reviews for: listing #92826 - San Diego, California House rental

Tennis-Playground Ranch Estate By The Sea
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,500 /nt

sort by:

Wonderful Family Experience

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We just got home to a polar vortex after staying a week in this beautiful estate in San Diego and needless to say, we are missing it already. We are from Chicago so we were looking to get away with the family this winter to some place warm. Sure we could have done the typical Disney vacation or a cruise to the Bahamas but we wanted something different; something private, something exclusive and something family oriented.
After searching online, we booked a weeks vacation at this estate because it has all of the amenities of home like a full kitchen, multiple bedrooms, TVs and wireless internet but also has a swimming pool, a tennis court with bicycles/tricycles and a playground for kids that are all exclusive to us and no other guests. Even the most expensive hotel or cruise liner cannot offer that kind of exclusiveness and privacy.

The house itself is very spacious with bedrooms spreading across a large area basically making two separate wings of bedrooms. My two daughters and my grandchildren had a great time staying in the upstairs bedrooms away from the other bedrooms. There is a patio upstairs that looks out at two ponies that live on the property. My grandchildren were actually able to feed carrots to the ponies which was a fun experience. Bob is the owner of the estate and is always available via phone or email should you have any questions or special needs.
He informed us that we could also take advantage of the additional horses on the property that he owns next door so our entire family took a relaxing horseback ride through the countryside while we texted pictures to our jealous friends and family back home. It was clear that day so we could also see all the way to the ocean.

To make a long story short, our entire family had a great time enjoying the peaceful surroundings, the amazing weather and accommodations that are hard to find.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Horribly Disgusting!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

We checked into this property for a vacation with friends. When we went to turn the sheets back in bed the first night, the fitted white sheet was stained with yellow urine stains. We swapped the sheet from another bedroom downstairs (where we had already seen a live bug) as there were no other clean sheets to use. That's when we began noticing several flies all around the upstairs bedrooms. We tried to sleep as best we could despite the fact that we were swatting flies all night. We spent the next day at the zoo and arrived back late that night. Upon arrival, we were forced to "jump" the gate, as it would not (after 20 attempts) open with the code the owner gave us. Again, once upstairs we were inundated with flies. We continuously swatted and killed flies on countertops, walls, pillows, our water bottles and at one point...a toothbrush! We got absolutely ZERO sleep that night and as the sun rose, we discovered the source of the flies. There was a second staircase from the upstairs bedrooms that leads down to a door that opens to the outside. That door has a 2" - 3" gap of daylight at the bottom of it. Outside the door, we found (within feet) a huge landfill of horse manure. This was the disposal dump for the entire ranch. The flies were swarming it and flying right underneath the door and into the home. We immediately packed all of our things, left the key and fled. We spent the rest of our vacation at a hotel. We called Bob (the owner) to question him about the massive manure landfill right outside the bedroom, he replied, "Well, we churn it!" Disgusting. We were led to believe this was an upscale "tennis estate" from the description online with no mention of "ranch". The upstairs where we stayed was worse than a Motel 6. We were given dirty, unsanitary conditions to stay in and forced to swat flies from ourselves, our children and our belongings. Bob agreed to (but never did) refund our payment because of our awful experience and the fact that we left his home two days early. He demanded however that we write an email to him stating that “if he did not refund our money, we would write a bad review”. We were baffled as to why he wanted this specific language and simply wrote an email with all of the facts and included pictures of what we witnessed in his home. He was angry and again demanded we respond with the exact language he asked for. We refused as we felt very uncomfortable. He never responded and kept all funds (even for nights we didn't stay).

Owners response: Normally I do Not respond to guest reviews but let them speak for themselves. I felt that I must as this guest is NOT Accurate and trying to ruin our business. When the guests checked in i walked them through the entire house, every room. The guests didn't call or text me to mention they had an issue even though i gave them my cell # and told them i respond Very Quickly. We have a professional cleaning staff that cleans the entire house before new guests checkin. Also a quality control person that Rechecks to make sure Everything is looking GREAT! Gate not working complaint, punch in the Correct Code the gate opens. Complaint about stained sheet is Inaccurate. I personally checked All sheets after guests left and there was NOT a single stained sheet in the entire house. Cmplaint regarding horse manure-fly issue Also Inaccurate and totally Unreasonable. We Do have 2 small ponies Lucky & Toy (as you can see in the video) that do live at the top of the property. There was a small pile of manure that is mixed with hay & dirt at the base of a Newly planted landscaped bank where we just planted some new fruit trees and in the process of being spread. No Swarming Flies there i checked.They also stated there were flies all over the house and they killed Alot of them. I went through the whole house and didn't see one fly Live or Dead. Do we have a few flies in the house sometimes? Sure we do its a large property and Occasionally we see a few flies. Comment nowhere near the sea. We ARE located 9 miles by road to the Pacific Ocean. We have a GREAT view of San Diego County as we are 1000 ft elevation so the fog that hangs down by the ocean is mostly below the estate The guests called after being at estate 2 days, told me they left and Threatened to post bad reviews all over internet unless i gave them a full refund and also told me that his wife is a attorney and they were going to sue me. I did ask them to put this in writing and they refused
We have owned the estate for about 20 years and take GREAT Pride in maintaing the estate to a VERY HIGH Standard. We want ALL guest families to have the Best possible vacation experience. We go out of our way to Under Promise and Over Deliver to Make Sure All guests leave Happy! I Feel that this guest was thinking they could get a Full refund by Threatening and Intimidating Me even though they stayed for 2 days. i have contacted guests that stayed before and after this guest and they will be posting Acccurate reviews

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tennis Estate

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This estate is truly amazing. It has had everything I was looking for. I went here with my family and friends. We all had an amazing time. It has something for everyone. My friends and I throughly enjoyed the tennis court. We played so much I think I still have blisters on my feet lol. The tennis court isn't the only thing played on it. The kids loved riding bike, playing catch, basketball, tag, among other games they played. There is also a great playground adjacent to the tennis court in the grass. The kids also loved jumping on the trampoline.

This estate also has a pool. It is a great pool just to lounge in or if you have kids there is no deep end which we all liked. No matter where you are this place has amazing views. You have views of the country side along with views overlooking San Diego. We really loved that every night we saw hot air balloons in the sunset sky. Also in the summer months Sea World shoots off fireworks which we could see in the horizon on clear nights.

Although there are many restaurants near by. This estate has an amazing gourmet kitchen. There were a few nights we decided to not go out and went to a local grocery store a mile away to pick up food to cook which was very nice. \

Bob is the best host. Not only is he very funny and easy to get along with. He is also very helpful if you ever need anything just text or call him. He is also very knowledgable about things to do, see, restaurants, beaches, shopping, etc.

This house is also one level which is good if you have anyone elderly or young children staying with you. This is which the exception of the stairs going down to the pool, tennis court, and playground. Also, there is an apartment above the garage that you need to climb stairs to get to. This apartment is also great. It is a one bedroom with full kitchen, bathroom, and living room.

I would recommend this place to anyone. Especially if you love Tennis or have kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect for large family: Two estates side by side

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

In August 2012, our family of 18 ( 2Grandparents, 4 children with spouses, 8 grandchildren) rented both the Ranch by the Sea and the adjacent Tennis Estate by the Sea. It worked out best that the 4 younger children (1 to 4) and parents stayed in the Tennis Estate and the older children (5 to 8) stayed in the Ranch Estate. However, there was easy movement between the two houses, so that all were able to enjoy all the benefits of both. Both pools were delightful. We used the pool at the Ranch (and its adjacent hot tub) mostly because it was slightly bigger and had more seating. The ranch had a smaller playhouse in the back. The Tennis Estate had an excellently-equipped lighted tennis court, along with trampoline and large children’s playhouse. At our request, Bob, the owner, graciously purchased a case of tennis balls and cart, and he had enough tennis racquets for all of the children and adults who wanted to play. On several days we brought in a tennis pro who gave lessons to both children and adults. The adjacent pool was especially handy on those days. Each house is extremely well equipped with cooking utensils and equipment. We ate dinner mainly at the Ranch because the new grill was larger and seating outdoors could accommodate all of us. Breakfast and sometimes lunch were split between the two. The Tennis estate had a widescreen TV as part of the very large kitchen and eat-in area (which also was equipped with toys of all types for the younger children). The Ranch had a pool table (and widescreen TV) and several video and real pinball machines, which provided hours of fun for the older children and adults. On top of all that, bob provided a horseback riding experience for all of the children and some adults. The facilities are outstanding, and we would have used it more, but the weather was unusually hot during most days. Under most conditions, the riding opportunities are unique and valuable for those who wish to partake. All in all, our family had a great time staying in the two houses, and we thank Bob for his gracious hospitality that provided us fun time and many memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

cherishable memories for everyone

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 24, 2012

I should start by saying that I barely know how to use a computer let alone write reviews and postings on the internet. However, I felt compelled to show my appreciation and spread the word about a wonderful experience I had while visiting California.
I had planned to take my family to California for quite some time but wanted to make it a vacation that we would all remember as that special experience. I am happy to say that I delivered, thanks to this rental property.
Bob is the owner of the property but is more like a personal concierge if you need him. Upon arriving, we were given a tour of the property and informed of all of the great possibilities of keeping my family entertained. He also owns a restaurant down the street which turned out to be a huge bonus considering we had a full menu of great healthy prepared food just a mile down the road. Who wants to cook on a luxury vacation, right?
Aside from being a large house with everything you could need, this property offers so much more for kids and adults. The swimming pool and tennis court were fun for everyone and the children's playground was popular with my youngest one. On the last day, we all explored the peaceful California countryside on a relaxing horseback ride using some of the horses that live on the property. To make a longer story short, I will just finish by saying that we will definitely be back. Thanks for the memories!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review