reviews for: listing #92743 - Bodega Bay, California House rental

Southern Exposure
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Bodega Harbour
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $275 /nt
    $1,400 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful "Girls' Getaway"

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: July 30, 2014

Three of us had a wonderful two nights at Southern Exposure. The beds were very comfortable, the master bathroom was fabulous and the view is amazing. We spent most of our time on the sunporch, watching the boats cruising in the bay, and the fog rolling in and out. The kitchen is equipped with just about any gadget, pan, utensil that you could want, and there is a terrific spice cabinet. We were amazed to see a good supply of flour, sugar and coffee too! The house is located in a subdivision on a hill, and we felt safe walking morning and evening. The views on the walk were spectacular, too. Nikki (the owner) was great to work with.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding property with an Outstanding view!!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

We had a fantastic 5 night stay in the property and would highly recommend staying here. The communication between Nikki and myself was first class. This house would have to be one of the best presented homes we have ever stayed in and we would of loved to have stayed for longer than the 5 nights. Kitchen is out of this world with the most well stocked spices etc you have ever seen. No need to eat out in Bodega Bay as this kitchen just inspires you to create chef like meals...Hot tub is fantastic and very private. Amazing 180degree of the ocean from the house. The walk from the house to the waters edge is approx 1.1miles. I would suggest you stock up on groceries in a supermarket outside of Bodega Bay as the selection there is limited and expensive also. All in all a phenomenal property with a phenomenal view!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful views, Adorable creatures

Review submitted: June 4, 2014   Date of arrival: May 27, 2014

Beautiful property, clean and well supplied. Enjoyed our stay here very much. Coffee in the morning on the deck overlooking the ocean...priceless. Playing games in the evening in the sunroom watching the sunset...beautiful. If you are to slow to feed the doe in the morning she will peek in the kitchen window looking for you. She even brought her baby one morning. Quiet neighborhood across the street from Doran Beach. Nicki is great to work with. She had my deposit back to me almost before we made it home. Highly recommend.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

One word: Lovely

Review submitted: May 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 28, 2014

I hosted a staff retreat at Southern Exposure. It was the perfect quiet setting to allow for great discussion and team bonding. Everything was as described and the weather was lovely! We enjoyed walking along the beach, watching 'The Birds', having a meal at the Tides restaurant, checking out the school house used in the film and perusing the general store nearby with all sorts of Hitchcockian memorabilia. Thank you!!! Note: the area has very limited cell reception.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Southern Exposure Spring Stay

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

Hello Nikki,

We all have to say that your home in Bodega Bay is just wonderful. I've found myself daydreaming about sitting in the sunroom gazing out to the Pacific my first day back to work. The house had everything needed and more. Next time we vacation on the Northern Californian coast we will be sure to make reservations with you again. Highlights of our trip included horseback riding at Chanslor Ranch, beach combing on 3 different beaches, a visit to the school house from the movie "The Birds" and last but not least soaking in the hot tub back at the house.

Thank you for the great hospitality and amenities you offer. I can tell you your home tops the list above all the rentals we have stayed in the past.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 1, 2014

This house is great for a family vacation. My wife and I took our 2 daughters to stay at this wonderful house and couldn't be more satisfied. Everything from the location to the spa outside the master suite made this trip a memorable one. This house has it all - views, hot tub, phenomenal kitchen, nap room (right besides the family room is a great nook to take a daytime nap - highly recommended), gas Bbq, best sunroom we've ever seen.....I really can go on forever with what this place provides.

Suggestions for the folks that stay for more than a couple days - go horseback riding at Chanslor Ranch and walk as many beaches as possible north of town on Hwy 1 (there are so many).

The house itself is kept clean and is really comfortable to be in. I can't stress it enough to choose this house when staying in Bodega Bay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well-kept, Beautiful House made for a Seamless Vacation

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed staying here with friends, another couple. As such, we appreciated the layout of the house- the two bedrooms are not right next to each other, offering a little more privacy. The master bedroom is the most removed from the rest of the house, and along with the master bath is spacious and comfortable. The second bedroom is slightly less private because you have to exit the bedroom in order to get to the bathroom, but the doors are literally right next to each other, so it wasn't too bad. Even the long sunroom, running the length of the house, has a little seating area on each end of it so you can have some privacy there if needed! The separate family room is comfortable for everyone hanging out together in the evening. The kitchen is as well, offering the wide bar seating and also a large table for bigger meals or a game night! Others have already mentioned the closet full of cards and games! (We had an epic game of Jenga!)
It's a big neighborhood, but this house is so close to the entrance that you feel it's more cozy. And seeing deer and turkey right outside the kitchen window, not to mention the ocean view from the front, keeps it feeling like a retreat.
To echo what others have said, we have often rented through VRBO but I have never seen a kitchen so well stocked! Not just with pots, dishes, and utensils, foil and wrap, but also a huge cabinet of spices, flour, sugar, even rice when we were there! It is a wonderful large kitchen but you may have trouble finding a place to put groceries; every cabinet is full! It would be very easy to even have a big holiday meal here!
One side note: if you like to stay put and relax on your vacation, maybe just the occasional walk on the beach, this is perfect for you. If you like to go out and see sights and shop and be entertained, you will be driving upwards of an hour most days.
Thanks to Nikki for all her helpful advice. We didn't need anything during our stay, but she was very helpful in answering questions about the area as we planned our trip. Great experience!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Vacation House

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

What a spectacular location for a vacation stay! A view of the ocean and access to walking/running paths. Very quiet and relaxing.
Fresh seafood in Bodega Bay, just 5 minutes away. The kitchen is fully stocked with all kinds of spices, oils etc. We even ended up baking an apple crisp with local Gravenstein apples, and all we had to provide was the apples! Plus the wine refrigerator, great for after your tastings.
You can enjoy a great video library, or relax in the hot tub. There are books for looking at and books for reading. The house is stocked with enough games and puzzles to keep you busy.
I can't think how we could have felt more at home. It was a great stay, and we enjoyed every second. We only wish it could have been longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home Away From Home and Much More

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

I took my hubby and my two kids (9 & 5) to this amazing home and we will definitely be back. The bird feeder outside the kitchen window was a hit for my kiddos, but for me, Nikki maintains a fully stocked, beautiful home with an enviable gourmet kitchen! For the first time ever, my hubby didn't want to leave, even after 5 days of being away from home. The beachy feel of the home and the stunning views help you to feel like you were meant to live on the coast. Despite what many believe, Bodega Bay and the surrounding areas offer much to do: Anderson Tall Trees, Ziplining through the forest, Trout Fishing (for the kids especially), hiking, and of course the beach! Many lasting memories were made last week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home and Much More!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

I took my hubby and my two kids (9 & 5) to this amazing home and we will definitely be back. The bird feeder outside the kitchen window was a hit for my kiddos, but for me, Nikki maintains a fully stocked, beautiful home with an enviable gourmet kitchen! For the first time ever, my hubby didn't want to leave, even after 5 days of being away from home. The beachy feel of the home and the stunning views help you to feel like you were meant to live on the coast. Despite what many believe, Bodega Bay and the surrounding areas offer much to do: Anderson Tall Trees, Ziplining through the forest, Trout Fishing (for the kids especially), hiking, and of course the beach! Many lasting memories were made last week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

The main word to describe this our stay is "WOW!". I rented this house as a anniversary gift to my parents as it was mom's dream to spend time in a house near ocean. We were exited to get there, but what we have seen amazed us. The beautiful, magic landscapes astonished us and the house inside made us feel like celebrities. This vacation was the best of all our getaways and if we only get an opportunity - wee would rent this house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very clean, tasteful decor and well stocked.

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2013

We loved this home! It was our very first experience renting a vacation home and over all the experience was FABULOUS!! The house was incredibly clean. The unopened new kitchen sponge and fresh coffee beans was an added surprise. The kitchen was well stocked and being a baker I was surprised by what was available to use. Honestly, the only thing we could suggest is a better choice of pans in the kitchen. A large skillet would be nice to make extra large servings of hash browns in. Also just to mention, the bed in the Master Bedroom has to be the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. It was wonderful working with Nikki. She was extremely helpful, quick with her responses and even let us get in as early as noon. [Which we greatly appreciated.] We're looking forward to spending more summers there, and plan on making it a yearly family tradition. Well worth the money, the views are incredible as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house

Review submitted: May 15, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

The house could not have been any better. Great neighborhood, beautiful views and a kitchen that was stocked with everything you could possibly need! Only wish we had was that we were staying longer than just a weekend. The owner was very communicative and helpful also.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, please come back and stay longer next time. I will be glad to help you with things to do in the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Book Club weekend

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

Not sure how to get this posted, but our book club stayed here and had a fabulous. time! The view was spectacular,and we were able to hike nearby and feel like it was a true get-away. We had a great time cooking in the beautiful kitchen as a few of us are true foodies! We loved the view and were able to relax with the hot tub and relaxing atmosphere. We will definitely make this an annual event!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A peaceful place

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

What a wonderful home and spectacular view. It had all the amenities that one would want and more. It was immaculate and the photos were right on. We had most of our dinners at the Tides Wharf Restaurant, which has an excellent menu. Found all the locals very friendly and helpful.

We were close do some touring of wine country, which made for scenic day trips.

It was a very peaceful location to relax and will highly recommend the home.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guys Golf Stay

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Hi Nikki,

We had a great time at your house and it was totally beautiful and met all our requirements. Next time could you please turn off the wind tunnel that blew thru the coast on Monday, what a day. The houses around the golf course were in danger! Hahahaha.

Seriously we had a great time, the scenery was spectacular, a visit by the local deer during dinner time was a nice touch. We had all the amenities of home and would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Even better than expected

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

First, many , many thanks to Nikki! My partner and I spent the weekend at the house with another couple and had a really great time. What a beautiful home! The pictures really don't do justice. It wasn't the best weather, but we didn't care; we loved being in the house. We cooked and baked, fed the deer (brought a huge bag of organic apples for them) and the birds, enjoyed the views, great conversations in that fabulous kitchen and sun room, music, movies, and a nice fire in the evenings. None of us wanted to leave. I've been renting on VRBO for about 15 years now and have stayed in some very nice homes, but this is by far, the best. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We hope to return one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Retreat and a Wonderful View

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

My husband and I just went for a long weekend getaway. The place is just beautiful, the kitchen is huge and it has everything anyone would need. We loved everywhere that you sat that you had a gorgeous view. We also feed the birds and the deer, There was about 7 deer at one time fighting over the food. Also a visit from the wild turkeys. We have stayed at Bodega Bay before and the places we stayed were nice but nothing like this. We are definitely going to stay here again. Nikki was very accommodating.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything was perfect!

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We are a group of students from UC Berkeley and we chose this house for our retreat and it was the best decision ever! The view outside the house is amazing, the inside of the house was spacious, and had everything we could have possibly imagined! The hot tub outside was perfect for bonding!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A comfortable home with a wonderful view.

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

We stayed here Christmas 2012. The owner was friendly and answered questions promptly, with good instructions. The home was easy to find. Near Doran park with expansive views from the house. The whole home is filled with natural light from the front windows and skylights throughout.

Outside temperature was around 55, but the house never felt cold, and we kept the heater low. The face of the house is wonderful for collecting heat from the sun. Windows open and blinds shut to cool it down. The house feels big and also cozy, which we found perfect. The entryway stairs lead up to the main floor which is like a big oval with a wide hall on one side, long sunroom on the other and kitchen/dining on one end and living room on the other. Bedrooms and baths are up a couple of steps above the main. Hardwood floors are nice and carpets cozy and well-placed. There are two decks. One off of the kitchen/dining area and one off of the master bedroom that has the hot tub, which is huge and very private, even from the rest of the house. The driveway is a little steep and garage a little small, but we could fit our small SUV in it.

Master Bedroom - Large with pot-belly fire, and attached large bath with deep tub and separate shower. The bed is wonderful with nice sheets. Lighting isn't great for makeup and full-length mirrors are non-exhistant - Vacation at it's best!

Bedroom #2 - king in a smaller room, but comfy and separated by bathrooms and a landing for privacy. 2nd bath is right there and has a shower.

Kitchen: Has everything! 2 ovens, microwave, 6 burner stove, 2 sinks. Tons of prep space. Napkins, emergency flashlights, coffee pot, foil, etc. Some small appliances are older, but I don't even expect a processor and cake beaters!

Living room: very comfortable. Easily seats 6, but a bit small, it added to the cozy for us. Fireplace and amazing windows. A reading nook with twin bed is off this room. Loved the game closet.

Hot water was a little tricky, but I never had a cold shower. Some of the wood trim could use re-tacking (it's a beach home!) But, the house was CLEAN, felt new, and chock full of great linens and towels.

If you don't mind crossing the small highway, you can walk to the ocean on a lovely path. A total of a mile or so.

We felt right at home and had a wonderful time with no worries. My favorite vacation rental home so far - from Rome, to Kauai, to Palm Springs, to Oregon mountains, to LA, to NYC! Thank You!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Trip!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

What a great trip, made even better by the great accomodations! Everything was as promised and the kitchen was fantastic! Beds were very comfortable, house was spacious and view was awesome! We would love to stay here again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Real Home

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

What a wonderful place! My wife and I took a seven week retirement vacation that included the California coast. We thought we needed a break in the middle and rented Southern Exposure for two weeks. We could not have chosen better. From the beginning Nikki did everything to make sure our visit would be worry-free. She is very professional with all paperwork at its proper time and perfect instructions upon arrival. She let us know when to expect various maintenance people and how to handle the mundane tasks like trash and recycling. The home has a perfect view of Bodega Bay and is in a very quiet neighborhood that allows you to take a walk to exercise off all that wonderful Sonoma County cuisine. It has an amazing gourmet kitchen and a great sun room and deck. The master bath is huge and very well appointed with a shower and separate tub. The pictures and descriptions do not do justice to such a wonderful place. It was spotless when we arrived and is very easy to keep clean with marble surfaces in the kitchen and bathrooms. The location is perfect for taking day trips to wine country and San Francisco. With temperatures in the 60's it was a great respite after 90's in Sonoma and Santa Rosa. All in all...perfect.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Extremely Comfortable Home

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

WOW, the best way to describe this home. Very comfortable, excellent views, wildlife all around. Couldnt ask for any more. Highly recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

September 1, 2012

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

Frieds of ours came out from Texas for some cool, ocean weather and to celebrate our 30th anniversary of vactioning together each fall. What a pleasant respite it was to visit this cozy home on the North Coast in Bodega Bay after leaving our home in Oakhurst, CA, where temperatures had been in the high 90's for the last week. The home is situated in a neighborhood with other homes high on the side of a hill facing the ocean and bay, with a southern exposure. There is a sun deck that stretches accross the length of the front of the house for relaxing, ocean viewing, and watching activies on the spit across the bay where many scenes from Alfred Hitchcock's "The Birds" were filmed. The home was quite comfortable, clean, and roomy, with upgraded kitchen appliances, a washer and dryer, and TV's in the living room and both bedrooms. We enjoyed lounging in the living room in the evening, watching Dicrect TV and we all slept like logs on comfortable king-sized beds in the cool, quiet of the house. None of us tried the hot tub, but it is located outside the Master BR on a privite, enclosed patio. There was a large library of books and movies for our use, including "The Birds" which we, of course, watched for the upteenth time! We took a daytime trip to Healdsburg and vistied their upscale downtown surrounding a city park and then we took the wine country route back where we picked up a good supply of wine. I would highly recommend this trip if you have the time. There are a number of fairly good restaurants locally, including the old standby, The Tides, but our favorite was one we had not visited before called the Brisas del Mar, a small Mexican seafood place with fresh seafood, garden vegetables, and the best rice I've ever eaten! A couple notes: If you know anything about the Coast, you know that cell phone reception can be spotty and I was unable to use my cell inside the house with AT&T service; however, our friends had no problem and they use Verision. But, there is a phone in the house and the owner allowed us to give out tha number. Also, there is a WiFi in the house that works fine. The living area is up one level which is good for spectacular views, but I would not recommend it for anyone who has difficulty climbing stairs. One last thing...the owner was very helpful and answered any and all questions immediately! Thanks, Nikki!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

perfect location for my family vacation

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Our stay at Southern Exposure was great. It was a perfect location for my family vacation. My dad and my brother went on a fishing boat and caught lots of fish to cook and my niece and nephew were busy barbequing while catching up with each other. Kids and my husband were playing games. Every one of us enjoyed it very much. Especially our daughter loved the little room off the living room for privacy. The stairs didn't bother my mom that much after all because we stayed on the 2nd level the most. Usually when we are away from home, she has hard time sleeping, but this time she had good sleep and was less tired.

After coming back to work, I mentioned Southern Exposure to my co-workers and sent the link to them. Lots of them were very interested.

I'm hoping that my parents stay healthy enough so all of us can return together next year.

Thank you again for sharing your beautiful home with us and we would love to come back.

Moon and the family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Southern Exposure

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

My family had a delightful stay at the beautiful 'Southern Exposure' vacation home in Bodega Bay. This was an absolutely gorgeous home, probably the nicest one we've stayed in at Bodega Harbour. It had everything we needed and more. We spent most of our time in the sunroom with the beautiful views of the ocean, harbour, Bodega Head and Doran county park. The marine layer hugged the coastline all week long which was a plus for those of us escaping the Sacramento Valley heat. It was cool and lovely. Went for walks in the neighborhood and we were treated to glimpses of deer, quail, and even a bobcat! The over-sized hot tub was a big plus.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful home & view

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We needed a nice place for a relaxing, more grown-up style bachelorette party in June and came across this property on VRBO. The pictures were lovely but the real thing was absolutely AMAZING. The best part by far was the kitchen and accompanying views of Bodega Bay. The kitchen had literally everything you needed for cooking and entertaining. The bedrooms were all tastefully decorated and it was very clean upon arrival. We were also impressed with the closet full of board games. There were lots of upgrades in this house and we also enjoyed the hot tub. I would highly recommend this home for anyone looking for a relaxing getaway. The house definitely exceeded our expectations. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A beautiful house!

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

This is a beautiful, clean, well-maintained home in a quiet residential area. The kitchen is wonderful and well-stocked - we grilled dinner two evenings and enjoyed the hot tub every night. A wonderful, relaxing retreat that is near the ocean and wine country.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family time

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We loved every minute in the house! We all agreed that we will definitely return next year--- or sooner. The view is spectacular! The inside design of the house is well-planned, so that each area is comfortable and pleasant. The hot tub, the long sun porch, the large bedrooms (comfortable beds), the amazing kitchen, BBQ porch, and lovely bathrooms --- we loved them all. Ample supplies were there just as you said---we only needed food and drinks.
We will never use the fancy hotel up there again. Thank you for your help, your attention to detail, and for being available for questions.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hot Tub and 360 degree Breathtaking Ocean Views!

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 24, 2012

What a lovely home up the hill at Bodega Harbor. Contemporary, full of light and wonderful solarium that faced an amazing view of Bodega Bay and the ocean. The kitchen was gorgeous and had top notch appliances like a commercial grade cook top and black granite countertops. The most fun of all was the hot tub, big enough for 4, that was located off of the master bedroom. It was at the perfect temperature and in a courtyard that afforded complete privacy. After a day of activity in Sonoma County returning to the hot tub was a big treat. It was easy to walk from the house to Doran Beach, which we did every morning, for a 3 mile stroll next to incredible Pacific Ocean waves. We highly recommend this house for a perfect visit to Bodega Bay!!!

Owners response: Thanks Annie,
I am so glad you had a great time at our home. The hot tub is a treat for us as well since we don't have one at our full time home. Please come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy House

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

My family went here for the weekend and had a blast! Before going, we contacted the owner quite a bit of times, asking questions and getting advice on what to do and the owner was extremely responsive! This gave us a really good feeling about the place (before finding this place, we contacted another place and to this day, the owner has never gotten back to me). Since I am at the computer all day, it was really important to be able to get responses through email -- I mean, why else would you use an online booking website?

Onto the house, we were amazed when we got into the house. It was clean, well lit and peaceful. Through the sun room, we was able to see the ocean and sunset. The kitchen was well stocked with your usual pots, pans, crockery and a ton of spices. The BBQ had a few hot spots, but it was nothing that couldn't be cleaned in a few minutes. In the mornings, we got up early, cooked breakfast and took a hike in the Bodega Head (like 15 minutes away by car) and at night, we just sat in the sun room and relaxed.

An extremely relaxing weekend. Definitely will do it again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Southern Exposure Christmas

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Our family of five (all adults) had a great Christmas together at Bodega Bay with lots of wonderful memories. Weather was good--panoramic ocean view was great! Enjoyed the wonderfully equipped kitchen with fresh oysters and great wine. Bought a small cypress tree and decorated for Christmas complete with a locally acquired Starfish on top. Varied viewing tastes on satellite over the holiday was a breeze with multiple TV's available. Great for day trips for wine tasting and walks on beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

We Loved It!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

The home is beautiful and in a great location in Bodega Bay. It is very clean and feels like new inside. Great gourmet kitchen with new stainless high end appliances. Very comfortable well appointed home with comfortable beds and all amenities. We were so happy when we arrived and saw the great location. Then we opened the door and were delighted. We were sending our 19 year old son off for two years in Brazil and planned this family get away for a last time together for awhile. The owner was so nice and genuine and made it a pleasure to set up the rental. She couldn't have been more accommodating. She made us feel like family. This was a great experience from the beginning to end. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Bodega Bay.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pictures do not do it justice.

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

The view is beautiful. The kitchen is stocked so as to put a smile on the face of any chef. The hot tub is heaven. The layout was like none I have ever seen and we absolutely loved it. My personal favorite spot was the table on the deck. It was so relaxing to make coffee and read in the mornings and evenings looking out over the bay and Pacific ocean. Four adults stayed and were not bored. The tv's were rarely needed (and this was during shark week!). The owners couldn't have been more helpful with all questions about the property and the local area. Beaches and attractions are close and so many places to walk. Overall the stay was so relaxing and we were all sad to leave. Cannot wait to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review. I am so glad you had a relaxing time; that's what getting away is all about!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

June 2011 Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

We LOVED it!! We were looking for a place to have a small reunion and this was the perfect place. The house was immaculate and the surroundings relaxing and comfortable. The owner was easy to work with and very helpful when it came to suggesting local markets, beaches and wineries. We had everything we needed for cooking and just enjoying being together. The views were beautiful. We had two small children with us and they had a wonderful time. They were never bored and never turned on the TV. We didn't want to leave and are already planning our next trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments. We are glad you had a good time and are looking forward to booking your next stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amenities galore!

Review submitted: February 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Beautiful spacious home, sensational view. Four adults stayed, we loved that there were two very comfortable bedrooms, both with king-size beds and two full baths. Excellent spa, barbecue, three great televisions. We have been staying in Bodega Bay rental homes for almost 30 years and this was the nicest, best stocked kitchen we have ever seen -- the design and spaciousness and also the quality of appliances, cookware, utensils, electrical outlets, etc. We like to cook all meals in, all four of us could work in the kitchen at the same time, we loved it! Attention to detail evident all over the house as well as notes aimed to help renters know how to use things and enjoy. House was extremely clean and well maintained. Owner's customer service exceptional.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review