reviews for: listing #92744 - New Orleans, Louisiana House rental

Villa Veidt
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $110 - $500 /nt
    $650 - $1,575 /wk

sort by:

Great!

Review submitted: August 7, 2014   Date of arrival: July 14, 2014

This was a wonderful apartment. Central air, all amenities described. Owner provided coffee and water which was really appreciated. Some really excellent restaurants within walking distance. Street parking only and we were able to park close. The neighborhood is safe with a lot of hipsters. Internet was excellent. We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Convenient location

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 8, 2014

Interesting eclectic neighborhood, but safe and parking available right outside the unit on the street. I wouldn't call this duplex "elegant", but it was adequate. It was well equipped with most things we needed. The owner, James was helpful and accessible.

We were able to walk to the French quarter from here. We used the navigation on our smart phones to help us find places.

There is a small market just a few blocks away that carries not only groceries but some take-away deli dishes as well. We walked a block away and had dinner at the newly-renamed "Silk Road". It was so good, we ate there two of our four nights.

Only complaint is that the floors and carpets in the duplex were dirty and dusty and the bathroom mat was sticky.

I would recommend this unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sorry about the bath mat the cleaning staff did not notice a previous guest had spilled something on it. It has since been replaced. The floors are new and oak so as much as we vacuum we are still going to have some sawdust come up through the cracks. The rugs in the master and living room were Miss Veidts so there really not dirty just old..
Glad you enjoyed your stay very sorry about the sawdust we are hoping it all about gone now.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent price/location/parking

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 11, 2014

As all previous reviews stated, wonderful neighborhood with very friendly people. I was cautious parking on side of street, but no problems ever getting spot due to living in the country mentality. Short walk to quarter, great local neighborhood market. Wish apartment would of had check out suggestions like where to put full trash bags, house keys, etc
Will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Little Apartment in Marigny- Bywaters area

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

My sister & I had a good time here visiting NOLA. The Neighbors were very friendly. We had a fuse problem, but was fixed by us very quickly since James was out of town.. I phoned him and he was very quick to respond and told us where the fuse box was.. ( front of house) lol didn't see it when we arrived. The kitchen counter tops and refrig needed to be cleaned as well as the bathroom floor.. My bed wasn't that comfortable but my sisters was.. Maybe i'm just used to my own bed... would recommend place mats that can be washed though. We didn't use them. I would recommend a car w/ navigation or use your smart phones as we did so you can find your way back from the french quarter.. We were all turned around and flagged down a bicycle person to give us a ride back to the apartment.. It was very hot and muggy and I was not used to it!! The apartment had a good air conditioner in it though. thank goodness.. I would recommend to friends & family.. Thank you James for letting us stay here.. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jerri
Glad you enjoyed yourself, sorry you had a few problems I was in New York and usually do a walk through with the cleaning guy but was not here to do it . Im printing your review and showing it to him today I hesitate to replace him because he is a disabled veteran but that is no excuse very sorry.Promise you will have a better experience next time.
Thanks again
James

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good stay

Review submitted: May 23, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Overall, the apartment is as expected and described on the website. This is not a luxury apartment, but you have everything to your disposal. There are plenty of bath towels to use, the rooms were clean. We also appreciated the cold water in the refrigerator when we arrived. James, the owner, was very responsive and provided guidance. I gave it a 4 stars, because the blankets in the closets were old. But otherwise, we had enjoyed our stay. Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great home base, comfortable stay, convenient location!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: December 7, 2013

My husband and my parents were pleased with our first VRBO rental. This was a great location, in a quiet but fun & quirky neighborhood convenient to the French Quarter and other parts of the city. We could walk to a fun little neighborhood bar and a delicious diner around the corner, plus there was plenty of street parking for our rental car. The entire apartment had a lot of character, the sitting area was nice and comfortable, and the kitchen island was the perfect place to eat some takeout muffalettas. The wall between our unit and the one next door was a little thin, and the bathroom and dish drainer could have been just a tiny bit cleaner, but all in all, this was a great home base during our visit, and we would definitely stay again on our next trip to New Orleans.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

This was such a great vacation rental. We came in town for halloween and this was perfect! Walking distance to frenchman and everything in the quarter. They had everything we needed to cook and plenty of room. GREAT place to stay. I would love to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

NOLA rental

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

Overall our expectations were met. The neighborhood is fabulous and the house itself offered ample space for two couples to sleep and cook meals. The living room was also a wonderful gathering place offering much more comfortable hanging out space than a hotel in the same price range.

The floors in the back bedroom were kind of sticky and could use a wash and the bed was not comfortable but we LOVED the location and felt like it was very worth the money for our week stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad you all had a good stay. Sorry about the floors but we are in a very humid climate and sometimes the wax just does not cooperate, Our Mattresses are identical on all the beds Serta medium we really cannot do firm or soft if so I think we would have far more complaints. Thank-you for staying with us and hope you enjoyed our historic city.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Villa Veidt. The place was very comfortable & clean. I loved that it was very close to the French Quarter & Bourbob St., so we could walk. The neighborhood was very safe & everyone around seemed very friendly. My only complaints is the bathroom could use a little updating, i.e. toliet seat tightened down & shower head replaced. I would definitely rent Villa Veidt again.
Bethany

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Felt like home.

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. We came down for a cousins wedding and made it into a vacation. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter. Friendly neighbors. Good restaurants very close by. The apartment felt like home. Comfy, except for the chairs at the counter. Very comfortable beds. Clean and just a nice place to stay. Much better than a hotel.

Owners response: So Glad you enjoyed your stay! Its a great little area have lived there for years.
Sorry about the barstools seems they are like a sofa bed almost impossible to find comfortable ones. Thanks again and please come back and visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed.

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The place is clean and just the way described. The neighborhood was great n very dog friendly. I would stay here every time I came to NO.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed.

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The property is just as described. James was very helpful. The neighbor hood was great very dog friendly. I would rent this place every time I was in NO.

Owners response: Thank-you so much! We do love our pets here in Nola! Glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Enjoy stay

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

I enjoy my stay and would stay at the house again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Orleans

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

It was great to stay so close to the quarter and we enjoyed talking with the local residents.

Recommended for: tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Jazz fest was perfect. Place was clean and quiet. Parking was always available.

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 1, 2013

Would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

We had a great stay on our first visit to NOLA.
James was very helpful.
Beds were good, shower was good. Appreciated the water & coffee.
Bathroom is on the small side for 4 adults but not a huge issue for us.
We did see a roach once but not a big deal for me.

We did a lot of walking and the 5 bus is a block away. 10 minute walk to the French Qtr and even closer to Frenchman Street for great music.

I had been looking forward to Mimi's a block away, but they are having some noise disputes with neighbors from what I can tell. The one time we went in the service wasn't great.

Awesome to have NOLA Cakes close. Great breakfasts!

Owners response: Glad you all enjoyed New Orleans. The building was built in 1957 so the bathrooms are small by todays standards thats why we really like to keep it to four guests even thought the rest of the rooms are good sized. Sorry you ran into a bug we spray every month but during the rainy spring months they will come inside.Mimi,s is a great little bar however it is surrounded by homes and will have to work with the neighbors to have a live entertainment license. We are far enough away where it was not an issue for us but caused problems for those close by.Thanks again please come back and visit us soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couples weekend

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Recently spent a couples weekend in this apartment. It was just what we expected. Close enough to the French quarter to not having to take the car everywhere we went. Will defiantly think of staying here again in the future. Only suggestion I might have is clock radios in the bedrooms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed yourselves. We have tried clock radios and they almost always get unpluged and put in a draw thats why we have gone to the old fashioned type. If you would like plese just let us know there are usally some tucked away and would be more than happy to put them out for you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great price for the location!

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple rented this place from James. The price for the location is excellent. We felt very safe in the neighborhood. We did have our doubts on the taxi ride from the airport because a lot of the areas look pretty shady getting there. Once we were there and walked around a little bit, our doubts disappeared. The neighbors were all friendly.

We ate a Feelings Café less than 100 feet from the place and had a wonderful meal. It is an upper scale quality restaurant, but casual dress is fine. We also ate a couple of meals at the Balcony Guest House located on the corner of Royal and St. Roch. Great food! Had a burger that was wonderful and enjoyed the daily special of Tandori Chicken. Very reasonably priced. If you want to buy beer, wine or spirits to take back to the place, this is the closest place to do so. This is also where the laundry mat is.

After walking back and forth to the French Quarter (1 mile) and Frenchman Street (0.5 mile) a few times a day for a week, we decided to try the public transportation. You can purchase a Jazzy Day Pass for $3 and use it for the Street Car and Bus system all day until 4am. There is a bus stop very close to the house. The bus will take you all the way to Decatur and Canal St. If you go to this website: http://www.norta.com/Maps_Schedules/SystemMap/IndividualMap/index.html?ID=5 and select Real Time Map and Estimated Arrival Information, put Going to Canal at St. Peters for the direction, and select the Royal at Franklin stop and submit, the bus number and estimated time of arrival for that stop will be displayed. The map shows the location of the bus and updates every 30 seconds. We also would walk down to Elysian Fields Ave toward the river and hop on the Riverfront Street Car (probably ¼ mile).

I highly recommend going to the New Orleans School of Cooking for a very informative, fun, and tasty experience. You can go to their website and download a coupon for $3 off.

We had a great time and James’ place was perfect for us. We will rent from him again after we lose some of the weight gained on this last trip and return to New Orleans.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for Frenchman good for the Quarter

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Just a short walk from Frenchman or the French market. We found the place to be very comfortable for 2 couples, plenty of space. The beds in were average, comparable to any older hotel. The place is nothing fancy but has everything you need. The coffee shop/bakery around the corner was great for breakfast. The owner was very helpful when we left an item and left some tips for the neighborhood in the apartment.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Convenient and Reasonable

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

On the positive side, this is a reasonably-priced apt. in a quiet eclectic residential neighbourhood with easy (and free) street parking, good wifi access and spacious rooms. Owner is very helpful and responsive - we particularly appreciated the hair dryer, bottled water, flavoured coffee and supplies provided. Great (and varied) restaurants, a laundromat and grocery store nearby. Jackson Square is about a 15 minute walk, which was never an issue for us, however, might be perceived as a safety concern at night.
On the negative side, we found the beds too soft (we prefer firm), the bathroom tight, the central heater noisy, and MBR sometimes noisy at night (snoring from adjacent apt. MBR). The kitchen floor could have been cleaner, perhaps because of the short turnaround by cleaning staff between rentals ?

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sorry about the kitchen floor that was my fault not the cleaning staff I had stripped the wax the day before which Im afraid made it a little sticky.
We use Serta Bedding but we do order medium I have found if I go in either direction there are more unhappy clients then if we go right down the middle.
The air handler for the furnace is in the attic so you can hear the motor,on the positive side it does really put out some heat and air I wished my unit worked as well.Hope you enjoyed your stay and I think I have learned to stay out of the cleaning staffs way.
Thanks again for your business.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

This is a spacious apartment that is in an excellent location. I was on a vacation with my dog - and this was a great dog-friendly location; the neighbors were all very friendly - many of them stopped to say hello as I was walking my dog, and there is a fenced in LARGE dog park about a half mile away - which was a great way to tire the lil guy out before I would step out of the day. The bed was very comfortable - there were thoughtful places to put my bag, and hang my clothes. In addition this was a great location in terms of being close to the French Quarter...my parents were also visiting but staying in a different location - and they would drive to this apartment, park (there was always plentiful street parking) and we would walk over. My parents are no spring chickens (65 & 70) and they found the walk pleasant enough to do it 3 days in a row. There was also a young man who lived on the corner who would play his saxophone and sing around 5pm every night - it was a treat! I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful stay!!!!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

What a beautiful home in a wonderful neighborhood! To be completely honest I have not been to NO in the last 10 years. On my prior visits I would never venture far from the touristy areas because I was nervous about NO always being on the most dangerous cities list. I did not know what to expect this time and this was my first vacation home rental. Mr.Henry is wonderful and provided a list of activities that my young children would enjoy (and they did). The home is very cozy and spacious. I felt so comfortable in the neighborhood that I walked to Frenchman Street in the evening and back after listening to the live music. My husband and I went to the local bars and grocery stores. I googled the street view of the house before arriving and I have to admit that the google street view does this neighborhood no justice. I looks nothing like the street view. My family had a wonderful time in NO. Thank you!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great deal within walking distance

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 27, 2012

The house was perfect! It is close enough to walk to Bourbon. Also, there are cafe's and an art gallery within the block. The neighbors were nice and all around quiet! The owner takes great pride in the cleanliness and also the water was always hot when needed! Definitely I would stay again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed yourself! Great area have lived in The Marigny since the 90,s. Isnt Flora,s coffee shop great and right across the street. Please come back and stay with us again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An easy time in the Big Easy

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2012

This duplex was a wonderful place to stay. The location was great. Within easy walking of the French Quarter, the place was in a quiet residential neighborhood. There were several places just around the corner that served breakfast and lunch where the locals go. Fantastic. The owner of the property was accomodating to every request and even left five bottles of water in the refrigerator for us. It was clean and well maintained. Within the first few minutes we felt like it was home. Additionally, the idea that Tennessee Williams walked on the same floors that we did was an exciting possibility.

There is no dishwasher or washer and dryer in the apartment but that was not a hindrance at all. There is a laundrymat right down the road and there are so many wonderful places to eat in New Orleans, we did not use many dishes anyway. The only suggestion I would make is to have some checkout instructions. I was not sure of whether I should strip the beds and empty the trash (I did) and where to put the used towels so I winged it. James said I did just fine but I would have felt more confortable if I would have known exactly what was expected. I always strive to be a good guest at VRBO and leave the place as clean and easy to turn over as possible. Check out instructions would make this easier.

I would HIGHLY recommend staying here. Not only is the price reasonable, the place was exactly as advertised and more. It is also a piece of New Orleans history that should not be missed. If I had to really rate my stay,in this Marigny-Bywater locale, I would say "perfect."

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming Flat, Even More Charming Neighborhood

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

This is a very sweet little home and we really fell in love with the neighborhood. My husband and I keep musing about moving to New Orleans since our trip, and I'm sure staying in this cute flat contributed to that sentiment. I'm so glad we stayed here and not in the French Quarter. However, it was a convenient location to get to the French Quarter, but we're a quiet couple so it was great to be near, but not stuck in the more crowded and touristy areas of town. Walked to Cafe du Monde in about 10 minutes from here. The neighborhood is very quiet with lots of colorful people who love to chat. And every house seems to have a cat who hangs out on the front porch! Very fun place for animal lovers. The owner, James, was great about letting our dog stay with us and was very accommodating in receiving a package for us the day before our arrival, which was ready and waiting in the flat for us when we arrived. He was very responsive to our call or two with questions but left us alone other than that, which is exactly why we prefer vacation rentals to hotels or B&Bs, we like the privacy, which James respected. My only complaint is that the couch isn't very comfy, and as I mentioned my husband and I are more quiet and don't stay out late, but that won't stop us from booking here again when we come back to New Orleans-- hopefully soon!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Flat, More Charming Neighborhood

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 10, 2012

This is a very sweet little home and we really fell in love with the neighborhood. My husband and I keep musing about moving to New Orleans since our trip, and I'm sure staying in this cute flat contributed to that sentiment. I'm so glad we stayed here and not in the French Quarter. However, it was a convenient location to get to the French Quarter, but we're a quiet couple so it was great to be near, but not stuck in the more crowded and touristy areas of town. Walked to Cafe du Monde in about 10 minutes from here. The neighborhood is very quiet with lots of colorful people who love to chat. And every house seems to have a cat who hangs out on the front porch! Very fun place for animal lovers. The owner, James, was great about letting our dog stay with us and was very accommodating in receiving a package for us the day before our arrival, which was ready and waiting in the flat for us when we arrived. He was very responsive to our call or two with questions but left us alone other than that, which is exactly why we prefer vacation rentals to hotels or B&Bs, we like the privacy, which James respected. My only complaint is that the couch isn't very comfy, and as I mentioned my husband and I are more quiet and don't stay out late, but that won't stop us from booking here again when we come back to New Orleans-- hopefully soon!

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Perfect location Wonderful neighbors Very quiet area Could not ask for a better place to stay for a first visit to New Orleans will definitely will return

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal Location

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 28, 2012

I wish I'd understood what a great location this was from the beginning -- or that I'd paid more attention to the other reviews. The colorful, bohemian Marigny neighborhood is wonderful, and since we were on the edge of it, we were practically in the French Quarter, as well. Two of us braved the afternoon heat and walked to Jackson Square and back -- about a mile each way. I also wish I'd realized we were within easy walking distance of Frenchman Street. I'd really wanted to hear some great live music. My friend and I walked around the neighborhood at about 10 p.m. Saturday night and felt perfectly safe. I guess we just walked in the wrong direction -- we found nice bars, but no live music. We had lunch at the cafe/bar/laundromat one block away -- Schiro's -- and had great food (Indian samosas and fried catfish). The 24-hour Mardi Gras grocery store two blocks away had everything we needed. I went out at 6 a.m. both mornings to take pictures and felt completely safe. It's so quiet, and there's so little traffic, I could practically walk down the middle of the street. I also loved feeling less like a tourist and more like a resident. Surprisingly, we had no trouble parking. Every time we drove up, our spot in front was available. Viola's place was very comfortable and clean -- just as pictured. James set up another bed for us in the living room, which worked perfectly. For three adults and two teenagers, it was the perfect size. The cable TV and WiFi did go out, but it wasn't a big deal for us. I have two small suggestions. First, a couple of hooks and/or another towel rack in the bathroom would be nice for hanging clothes and extra towels. Also, although your instructions about the neighborhood were helpful, I wish we'd had a more detailed map of the neighborhood and what we could have walked to. Next time, I'll do more research. If it hadn't been so hot, I'm sure we would have discovered more on our own. The next time we come to New Orleans, I'm sure we'll try to stay here again. James, do you have any one-bedroom places nearby? I'm tempted to come here on my own in the spring, when it's cooler. As a woman, I would feel completely comfortable staying here on my own. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed,Good suggestion for robe hooks bought them today,addional towels as well.No one bedrooms,but would be happy to give you a discount you were such great guests!Please come back and see us again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful First Time Visit

Review submitted: July 1, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

First of all, my husband & I do some traveling, and good or bad, I NEVER write reviews. But staying at this apartment and meeting James, was certainly worth my time to write a review on how great our stay was! James was very accommodating, as there was an issues with the ceiling fan (it was making noise) and within an hour of my call to him, he responded that it would be beneficial to his guests to replace the fan, than fix it! By the time we returned home at the end of the day, the fan was replaced! James was thoughtful to leave us umbrellas, as Hurricane Debby might be heading our way that week, and the weather could get rainy. The residence was less than a mile from the Quarter, parking was plentiful, was clean and basics were provided, and air conditioning was great in the unit (humidity and temps were near 95 during our stay)
All said, we had a great time in New Orleans, and our accommodations were great!

Owners response: Thank-you so much, With this heat wave I knew the fan would really be helpful,glad the new one worked out (better looking too) Please come back and visit again,spring and fall are really beautiful here.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Little HOuse with a lot of character

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

We went to New Orleans for a couple of days with my brother and wife. I was so glad we rented this great place!! My family kept saying that they loved having the little house over hotel rooms because it gave us the feeling of being home. The rooms were clean and spacious. The kitchen had what we needed, a coffee pot and fridge to keep the soda and beer ice cold. There were so many places to eat that that's as far as we delved into cabinets. Lots of extra towels which for us is a plus. I would certainly recommend the lovely little house to anyone wanting to enjoy New Orleans, the location is within walking distance to everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great neighborhood-easy stay

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

The apartment in the Marigny was exactly as advertised. It's about an eight minute walk to the French Quarter, but the better Frenchman's Street is just a few blocks over. The neighborhood itself is perfect. The neighbors are friedly, it's exceedingly safe (I ran early every morning) and it's an eclectic mix of peoples, all of whom seemed to know each other by name. There are a great many coffee shops all within a few minutes' walk, and the bar/restaurant down the street is full of locals, tasty, and makes nice strong drinks. There's a laundromat a few houses down which was so close I just carried a big load of clothes there and back. Street parking was plenty. We've rented all over the U.S. and Europe, and this rental is exactly what we look for: a home that will let us live like the locals that is inexpensive, comfortable, and close to attractions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

nice price

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

This was a nice quiet place at a nice price, just 1 mile from the French Quarters. The owner leaves near by and was very polite and helpful.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed the apartment! Great Guests. The apartment is actually .53 Miles from the French Market if you use google maps and a far shorter walk using Chartes St.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our home away from home in NOLA!

Review submitted: March 20, 2012   Date of arrival: March 12, 2012

We're losing count of how many times we have stayed at 1 of the 2 rental apartments owned by James - is it 3 or 4 times now? Anyway, we keep coming back because you simply cannot beat the cool Marigny/Bywater location, the great amount of space in the units, the wonderful furnishings, the colorful history of Miss Viola Viedt, and the off-the-charts friendliness & helpfulness of James himself. Can't wait for our next visit!

Owners response: Great Guests!!! Always look forward to your staying at the apartment.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good location in quiet Bohemian neighborhood

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

3 of us stayed here for a week after Mardi Gras. We walked all over, to the French Qtr., Jackson Square, Cafe du Monde during the day and felt quite safe. There is a market, a laundromat and several cafes and restaurants nearby. While clean and comfortable, this is a fairly spartan apartment and at times felt cramped for 3 adults. It needs a few things - the front door knob was hard to close and lock, there is no robe hook or exhaust fan in the shower/bathroom, and the kitchen has only the barest of essentials. While the landlord was quite responsive when we called with questions, it would have been nice to have some info on recycling, garbage, where to mail postcards (the city has removed almost all of the post boxes - we found one by the Creative Arts High School, NUCA, a couple of blocks away). We would highly recommend taking a van or bus tour to get an overview of the city, seeing the WWII Museum, having coffee and beignets at Cafe du Monde, visiting the Presbytere (next to the cathedral) to see the Katrina exhibit (very impressive) and the 1927 photos of the "lost" plantations, on the 2nd floor. Get a good tour book from the library and follow their recommendations. Most of all, enjoy the French flavor of this very walkable city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Sorry you had problems with the front door,they are wood and at times swell because of our climate.The recycling bin is actually the neighbors,we have so little trash that the city has not provided one to us. Any suggestions on what else we could use in the kitchen would be appreciated.Due to our world famous cusine most of our guests use the kitchen for rather basic meals,But we will be more than happy to purchase any addional items.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 8, 2012

Great place to stay. Very affordable price and the owner was very accommodating. Will definetly stay there again in the future. It is a little bit of a walk to the Quarter but not unreasonable. Bars and restaurants in close proximity to the residence. Property was clean and as advertised. Really enjoyed my stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Apartment was lovely, just as described

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Area is mostly residents rather than visitors in the neighborhood. Residents were out and about cycling or walking their dogs. Across the street was an amazing art gallery and down on the corner a great wine and cheese bar and restaurant named "Feelings". There is a quaint coffee shop just around the block too. The apartment was clean and well appointed, the wireless internet was flawless per the instructions located in a nice frame by the front door.

The apartment had coffee, water and pastries waiting for us upon arrival.Oh and James (our host) had taken the time to accept a package for me that was waiting on the breakfast bar when we entered. We were able to park right outside the front door, which in New Orleans is a miracle! We had more than enough towels, wash cloths ( I hated to leave dirty wash cloths where I washed off my makeup) sorry James. I felt completely safe in the neighborhood, in fact, I slept with my bedroom window open during our entire stay.

It was a business trip requiring suits and blazers, I hung them up and the closet rod fell in about 10 minutes. I called James and by the time I returned the next day, a new heavy duty rod had been installed (thank you).

We did not meet James, I am sure that was our loss. He was a perfect host, just a phone call away. We had planned to use the street car, but found it very confusing, so met some great cab drivers during our stay. It was really much more convenient to take a taxi to the convention center and cheaper than convention parking and certainly much more cost effective than hotel parking fees ($30.00 a day).

It was about a 15 minute walk to the French Quarter area. Make sure to visit the French Market while in the area, great deals and a couple of blocks from the famous Cafe Du Monde on Decatur Street. The apartment is an estimated 10 to 12 blocks from this area.

We got to know our visiting neighbors and checked out the original apartment on the other side, loved it! Both apartments were just great. My only suggestion would be an iron. We also purchased chairs to sit outside in the morning and evening, would be nice to have little chairs available for that.

Overall, it was a fabulous place, great price, safe area, very nice host and we felt very smart not paying $250 plus nightly as our fellow Century 21 Realtors did. Thank you James, really appreciated the great communication, the area and our stay!

Owners response: Thanks so much!!! and thank-you for being so patient about the closet rod. Bought an Iron and board today so they will be there for your next visit.We have added a New Orleans style wrought Iron Bench in the front for outdoor seating.
Great Suggestion!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanks for the great vacation

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 days during the Mardi Gras and it was fantastic. A reasonable 10 minutes walk from the French Quarter yet far away enough that parking is not a problem on the street even during the Mardi Gras. For those late nights that you don't want to walk home, it was only a short taxi ride away. The property is well looked after and comfortable for the stay. Would definitely rent again the next time we visit New Orleans.

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed Mardi Gras! having lived in the area for since the 1990,s I think its perfect,close to the action but you can actaually park and sleep (f you want LOL) Great guests please come and visit us again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice Place

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Stayed here with three other people for four nights. Easy walking distance to the Quarter for festivities. The place was clean and in good condition. There was water, popcorn and muffins available to us, which came in handy for the early risers waiting on late sleepers! I would definitely rent this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great apartment in the heart of the Marigny!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2011

On our last trip to New Orleans, we stayed in the other half of this cute duplex, and now the owner James has remodeled and opened up the other half. He has really done an outstanding job, and the space combines both modern and historic feels, with the latter accented by movie posters & photos of the former resident, Viola Viedt, and her famous actor father, Conrad Viedt. James will be more than happy to share some colorful stories about the Viedts if you ask him. We love the location of this duplex, which has really given us the chance to get more familiar with the Faubourg Marigny & the Bywater areas, while still only being a reasonable stroll or very short drive over to the French Quarter. James could not be any more of an accomodating host, and he lives close by so is always available if you need anything. We look forward to many more stays in this wonderful apartment (and/or its next door twin)!

Owners response: You folks are always such great guests, Glad you like the new apartment. We used a lot of Miss Veidts articles that were in storage to create an apartment similar to the other half of the duplex.Thanks again looking forward to seeing you during the carnival season.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review