reviews for: listing #92823 - British Virgin Islands, Caribbean Villa rental

Virgin Gorda 2-Brm - Stunning Ocean Views & Tranquility
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $325 /nt
    $1,365 - $2,275 /wk

sort by:

Great Views & Setting

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

We stayed in this villa for 11 nights in May 2014. Other than the view from up at Hog Heaven the view from the front deck (and living area, and bedrooms!) of this villa has to be one of the best on the island. The villa comes with all the amenities you need with a great location from which to explore the island. You are right at the Leverick Bay resort, which has many activities...plus you can get the Saba Rock ferry over to Saba Rock for happy hour and Tarpon feeding. We did day trips to many of the beaches on the island; the Baths, Spring Bay, Savannah Bay, Mahoe Bay, Long Bay and the list goes on! Bucks Market at the Spanishtown Marina was more than sufficient for all of our in house food/beverage needs and the small market at Leverick Bay was stocked much better than I had thought it would be. We will be back to this lovely spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Chris,
Thank you for such a wonderful review!! I agree, having this spectacular view of the ocean -- from even the bedrooms, is what so special, and keeps us returning to our island home.
I am so happy that you discovered how convenient our setting is for groceries/shopping, as well as site seeing.
Bravo that you got to so many of Virgin Gorda's beautiful beaches, even the more secluded ones -- that is the beauty of an extended stay.
Come back soon, we are always adding new touches to all the amenities we have in the house to make a stay comfortable - we hope to welcome you for another long, restful vacation here in Paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home/Magnificent View

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

The house was perfect for two couples. Lots of space. The house was lovely. We spent most of our time on the large wrap-around deck. The house is well-provisioned and very comfortable. We have stayed at a number of VRBOs and they all worked out great -- but no one has ever been as welcoming and wonderful to work with than Michael. She was constantly in touch, had great recommendations, and someone meet us at the ferry when we arrived. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in the BVI.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Little Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

My wife and I are lucky enough to be able to travel and have a new adventures once or twice a year but always find ourselves coming back to Virgin Gorda and Villa Alizes. Villa Alizes is the perfect spot for couples or families. The views over Leverick Bay are breathtaking, the villa itself is very comfortable and has all the facilities and utilities one might need for a short or extended stay.

We will be heading back to Virgin Gorda (for the fourth time) and Villa Alizes (for the third time) this summer and we already know this will be like coming home. The Villa is very welcoming and the hosts are wonderful.

We especially love how quiet the Island is and often have stretches of white sand to ourselves. The snorkeling is awesome at The Baths, Spring Bay, Savannah Bay and Long Bay and the reef are right off the beaches, no boat required. Look out for Turtles which often venture amongst the coral hunting for squid.

Virgin Gorda is a quiet island so if you're looking for active nightlife, you may want to look elsewhere (though Saba Rock Resort gets pretty lively later on).

We can't praise this destination enough and particularly Villa Alizes. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great Stay!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

What a GREAT week we've had! This is our third trip to Virgin Gorda and it has become our favorite island in the Caribbean. Your house and setting are magnificent! A perfect place to unwind (and escape the brutal Midwest winter, at least for a short time!) We are already planing for a return trip next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Villa Alizés a very special place!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2013

NOTE: Actual date of stay was 2/28/2012 (the calender did not go that far back).

The spectacular panoramic view and hillside location cannot be beat, but what makes Villa Alizés even more extraordinary is the authentic (and all "original") mid-century architecture and decor, much of it 'hand made' by the original owners!

Add to that, one of the most welcoming and gracious hosts we've encountered. From my first email inquiry through our entire trip, Michael was quick to answer questions and very helpful with activity and dining suggestions.

We especially enjoyed this secluded spot on the island (while walking distance to a local resort with restaurants) and the huge wrap around deck, were we spent each morning (sometimes hours) having our breakfast, reading, etc. The wifi extends outside which was great to check email while still enjoying the view! The villa also has everything you need for day to day living… coffee maker, cookware, etc. and a GREAT CD collection!

Another of my very favorite things was the hummingbirds that came to the flowering bushes just outside the sliding glass walls of the bedroom each morning. I loved waking to see our little friend hovering about… one in particular who visited at approx. 8am every morning.

The only minor critique I could make (but has probably been addressed as they were planning), was mosquitoes getting in through old screens that needed replacing. Maybe sqeeters just like 'menopausal women'(?…lol), as this did become an issue for me about midway into our stay, while my husband got barely a nibble. But again, this will likely have been fixed by now, so just be sure to KEEP the screens closed.

In a nutshell; if unobstructed island views from a hill top perch, seclusion and mid-century architecture/decor are your thing Villa Alizés is a magical destination!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kerri, having you and your husband stay with us was a delight, and we loved that you enjoyed the ambience of the house and its natural setting. Based on your observations, I am happy to say that the house has indeed new screen doors and windows throughout, as well as zappers for any who might "sneak" in. I hope your travels will bring you both back to your Virgin Gorda Home away from Home!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

As Welcoming as the Island itself

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

From our opening conversation when booking, to our last day on the island, this has been a great trip.
Your home is as welcoming as the island and her people. We swam, boated, ate-in, ate-out, slept-in and woke early.
Thank you for a great trip!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week of enjoyment!

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

What a wonderful week of enjoyment at your villa. Our stay here was incredible, especially the view, and our adventures out & about were wonderful. Thank you for your kindness & hospitality. Your "welcome pack" of info was most welcome! We ventured out to most, if not all, of your recommendations.........We're off tomorrow, but have many fond memories to carry us on until we find our way back!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for our Honeymoon

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

The Villa was perfect for our honeymoon. The views are amazing. We enjoyed watching the yachts on the bay - had an amazing time and did a ton of fun activities.
Thank you for the villa rental. We created memories for a lifetime. Hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Awesome

Review submitted: March 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

My wife and I have rented many villas in the Caribbean but honestly I would have to say this is the best by far. Perched high on a hillside the house has not only an awesome view but complete and total privacy. There is a huge (and I mean huge) wrap around balcony that at all times of day has areas of either sun or shade. The house is very well designed to provide air circulation and comfort even on days when their is not much wind. The enormous great room seemed more like a hotel lobby and we spent many hours enjoying the view here and relaxing. The house is well equipped, well furnished and the owner provides complete support throughout your stay. To top it all off this house is a very good value for Virgin Gorda. Please do not hesitate to stay here but be warned it will be hard to leave.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the Most Relaxing Destinations

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

What a memorable week we've had at the Villa!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home. The thoughtful design, nestled within the landscape, and placed high atop the bay, makes your place one of the most relaxing estinations we've traveled to.

The architecture of the house, along with the mid-century decor, reminds us of the great Frank Lloyd Wright designs...in harmony with nature & environment.

We've enjoyed every evening on the terrace --- star-gazing and appreciating the serenity and beauty.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Return

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

It's departure day, and we don't want to leave! We've really enjoyed our week at your fabulous villa -- What stunning views. Island living has been wonderful, and we can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Michael -
Thank you for a lovely time in your home. The Colors!! They feel good on your eyes. A wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Unbelievable!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Every second of our stay was more relaxing than the next. This place is perfect. Photos represent the house very well. Though the deck is really big and there are plenty of places to find sun and shade while sitting in the breeze. We enjoyed both the sunsets and the stars from the balcony.

The owner was very helpful and caring during the visit, we didn't worry for a minute about anything. We considered many other places on the island and after staying for 9 days, we would come back to the exact spot.

We would recommend this place highly to anyone planning a visit to Virgin Gorda. I miss it dearly, I only hope one day we'll be able to return here!

List of recommendations:
1. Snorkel in Savannah bay and by Devil's bay
2. Eat bbq ribs from hog heaven
3. Hike to the look out in the national park - pretty view
4. Saba Rock happy hour
5. Mad Dog Pina Colada's
6. Check out the gardens and trees at Lil Dix
7. Day trip or overnight stay at Anegada - heavenly beaches & lobster dinner (ferry or sail trip)
8. Listen to caribbean music, dance, laugh, make cocktails in the privacy of this beautiful home
9. Most importantly, just explore the island. Visit with the locals and enjoy the beaches.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful and Idyllic Location

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Thank you for welcoming us into your beautiful home and special corner of the world - "Paradise!" This truly is the most peaceful, idyllic location and we couldn't have imagined a better vacation!

We wish we could have stayed longer!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Pinching Ourselves – Was this real?!!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

My wife and I, plus one other couple spent a too-short week at Villa Alizes and we are all having trouble re-adjusting to being back home!
This spot is a gem – a very spacious home overlooking a SPECTACULAR view. We arrived at night in the total dark and were bowled over when we saw the view the following morning!
It’s a cliché to say that the photos don’t do the house justice, but this home provided way more than we expected. It was spacious enough that both couples had total privacy plus EVERY room of the house looks out on that view. It is truly hidden and quiet, and we had incredible breezes and birds visiting us all day. But it has a very cool, 1970’s vibe, like living in a James Bond film, and we're of a certain age, so we had fun with that. The owners were wonderful and you can see their attention to detail, period furnishings, an eclectic music collection, even cocktail shakers provided. But they keep it “beach simple” not fussy, so we found it very easy just to kick back. We will definitely be back.

Virgin Gorda is really special, more off the beaten track with lovely, kind people. Our final highlight, fireworks one night from Richard Branson’s Necker Island, which we enjoyed right from our deck!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Jeff, we loved having you, Kayla and your friends stay at our home. We so enjoyed how much you appreciated the spirit of the house - how it makes a perfect setting for good friends to relax and reconnect. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to have you all back again soon! Fondly, Michael

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Stunning views from all rooms, a vacation in paradise !

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

Perftect location to experience the BVI's. Phenomal views from all rooms in this villa. The deck is very large and can accomodate for family time or privacy too. Very well appointed with everything you might need. Great location convient to all that Virgin Gorda has to offer. Definately take the ferry to Saba Rock for the sunset and dinner. Rent a dingy for a day to explore the local beaches and sealife, stop for the lunch at Fat Virgin Cafe. Have a Bushwacker at Mad Dog at the yacht harbor. A must see are the Copper Mines, probably my favorite place on Virgin Gorda, much like the coastline in Maine. The Baths, of course are lovely too and a must see in this caribbean paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fabulous Time

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

Wonderful, wonderful house - surroundings gorgeous. We had a wonderful week. Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us. We had a fabulous time!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Villa Alize

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2011

I just spent a week at Villa Alize with my friends and had a fantastic time. The photographs do not do it justice. This really is a hidden oasis..... Very Stylish, very "Frank LIoyd Wright" in its furnishings and layout. You really feel a sense of nature throughout the entire house. I never slept so well in my life! Comfortable beds, very quiet and you just hear the sound of the waves. The house was immaculate. Every room opens onto a deck with veiws of the water. The great room is perfect for relaxing (or napping!!) They really have a chefs Kitchen. I love to cook, so it was fun to have a big open space with my friends around laughing and talking. We ate on the terrace most nights. No pool, but the pool below at Leverick Bay was fun (GREAT BAR!) and nice snorkeling at the private beach cove. If you are into diving try "Dive BVI on-site and you can book daytrips with them. Michael and her husband were great hosts, gave us lots of suggestions of what to check out on this very friendly island of Virgin Gorda. (Savannah Bay Beach is a MUST!!) Thanks so much for our stay. We are already planning our trip back.

Owners response: Dear Ed, thank you for the kind comments and we're so happy that you enjoyed everything we love about this special retreat. We hope you'll visit again -- Summer in Virgin Gorda is beautiful, tranquil, quiet and believe it or not, cooler than summer in New York!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review