the pool every day when we would get back from the beach. It was a great place to stay because we had a total of 3 families. I hope we get to come back another time!!!! Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We named the big turtle in the back "Jo."

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

Hi my name is Alex from Dallas, TX. I did gymnastics and practiced at Kona Ariel's. Me and my friend Rachel named the big turtle in the back "JO". Thanks for letting us stay at your house.
Thanks, Alex (p.s. I'm 9)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home of the hula moon

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

This was the best vacation of my life, I took my whole family to Hawaii for vacation, The house was beautiful, I cannot say anything bad about it. It was the best and everything was perfict.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Owners response: Thank you Kenny. We are happy that your family enjoyed our home. We would love to have to visit us again! Warmest aloha from our ohana to yours.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home of the Hula Moon made our dream a reality

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

Your check refunding the security deposit arrived today. Thank you for being so prompt!

Puako and the Home of the Hula Moon met every need and desire, so much so that we spent most of our time there enjoying the ocean, pool, lanai, lawn, well-stocked kitchen and luxurious sleeping accommodations.
There is no other way to describe our week- it was perfect! With the 2000 miles separating members of our family, being together, all at once, is rare. The opportunity for all of us to be together in your exquisite home made that dream a reality.

As we look back we are likely to regard the week in Puako as the best of our lives. With gratitude,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect setting for our 50th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

Home of the Hula Moon was the perfect setting for our family of 3 generations to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. It provided a comfortable and beautiful place for our laid-back and memorable time together. Could not have been better and we are grateful for the opportunity and all the preparation that made it an enjoyable week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hula Moon

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Hula Moon was just what we looking for--perfect weather, great lanais, super SCUBA/snorkeling (with turtles), outstanding outdoor BBQs, etc. Your home is beautiful and we appreciated all you did to make us feel welcome. Thanks also for the very thoughtful bottle of anniversary champagne. Again, mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! We love guests like you and your family! Happy Anniversary and please come visit us again.

Warmest aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House is still as Beautiful as ever.

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

This is our first time back in five years. Stayed here 4 other times up until 2008. Still as beautiful as ever and even more enjoyable with our 3 children, spouses, and 3 grandchildren. A great way to celebrate our 45th Anniversary! Definitely plan to return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Class House

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The home is very well designed and built of the best materials. The layout is ideal with 4 king bedrooms all with their own bath. It is right on the water and the rocks are often populated by turtles. It is not a swimming beach and only for expert snorkelers as it is rocky and goes off very shallow. There is a nice beach and good snorkeling a half mile walk down the Puako Beach Drive at the end in a little park. Good shopping for food is available about 5 miles away and a small market is a mile away in Puako. This is the "Gold Coast" of the Big Island so waterfront property is very expensive as are the rates for this home. The caretakers and cleaners were excellent so I think you get your money's worth for this location. There is great dining nearby at the Mona Kea resort.The only down side was that it was very windy while we were there but I understand that is usually only end of February and in March. We would go back but there may be better values elsewhere in Hawaii.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Immaculate and Beautiful and Great Views!!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 29, 2013

This is a wonderful vacation home and even the name, Home of the Hula moon, is romantic. We arrived after a long flight and when we walked through the gates and into the courtyard we thought we were in paradise. The flowering trees and everything were reflected in the swimming pool and the birds were singing. The house itself is large and grand and as we came in the front doors, there was the pacific ocean, right in front of us. The house was really clean. Turtles on the black rocks, wild turkeys on the lawn by the ocean, the staff was super nice. After 2 days, I felt like we lived here so it was different and better than a hotel/resort vacation where you are always a tourist. We give this home 5 stars, make that 10 stars, it is twice as good as it looks it the photos. It is perfection. Big Mahalo to the owners for letting us enjoy it for a week.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Best Place So Far"

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Just arrived at your Hawaiian paradise. It is wonderful. Isaac has already spotted turtles and whales and shouted out, "Best place so far!" Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 27, 2013

Turkeys, Turtles, Geckos, Whales, Magical Flowers, relaxing Lanais. What a special treat. We went to every end of this island and explored every attraction. Beautiful Paradise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Art, Furnishings and Design are so Welcoming

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Whenever we left Hula Moon, we would joyfully return each day for swimming, sunsets and dinners on the lanai. Thank you for sharing your home in paradise with us. The art, furnishings, and design are so welcoming.

Our son was married on the beach at the Four Season's Resort this week. He and his Hawaiian wife will live in Honolulu. Our new in-laws rented a home in Puako too, it was a lovely wedding week...we enjoyed relaxing at the Home of the Hula Moon. Many whales, geckos, and lovely birds were seen. Golf at 3 different resorts was challenging. Hapuna Beach was fun for playing in the waves and sandcastle making. The manta ray dive in Kona was magical. Also, 4-wheel driving in Waipio Valley with our new in-laws and a waterfall hike.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House and Pool are well maintained; it shows!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

What a fantastic house and location. We loved sitting and watching the waves, and we loved going to sleep to the sound of the waves. Turtles and whale viewing were a treat. The temperature was always perfect (Thanks for arranging that). The house & pool are well maintained; it shows! Thanks for a wonderful week.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House is really Cool!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

I really liked the house. It is really cool! I loved the pool. We had a big water fight! I saw lots of fish and one eel in the ocean and crabs to. My family and my cousins stayed at this house and my grandparents stayed in another house about one mile away.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Layout and Views of the Sunset were Perfect!

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

This home was amazing! The layout and views of the sunset were absolutely perfect! We could not ask for anything else! Everything was here- including the turtles, whales, and the ocean! Thank you for sharing this beautiful paradise with us! Hope to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Opportunity to Connect with Mother Earth

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: March 17, 2013

The wonderful variety of life here has helped us to connect with the variety of life that lives within ourselves and in our family. We will take this back to our home (in Seattle) and we'll remember this time and remember the warmth, and the big spectrum of life, of which we are a part.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house was actually better in person!

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

The house was actually better in person. I know, that never happens but it is true!

I think we saw at least 10 turtles every morning not to mention the ones that swam around us all day...having such an unmolested area of ocean in front of us to see the ocean and then schools of fabulous fish- puffers too- we were enchanted, honestly. There was such an ocean breeze every day that it was lovely, so we didn't' need A/C at all. Whales went by us every afternoon.

Steve, the gentleman manager, was so nice, as was his wife. The house is so well stocked with supplies..and the little Puako General Store was such a treat. And (there was) the nice bottle of wine upon our arrival to the home. Nice touch.

It was close enough to all the areas that we were familiar with that we had friends and beaches all around. Found that we really preferred to just stay at the house in the water or on lawn chairs watching the sunrise/sunsets.

We also enjoyed talking to the local owners and others at the General Store. The owner was so sweet and he could get us basics and locally made things like salsa.

And we had a fabulous time shelling - found some gorgeous urchin shells.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at the HULA MOON house

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

We had a great time at the Hula Moon house- my parents in particular loved it. It was definitely a "splurge" for us. No problems at the house, and Steve was very helpful whenever I called him, even for non-house related questions. My parents spent a lot of time just relaxing on the veranda and gazing at the Pacific. Thanks so much for helping us make this happen. Aloha.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

amazing

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

we just spend a week at the House of the Hula Moon and it was wonderful. The house is even better in person and the location is perfect. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you for such a wonderful week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Satya! We would love to have you and your family return to the Home of the Hula Moon. Warmest aloha from our ohana to yours.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us.

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in your lovely home with our children, their spouses and two grandchildren. We saw many whales and turtles. Our son and his wife enjoyed fly fishing on the reef. They all enjoyed snorkeling at 69 Beach and at the end of the road beach. Your well stocked kitchen with spices and utensils was a major help. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Another Great Time!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

A relaxing week spent with great friends! Mahalo and hopefully till next year.....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Serene, Private, & Soothing to the Soul

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Thanks for sharing paradise with us. Most relaxing and pleasurable vacation either of us has ever experienced.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our stay at Hula Moon was exceptional!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Your home and the surrounding area is so beautiful! The sightings of sea turtles, whales, just made each day exciting. We take home lots of memories and hope to return to make more! Mahalo for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Home- thoroughly enjoyed it.

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

Beautiful home! Thank you for sharing- Hope to come back again. :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We returned to our paradise!

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We returned to our paradise in Aloha-land. Thank you for opening your house to us- we love the new artwork! Beautiful days and whales and turtles-wow!!

We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome property!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

We so enjoyed our second stay at this BEAUTIFUL property! The owners have given great attention to all the details...labeled light switches (so no guessing of which switch for each light)....well stocked throughout....fabulous decor and furnishings! The oceanfront view is gorgeous for sunsets, turtles, the Kohala coast, whales too! The floor plan gives great privacy for all the bedrooms/baths. Thank you for opening your home to us....we will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great time in your Lovely Home

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

There are not enough adjectives to express the great time we had being in your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

You have thought of everything for our needs!

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

What a lovely home in such a beautiful natural setting. You have thought of everything for our needs. Thanks so much for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Someone Put Love into this House-Bravo

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

As a person whose life depends on detail, it is self evident that someone put love into this house-Bravo-
I'm in love with the outdoor showers. They pout you into the right perspective. The good news is that we could come and enjoy this little heaven on earth. The bad news is now I want to own something just like this, so I have some work to do.....onward and upward!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The layout is perfect and the attention to detail!

Review submitted: December 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

I dragged my parents here from Europe and they couldn't believe what they saw after their 27 hour trip. :)
It was the most amazing special place for my Dad's 60th birthday! He was in lava-heaven!
Thank you for sharing your home with us. The layout is perfect, the attention to detail is amazing.
We will be back for sure!
With love!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect, Perfect, Perfect

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 12, 2012

We love this house. Perfect setting, perfect views, comfortable everything. This is our second visit to Puako and we are definitely booking this house for our family reunion next year. Mahalo for all the nice touches and making it "just like home."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Highly Recommend this House and the People.

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

Unbelievable, is a masterpiece of an Understatement, when when trying
to describe the Home of the Hula Moon.
It literally brought my Mother in-law to tears. The Love put into this
house is self evident in every detail.
My personal favorite, was the outdoor showers and the
many Turtles hanging out on our beach.
We had Starvros- The Chef recommended by Luxury Retreats- come by
and cook for us. It was a Magical night.
Steve, the Property manager, went far beyond our expectations, Getting us
settled in and making sure we maximized our stay at the House, He personally took us out in the community, and even took our friend from LA to a Kickboxing class 45 minutes away.

We will Definitely go Back and Stay longer next time. Bravo Home of the
Hula Moon and Company.

We Highly Recommend this House and the people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I can't imagine a more perfect setting.

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

What a wonderful place. This vacation has been such a blessing to share with my special family. I can't imagine a more perfect setting. The turtles even came up on the beach in front a few times.

This was my first vacation with my 6 year old daughter and it will be tough to beat!! Thank you so much for sharing your paradise with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow. What a Great House.

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

A view, snorkeling, turtles, near Hapuna Beach, lovely Catholic church down the road, quaint little general store (very kind owner) ...it's all here. We hope to return here in 12 to 18 months.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise (seriously!)

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2012

My daughter and I reclined in the lounge chair as the sun made it's daily descent through the cumulus clouds just to the left of the highlighted island of Maui. Each day was a "picture framed" moment: The setting sun, the rain-drenched clouds in the distance, the deep blue ocean expanding in each direction, the visible reefs filled with aquatic life. Even the sea turtles taking in the warmth of the afternoon sun would grace us each and every evening. Nestled on the chair on the manicured lawn, between the palms and large tropical shrubs, we simply sat in awe of God's creation wondering, "what have we done to deserve this?"

Resorts are nice, but this is truly luxurious living with comfortable privacy. Our screens doors would remain open throughout the night, allowing the waves to crash on the reefs beyond and creating a soft white-noise which would far exceed that of any clock radio!

As a family, we've been to nice places and we've done fun things, but 'checking in' at the Home of the Hula moon truly allowed us to 'check out' of daily living. No stress, no urgency... just simplicity of living.

Thank you for the once-in-a-lifetime experience!

Andy and VeeRonna Ragone

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Warmest Aloha Andy. I am happy that you enjoyed our home. We love it there too.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! -AMAZING VACATION FOR OUR FAMILY

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

What an amazingly beautiful piece of paradise, love the artwork too ! Fully equipped for beachplay, pool time, and even cooking meals for 3 families. Plenty of room to have our own space, cook meals together, or all hang out together on the lanai to watch the turtles, tides or the sunset. What a treat to not only be on the beach, but get to walk the lava rock during low tides in search of sea life in the pools. Our son even spotted a school of dolphins swimming by one morning! Exceeded our expectations and made our vacation with friends that much more perfect. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you both so much for your wonderful review. Please stay at our home again. Warmest Aloha.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Most Beautiful home on Puako Beach Drive

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

The Home of the Hula Moon is the most perfect Hawaiian Vacation Home in Hawaii. Puako itself is a magical place, with its quiet street, wildlife galore, and sweet tropical breezes. The location is ideal. We loved the nearby sandy beaches at Waillea Bay and Haupuna beach. The first class resorts near by are easily accessed for nice dinners or golf, and in 30 minutes you can be in Waimea where it's cool and green (great farmers market, too!).
But honesty, once you arrive at the Hula Moon it's hard to leave the property. Its perfectly appointed. Everything you need is right there. A lovely pool, snorkel gear, bikes, ocean, a wonderful kitchen, ample roomy bedrooms, and a shady breezy lanai where you can talk, read, or just stare at the ocean. If aesthetics are important to you, you will love this home. All the art and furnishings have been carefully chosen to create a serine and calm environment. Even the outdoor showers are beautiful with sculpture and tropical plants. It truly feels like you are staying in a gracious home, not a "beach rental".
Our stay was very special. We had three small families with middle school aged kids. During the day some of us stayed at home , while others went on excursions. We snorkeled at the beach, had big family meals, stayed up late and talked on the back lanai, while the kids swam in the pool or watched movies. For me personally, I looked forward to rising early and taking a run down the beautiful street, followed by a walk on the lava and visiting the sea turtles.
There are many homes to rent in Puako, don't waste your time. Choose the best and you will not be disappointed. I wept when I watched my last sunset on the lanai the night we left. I am counting the days until we can return to the magical home of the Hula Moon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Warmest Aloha Dyana. I am thrilled that you and your family had such an amazing experience at our home in Puako. You left it in immaculate condition- the cleaning crew called to tell me this-so we really appreciate that you treated it like it was your own home. Please visit us again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a vacation of a lifetime.

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

What a wonderful piece of paradise you have!

Turtles, turkeys, geckos, sunsets-just fantastic.

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us, we had a vacation of a lifetime

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The most amazing layout and perfectly designed

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

Wow! Your place is absolutely amazing and a perfect place for our first visit to Hawaii. Your home has the most amazing layout and was perfectly designed for a large group.
We were completely spoiled with all of the amenities.
The location and view were amazing as well. We loved being on this coast. The turtles and other aquatic life added even more magic to our visit!
Thank you so much for opening your home. We loved our stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you for such a treasure on our vacation

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

What an amazing home. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment. It is perfectly beautiful in every aspect and warm and inviting...It was hard to leave on our excursions each day but so nice to come back and relax, have dinner and watch amazing sunsets. Thank you for such a treasure on our family vacation.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What the kids said about Home of the Hula Moon

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

I loved playing marco polo and sharks and minnos in the pool.
I liked the lanais and the openess of the house and the movie collection
I liked the wooden floors
I loved walking on the roks and seeing turtuls
I loved the house and the gong was a sweet feature of this place

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I had a fun time"

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

A very young guest wrote this in our book: " I had a fon time."

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House had Everything!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

Expectations met and exceeded!

Little ones and big, young and old, we loved it!
We brought things that were unnecessary as the house had everything!
Whales, turtles, wild turkeys, birds, even the geckos were beautiful and entertaining.
The kids went to Dolphin Quest where they swam with the dolphins.
Some bigger kids tried snorkeling outside the (oceanside) door

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your Lovely Home - a terrific holiday

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Thanks so much for letting us stay at your lovely home. We really enjoyed it. Somehow you managed to situate it in a very calm spot- winds were all around us, and we sat quite comfortably outside. Your kitchen is so well equipped, the boys did all the cooking. Quite a treat for me!

We had terrific weather, while Maui and Oahu were stuck in the rain. All in all, a terrific holiday.

Niki was very attentive and the cleaners were very good.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Puako Beach House

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with our grown children, spent two wonderful weeks in this beautiful home.
We love the Big Island and Puako, and this home only made the stay better.
The kitchen is so well equipped we ate (almost) all meals at the house.
It was hard to leave the house with the constant parade of wildlife just outside; whales, spinning dolphins, seals, and of course the resident turtles.
Both the owner and Niki, the agent, were very good to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

REAL LIFE PARADISE

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

"It is so beautiful here. What a blessing to spend time at a real life paradise. I couldn't ask for more."

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

PARADISE!!!

Review submitted: February 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

Relax, relax, relax!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful Home in Puako!

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We loved this home. Hula Moon is spectacular. My friends and I stayed for a week and we never even wanted to leave the house-why would we? The pool was perfect and sunny and the views of the ocean sublime. Such a pretty setting and we saw pods of dolphins going by one morning while we were having breakfast on the oceanside deck. How great is that? Puako is quiet and fun and we were close to nice cafes and hotel restaurants. It was fun to grill outdoors at the house which has everything you need for cooking - if you want to do that. We discovered a lady who sells fresh fish at the harbor and that was a real treat. Hula Moon is really beautiful and very clean, you can tell that the owners are very proud of their home by the furnishings and the little touches like original art and beautiful furniture. I recommend this to anyone who wants to know what it is like to live by the sea on a tropical island. 5 stars excellent.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am very happy that you enjoyed everything at our home. We love vacationers like you who really appreciate the beauty of Puako. And, who take such good care of our house! You're welcome back any time. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

The Home Of The Hula Moon was everything we wanted and more. It is a charming home located right on the water. Each of the four bedrooms has a great ocean view so everyone was happy with their accommodations. We rented kayaks and spent much of our time on the water. We loved watching the sea turtles while we had our cocktails at sunset. Two members of the group played golf nearby and the rest of us went to Kona one day for deep sea fishing. We had so much fun relaxing by the ocean or the swimming pool and the house had everything we could ever need. The owners are very thoughtful and even had Bulgari soaps and shampoos for us when we checked in. Classy touches! It was very clean and the home is just lovely. We recommend it to families or groups of friends who want a luxury vacation home in Puako, Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Marvelous Property!

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

What a marvelous property! We absolutely loved the turtles, the house, the furnishings, the amenities....the attention to small comfort details.

A Hui Hou! We'll be back! Aloha and Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WHAT A MAGICAL PLACE

Review submitted: October 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 9, 2011

What a magical place to spend my son's first birthday! We look forward to visiting again in the future.

Thanks and best wishes.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great location

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2011

It's amazing to have a 20 foot walk to the ocean to watch the sunset as sea turtles lay on the rocks. The pool is amazing, I woke up every morning and swam laps in it for 30 minutes, then I took my walk to Mr. Patel's General Store store every afternoon. The indoor/outdoor showers are beautiful, the bedrooms are spacious and welcoming. Great home!. Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Fabulous Property!

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

Thank you for allowing us to have our 25th Anniversary vow renewal here, it was spectacular! From the house to the amenities to the views. Niki has been a number one property manager, such awesome customer service! Again thank you and thank you again! We love it!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Home!

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

Wonderful home! Can't say enough about it! Absolutely superb view and facilities. Would highly recommend to anyone as it made all the difference from a good Hawaii experience to a great one that we'll remember forever! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We Alaskans had a wonderful time. :) We named two of the turtles we saw frequently, "Felix" and "Duddley". We hope to come back here soon!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

Fantastic Home. We couldn't have asked for anything more. Our stay here was sheer bliss. Thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in the sun and watching the fascinating turtles! Steve (our concierge) was a prince and took care of us beautifully. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

What a beautiful place you have here. Our first time to Hawaii! We have loved our time here with our friends and your home has allowed us to spend that time together as families, making memories to be cherished.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

The layout is perfect for a large group. The bedrooms are all beautiful so no one felt like they got the short straw. The home is well equipped for cooking and the open space plan is very accommodating for entertaining as well as relaxing!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical Home!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 19, 2011

What a serene and restorative, magical home. i never left the property most days, why would I? The Hula Moon has it all. I loved the sea turtles and the cool breezes. I will be back, actually, I never wanted to leave!
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

"Our family had a wonderful time and felt very at home. We think Hula Moon has a great floor plan and the interiors are nicely done, warm and comfortable. This home is super well maintained. Our manager responded to all our inquiries/requests in a timely manner and made our stay really pleasant and seamless. We look forward to spending more time at this home in the future."

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Better Than Ever

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

Thank you so much for opening up your new home to us. The house is better than ever. The new beds are comfortable, the new shower heads, BBQ, and all the other fixes are wonderful. We love staying at the Hula Moon and we truly care for this special home as though it was our own.

Looking forward to returning soon. All our best.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

"Thank you so much for opening up your new home to us. The house is better than ever. The new beds are comfortable, the new shower heads, BBQ, and all the other fixes are wonderful. We love staying at the Hula Moon and we truly care for this special home as though it was our own. Looking forward to returning soon. All our best.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Wow! Puako is great and this house was so perfect for our family. Spacious, but everyone had privacy. Comfortable and beautiful. And with the ocean in front and the pool out back, some days we never left. Can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

Loved staying at Home of the Hula Moon! Perfect location to watch the sunset while having dinner on the outside patio. Tons of sea turtles every day right outside. Such a treat! Such a relaxing place to stay with calm energy, a lovely sea breeze and a magnificent view. Cannot speak more highly of our stay here!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfectly wonderful Hula Moon

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

This was our favorite Puako vacation ever. We love Puako but being able to stay in this huge home made it perfect for all of us. We were four couples and we each had our own private suite. We had a great time cooking and grilling and the guys went kayaking and snorkeling every day while we girls played tennis (and had massages) at a nearby resort. We all loved relaxing by the pool or oceanside. It was so much fun. Home of Hula Moon is totally romantic and just wonderful. Many thanks. I hope to be back very soon for a family reunion.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

Hula Moon is an beautiful home that is elegant while being inviting and comfortable at the same time. It is serene and spacious, with a magical view of the ocean. The sunsets are stunning. We can't wait to come back here next summer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review