reviews for: listing #92718 - Galena, Illinois Townhome rental

Enjoy a Cozy, Secluded and Affordable Friendly Retreat!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Galena Territory
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $97 - $157 /nt
    $677 - $777 /wk
    $3,000 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Very cozy and intimate

Review submitted: August 14, 2014   Date of arrival: May 22, 2014

This is truly a very cozy property, the layout of the townhouse is very nice and convenient, and it was very clean and equipped with everything that we needed. All the items that were described in the property description were available to us on site. Renting this property also gave us access to the owner's club, located a few of minutes of driving away, where we found indoor/outdoor pools (including a kids pool that our 19 month old son loved), basketball court, tennis courts, table tennis, billiard tables, etc.
Downtown Galena is about 15 minutes away, and I also recommend a visit to Dubuque while in the area.
The owners are very friendly and helpful, and since we rented the place for more than 3 nights, they offered a us discount.
We had a wonderful time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect vacation rental!

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 19, 2014

Compliments you and your wife for the very well equipped condo! We had everything we needed and more. All of your personal touches to make the condo feel homey were greatly appreciated. The welcome book is very helpful and we loved all the details in there. Also, the bedding is so comfy and we slept wonderfully.
Thank you again, we will return in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The villa with a lot of space.

Review submitted: June 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

Absolutely perfect. Clean inviting and very quiet. We really appreciated the booklet of directions. The short drive to galena was perfect. Also we enjoyed the reviews of the shops and the eateries. Thanks for four very relaxed days at your place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great mother and two adult daughters getaway

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

The condo was perfect; it was in a scenic, woodsy area. The owners information manual was complete and very useful. The coffee and wide array of condiments was welcome. We were impressed by the Owners Club and spent as much time there as in Galena. Wonderful trip! I think it would be equally enjoyable for a family with children.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Weekend!!

Review submitted: March 19, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

We had such an amazing time this weekend in Galena - mostly because we had such a wonderful place to stay! We spent our days at the wineries and walking to various shops, but towards the end of the day it started to rain/snow, so we headed to our rental. The place was so inviting, and cozy - being able to have the fireplace on with the snow outside was picture perfect. We picked up food and planned on making a nice lasagna for dinner, and the kitchen had all the utensils we needed. Everything worked out great. Would definitely recommend this to friends/family. One of the girls even loved the artwork in the living room so much, that we looked up the artist, and she pans on buying a couple of prints. :) Thanks again for a wonderful weekend!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

A wonderful place for my family of 4 to stay. Very clean and well maintained. The kitchen was full of the little things that you might need while preparing meals at home. It was only a short drive to go skiing at Chestnut Mountain and to downtown Galena. We look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 16, 2014

This vacation rental met all of our expectations. Very spacious, clean, with ample kitchen supplies. All of the finer details were attended to. The location is close to Chestnut Mountain and downtown Galena. It is located in a beautiful landscape, with various outdoor recreation opportunities. The wildlife within the territory is bountiful, including the various species of birds that could be seen outside the condo windows. The owners go out of their way to provide everything you need. I would definitely recommend this property to others. Thank you for our stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great clean condo.

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The condo was very inviting and had everything we needed and more. We met the owners and found them very helpful and pleasant. We had a fun day of skiing at Chestnut Mountain and also did some cross country skiing just outside the condo door. There is something for
everyone to do. Looking forward to our next chance to come back to Galena. Thanks Jim and Jenny.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

This condo was great for 4 of us (?2 adults and 2 teens) for a New Years ski getaway. It was clean , comfortable and spacious with a big enough living area for all of us to watch football together. The owners have stocked it well with everything we needed including dishwasher soap, hand soap, and extra garbage bags (much appreciated compared to some other places we have stayed!). The drive to Chestnut is about 20 minutes but the "back way" to Galena made it easy to get downtown for dinner We hope to stay here again on our next winter ski trip. I would recommend it to another family as well.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Comfort In Galena

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

I took my wife to Galena for our 15th wedding anniversary along with our
brother-in-law/sister-in-law. The unit provided exactly what we wanted. Clean and fully furnished including kitchen staples. We're in our 40's so getting out of 'the city' (Galena) back to Eagle Ridge, provided the perfect atmosphere after a great dinner out: A game table (taboo, cribbage), morning nature walks, bird watching etc. I'd recommend this unit for two couples but probably not three- the pull out bed which would sleep 5 and 6 is too centric- Small kids maybe but not 6 adults. Final words: close to town, very clean, well stocked, perfect for 4, great for a weekend away. We'd go again and hope to book here when we do.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retired couple

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We were celebrating or 50 anniversary everything was as advertised and more the owners was there for questions and even a anniversary gift and card. It's a great condo close to everything.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wedding Stay

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at your lovely town home.it was clean and well-stocked with everything we needed. We appreciated your binder full of useful information. Would have loved to have a larger tv to watch our Cardinals play ball! But otherwise, comfortable and homey! Thanks and will look forward to a return visit!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable, Clean, Quiet - fun girls getaway

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 2, 2013

We had a girls getaway at this unit. The unit is lovely - super-clean and the kitchen is very well supplied with everything you could want. The beds were really comfortable. The unit is not huge but certainly can accomodate 4 people...or 6 if it's family (two can sleep on the pull-out sofa). The unit has a very nice deck and the area directly behind is wooded. And...it is a bargain considering the level of quality and care that are provided in the unit.
Our only disappointment was the owners' recommedation of Mario's Restaurant in DuBuque. Granted it is a bit less expensive than Vinnie Vanucci's but we felt the food and qualtiy was sub-par. Of course, food is literally a matter of taste but...the bread we were served was just white sliced bread - not the crusty Italian bread. We had to ask for olive oil for our bread. The Parmesan cheese - I think - came out of a Kraft can - not the fresh, pungent Parmesan you get a most good restaurants. We felt the food was mediocre and...the bathroom door opened onto the dininig area. Kinda yuk! Maybe it's changed since the last time the owners were there but we were very disappointed and we are not demanding type folks. It was rather run-down and tired looking.We say stick with Vinnie's. Other than that, it was a great time and the owners have done a lovely job in making this unit truly inviting !!!

Gals from Chicago

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am glad you enjoyed our condo. As travelers ourselves, we try to make sure you have what you need to ensure relaxation. We are fortunate to have the best housekeeper in the area who keeps everything squeaky clean.
I am sorry you had a bad experience at Mario's. You are correct that their regular bread is dismal and the Parmesan is shaker style. We always order the Sicilian Salad which comes with their fantastic pizza bread...essentially a pizza covered in olive oil, garlic and pepper. We love their baked pasta dishes, marinara sauce (made every Monday with fresh plum tomatoes from California) and meatballs. Food is a matter of taste and we will update our owner's guide with specific recommendations and incorporate your experience. It is old, tired and a bit of a dive. The new disabled bathroom is in in the back of the the front dining room. It is brand new and they should put up a wall in front of it. We will mention this to Mario.
Thanks so much for staying with us and providing this feedback.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

This is a great place at the end of a block of condos with a wooded backyard. It's a 5-10 min drive to the shops in downtown Galena, and even closer to the great golf courses in the area. - It was clean and comfortable - highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

anniversary couple

Review submitted: September 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

From the beginning our experience was exceptional. The owners were excellent at helping us out when it came to booking and reserving the unit. We knew what to expect before we got there with the accurate photos and all the helpful hints and information the owners sent previous to our stay. The property was so neat, clean and PEACEFUL for a truly a "get away" experience. We had every item we needed in the unit and the owners went out of their way to make us comfortable. The town was so near we could enjoy both the wooded setting and the quaint town with in moments of each other. I would absolutely recommend this property to others. We can't wait to plan the next trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The perfect getaway

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My stay in this cozy, comfortable home could not have been any better. The beds were comfy, the kitchen and bathrooms had everything we needed, and everything was clean. This home is the perfect retreat for whatever brings you to quaint and beautiful Galena.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Magical Women's Weekend

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Our book club rented this property. We had never traveled before and thought we should go someplace close. This was a wonderful place to relax. Everything about it, the furnishings, the colors, the fully stocked staples encourages relaxation. You are tucked away in a wooded area and there are birds everywhere. We were going to go to a restaurant one night, but decided we just wanted to stay in this little slice of heaven. We did have some lovely walks and used the indoor pool which is wonderful. I know there are other beautiful places in the territory, but we are staking this one out for repeat annual trip. Thanks for making this so special for us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

My wife and I and our two grown daughters had a long weekend to do something before getting back to the school grind. Our daughter is a teacher. This condo was the perfect choice for us. Plenty of space and privacy. The bathrooms were extra large and tons of storage so bags are not laying all over the floor. the beds were very comfortable and the kitchen and bathrooms were stocked with all the extras you might need. Usually we go to the cities for some shopping so this was the perfect alternative for me. The girls got plenty of shopping in Galena and it had the small town appeal. A great place to visit and I'm sure we will be staying in the condos again very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful relaxing vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2013

I have never slept as well as I did while staying in this unit. The beds are fabulous, the area is private and serene, and everyone had more than enough space. I was highly impressed with all of the added amenities, such as coffee and condiments in the fridge, shampoo and such in the shower, and even a nice bag of beach towels to use at the beautiful indoor/outdoor pool. I have stayed in other VRBO units that do not provide anything which is extremely inconvenient. The owners clearly know the area well and offered excellent suggestions for activities and restaurants, and my kids loved the games and toys provided. Everything was immaculate and the deck was comfortable and secluded. Definitely a place to stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

The Townhome was very nice. It was perfectly clean, and had all newer furniture and appliances. We really enjoyed the special touches from the owners, like shampoo and condiments and spices. And lists of nice places to go and things to do. We had a wonderful vacation including river boat rides, segways and pontoon rentals. Could not have been more happy with the place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Girls' Golf Getaway

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

Four women off on a three day golf retreat to Galena found the accommodations perfect! The townhome is clean and inviting and stocked with essentials like coffee and shampoo! We loved eating breakfast and having our evening cocktails on the back patio. The place is totally comfortable inside and out... the perfect spot for a golf foursome to call home while visiting Galena.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great Friends getaway

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at our house in Galena. The house was well stocked with everything from ketchup to shampoo in the shower, including my favorite face wash! The reason we gave our stay a 4star is because of the creepy little bugs in the first floor bathroom and bedroom.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This part of the country is plagued in mid-summer by millipedes, aka "those creepy little bugs." They do not bite or carry any disease, totally harmless, except unsightly. They appear after significant rainfall and like to crawl inside peoples' homes, where they curl up and die.

We have contacted several pest control specialists, most of whom simply shrugged their shoulders and advised us to "learn to live with them." One did recommend treating the outside perimeter with extra-strength Ortho bug killer in late spring, which we have done. I've also been told to pour bleach down the laundry room drain, a favorite point of entry, which we also have done several times. Obviously these treatments didn't do much good. I'm reluctant to spray the inside with bug poison, and even that probably wouldn't solve the problem.

In another month or so the bugs will be gone. I've instructed our housekeeper to take extra care to vacuum them up. We also will double efforts to find a cure for this unsightly issue.

Jim Olsztynski
Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyed a great girls' getaway - and your condo was the perfect place!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Thanks so much for providing such a great place to stay in Galena! We would highly recommend it to others!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a great time. The house as wonderful. Very clean and modern. We would diffntely go back again.owners were great people. Very peaceful. Cant wait to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We had a great time. The house as wonderful. Very clean and modern. We would diffntely go back again.owners were great people. Very peaceful. Cant wait to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Weekend

Review submitted: July 4, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

My girlfriends and I wanted a weekend away and this house was perfect. The resort was beautiful along with the views. The pool was awsome and relaxing. The owners of this house have thought of everything. They made us feel like we were at home. The house was very clean and well kept. I would diffently go back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Townhouse!

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

My sisters and I took our Mom to Galena for her 70th birthday. It was a wonderful time and the townhouse was exactly as described. It was perfect for us and gave us plenty of room to relax and enjoy the weekend. Jim & Jenny were wonderful to work with! The information they provided for the Galena area was so helpful! Would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a getaway to Galena! Thanks!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

My family with 2 young children truly enjoyed our stay. The house was small child friendly with a child gate for the steps, movies, games, puzzles, toys, and books to keep them entertained on rainy day. The decor is contemporary and clean. It was really nice to have the common supplies available like shampoo, oil, spices, etc. the downstairs bathroom is very convenient and perfect for our kids. The owner was very polite. Also, I found the guide extremely helpful. It also is important to note that the owner has very good taste in food and is honest in reviewing restaurants, etc. what a wonderful, private place to stay! We hope to come back again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect quite get-away!!!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 21, 2013

Stay at the property for 2 nights during our mother-daughter get away. Could not ask more for a perfect place. The townhouse was very clean, wonderful towels and kitchen set-up, quite peaceful patio, comfortable beds and living room. The owners have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. I would highly recommend staying here. Perfect for a family or girl friends get away. Come and enjoy!!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing family vacation

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We travel to Dubuque frequently to visit family. This time we decided to stay in Galena for a family vacation while celebrating Spring. The townhome was just what we were looking for. Quiet and relaxing but offered a spot for our young children to have some fun. The pool was perfect for playtime and the gameroom with gymnasium proved helpful since the weather was not exactly spring-like. The townhome was comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with necessities, a quick trip to Piggly Wiggly and we were set for the week. The highlight of the stay was our opportunity to take daily nature walks. We also enjoyed seeing the variety of birds off the deck.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

TruthRemains

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful time on our trip to Galena. It was a great place to get away, but not be too far. Even though we were still in Illinois, it felt like we were in a completely different place because we were secluded and away from the noise and business of life. I definitely plan on going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend with friends

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The condo was in ready form when we got there with clean, fresh linens of plenty, beds made and ready, new packages of make up removing wipes in each bathroom, and extra blankets. The owner's had supplied, by email, a very informative welcome package, which was VERY appreciated! It had all of the needed information to get us to and inside the condo as well as enough information for our friends and us to begin forming a plan for activities throughout the weekend. We had a fantastic time (4 adults), but would caution adding any more adults in this size condo- the owner's are very kid-friendly, however.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Grateful Galena Getaway

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

Excellent two bedroom layout for two adults with kids -- very private. Adults upstairs and kids downstairs. Accomodations were excellent and very clean and well appointed. A short drive to Chestnut Mountain. Access to Owners Club was extremely nice with the indoor pool and game room and gym. Friendly staff at the General Store that had everything we needed and more.

felt right at home very Quickly

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sisters Weekend

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

A small cute and quiet townhouse. The owner was extremely helpful and an excellent communicator. There were 4 of us and we appreciated the bedrooms and gathering place and close proximity to Galena. The kitchen was generously stocked. It seemed to have some temperature regulation and heat distribution problems in the condo. Otherwise it was just what we wanted. Heartfelt thanks to the owners.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

A small group of college friends decided to explore Galena for the last weekend of the year and we had an absolute BLAST! The rental was so welcoming and ready for our arrival. The location is great as well- literally minutes from Eagle Ridge and about 20minutes from Chestnut Mountain. We were well equipped with information regarding activities and restaurants nearby. Jim was very accomodating and even came back to our rental in order to assist us with entrance to Eagle Ridge when he had left town. I definitely recommend renting from Jim & Jenny and would definitely love to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy and comfortable retreat

Review submitted: November 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We just returned from a lovely three night stay. The unit was very comfortable and the hosts provided so many extras that just added to the comfort and ease of our stay. We came with three kids and three adults, our family of 5 plus grandma. Our vacation could not have been better. The house is well appointed and the hosts provide many extras like coffee and condiments. The facilities were first rate - our kids had a ball swimming and playing in the game room of the owners club. We are looking forward to returning in the future for a ski weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Stay in the Woods

Review submitted: November 19, 2012   Date of arrival: November 13, 2012

Our group of five thoroughly enjoyed our townhouse stay. Your attention to every detail was much appreciated. We arrived from three states for a delightful, very comfortable and affordable few days near Galena. The walking trails, abundant birds and four legged creatures provided us with much to enjoy in addition to the charming Galena Historic District. Thanks a bunch, I hope we can visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Galena Getaway (5 sisters on the loose)

Review submitted: November 15, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Our week-end getaway started a little shaky when we entered our rental unit to find it had not been cleaned after the previous guests had left. After a quick call to the owners, Jim and Jenny, we found out the cleaning lady had been in a serious car accident. The offer from Jim to drive 3 hours to clean the unit was quickly vetoed. It was like "old times" when the 5 of us sisters pitched in, changing beds, doing laundry, cleaning bathrooms etc. (Included in this was much catching up and laughter) and we knew that the cleaning lady's unfortunate accident would NOT put a damper on our week-end. We had looked at several sites and read a lot of reviews before finding this little gem and even with a little "stutter step" at the start we still give this rental a 5 star rating and look forward to coming back!! Galena is a perfect place for us to meet and this cozy little well cared for home was exactly what we wanted. We would definitely recommend this property to others, thanks again Jim and Jenny. Also our prayers go out for a full and quick recovery to the cleaning lady, who we never had the fortune to meet.

Owners response: Christine, our housekeeper, got into a serious vehicle accident the night before these guests arrived and was in surgery/unconscious, so unable to contact us about not being able to do the housekeeping for this visit. Christine faces a long recovery and rehab from serious injuries. Meantime, we have already recruited another equally capable housekeeper and have our fingers crossed that no misfortune like this occurs again in our lifetime.

We thank you for being so understanding about this tragic situation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Girls' Getaway!

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

My girlfriends and I chose this cozy-looking retreat based on reviews and the website. We couldn't have been more pleased, from the warm fireplace that we used when the temps fell at night, to the Starbucks stocked in the freezer in the morning. We were as much at home as when we gather in each other's homes for knitting and laughing and relaxing. And we had the unexpected treat of watching the colorful blue and red birds from windows all around. We felt were in our own little birdhouse, nestled in the trees. The owners' attention to detail in their visitor guide, the stocked kitchen and the tasteful and comfortable furnishings make this a definite repeat!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sisters' Weekend

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time! The condo was very nice, and included a lot of little extras (condiments, coffee, tea, paper towels, filled ice cube trays -- too many to mention). The beds were very comfortable. We actually didn't check out the pool or exercise room. We mostly went to Galena and then stayed in the condo. I loved that it had a grill and a deck, but it was chilly, and we didn't end up using it. We loved the experience, and would do it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Galena Getaway

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

Four friends and I wanted to get away to Galena for "Girls Night Out" and checked around at various lodging, but sweet romantic B&B's or terribly expensive condos were not working out for our needs. Then one of the girls found Jen & Jim's darling townhouse with the space, sleeping quarters, and fellowship space we needed, at a price we could afford. We had a great time, there is tons to do, wonderful shopping & dining or just great places to take a walk! The townhouse was clean and quiet and easy to find, just minutes from downtown Galena! Highly recommend!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Our family of 4 spent 5 days in the beautiful Galena area. The townhouse was a wonderful place to stay. It was clean, well kept and stocked with the many special touches - coffee, tea, condiments, soaps and the list goes on. There were many family oriented activities within the Galena Territory- indoor/ outdoor pool, gym, exercise area, tennis courts, golf, and walking/ biking trails. We spent time in Galena and Dubuque and especially enjoyed the Mississippi River Museum in Dubuque and the downtown area of Galena. There are many great places to eat- most of them recommended by the townhouse owners. Highly recommend this townhome to others staying in the Galena Territory!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A home away from home!

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Loved this place! It was everything we expected and more. Anyone who has green tea, good coffee, and a French press coffee pot for guests is much appreciated in my family!

The directions, instructions and information were excellent as well. We tried several of the owners' suggestions regarding hikes, shopping, and restaurants and we were not disappointed! As much as we enjoyed and appreciated the comforts of your home, it was our grand daughter, who could not believe her luck--she is 22 months old and obsessed with Elmo, the character from Sesame Street. Not only did the toys include an Elmo phone and cloth book, but also Elmo DVDs. She could not believe her luck! I also appreciated quality products both in the kitchen and in the bathroom.

We had a lovely time hiking, walking, and just enjoying the beautiful setting. Having breakfast on the back porch and grilling in the evening made for a very relaxing long weekend. Thank you for a much needed mini vacation. We are already planning to go back in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thank you

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 2, 2012

We had a lovely time in your home. Everything was in excellent condition, the house was nicely furnished and comfortable and the layout was perfect for a family of four. The new swimming pool is very nice - we spent a hot afternoon there, after spending some time at Chestnut Mountain on the Alpine Slide. This was by far one of the nicest rentals we have had the pleasure to vacation in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway in the woods

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Couldn't of been more pleased with this condo! It was everything and then some from the listing description. Was the most equipped kitchen we've rented. It was so private and quiet. But lots to do only a few minutes away. We ran out of time before we ran out of things to do! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet retreat with plenty to do. The homeowners really took pride in this home and it felt like you were staying at a friends' retreat rather than a rental condo! We want to go back soon!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Getaway in the woods

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

Couldn't of been more pleased with this condo! It was everything and then some from the listing description. Was the most equipped kitchen we've rented. It was so private and quiet. But lots to do only a few minutes away. We ran out of time before we ran out of things to do! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet retreat with plenty to do. The homeowners really took pride in this home and it felt like you were staying at a friends' retreat rather than a rental condo! We want to go back soon!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lesley

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Excellent townhome! We had a wonderful stay and enjoyed every minute we were there! We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A short retreat

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

The townhouse was very comfortable and relaxing. A very clean and well cared for home. The location is really in the middle of everything, yet there was a real feel of seclusion. I especially found the binder helpful. A very nice touch. I look forward to my next trek.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything I wanted in a family vacation

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

I am picky about my accommodations and this was the first time I was 100% satisfied. We initially were looking for a hotel with a suite so that the grown ups could stay up after our children went to bed. When we came upon this property, we were thrilled. It seemed too good to be true- but it really was that good! This was an excellent value. All of the pictures were accurate. Upon arrival, everything was exactly where the owners said it would be. It was clean, well kept, the linens were abundant and good quality. The kitchen had all of the basics for cooking and then some. Every time I thought to myself, "I wish I had ____", all I had to do was look around and I found it. We never used the fireplace or grill, but so nice to have both available. As a family with 3 children, ages 5 and under, I appreciated that the owners had done a bit of child proofing in advance, had a variety of toys, games, puzzles, and books available all in good condition. I have to point out that the vertical supports of the railing that goes around the balcony and stairs are wide enough that all 3 children could fit between them and initially we were concerned that our 1 year old would take a spill through them, but it turned out to be a non-issue and did not detract from our enjoyment of this property at all (and they had a baby gate available to use to set up at the bottom of the stairs if needed- but we didn't even end up using that). The owners made themselves accessible via email and phone, but they gave such clear information that we never had to contact them. We had easy access to the walking trails, the lake was only a few minutes away, golf everywhere. The Galena Territories are just as beautiful as we remembered and Galena has such good shopping and food. And just when we thought it couldn't get better, we made our way to the Territory Club. When we rented this property, we didn't fully realize what having that access meant. The Territory Club is far superior to what is offered at Eagle Ridge. You can sit poolside and have a breathtaking view across the territories, tennis, indoor or outdoor basketball, game room, fitness center, indoor pool (for grown ups only). It was more "Resort"-like than "hotel"-like which we loved. We actually ran out of time to do everything we wanted to do! We have already recommended this property to others and are trying to figure out when we can go again! Thank you for making our family vacation everything we'd hoped for!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Its a very nice apartment, well kept, clean and very comfortable. We were 4 adults and a baby and it was enough space for all of us, and the upstairs/downstairs gave us privacy when we needed it. The owners set a crib up in our bedroom. The kitchen was well stocked. We had access to all the facilities on the resort. The location is really great - hilly and wooded, and about 10 min from Galena. We would love to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

I rented this cute townhouse for a relaxing girls weekend! It was everything we had hoped for. Very roomy and close to all the local attractions! We also had access to the huge pool and gym! It was very clean and the owners were wonderful with the questions I had! I highly recommend this to everyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

This condo was one of the most well equiped condos we have stayed at. They had beach towels for 6(so we didn't have to pack a bunch of towels), toys and games that were appropriate for our age of kids and younger( our kids are 3years-7years old), a very well equiped kitchen(since we cooked 3 of our 4 nights), and a detailed guest/visitor information binder that the owners put together, full of recommendations of restraurants, things to do, directions.....VERY DETAILED and MOST HELPFUL! The area is beautiful, the new pools at the recreation center are very nice and the condo itself is well decorated and very nice. Thankful, Jim and Jenny for the wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Great experience for our family. The rental is comfortable and welcoming with plenty of amenities. We have two young children and the Galena Territory provided many activities that were geared for them. Galena, IL is just a quick drive away but we could always come back to relax. The best rental we have used as a family and excited about coming back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic experience

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Our family- my wife, I our 2 little children spent wonderful time in Jim and his wife place. We have decided to go to Galena because it's not to far from our house in Arlington Hts and traveling with small kid can be sometimes difficult. We have been in many different places and this place is unbelievable well organized. You will find everything where it should be, it's like you walk into this house and you know intuitive where is everything placed. Clean beds, clean carpets - no stains, very clean bathrooms. If you are clean freak - this place is for you. We'll definitely recommend this place to our friends. Thank you Jim and Jenny.

Owners response: Thank you.

The cleanliness is owed to Jenny, who sets the standards, and Christine Anderson, the best housekeeper in our area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Find in Galena, IL

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

The owners, Jim and Jenny, truly could not be more gracious, accommodating and helpful, especially their "insiders guide" with lots of recommendations for things to see, do and even avoid. Look no further because their home in Galena is everything they claim it to be and so much more. Plenty of serene nature surrounds this end-unit with lots of room to spread out. Everything is very well-maintained, quite comfortable and functional, and amenities are not at all lacking. It's very easy to quickly feel like one is right at home. This is a fantastic place for a guys golf get-away, a couples weekend, a romantic retreat, or even a family vacation. Everyone in my party agreed we would be glad to rent this home again in a heartbeat, and we likely will do so for our annual get-together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4 sisters getaway

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Three of my sisters and I had a wonderful weekend at this property. Plenty of space to relax, and trails outside to explore. It was great to spend a few hours in Galena and have this to come home to. Everything was very well maintained and comfortable. All off us want to come back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful getaway!

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

Beautiful location! Nice setting in the woods with a paved path for walks. Kid friendly. All the space that we needed, clean and maintained well. A wonderful getaway that our family would love to repeat!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great in all Seasons!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We have enjoyed this unit in Eagle Ridge during both summer and fall. Our recent visit in January was spent reading and relaxing before a roaring wood fire, and skiing locally. All rooms are wll appointed and comfortable, and the kitchen is absolutely fully equipped. In addition their are good places to dine out in Eagle Ridge and in Galena.
We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful, cozy and clean!!

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2011

Great resort, beautiful and clean house. I definitely recommend this place!!!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, Saveta. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Please consider us for future getaways.

Jim Olsztynski

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful weekend getaway!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with another couple and our children, and thoroughly enjoyed all it had to offer! We were blessed with gorgeous weather and spent a great deal of time out on the deck and taking hikes through the woods. The beds are OUTSTANDING! I cannot remember the last time I slept that well! The kids loved sleeping on the convertible sofa bed and waking up to play games without the parents. I particularly enjoyed the little touches, like the lovely paintings over the beds. The owners clearly have some decorating experience! It was so helpful to have the kitchen amenities at hand and not have to spend money purchasing things we would only use a little of. Very reasonable rates for such a charming place to spend time relaxing and having fun! We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review