reviews for: listing #92670 - Montecito, California Villa rental

Cabana Las Floras-a Tropical Cabana Paradise with Pool & Spa
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $225 - $300 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,900 /wk

sort by:

Unbeatable Oasis

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this amazing oasis recently and were blown away by the calm serenity yet close to everything in gorgeous Montecito. It was a perfect spot for us - and Dino and Florida are marvelous hosts. There when you need them, discreet when you don't. And Florida is a real pro when it comes to service and hospitality, showing up with wine, fruits, cheeses, just when you were needing a "little something". Dino was delightful, knowledgeable, and fun... we will be back for certain as we now have our own little place in Montecito - and 2 new friends. Forget the Biltmore... book this secret oasis! A great value, with warmth and character not found in a hotel.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 16

 

We are the exception

Review submitted: August 11, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

We booked a three night stay at this cabana. After reading the amazing reviews, I was counting down the days until our mini vacation. We've rented private homes/flats in London, Paris, Oregon, Palm Springs, etc. so I feel well versed on what these types of rentals can have to offer. Unfortunately we had a family emergency and left almost immediately after checking in so we did not get to enjoy the full experience but even so I feel as if there are a few things to note. First, while it is clearly mentioned this is a cabana I did not find it private whatsoever as you are in spitting distance to the owner's residence and the pool is feet from their back door. I take partial responsibility for the disappointment because it is clearly described as a cabana but the photos also do not show the proximity of the main house to the pool (it is a few feet to the left of the chaise lounges in the eighth photo). The grounds are walled so in that sense it is private but it's not really private from the main house. There were also a few upsells offered which I found a little odd - breakfast, a massage and an autographed book of the homeowner's nudes/poetry. On the plus side, it's situated in a very nice area, the owner goes out of his way to make dining suggestions, the pool house is incredibly well done and the grounds are well maintained.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: First of all, we want to thank you for coming to stay at our Cabana last August 11, 2014...We are truly sorry that you had to cut short your stay because of a family emergency...It is unfortunate because had you stayed you might have been very impressed by some of the special attentions we surprise our guests with.
That said, I want to address the specific concerns you voiced: I am sorry that you did not find the Cabana as private as you like, but it is clearly stated in our property description: "Note: The owners, Dino and Florida Ohanian, live on the 1-1/2 acre premises in a separate and completely detached house. That said, we very much want to respect your complete privacy if this is a concern...please let us know if this is of importance."
You further stated that the Cabana is in "spitting distance" to the owner's residence...Actually it is more than 60 feet away...and the pool is over 80 feet away from the main house (not just a few feet from the chaise lounges)...I measured it myself as I just want to set the record straight.
And finally as I mentioned to you both before you left, I was very sorry that you had a "family emergency" and had to cut your stay short...But we wanted you to know that should you return, we would extend to you a generous discount.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AAA

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

Just spent two weeks at this cozy , comfortable , and beautiful La Cabana , It was everything we wanted for a long stay in Montecito . Our hosts were great - helpful and friendly . We found the location perfect for all our needs plus we found ourselves spending more time just hanging out at the pool reading due to the fact that the surroundings were calming and beautiful . I do not think you could find a better spot to relax and enjoy the area .

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 26, 2014

This truly was an oasis. The property is beautiful. Dino is meticulous about his plants and you can see great care went into getting this property just right. I will stay again next time I'm in Santa Barbara. Check out Janine's Bakery and Restaurant in Montecito- great breakfast place,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Most Enjoyable Experience

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

We had an extended stay of 21 days at the Cabana Las Floras and it was a most enjoyable experience. The cabana was elegantly presented; a very tranquil place full of plants and flowers – in our case there were enormous orchid arrangements in both living room and bedroom. The Cabana stayed cool and comfortable even when the temperature rocketed to an unseasonable 100oF plus (and if you did get a bit warm the pool was just a few feet away.) The outside area was immaculate and beautiful, with a choice of places to eat al fresco, or just to sit and enjoy the tropical view. I don’t think I shall ever forget lying on a lounger by the pool at dusk and watching the hummingbirds performing acrobatics in the air above me. The list of restaurants provided was excellent; and Dino and Florida were unobtrusively helpful hosts.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a find!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

The pictures of the property are beautiful, but to actually live it was divine. My husband and I spent 3 nights. It was like an oasis for just the two of us. The setting is lush and the house is pristine. The owners, Dino and Florida, could not have been more hospitable; they were gracious and so welcoming. We lounged, we read poolside and each night we enjoyed the spa by moonlight. We lunched at the Biltmore just a few miles away while overlooking the Pacific ocean. We strolled State Street and had dinner off-the-beaten path at Dargen's Irish pub and another night created a meal at the local Safeway to take back to the Cabana. Clearly, this isn't just a place to stay, but rather a place to experience. We seldom do hotels anymore. When properties like this one are available, why would we?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing! Everything is exactly as pictured.

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Absolutely delightful stay! Gorgeous! Dino and Florida couldn't have been more accommodating and gracious. Service was above and beyond. The cabana was spotlessly clean. The bed was supremely comfortable. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderfully relaxing get away

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

I was looking for a serene place away from all the busyness and congestion of LA and this was the perfect spot for a few days of tranquility, quiet and relaxation. We love Montecito and finding this private oasis was the perfect solution to feeling at home and avoiding the typical hotel feeling. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the cabana is clean and spacious and supplied with almost every basic necessity. We were very pleasantly surprised it exceeded our expectations and found the price very reasonable for all the amenities you get.
The owners were very hospitable and answered all of our questions in a timely manner and were always available.
I recommend this location if you are looking to avoid the hotel atmosphere, would like to feel like you in your own little private escape but still be close to the main town of Montecito and a close drive from Santa Barbara.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding vacation home.

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

Im really not sure what else i can add to the previous glowing reviews. Having stayed in many vacation homes this is far and away the best. They have not spared any expense...... its peaceful, relaxing, comfortable and we have no hesitation in recommending this property.

In fact we both commented that it looks better in person than in the photo's and thats saying something as you can see from the photos.

Simply when we come back to the Santa Barbara area we will stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A quiet, peaceful, and calming experience.

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

The listing as a tropical cabana paradise is exactly what my wife and I experienced. The property was indeed well maintained. The picture of the pool and spa just portrays a brief glance of the true beauty of the property. The gardens include a thoughtfully landscaped adventure into your inner self. From the zen pagoda to the immense varieties of plant life and fauna, it renders a very calming result.
The owners provided both a friendly and private environment.
A truly authentic experience, especially compared to a hotel stay. The cabana is clean and is truly a home away from home.
We would recommend this property to family, friends, and anyone who is looking for a quiet time away from the demands of day to day life.
We enjoyed shopping in Downtown Santa Barbara and Ventura.
Their are a large variety of shops available.
We really enjoyed the cuisine and service at Andersen's Restaurant in downtown Santa Barbara.
We enjoyed our time and are looking forward to a stay there next year.

Thank you Dino and Florida for the wonderful stay at your estate and we can't wait to open the bottle of wine with you on the next trip!

Marla and Kevin, Clovis, CA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Classy in all ways !

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

We loved staying at Cabana Las Floras ! My wife and I found this to be one of the most peaceful places we have ever stayed in our 10 years of getting away after retirement. The house was perfect for the two of us, the grounds were like staying in a botanic garden, we used the hot tub every day with joy, and Dino and Florida were helpful anytime we needed any help. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an absolute gem

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

We found a piece of paradise while visiting Montecito. This beautifully designed pool house was so welcoming and gorgeously decorated. The bed was sumptuous making it hard to get up and out! We needed for nothing as it was so well-equipped. It offered a real zen feeling set amongst the lush landscape offering serene tranquility. Sun loungers available or sacred shaded sitting areas strategically placed on the property..and a river runs through it! Magnificent! The hosts, Dino
and Florida, are charming, talented, and living in the main home on the estate. Totally invisible unless you need assistance or special services. I highly recommend this perfect getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME!!!

Review submitted: February 23, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This place is by far one of the nicest places we have stayed at. The grounds are immaculately done and are like a slice of heaven in Montecito. The Cabana is well kept and has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The place is clean and is tastefully decorated and furnished. The owners are warm and friendly and provided everything we needed, including great tips to local restaurants. The experience made our one year anniversary special.

We will be back next year for our anniversary!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful, relaxing and cozy

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

My husband and were guests of Florida and Dino for a week. We arrived on a late flight but Florida was available to greet us and make us feel at home immediately. We settled in to a beautiful rhythm of the gardens, waterfall and tranquility.
We enjoyed the cozy cabana and the comfortable bedroom accommodations. We also enjoyed several fires in the fireplace which only added to the warmth of the home.
We would recommend this to couples that are seeking a quiet secluded respite.
Thank you Dino & Florida

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beyond Our Expectations

Review submitted: December 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

Our stay at this secluded oasis was just perfect. The property is filled with beautifully landscaped trees, winding stone paths, and a variety of flowers, just waiting for you to discover them. The private hammock was the perfect place to relax, looking through the oak trees to the blue skies above. We spent tons of time in the outdoor hot tub, just enjoying the views. Everything inside our spacious two room suite was equally cozy and beautifully appointed. We will definitely be back to this little slice of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

UNBELIEVEABLE SERINITY - PARADISE!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Thank you Florida and Dino for a memorable romantic getaway! Your hospitality was above and beyond. The pictures on your website brought us to you. The reality of your serene oasis far surpassed what we were expecting, and that is what will bring us back. Thank you for making our experience so special!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Anniversary Weekend!

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend at the Cabana and loved every minute of it. The property is absolutely gorgeous and looks just as it does in the photos. We loved all the hidden places to sit in the garden and enjoy our coffee or a glass of wine. The Cabana is very close to Santa Barbara so convenient for restaurants etc.; however, it is a world away at the same time. It is silent and very dark at night which is wonderful for star gazing in the jacuzzi. We loved the fireplace in the Cabana and used it every night. The bed was extremely comfortable. Basically, not a single complaint. We highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice oasis in Montecito

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the cabana. Very comfortable bedding and bed. Pool and spa are right outside to enjoy and the living room was equipped for quiet reading or watching tv. I loved the location in Montecito and walked down to the lower village every morning. I would recommend this rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Anniversary Weekend!

Review submitted: October 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Cabana! The property was absolutely gorgeous and looks exactly as it does in the photos. We loved all the hidden little places in the garden to sit and drink our morning c

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway from Los Angeles!

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted an easy getaway from LA for a weekend. Cabana Las Floras was perfect in every way! Dino and Florida were great hosts. Even though they were just a house away, we had all the privacy we needed in their guest home, pool, and jacuzzi. We woke up enjoying their beautiful home and enjoyed dining out at all their great restaurant recommendations.

Dino and Florida used to be in the Bed and Breakfast business they they even made us breakfast on our last morning. This experience beats any 5 star hotel! We will definitely be coming back to stay with them again. =)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love this romantic, tranquil hideaway

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

You definitely feel like you have this beautiful, luscious property to yourselves. Dino and Florida are there if you need them, but they definitely give you the privacy and autonomy to make the space your own. Just minutes from downtown Montecito and the beaches and only a few more minutes to Santa Barbara, it's close to restaurants and shops but still feel far away and secluded from the reality you may be choosing to leave behind. Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Sun!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

Stayed there with my daughter, (UCSB student,) and had a blast. Almost didn't book it as I thought it may be too dark with all that vegetation. However, the sun was on the pool the entire day. Took a few hot spas at night. Great grounds, nicely decorated guest house, can't wait to return. Dino was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful, comfortable and hospitable stay.

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 30, 2013

We felt more then welcome in our cabana. The owner Dino knew and felt the right balance between privacy and making a talk, giving information.
We were lucke that in SantaBarbara was "The Fiesta"in that week. Dino tipped us about it and about the nice places to go and to eat!
Thank you for the comforable week we experienced ar your place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

My hubby and I celebrated our 15th anniversary at this beautiful oasis. Dino and Florida are two special people. We so appreciated their friendliness. The cabana was clean and the grounds were breathtaking. Thank you both for offering this to us! We will be in touch! Sooooo

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a beautiful place

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay. The accommodations were top notch. Dino was a gracious host and we plan on coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relax in Luxury!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

We totally enjoyed Cabana Las Floras. What an amazing piece of paradise. The Cabana was tasteful, immaculate, comfortable and everything in it of superior quality. The terrace and pool area were unbelievable and gorgeous! The gardens and abundant foliage on the property were also quite amazing, although they are need a bit of TLC. ( We were told the full time gardener was recently lost) In it's prime, it was surely the most beautiful place of tropical tranquility. (I loved lying in the hammock under the big tree) Although we did not get to meet Dino and Florida, because they were away, their live-in house manager, Lisa, was wonderful, welcoming and accommodating to our needs. We also enjoyed the owner's playful and energetic little Chow!! The rental process was easy and professionally handled by Dino. A stay at the Cabana is worth every penny! We would definitely return on our next travel to the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Live Like a Local!

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Cabana for 7 days in July 2013 (our 2nd year in a row with Dino and Florida). The Cabana, pool and grounds are rare and special. We are private people and felt very comfortable in the Cabana. Dino and Florida are warm and inviting and provided a perfect amount of privacy.

We visit Montecito each year and like to live like the locals. We rent the beautiful Cabana, take a monthly membership at the Montecito YMCA, go to coffee every morning at Pierre LaFonde, shop for antiques, walk the beach and decide daily if there will be a schedule. I napped in the hammock and stared up into the huge beautiful oak trees, listened to the birds, enjoyed the cool breeze and forget about life back home. We picked fresh herbs nightly to marinate in our dinner we cooked on the BBQ. Too many other fond memories to list.
The Cabana is booked often for good reason.
Thanks again Dino and Florida for a great life experience.
Russ, Laurie, Ashton

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Dream Vacation at Cabana Las Floras

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Dear Dino and Florida,

Just wanted to thank you and Lisa for a wonderful stay at your beautiful place! My granddaughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our "dream vacation," having massages, fixing our nails, and going to dinner at San Ysidro Ranch, all arranged by your amazing assistant, Lisa!

Although we did many of the standard SoCal things, the highlight of our trip was our stay at your Cabana Las Floras!!

Sincerely,

Ermine Hailey and Hilary
Austin, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect "mini-moon" stay!!!

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Absolutely exquisite!!! My husband and I were married over the weekend and decided to stay at the Cabana for our "mini-moon" for several days. The home was perfect for us - very clean, impeccably kept, and wonderful hosts. We felt like we had discovered our own private oasis. Thank you, and I hope we are able to make a trip back!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfectly lovely

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

A very lovely place - even better than we imagined - even nicer than the photos! The gardens are luscious, the cabana comfortable, clean, very well maintained and nicely decorated. This is not necessarily a place to cook as there is only a small kitchenette (could use a serrated bread knife!) although we used the outside grill several times. Montecito's upper and lower Village are a short drive with numerous dining choices. Lisa (owners assistant) was helpful, friendly and discrete. We have already recommended your beautiful cabana to several friends. A fantastic find. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shangri-La

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

All I can say is, don't stay here for less than a week! I only stayed for five days, and I have to say I definitely felt pangs of regret as I drove away. The grounds were meticulously kept and the cabana was beautiful. The pictures really don't begin to do it justice. Lisa was wonderful. Always there when I wanted some company, but like a ghost when I wanted to be alone. The combination of utter seclusion and the close proximity to anything I wanted to do was more than I could have hoped for. And let's not forget Gigi, the most adorable dog ever! I'm not sure I'll ever vacation anywhere else. Why, when I already know the address of paradise?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peace and Beauty

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Dino and Florida have created a tranquil and incredibly beautiful setting both inside and out. Caring attention to detail, fluffy towels, soft sheets, a lovely pool and hot tub all very pristine. The pictures tell the true story. The lush landscaped setting is private and quiet.
The owners are wonderful people, talented, interesting, discreet, and quite informative about the area. We hope to return many times.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tranquil Retreat

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

The cabana was comfortable, well laid out and attractively decorated. It is secluded without any disturbing distractions such as traffic or construction. Our gracious hosts, Dino and Florida, went out of their way to be accommodating and afforded us our privacy. However the weather did not cooperate and we were unable to avail ourselves of the pool and spa. Although both were very inviting. The landscaping is spectacular and very soothing. The entire property is clean and well maintained. There were only two minor inconveniences for us. The beautiful claw foot tub was difficult for my 5' 2" wife to use because of the height of its side. Even the handicap grab bar on the wall opposite where you enter the tub was too far away for her. Also Wi-Fi reception was not strong enough for video streaming. Internet web browsing and email did not pose a problem. However streaming Netflix Videos was not an option. The television is a large HDTV with cable access and an enhanced sound system. We enjoyed our stay very much in this tranquil retreat.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our early 28 year wedding anniversary * perfect

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

Perfect spot for a couple to relax and enjoy the lush gardens. The accommodation described exceeded our expectation. The guest house is perfect for a romantic get-away. The area is gorgeous with estates, French bakery, charming coffee shop and quick drive to the best beach. The property is tucked six miles up the hill from the beach and far enough not to be disturbed by the train and its whistle. Florida treated us to a plate of delicious fruit and nuts and white wine during sunset. The spa added and ensured a good night sleep. We have already recommended this exceptional spot to friends coming to the area in August.
5 STARS. Marla

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cabana Las Floras

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

The hosts were great and the property actually was accurately marketed and more pleasant than we expected. The setting was wonderful.

We are likely to stay here again.

A very civilized way to enjoy Santa Barbara and environs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful way to spend the weekend!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

The property is beautiful, clean and has everything you need. The property is close enough to town that dining is easy, but far away from everything so that you can relax and enjoy the solitude. The hammock area was so relaxing and serene. The jacuzzi is wonderful, definitely my favorite part! The sun was out all weekend which made the place even more beautiful. Dino was very welcoming. he's a photographer and his pictures are in a look-book at the house. Worth checking out. If you think this sounds too good to be true, don't. It was perfect and you won't regret staying here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a gorgeous place and wonderful hosts!

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

We were blown away! I would so recommend Cabana Las Floras to anyone wishing a luxurious, quiet retreat. The property and cottage was exactly as pictured - absolutely beautiful, quite spacious, very tastefully decorated and very clean. The pool and hot tub are amazing. Dino and Florida were gracious hosts; greeting us upon arrival and extremely respectful of our privacy. Go to Jeannine's in town for a nice casual breakfast.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Had a great weekend getaway! Everything was top notch.
Way better than any hotel property in the area.
Like staying at a bed and breakfast with even more
Personal touches. Loved the wine and appetizer tray
And the pool/spa is amazing. The area is great and located close to
Everything you would want or need. Dino is a great host
Offering what you need if you need it or just privacy
Will be back but book way in advance for this one, its worth it.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect in Every Way!!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

Sometimes it's hard to put into words how wonderful a place is. My husband was speechless when he walked into this beautiful oasis. Dino and Florida have created an absolutely stunning paradise---it's obvious a lot of care and love went into it. Their helper Lisa had spotlessly cleaned, and was very helpful when we needed some kitchen supplies. The bedroom was beautiful, and the bed extremely comfortable. And the grounds---breathtaking!

We stayed at the Simpson House last year, and we would choose Cabana Las Floras again in a heartbeat! The room is 3 times larger, and the pool, tea house, and gardens are incomparable, and Dino and Florida so warm and hospitable!

Thank you Dino, Florida and Lisa for a fantastic vacation!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PARADISE!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We had one the best stays ever at this paradise; the owners Dino & Florida have created one the most beautiful places that we have ever seen and we usually stay at beautiful places but Cabana Las Floras is the whole package from beautiful outdoor ares all with the purpose of relaxation and romance in mind to the beautiful spa (that yes is like your own natural hot springs) and the pool all surrounded by the most unique flora and can only imagine if this place looks like this during the winter season how much more beautiful can it be during spring and summer with the gorgeous landscape that just transport you to paradise and Dino and Florida are the most acommodating hosts that you can ever wish for because they have tought of every detail to make your stay unforgettable; we thank you for the great wine and nuts and fruit that Florida brought to us as soon as we arrived. The cabana is so beautiful and full of natural line with a spanish flair that makes you feel so welcome along with the personal touches (gorgeous orchids) and a beautiful bathroom with a soaking tub and a great shower to sooth your senses; so clean and well maintained with exquisite touches and plenty of luxurious towes. The bedroom is amazing with a french door that also opens to the patio and the pool area, great matress and a walking closet to keep everything organized; as beautiful as this place is we already started daydreaming of coming back to this paradise hopefully soon! Thank you Dino and Florida for everything, you spoiled us and I don't think that we will be able to match this VRBO experience anytime soon!
PS. Don't forget to inquiry about their amazing breakfast experience we are so glad we did and next time we will also book massages;

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Romantic Stay

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

My husband and I were looking to relax after spending Christmas with family, and this beautiful cabana fit the bill perfectly. Just as beautiful as the pictures, this oasis was the perfect base camp for all our activities. The owners of the house, Dino and Florida, were excellent hosts and were present (or not), depending on our needs.

The cabana itself is very well appointed with details that I both noticed and appreciated. Starry nights in the hot tub, lazy mornings with coffee, and hikes/bike rides were how we spent our time.

Hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Live like a Local

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

A wonderful little spot nestled in a quiet neighborhood of Montecito. Dino is not only a wonderful host but quite the concierge. It is very quiet and the grounds are beautiful. ...Looking forward to going back.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a small paradise

Review submitted: January 10, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

Cabans Las Floras was indeed a small paradise with lovely assortments of tropical plants, a stone outlined swimming pool and hot tub. The owners were wonderful hosts, available but not intrusive. The cabana had a delightful spanish flavor, with arched windows and stone floors. It is located in an easy ride to town down Santa Barbara. The property was clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this lovely home away from home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous Private Retreat

Review submitted: January 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

The cabana is just perfect! You have lots of privacy while only being a stone's throw away from getting anything you need from the owners of the house. The surrounding area has properties that are some of the most desirable in the U.S. You have tons of wonderful restaurants within a few miles of the house. You will get a gate-opener upon arrival to enter and exit the property, so you feel like all the other wealthy people who live in the area! The house itself is perfect for a couple, or possibly a couple with a small child, but you do only have one bathroom. The bedroom is a separate room with a door between it and the living area. The bed is really comfortable and the bedroom is large. There is a small kitchen area with a microwave, small refrigerator, sink and toaster oven. The grounds are really beautiful and there is no way to describe it. I took many photos and they don't even do it justice. You just have to stay there and roam around the property to appreciate it. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. It's the nicest place we have stayed next to a house to rented in Italy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Montecito Cabana

Review submitted: December 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 10, 2012

Elegant beauty, unpretentious, thoughtful design gives the impression this place just 'grew' here. Plenty of space: 800 sq ft interior, patio, teahouse, hammock, garden. Bring the Prius instead of the Escalade, prepare light breakfast, wine + cheese; there is an outdoor bbq w/ burner if you want. Quiet, tucked away location close to everything you want to do - or not do. Wonderful hosts! Stay here! I certainly will stay here any time I visit the Santa Barbara area.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a little piece of Paradise

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

This is an incredible find. Not only was it better than the pictures, the owner went out of their way to make it better. The interior was top notch, spacious and spotless and the grounds were immaculate. I would highly recommend it to everyone that wants to stay in this area. Additionally it has easy access to the activities in Montecito area. We will visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely guest house on a gorgeous estate!

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: October 17, 2012

Dino and Florida were fabulous! We loved visiting their guest house on their lovely estate! My favorite: Bandito, the gardener's sweet little dog.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't Find a More Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

There's not enough that can be said about how beautiful of a property the Cabana is and how gracious of hosts Dino and Florida are. I booked a weekend stay with my (now) fiancé, and couldn't be happier with our stay. It's clear that Dino and Florida take great care in all of the details in their property and really love making a memorable stay for their guests. .

The Cabana is a guest house that has a Queen bed and spacious living area. Although it is a guest house, it's physically separated from the main house and still affords plenty of privacy - Dino and Florida also do a great job giving you as much help or privacy as you desire. They also have a small dog, Gigi, that likes to follow around.

Florida cooked a wonderful dinner for us, which was a great way to spend the evening and enjoy the surroundings. We then had a very tasty breakfast in the morning in their gazebo. They have a huge property with a pool, hot tub, gazebo, and gardens - all worth taking advantage of!

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at The Cabana if you're looking for a quiet getaway - you won't want to leave!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbelievable!!!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

"This place was an absolute garden oasis. It was close enough to everything but worlds away when you needed it to be. I would recommend this treasure to anyone. It was cleaner than clean and so warm and welcoming,especially in the hot tub under the starry sky. The owners have turned into friends,they were there when needed and not anywhere to be found for your complete privacy. I could not see staying anywhere else if staying in Santa Barbara. Your cabana has guide books for everything from a tourist perspective or for the visitor who wants off the beaten path. It was a 5 plus star for sure, where else is your hot tub,pool and garden your privately owned while visiting for this price!"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paraside found

Review submitted: October 14, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Cabana Las Floras is a tropical oasis. The property is even more than the pictures can show. Upon arrival, Dino, our gracious host, showed us the cabana which is spacious, very clean and well decorated....beautiful orchids abound. He then took us on a tour of the grounds which can only be described as lush and beautiful. There are so many intimate places to sit and relax, not to mention, gardens of fresh herbs, fruits and vegetables. Dino also offered great insight to the area, with wonderful recommendations of local eateries and activities. Our first moring, we were greeted by Gigi, Florida and Dino's cute little dog. She loves to play ball...what a delight. My only complaint, is we couldn't stay longer..you could spend days just enjoying the cabana and the gounds. I would definitely recommend this property and I hope to have a chance to go there again! Michelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Wedding

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

We stayed with Dino and Florida for a week while attending a family wedding. It was a perfect haven; we looked foreward to returning to the cabana to rest between the many events taking place each day! Quiet, peaceful, beautifully appointed, perfect weather, amazing gardens and pool/spa area - the cabana comes complete with all you need to hideaway or have a place to relax during a busy schedule. Do not pass up this gem. It is actually more gorgeous than the photos and the owners and staff are kind and attentive. We did not want to leave and will be back for sure. Thank you!
Teri & Stephen Gloucester MA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Special Place to Stay

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

I thought of not sharing my thoughts of staying at the Cabana Las Floras, just because it was such a delight and I didn't want to share it with all, but that would not be right. This was the sweetest,most charming vacation place I have ever stayed. The owners are helpful, discreet in their presence and good people. The property is clean, well kept and loved. I felt like I was in a tropical, lust garden that when I went away, I always wanted to come back to the Cabana. For a beautiful, peaceful,quiet and enchanting place to stay, The Cabana Las Floras is the place for you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic stay!

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

We stayed at Dino and Florida's place for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in California.

In summary we had a really memorable time. Dino and Florida are lovely people and always available to help if required. For example, we had not done much research on Santa Barbara and Dino was happy to fill us in on the must see places. The Cabana is located in Montecito which is a lovely spot a short drive from Butterfly Beach and the shops of Santa Barbara.

The are stunning and we found that in the evenings we were quite happy simply exploring and relaxing before settling down for a nice bbq.

Overally a great stay in a lovely setting further enhanced by wonderful hospitality.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Montecito Experience

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

Dino and Florida have an exquisite 1.5 acre property in Montecito. We have rented many other homes in Montecito/Santa Barbara and their property will not dissapoint! Lisa, their property Mgr was a gracious host. We stayed 7 nights and picked fresh herbs and tomatoes in their herb garden to marinate our chicken dinners (cooked via the excellent BBQ by the pool), swam daily in the pool/spa, woke up early each morning, made coffee and sat in silence by the pool, Tea room or other beautiful sitting spots, played fetch with their cute dog (Gigi).
Had a perfect wifi connection - so I could check on office emails, watched TV on the great TV, joined the Montecito YMCA and worked out daily at that beautiful facility - and generally lived like a Montecito local for 7 days.
Thank you for our wonderful, memorable vacation experience. In our opinion - a far superior experience to a hotel.
Russ, Laurie and Ashton.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Santa Barbara Hideaway!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

If you are in the area, this home is worth stopping by and staying. My wife and I had a hard time leaving the house. Dino is a gracious host and toured us around the grounds. Not only is there a pool and spa, but there is an extensive garden with native and exotic plants, as well as, fruit trees. There are little hidden spots to sit and read a book or bask in the sun. The Cabana is amazingly clean with all the amenities. Dino designed and built it for comfort. We loved our stay and found ourselves rushing back to the Cabana from the city. We will try and stay here again soon! Not to be missed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place to get away

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

This is a great romantic and unique place away from the bustle of city life. Being close to Santa Barbara also means access to a good selection of restaurants and various activities. We were here mostly to get away from the city, sit back and relax. Enjoyed every minute of the stay!

Not being a generic hotel and knowing the helpful owner adds to the pleasant vacation experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Opera Parents (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada)

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Our stay in Montecito was exceptional and our hosts, Dino and Florida (and Gigi) were so accommodating. This special place is unlike anything we have ever experienced and we will definitely return to this little paradise when we return to the Santa Barbara area. The pictures do not do justice to the property and it was fun to explore the gardens and other special features. We have met many special people in our stay and look forward to another visit to sunny California.
Thanks so much - Barb and Bill

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Santa Barbara

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This was one of our best vacations. Florida and Dino have a little paradise there. The place is beautiful and peaceful. We enjoyed every single day and didn't want to leave - a week felt only like a long day.

Thank you Florida and Dino for sharing this place with us. We'll be back for sure.

Adina&Sergiu

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolute Bliss

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

It's a little piece of heaven. Words and pictures do not do it justice. The grounds and gardens are breathtaking. We could have spent every moment of every day just exploring and taking it all in. It was such a blessing for us to be able to get married underneath one of garden's massive trees. I have no doubt that our pictures will be amazing.

Thanks to Lisa for always being there to lend a hand, offer a suggestion or share in our wedding cake with us! It was great to have Gigi's company too since we were missing the company of our pups. Gigi has such a sweet personality. Unfortunately, we didn't get to meet Dino and Florida, but there is plenty of time for that since we absolutely plan on coming back for our 1 year anniversary!

Don't think twice. This property if a must if you are looking for a little oasis. Be sure to rent a car for easy and quick transportation in an out of town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lainey

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Unbelievable property with exquisite landscaping. As relaxing as the island of Kauai which is hard to believe but true. Dino and Florida are amazing hosts and go above and beyond to make sure you have the vacation experience that you want. Their dog Gigi is so smart and entertaining that we referred to her as "Gigi the wonder dog!!" You will not go wrong if you choose this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect week

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

This was a perfect getaway for my husband and myself - comfortable, romantic secluded, yet near restaurants and shopping. Dino and Florida were wonderful hosts, and provided anything we asked for. Their gardens were spectacular - prettier even than the pictures. We were 10 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara, where we could walk on the beach and try local restaurants. We enjoyed our day tour of vineyards - we recommend STAGECOACH CO WINE TOURS - they were not only very good, but included a winery/horse farm that was spectacular = Bella Cavalli vineyard and only they go there. They will also let you request any vineyard you want. We also enoyed 1st Thursday art show and Sunday's arts and craft show. We visited the REAGAN LIBRARY, an hour away, and the Nixon library, only 40 minutes from LAX. We would highly recommend Cabanas Las Flores and look forward to returning

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

My wife and I took our last getaway before our first child will be born and we could not have chosen a better a place. The property is beautiful. The house is cozy, well appointed, and close to everything. I would not recommend staying anywhere but Cabana Las Floras while visiting Montecito/Santa Barbara. We have rented almost 10 times from VRBO and sometimes you get what you pay for and sometimes you don't. Cabana Las Floras is worth every penny. The property is 5 star and really gives you a feel for Montecito living.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Small, Hidden Paradise

Review submitted: April 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We chose to stay at Cabana Las FLoras for several nights before heading home to NY, after having worked in Santa Barbara for 6 months. It is a perfect little paradise to just relax and unwind. Dino and Florida are incredible hosts and were more than accommodating to make our stay perfect. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept, with incredible attention to detail. If I'm back in the area I will certainly stay with them again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shangri-La Getaway

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Excellent paradise-like getaway with a surrounding garden and landscape almost out of Eden. The place smells wonderful, with flowers and plants galore. Its quiet and peaceful, with opportunity for outdoor walks along the garden trails, a dip in the pool, and an evening in the hot tub. The accommodations are also superb, with large rooms, TV, bedroom and bath.
Proprietors are friendly and accommodating. We will stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A very nice, secluded , hideaway.

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Cabana Las Floras can be described as a sort of casita that is near, but detached from the main house. The main house is two stories and essentially looks out over the cabana/pool area but there is such an amazing quantity and variety of vegetation that you can come and go and use the casita and pool area with the feeling of near-total privacy. The pool is suprisingly large and goes to 8 feet deep so is ok for diving. Dino is very cordial and easy to talk to and, if you're so inclined, it's interesting to have him describe the vegetation and how Cabana Las Floras came to be. The cabana is essentially two large rooms, one being the living/dining/kitchen area with the large-screen TV. It has many windows but no window coverings. The other room is the bedroom and closet with adjacent bathroom, both of which have access to the outdoors. The bedroom is spacious, quiet and has windowcoverings. There is no view of the ocean but if you're looking for a secluded, romantic hideaway, Cabana Las Floras is perfect.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Montecito Paradise

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

Amazing!!! My wife and I found this property to be very peaceful and beautiful. When you walk through the gate and enter the grounds you immediately feel a peaceful calm. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with natural rock and live oak trees. There is also a mix of tropical plants and trees that bring an island feel to the landscape. The spa is perfectly located with unobstructed views of the night sky. The sound of the waterfall and all the birds singing gives you the feel of a tropical island jungle. The rock pathways through the gardens are fun and capture childhood memories of adventure. The cabana is a Spanish mission style with beautiful solid wood window casings and doors. The wall of doors open up to bring the outside into the living space. Dino and Florida were very friendly and made us feel at home. We will most certainly stay here again...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful time

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

Hello Florida and Dino,

We had a wonderful time at your place, and we are looking forward to coming back next year. Please, throw a ball to Gigi from us.

Hilde and Eckard

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

My fiancee and I stay here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The house is immaculate, spacious and comfortable, the grounds gorgeous and the hosts truly hospitable. The hot tub and pool are also outstanding. During the days, we enjoyed driving around Montecito, Santa Barbara and the Santa Ynez valley. At night we retired to the house and simply relaxed. Overall a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

My fiancee and I stay here for three nights and really enjoyed our stay. The house is immaculate, spacious and comfortable, the grounds gorgeous and the hosts truly hospitable. The hot tub and pool are also outstanding. During the days, we enjoyed driving around Montecito, Santa Barbara and the Santa Ynez valley. At night we retired to the house and simply relaxed. Overall a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oasis!

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

My partner and I took this trip to celebrate my graduation and to ring in the New Year!! We did just that!! We were close to all the main attractions but also far enough away from the lights and action to relax in this OASIS of a retreat!! We look forward to returning for a honeymoon..that is of course after I get a ring on my finger..ha ha!! We give this a 5 star rating for the courtesy of the hostess and the elegence of your surroundings. Thank you, Dino and Florida!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This place is wonderful!!!

For our wedding anniversary, my husband surprised me with a trip to Santa Barbara. Santa Barbara on its own is a great place for a weekend get-away but he really swept me off my feet with this choice for our ‘weekend home’.

Cabana Las Floras is a very romantic place. The garden is awesome! The cabana gives you the feeling that you are ‘away from it all’, yet you are home!

The inside of the house is lovely and equipped with everything you need. The host Dino and Florida are the best. They give you your privacy and are very knowledgeable about Santa Barbara must-go places.

We would definitely come back to this place. Highly recommended!

And I must add, to my husband, you are the best for choosing this place! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We certainly enjoyed our week stay at the Cabana Las Floras. Dino and Florida are awesome hosts. They are there if you need anything or have questions, or wish to be social, but if you wish more privacy, you don't even know they are around. Florida has a gift for hospitality, showing up at just the right time with a tray of local goodies. The gardens around the cabana are lush, as beautiful as any we've seen. Listening to the sound of the waterfall, watching the birds, and lounging in the secluded spots around the property is wonderful. It is very quiet here. The attention to detail was very much appreciated. One night, we had a wonderful night around the fire pit enjoying the stars, and other evenings we enjoyed the outdoor spa. We'd certainly like to come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cabana Las Floras

Review submitted: November 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2011

The grounds and accommodations are amazing. Most appropriate for one couple. There is not a full kitchen which I mis-understood however the kitchenette was very sufficient. (no stove) The Cabana is in close quarters to the main house however, privacy was not much of an issue. We spent our honeymoon here and basically had the run of the grounds, pool, hot tub, bbq etc. I read in the guest book that sometimes the owners spend more time with the guests than we did which we took to understand this place is as private or social as you would like. Dino and Florida are excellent hosts and the little oasis they have crated is quite nice. Recommend a soak in the spa with a bottle of champagne and coffee in the 'zen' seating area in the morning.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

This place is AMAZING!!! So peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. Could not have found a more perfect place to enjoy a couple days off. Dino & Florida were the best! The most down to earth, sweetest people. Enjoyed the pool, the walk around the garden, the HUGE lemons :o) the privacy, the information & directions to good dining, the wine, fruit, cheese & nuts on arrival, the beach, the clean Cabana, the comfy bed, all of it. We felt so welcomed from the time we arrived. Would certainly go back and hated to leave. Thank you Dino & Florida for allowing us to enjoy your property. Beautiful!!! Rob & Bon

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Getaway in Santa Barbara

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We had such a wonderful stay at Cabana Las Floras. Dino and Florida were very hospitable and eager to help in any way. The grounds and property are beautiful and offered a nice get away from the obligations we had in Santa Barbara. The cabana is spacious and well equiped and the pool and spa are as lovely as the pictures show.

Overall, we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. We hope to be back soon and often.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradisial

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

It was an absolutely delightful stay at this comfortably sized cabana.

Aside from being warm and fun, Florida and Dino thought of everything. Tucked in the drawers and cabinets are picnic cooler, beach bag and towels, throws, pillows, tea lights... as you would find at home; each room was luxuriously decorated with fresh flowers and plants and still they'll check in to make sure you have everything you need.

I wanted a restful vacation, a place where I can spend days and not feel cooped up if I didn't feel like venturing out. It was perfect, so beautifully planted around the garden, patio and pool. The hummingbird at the pavilion, Gigi, the birds in the oak tree and the stars above the spa will keep you accompanied.

For the city scene, Santa Barbara is a 15 mins of scenic drive away and for a ferry ride outdoor adventure, Ventura is 30 mins by car; it's in a perfect location.

You'll enjoy it as much as I did!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2011

We've just come back from Dino and Florida's amazing holiday home and the only thing we can say is - WOW! Everything everybody says about this property is true - it's beautiful, spacious and luxurious and Dino and Florida are excellent hosts offering support and lots of privacy. We can't recommend it enough. Montecito and Santa Barbara are gorgeous and knowing we were coming home to our own private paradise made it even better. We stayed for 5 nights but could have stayed much longer. Don't bother looking any further - just book it!
Sue and Ed Mayo, UK

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfection

Review submitted: August 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed. From the very start we were treated like one one of the family, even by GiGi. The cabana was nothing short of perfect with a gorgeous oasis right outside the door. We are already in the process of planning our next trip out CA. If you get a chance to hula hoop DON'T pass it up!!!!!!!! Too much fun and Florida makes it look not only easy but beautiful. Dino was a great host who made us fill right at home and totally at ease. It would be a shame to visit The Montecito area and miss this hidden treasure!!!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

our honeymoon!

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

We had a great time at the Cabana! Dino and Florida were wonderful hosts and were very attentive to our needs, but also gave us the privacy that was needed. The pool, the garden and the cabana were beautiful and we found travel into Santa Barbara and wine country to be very easy from this location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay and Wonderful Hosts

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

We stayed at this fantastic holiday rental for 5 days as part of our honeymoon road trip and our expectations were surpassed in every way. As others have said the photo's on Homeaway are beautiful but still do not do the property, pool and gardens justice. The hosts Dino and Florida were attentive and approachable looking after us during our entire stay but also respecting our privacy. Ensure to use Dino's restaurant recommendations as his experience of the local area will avoid a disappointment! I would have no hesitation in recommending this property and would be back in a flash given the chance.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Get Away for 25th Anniversary

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

We are a little remiss in sending our review - sorry Dino. Hy husband and I stayed 6/26 and 6/27 for a two day anniversary celebration. All the reviews are spot on and there is not much we can add. Dino and Florida are extremely gracious hosts and the grounds are as beautiful as discussed in previous reviews. We highly recommend this vacation rental to anyone who needs a peaceful, secluded vacation that is still near enough to Santa Barbara and all that it offers. From the bottom of our hearts we thank you Dino and Florida.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing, Wonderful Stay!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 5, 2011

Dino & Florida really do have a "Tropical Paradise" that more than lives up to the pictures and the ad. They are very welcoming hosts, and Dino's restaurant picks never disappoint. We had wonderful stay in the Cabana. It was beautiful, clean, and comfortable. It was a great location whether visiting downtown Santa Barbara or Montecito. We would highly recommend this to couples looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Week In Montecito

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

Overall, a great experience. The property is beautiful and assiduously cared for. Dino and Florida are very friendly, accommodating and attentive to any requests. The cabana was spotlessly clean- the only suggestion we have is that maid service of some kind be provided; we were there for a week and it would have been nice. On the other hand, when we asked for fresh towels, they were provided immediately. The kitchen is a little rudimentary but we ate out in Montecito or Santa Barbara most of the time. Via Vai in Montecito was excellent. The San Ysidro Ranch was overrated. The drive to Foxen Winery was spectacular and visiting the seal colony in Carpinteria and the drive to Rose Valley were other highlights.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gardeners' Delight

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

This is the year to invest in our memories, and our memories at this truly magical place will forever stay with us. The quiet location is truly relaxing. We especially liked the traditional Mediterranean architecture which is so wonderful in Santa Barbara. The garden is obviously a labor of love for these gracious hosts. Be sure to check out Lotusland, another fabulous garden just a few miles away. Thank you Florida, Dino & Gigi for such a wonderful place to enjoy! We look forward to seeing all of the additions to the garden very soon!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabana Las Floras - paradise

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

My spouse and I had an amazing time. We were there for 9 nights and would have stayed longer had we not had to get back to reality! The property is gorgeous and very private. We used the hot tub several times and would have used the pool as well, but the weather was a bit cool. Dino and Florida are generous hosts and are available if you have questions or need anything, but also hands off if you prefer that too. We are definitely going to be repeat visitors to Cabana Las Floras!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best House in Monticito

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at this home for the weekend and fell in love with it. The owners were very friendly and the home was clean and beautiful. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Even better than the pictures!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2011

Dino & Florida have created a very serene, lush piece of heaven there in Montecito. The cabana is aesthetically very appealing finished with all high-end, quality materials. Wish I could live there year round!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AMAZING Stay

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 24, 2011

Dino & Florida - Owner Hospitality: AMAZING!
Vacation Rental: AMAZING!
Grounds/Area: AMAZING!
Bed/Bathroom/Living Room: AMAZING!
Ambiance/Energy: AMAZING!
Fireplace w/furnished firewood: AMAZING!
The Experience: AMAZING!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fabulous

Review submitted: March 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 13, 2011

Everything about the Cabana was fabulous ... amazing "little home", beautiful grounds, great location and wonderful hospitality. We have stayed at a number of rental properties in the past and this is one of the very best. We would highly recommend the Cabana to our friends and family ... but almost want to keep it a secret so that it is available next time we are in the Santa Barbara area. Thank you, Dino and Florida, for sharing your beautiful Cabana and grounds!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A very special place!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful cottage at the beginning of January. Due to other obligations, we were only able to stay for two nights, but wished that we had the time to stay longer. Dino and Florida are warm, loving, and very accommodating hosts and we also would have liked to have had more time to visit with them. The cottage is very cozy, and very clean. The grounds are spectacular! We stayed at this property when it was very cold for us (we are from Hawaii). Our next visit will be in the warmer months. It would be great to spend time out by the pool, or just reading in the gazebo. It is a very peaceful and quiet property. The property is not far from the beach. It is a great place for long walks from any direction. We went to Jeannine's in Montecito for breakfast during our stay. It gets busy, but the food is healthy and very good. We would definitely recommend this cottage... it truly is a special place and the owners are very special people!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cabana las floras

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

What a wonderful, romantic stay we had at Cabana Las Floras!! Gorgeous cottage, pool and gardens. The only disappointment was having to leave! We have stayed at many memorable rentals but this is defiantly our favorite. My husband and I are already planning our next visit ...our thanks to our fabulous hosts Dino and Florida!!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOWWWWW - AMAZING PROPERTY

Review submitted: December 9, 2010   Date of arrival: November 26, 2010

This was our first time doing a vacation rental vs a hotel and I wasnt sure what it would be like staying on someone else's property while they were there too. After reading all the glowing reviews we decided to book for 9 nights. I cant say enough good things about our time spent there.

Dino and Florida are such wonderful people and the hospitality we received goes beyond anything I could have imagined. As soon as we arrived they made us feel like we were visiting close friends, next time we actually will be.

This property is absolutly AMAZING. It's hard to decide whether you want to swing in the hammock, read in the tea house or walk the grounds. It's all so beautiful, romantic and relaxing. My husband and I had a hard time leaving to go anywhere else. When you do decide to leave the property, everything is within a 5-10 minute drive.

Cabana Las Floras was so comfortable and included anything you could possibily need. We really felt at home and will absolutely be visiting again, not only to enjoy another very relaxing trip but to also spend time with our new friends. We had such a great time.

I would highly recommend this property!

Thanks for everything,
Lynn & Bernie

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Privacy in Paradise

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

Dino and Florida's cabana offers privacy, luxury amenities, and beautiful gardens in a peaceful Montecito location. The location is very easy to travel from - so no worries if you're hoping on the 101, headed out to hike or just down to Coast Village Rd to shop or enjoy dinner. Inviting touches like fresh flowers, coffee, and chocolate were appreciated and really made the cabana feel like ours. The wi-fi and plasma tv allowed us to stay in touch with the outside world when we chose to.

We felt so welcome during our stay and took advantage of many of Dino's restaurant recommendations. We recommend this rental property without any hesitation and look forward to a return trip. Don't miss touring the gardens and dinner at the San Ysidro Ranch, a day trip to the Channel Islands, and sunset cocktails at the Biltmore.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 27, 2010

Dear Dino and Florida,
We had such a wonderful time staying with you. Our apologies for not saying a proper good-bye.
Your place is amazing and we truly felt that we "lived" here...yet you were only a few steps away if the need arose.
Our trip to Santa Barbara was perfect and to a large extent your "oasis" was a big part of that. We're looking forward to a return trip (if you'll have us)!
Please keep in touch if you're ever on the East Coast.

Our Best,
Michael and Kandi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Perfect Spot

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

We needed somewhere to stay for one week that was close to Santa Barbara, as our friends were getting married.
It had to be peaceful, beautiful, not too remote and above all be the ideal place to relax and soak up the sun.
I searched the internet and found Casa Las Floras.
Trust me, it was the best choice for a break I have made for a long time.
Dino and Florida were perfect hosts, they really do let you use their place as if it is your own and are always there when you need something.
I am already recommending it to my friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Beautiful

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

I surprised my husband with a few days stay at this romantic giveaway. What you see is what you get and even more so. Dino and Florida were wonderful. Thank you for the hoola-hoop lessons down by the beach. Truly a cool couple and the perfect hosts. The cabana is gorgeous! The landscape is breath-taking. So much so that we didn't really want to leave once we arrived. Would we rent again? Definitely so! Will we stay longer... Oh, that's a no-brainer! WE LOVED IT!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Must Stay....

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

Allison and I were attracted to Cabana Los Flores by both the beautiful pictures on the website and the many positive reviews provided by former guests. Our expectations were therefore quite high before we arrived and to our delight these same expectations were exceeded. This place is even more beautiful than the posted pictures. All the amenities are as described and top notch! Dino and Florida are wonderful hosts and I would not hesitate to recommend Cabana Los Flores to any discriminating couple looking for beautiful and tranquil accomodations very close to all that Santa Barbara has to offer.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cabana Las Flores truly a stay in paradise!

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

It is hard to believe that the cabbana is as great as the pictures. It is a beautiful and well maintained piece of property. We took a wonderfull ride to the Channel Islands and a visit to Lotusland. The best thing was hooping with people at chase palm park. This was an unforgetable vacation! There is no doubt that we would recommend and this property and look forwrd to returning in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pleasant Get Away

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Cabanas las Floras. The garden is beautiful and peaceful. Dino and Florida go out of their way to make sure that your stay is comfortable. Plus, Dino has a lot of good recommendations for local dining.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just perfect.

Review submitted: April 28, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

I cannot say enough good things. Lovely people, lovely place. I needed a quiet getaway, this was perfect, and the pictures just can't do the garden and pool area justice. How blessed they are to live in such a beautiful place, and how great that they are willing to share it! Pat F., Devon, PA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review