reviews for: listing #92716 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Condo rental

Beach Villa # 160 at Palmas Del Mar
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  PalmasDelMar Resort
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Lovely location...needs TLC.

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 3, 2014

The first impression on our arrival wasn't too great. No AC on, upholstery draped here and there, towels in the dryer and dishes in the dishwasher. It seems there was a mix up on our arrival date so nothing was ready for us. We turned the AC on and 24 hours later it was not cooling off. It took 4 days for the repairman to be called and many box fans to keep us slightly comfortable. Another problem was the broken vent on the clothes dryer which blew dust and even more humidity into the condo. The pictures on the website are accurate as to decor, but many, many years old. Lots of dishes and pots and pans, but only 5 teaspoons, 9 forks and 6 cracked plastic drinking glasses. A trip to Super Walmart and Sam's provided us with most of what we needed. (Avoid Ralph's as the prices are VERY high) The location of this condo is spectacular, the view fantastic. The three story, four bedroom set up was great for our family. The pool next door was beautifully taken care of. When we return to Palmas del Mar we will again stay in the Beach Village, but look for a different unit to rent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A real find

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

This is our third winter vacation at this lovely condo and beach resort. We have had as many as 8 adults and one baby staying here and we all found it comfy and affordable. The beach and pool are steps away and the condo itself is very roomy with a large living area and several decks for more space and privacy. Joanne and Jim were extremely helpful in figuring out the logistics of a family gathering which included couples coming from distant places to meet in Palmas. The condo had everything one needed including a crib, high chair, beach toys, directions to restaurants etc. If something was a problem Joanne took care of it immediately for something small like a new can opener to something more important like a shower that needed fixing. Any problem( and there were very few of them) was attended to immediately with a smile. We all look forward to renting this condo again and leaving the cold in the middle of winter!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

GREAT Family Vacation in Palmas!

Review submitted: April 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This is the very first review I have ever written on VRBO, but our experience was so wondeerful that I had to write!

We had an absolutely perfect vacation at this condo! Jim and Joanne were both excellent to work with throughout the entire rental process, and provided an abundance of contact information in case of maintenance issues (there was none). They also helped by providing us with local info such as golf cart rentals, restaurants and so many other items. We had two separate families and a total of 10 people staying in the condo and it accomodated all of us with zero problems. Having 4 bedrooms and 3 baths helped a lot! We found that everything was in excellent condition and the condo was very well stocked in the kitchen, baths and bedrooms. Having extra beach towels and beach chairs, along with the washer/dryer was very convenient. The beach is about a 30 second walk out the front door, so we spent a lot of time there. My wife woke early every morning and walked the beach for sunrise and always felt very safe.

We were also blessed by the beauty, cleanliness, safety and security of the Resort. We rented golf carts and had a blast exploring the large community and visiting different restaurants and beaches. The kids LOVED having the golf carts. We didn't play golf or tennis, but it sure was tempting. We opted for relaxing on the beach most days, and during the week the beach was practically deserted. It was SO MUCH better than a Florida spring break vacation! Puerto Rico is a gorgeous island. The combination of a large and comfortable condo, great beach, great resort community, a trip to El Yunque rainforest to swim in a waterfall, and a bioluminescent kayak adventure makes for an unforgettable vacation experience. A 10 out of 10!

Thanks again, Jim and Joanne, for allowing us to rent your lovely condo. We pray that our family can return soon!! Ben

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: On this web-site there are, including this brand new and spectacular review, 18 reviews -- 15 five-star reviews (that's 5 out of 5 - a perfect score) and two also very favorable four-star reviews. We always say that "the best test is a happy guest" -- and 18 out of 18 great reviews is as good as it gets.
We have owned a home at Palmas Del Mar and vacationed at Palmas for over 30 years - it is our favorite place on earth! So, of course, we are thrilled when Ben says in his review - "WE HAD AN ABSOLUTELY PERFECT VACATION IN THIS CONDO!"
Please contact us for a great vacation in our beautiful condo at Palmas Del Mar. We look forward to hearing from you, Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Vacation in Palmas

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 2, 2013

I traveled to Palmas with 3 friends (4 total guys) just after the New Year. We were absolutely thrilled with our entire experience. Palmas del Mar is a completely enclosed resort community...but an enormous one. The community contains numerous sub-communities, a hotel with a casino, and many restaurants. If you want to eat out every night, you literally never have to leave the resort. If you want to cook (which we did), there are excellent grocery stores (better than my city in the US) about 10 minutes away by car.

The condo was exactly as pictured above...no surprises or camera tricks. The views were great! The condo is literally across a little parking lot from the stunning beach, which was mostly deserted, and the pool is a 1-2 minute walk from the front door. The hotel and casino are a 5 minute walk, and the golf course is literally the back yard. It was a superb location.

Everything went smoothly from start to finish. The key was mailed to me well in advance. No problems finding the place. We had a small electrical problem during the stay which was fixed immediately, and we saw the owners a number of times, who kept making restaurant recommendations. Advice: if they recommend Chez Danielle, listen.

The condo was comfortable, well-appointed, quiet, and roomy. Palmas was paradise. There is even a Catholic Church in the resort itself (which was great for us). We were about 40-60 minutes from San Juan and the Bacardi factory (which was fun).

All in all, it was a stellar experience. I hope to return with my brother and his family before too long!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As you can see from the many wonderful reviews below, our condo - Beach Villa 160 - and the spectacular resort it is in - Palmas Del Mar - provide a great vacation setting for many different people. And this review - "Awsome Vacation in Palmas" - sets the gold standard as a complete and informative review. We ave loved our vacations at Palmas for more thna 30 years. And as this review confirms, we are sure you will love it too. Please contact us so we can get you started on the way to an "Awsome Vacation in Palmas." Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Bring your family to Palmas Del Mar and this fabulous Condo and Resort!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Would you believe that 7 very individualistic family members would have perfect sleeping accommodations and peaceful stay? Yes! Beach and Ocean right there. Quiet pool right there! Horseback riding, Great restaurants. Within travel to El Yunque and San Juan.Our home away from home was clean, well supplied met all our needs. Also 2 balconies for quiet times. Very helpful owners. Our holiday time with family was a success in great part due to this fine home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wonderful stay in Palmas Del Mar!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the beach villa. The condo was well appointed and very spacious, and the views were terrific from both front and back of the condo. The resort is phenomenal, and the major highways to Humacao made it easy for our family to tour all over the island.

The owners provided us with a very thorough information pack, restaurant and activity recommendations and excellent directions from the San Juan airport!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Lisa - we are delighted that you and your family loved Palmas Del Mar and our condo -- we love Palmas too !! While other visitors have pointed out, as you have, what a nice place Palmas is to get to the interesting sight seeing places in Puerto Rico, I think you are the first to comment on the fact that it also great for adventure seekers. For example, the near by adventure park - Toroverde - has, we believe, the longest zip-line in the U.S. Palmas also is a great place to kick back and do NOTHING. Either way, it works! Again, many thanks for your enthusiastic comments, Joanne & Jim

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation!

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

This was our first vacation outside of the continental US and we will definately be coming back to Palmas Del Mar. The condo was clean, cool and very spacious. We all had our own bedroom, balconies and bathrooms! It was great having the full kitchen and laundry, so we felt right at home. The weather was perfect, and the water was wavy and warm. We spent almost every day on the beach, playing in the waves, having a delicious Bohio Burger in our bathing suits at the great beachside restaurant, then relaxing in the warm, quite pool next to the condo. Everything was in walking distance to the condo, and we wouldnt have changed a thing. We did have a car, and visited El Yunke (got to swim in a waterfall), the Bioluminescent Bay night-time kayaking adventure (very cool!), and various other beaches in PR. Even when having an adventurous day, we were very happy to be back at Palmas, and agreed that the best part of the vacation was being at the Beach Villa and enjoying the beach and pool. Great Vacation!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Sue - thanks so much for your review! As we mentioned to you, we have owned a Beach Villa unit at Palmas Del Mar for more than 30 years. We have traveled to more than 80 countries and Palmas Del Mar is our favorite place on the planet. We are delighted that you love it too, that you felt "right at home" in our Beach Villa and that you "will definately be coming back" in the future !! All the best to you and your family, Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Holiday Get Away

Review submitted: January 13, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Look no further! This property is leagues above everything else. Our family spent a fabulous week right before Christmas and the villa had everything and more to make our stay fun, enjoyable and absolutely perfect. We had our 2-1/2 year old granddaughter and a couple 20-something go-getters and everyone was happy. First -- the villa is pristine and the owners' maid even made sure we had apple juice, cereal and bananas for our little one when we got there. The next thing we found was the doll and stroller, so we knew we were in the right place. All rooms in the villa are spacious and beautifully decorated, the owners have thought of every possible amenity. The beds are heavenly. The beach is across the street; the pool is next door(and we had it to ourselves most times); the beach club is a nice walk or short drive and had a perfectly sized waterplay area for our toddler; the plaza grocery & all restaurants charming & delicious; the marina enchanting. Great location, less than an hour from San Juan, the rainforest, kayaking or taking a catamaran to bioluminescent bay. Take Matt's Cat to the wreck for snorkeling. Horseback riding is wonderful on trails & beach, and the toddler had her own first pony ride on Chihuahua...she is still talking about it! Everything listed here and what the owners share with you is spot on. No surprises except how addictive it is to wake up each morning and have great Puerto Rican coffee on one of the balconies and listen to the waves and the breeze in the palm trees. But the best was we were able to meet the owners who are delightfully fascinating and who have poured their hearts into making sure folks who rent this property have MORE than what they need for a great vacation. We can't thank you enough for generously sharing your beautiful Palmas del Mar villa with us. Every day was a celebration. We will return soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW VIRGINIA - As our website makes clear, we LOVE Palmas Del Mar (we have been in more than 80 countries and it is our favorite place in the world). It is just great to meet people who agree with us !! We try very hard to be sure our guests are comfortable in our beautiful villa and we appreciate your enthusiasm so much. We look forward to your next visit to our paradise in Puerto Rico ! Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

VERY SPACIOUS CONDO

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 4, 2011

We stayed at this condo July 4th - 12th and found this property to be quite comfortable for our party of 13(6 adults and 7 children). The unit is well equipped and extremely "kid friendly". There are several beach chairs, toys, a beach umbrella, and cooler which made our time by the beach and pool enjoyable. The one thing that was an issue within the condo, was the A/C in one of the upper bedrooms. We had to purchase a fan, because it was too warm to sleep without one. The Cohens are responsive owners, and accomodated us with all our requests and needs. Palmas del Mar is a gated community and the grounds are beautifully maintained. We all went horseback riding within Palmas at "Buena Vista Ranch" and were extremely pleased by both the staff and price of the one hour ride alongside the beach and golf course. There are golf cart rentals and many restaurants, our favorite being "Cafe de la Plaza". Delicious food, nice atmosphere and the staff speaks english. It was so enjoyable here that we truly felt like family! For anyone wanting to travel outside of the resort, there are several attractions within a one hour drive, which were pretty easy to get to with our GPS. We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Upon learning of the problem with the one A/C unit, we immediately had our A/C man there repair it. But we learned, in the end, that it could not be repaired, and have since, at a $2,000 cost, replaced the compressor in the A/C unit. It is now working perfectly. When our guests return, as they say they will, we are confident their review next time will be perfect.
As it should be obvious to anyone who looks at our web-site, we love Palmas Del Mar and are delighted when our guests do also. We have been returning to Palmas for vacations for over 30 years and in particular liked our guest's closing comment -- "We had a wonderful time and can't wait to return."
As you can see, everything in our guest's comments was very positive, except the comment about "the A/C in one of the upper bedrooms." As noted above, that problem has been fixed.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Palmas Del Mar is a beautiful place

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

The owners were very responsive to emails and phone calls. The grounds in the neigborhood of this second floor condo are kept extremely well kept. The condo itself is nice and the beds, very comfy. My only complaint is that the air conditioning has to be cranked up to make the second level bedrooms cool enough for sleeping and then the main floor is cold. There is everything you would need supplied, like kitchen appliances, dishes and pots, thick towels, soap, hair dryer, cable TV and internet, washer and dryer, beach chairs and umbrella.The beach is a very short walk away and the little plaza where there are several restaurants, post office in a souvenir shop, ATM and a nice little grocery store is convenient by car or golf cart as is the yacht club (golf cart rentals and a bar/restaurant there).There are more restaurants in another part of the marina away from the yacht club at the other end of the marina. You definitely need a golf cart or car for that. We ate at two of the 3 restaurants there and were very pleased. Having visited in June, the whole area was very quiet. Almost no people anywhere during the week, then on Friday night through Sunday there was something approaching a decent crowd. We were told that this is the slowest time of year for tourists. My teenage daughter and her friend rode horses here and were very happy with their experience. There are many adventurous and fun activities to do within a one hour drive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to vacation

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Great place and very responsive owners. Made our experience enjoyable. We will definatly return. Our group was large ( 12 ) and yet we where very comfortable. Thanks to the Cohens.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love Palmas Del Mar and are delighted that Anthony and his group of 12 were all comfortable in our condo,
loved Palmas and will be back with us again in the furure. Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond My Expectations

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2010

After a long search to find a vacation rental in Palmas del Mar for our guests who were attending my fathers birthday celebration; this property matched my critera to accommodate those guests. The Cohen's have made the rental process very simple and remained very professional. Upon opening the door of the Cohen's condo, pictures did not tell the full story, nor did it do full justice. Everything from linens, furniture and decor accessories enhanced the resort in which this condo was located. The Cohen's certainly work very hard to maintain this beautiful vacation home and have made us feel at home; there was nothing we needed to add to this perfect location. The description matched exactly and would certainly reccommend and re-book this awesome condo again. To Mr. & Mrs. Cohen, I will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Christine ! We are delighted that you and your guests loved our condo and Palmas Del Mar. As we tell all of our prospective guests, we have traveled to over 80 countries and Palmas is still our favorite place on the planet. We are happy that you love it too. We try very hard to be sure the condo is completely equipped and so your telling us that nothing needed to be added is just great. We look forward to your return visit to this spot which you and we have decided is a "perfect location."
Thank you, Jim & Joanne

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Paradise

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

We're back at Beach Villa 160 at Palmas del Mar. When you find PARADISE why try something else. Palmas del Mar has it all - tennis, golf - 72 holes, health spa, swimming pools, expansive white sandy beaches, an equestrian center, a water park and beautiful walking trails. We all rode the wonderful horses along the canals bordering the golf courses. One day we visited Arecibo - the world's largest radio telescope (a little bit of a drive from Palmas - but worth it - a memorable trip, and educational for the children).

Our boys loved the water park and we took a fishing trip.

Beach Villa 160 is well maintained. The unit was our home away from home.
The kitchen is well appointed with utensils for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We made a gourmet meal for 8 people one night and our guests were impressed that a rental unit had so many gadgets that you would find in your own kitchen. What is a little known fact about this side of Puerto Rico is that the sun always shines (well not always, we did have 1/2 day of relief from the sun) in Humacao. The accommodations are wonderful, the kitchen is modern, beds comfortable, TV's in every bedroom, a washer and dryer, and the unit is clean and fragrant. When you find PARADISE why try something else.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

I do not know how to describe this vacation spot in words that adequately translate the fun, pleasure and rejuvenative qualities of our stay at Beach Villa 160 at Palmas del Mar. My husband and two boys, 8 and 11, spent 10 days in Palmas del Mar during the Christmas season in 2008. We went without any expectations. Prior vacations in Puerto Rico had been spent at conventional tourist traps such as the El Conquistador, and the El San Juan hotel, and we had never before ventured to the Southeast coast of the island. Palmas del Mar has what other hotels on the island have – tennis, golf, health spa and beautiful people tanning and relaxing by swimming pools and expansive beaches. In addition to those amenities, Palmas has an equestrian center, a water park and beautiful walking trails. We all had a blast on the wonderful horses riding along the canals bordering golf courses. The boys loved the water park and took a one day snorkeling trip. Beach Villa 160 had everything we needed. The unit became our home away from home. We were able to prepare pleasant meals with the windows open to let in the sea air. We picked up food at the local grocery stores, if we didn’t feel like eating out at nearby restaurants.What is a little known fact about this vacation spot is the weather and the warm, moist, regenerative air. The children were dispirited when we arrived in the airport; it was rainy, the clouds overcast, and a weather forecast of eight more days of rain. When we entered the limousine, my youngest son shared with the driver his concern about the weather. “What can we do here when it rains?” he asked. The driver laughed and said that the sun always shines in Humacao. And shine it did for 10 days. There was a shower or two, in the late afternoon or at night, but we had 10 glorious days of sunshine while it rained all week in San Juan. I checked the weather history of Humacao compared to San Juan, and the facts backed up what the limousine driver reported – compared to San Juan, annually there is less than half the amount of precipitation, less humidity and the weather is more temperate – it is the weather of paradise. My son who suffers from asthma had an episode-free visit. We all returned to Westchester, NY with good health and clear complexions. The accommodations are wonderful, the kitchen is modern, beds comfortable, and the unit is clean and fragrant. It is on par with many of the luxurious hotels in the area. The beach

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We (6 adults/4 children)rented the 'Beach Villa' for 10 days in July '08. We were pleasantly surprised to see it was beautifully decorated and so convenient to the beach, pool next to building and amenities within walking distance. Definitely would rent it again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 28, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

A very nice property and an excellent value. The
villa is large, very clean, well maintained, and
located in a beautiful resort area. The excellent
pool is located right next door and the ocean is
across the street. A beach club, with excellent
facilities, is a short walk away. We stayed here at
Xmas time with 4 adults and 3 children. There was
plenty of room and we had plenty of fun.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We had a fabulous time at the villa. It was exactly as the owner's described. The villa, views and pool were perfect. We discovered a wonderful restaurant, Paradise Sea Food Restaurant in Punta Santiago. We ferried to a wonderful beach on the island, Culebra. We night kayaked to the biolumeniscent lagoon off Fajardo which was an unbelievable experience. We checked out the rain forest, Old San Juan and Ponce, all worth the drive. We just loved it. You should go too!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

To whom may see this: My family of 5 (ages 58,57,28,26,and 24)just got back from Palmas del Mar, in Humacao, Puerto Rico. We spent 6 days at Villa 160 in Palmas, rented from Jim and Joanne Cohen. The condo was exceptional and the stay was spectacular. Absolutely, everything that Joanne said about the condo is true. Absolutely everything about the area was also true. The scenery, ocean and environment was wonderful. We went on a fishing trip with Captain Matthew from Margata Charters. He owns a powered catamaran and is a very honest, nice man. We did not catch anything but trolled steady for 6 hours. We enjoyed him so much that we also went on a snorkeling trip with him to Monkey Island. We had a great vacation and a ifetime of memories. We all recommend the Cohen's slice of Paradise highly. If you want to hear more feel free to contact me at: 559-299-1187. If you do go, make sure you rent a GPS with your car rental. It will make your driving much better. Steve Shute

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 30, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

Beautiful safe resort. Condo in good condition and well equipped. Had a great time. Pool right next to condo, beach under 200 feet from Condo. Good resturaunts, had a great day snorkeling on nearby monkey island.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Beautiful comfortable condo with great beach, tennis courts and instructors, golf, pool, horseback riding rentals and instruction, good restaurants and friendly people. We will definitely go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review