reviews for: listing #92832 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

5 BR/5 Bath w/Theater and Game Room, Gatlinburg
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Cobbly Nob
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $300 /nt
    $1,800 - $1,800 /wk

sort by:

A wonderful place to relax

Review submitted: June 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

This was the perfect place to spend time with our friends and family. It was close to
Gatlinburg and the national park. June went out of her way to help in any way she could. Thank you so much June this was truly something special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful memories

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

The property was gorgeous, the views were incredible and every room was just how it was pictured! Just breathtaking! Will plan a return trip next year with the entire family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stasha29

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

We stayed at "Something Special" for a family vacation, and it was absolutely beautiful! The cabin was very clean and spacious and the views were stunning! We will definitely stay here again! Thank you June!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Place!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

I was there on a couples ski weekend and the place was beautiful. Ms. June was very helpful and that can't be overstated. The place is just a few minutes from everything. It was clean and had everything we needed. We used everything but the hot tub and that was due to the weather (We're Floridians). The view from the deck was nice, some couples watched the sun rise from the deck. The game room was nice but the pool sticks were bad and the air hockey table doesn't keep score but it was still fun. Me and my lady had some pretty intense ping pong matches. My favorite room was the movie room. That 80 inch screen was perfect for movie night and the guys watched a little football. To me, the place was perfect but two rooms have 32 inch tv's but the other rooms have extremely small tv's and one couple wanted a room with a larger tv but the two were already taken. The pool table needs better sticks. They can add a nicer large pot as the one there was rusty. All these things are minor and I plan on going back next winter with my family and staying in the same place. Would definitely recommend staying there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind comments about Something Special. The small televisions are brand new 19" flat screens. The smaller televisions are in the smaller bedrooms. I appreciate you letting me know about the rusty pot. I just replaced 1 pot, I guess I should have replaced both of them. The rusty pot will be replaced with a new one immediately.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Debbie

Review submitted: December 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

My family just loved your cabin.It had everything we could every need.The grandchildren loved the movie room.The cabin was big and roomy and very inviting.We all loved our trip .Thank you again for allowing us to rent your beautiful home for our Christmas get away with our family .

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Something Special. That is what we try to do: give every guest something special to remember their visit to the Smokies. We hope you can return sometime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

We rented "Something Special" as a family to celebrate my parents 25th wedding anniversary. The pictures did not do it justice. The house provided adequate sleeping arrangements for 11 adults and 2 children. The house was clean and had plenty of sheets and towels on hand to accommodate our large group. We cooked a large family breakfast and dinner in the house and found the kitchen to be stocked with everything we needed. The view from house is wonderful and the deck is a great place to enjoy your morning coffee. The house was a short drive from Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. I had a couple of short conversations with June and she was a joy to work with. She was even kind enough to provide me with ideas for kid friendly attractions in the area.
We had a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Cabin - Beautiful Views

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

My family and I really liked the "Something Special" cabin. The owners are extremely nice people and would recommend this to anyone considering staying in the Gatlinburg area. The cabin is located about a 12-15 minute drive to Gatlinburg and overlooks a golf course at Cobbly Nob. The views of the mountains are incredible. The cabin is also very private.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking Views in a wonderful home!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Something Special! The communication with & customer service of the owners from start to finish was perfect! They were extremely helpful. (Thank you June!) we found everything just as described. The home is just far enough from town to enjoy the peaceful surrounds yet close enough to Gatlinburg & Pigeon Forge to enjoy the activities in the cities. Our guys went to 3 local golf courses & enjoyed them all.

The home is beautiful & furnished perfectly. The views from the 3 back & side decks were amazing. We enjoyed the sunrises from the top back left deck & the sunsets from side deck. We had an unblocked view of the mountains & could hear the river below which was very peaceful. Our children & grandchildren enjoyed the Theatre Room. The beds are very comfortable. The pillows are a little flat so you may want to bring your own. We ate almost all our meals at "home" & had all we needed in the kitchen. The 2 large pots need to be replaced but other than that All was good! they even have a crock pot. The large washer & dryer was a big plus for the 9 of us. We also made use of the charcoal grill.

Because the temps got into the 90's the A/C had a hard time keeping the upper level cool, we called it in & a repair man came to do an adjustment to the unit which helped the issue.

I noticed the previous statement about the deck. I asked the owner about it & was told it was fine to use. All 9 of us took advantage of it with no problems.

You will not go wrong choosing this lovely home for your stay.

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Something Special. We have taken care of all of your concerns. Flat pillows and big pots have been replaced. Thank you for bringing our attention to these items. We do what we can to make our guests happy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Dream House

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Our seven year old grandson calls this his "Dream House." Indeed it is! There is so much room to stretch out, play games, have dinner together and just enjoy! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Reunion March/April 2013

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Something Special was our cabin for our annual family reunion in Gatlinburg this year. We just got home so I wanted to write this review while its still fresh in my mind. Upon arriving I thought to myself 'THIS is IT???" when I pulled into the driveway. Once I entered the house though, it was a whole different story. The photo of the front of the house only shows the top floor (3rd floor). The other two floors are below the area where you pull into the driveway and can only been seen from the back balconies. The views are fantastic, overlooking the golf course, stream and mountains. There was plenty of room for the family. I met the cleaning folks and they were SO NICE and welcoming! We struck up some good conversation before we departed to give them the time they needed to finish their job before we checked in. The linens were clean, the house was warm and inviting. Plenty of room for 10 adults and 2 children.
The only reason I gave this house 4 out of 5 stars are two reasons:
1) the room with the bunk beds is not very welcoming. It is on the 2nd floor and you have to walk THROUGH the king sized bedroom AND a bathroom to get to it. There are no windows at all so it is a bit daunting and "tight". My children were too scared to stay in it, even with us in the adjoining bedroom. That meant that the others who shared it had to time their ins and outs of the bedroom to ensure nobody was in the shared bathroom. That bathroom has zero counter space as well. I think it was the smallest bathroom. For an adjoining bathroom I'd think it should have had the most space but it is what it is and it was not bad...just odd.
2) the decks! We noticed that the decks felt like they were slanting downwards a tad. My cousin went to take a look and it was a bit un-nerving to see that the decks had some kind of makeshift "fix" to the support beams (these decks are very high up). I'm sure they are steady and safe but it made us all feel very uneasy up on that third level after seeing the pieces of wood jammed under the support beams between the cinder blocks. It looks almost as if one time there may have been some kind of earth shift.
Other than those two VERY minor details, we loved our stay! The owners could not have been nicer and easier to deal with. We highly recommend this cabin!

Owners response: We always inform renters of the adjoining bedrooms. This information is clearly stated in the description. Most children like the bunk room, and this is the first negative comments we have had. The deck situation is in the process of being addressed. Extra support posts have been installed and more are in the plans in the near future to make guests feel more secure.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 11, 2013

Our family spent a week at "Something Special" and I must say we were very impressed! I spent alot of time researching a rental online for our week long vacation when I came across Something Special. It's in a great location and the sunrises were just amazing and peaceful. Just makes you sit back in awe of God's wonderful creation and beauty. We all have fun watching movies in the home theater, then playing pool, air hockey and ping pong. There's never a dull moment. The location was good too, not in the thick of things, but not too far away from everything either. We were sad to leave and the kids keep asking when are going back? Guess the next thing to do is plan a summer vacation and we strongly recommend "Something Special"

The Connor Family

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. But we have to give all the credit to God for the amazing sunrises and peaceful environment. We ar so glad you enjoyed your stay in Something Special and we would love to have you back any time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Retreat

Review submitted: January 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

The cabin by far exceeded our expectations! It is lovely, comfortable, and roomy. The beds were wonderful and the linens were high quality. Even the bunk beds were impressive. They are both full-size and solid wood, very sturdy! The cabin was very clean and the photos do not do it justice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Will DEF Return!

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 20, 2012

We had 10 of us for a short 3 day weekend in the smokies! This cabin is beautiful I really don't think the pictures do it justice. The cabin was VERY CLEAN upon arrival and the hot tub is HUGE. It even has a little waterfall and color changing lights. All of the bedrooms are beautiful. There were plenty of towels for us. The only recommendation I would make for other travelers would be bring some extra pillows. My husband likes to sleep with 3 or 4 pillows and there was only one on our bed. Which we just compromised and found some spares in the closet. They only thing we might suggest in the future also is there is not a radio on any of the floors. This could be a helpful feature for the gameroom floor but defiantly not a deal breaker you can always just bring one down. Also the 5th bedroom is the smaller bunk bed room attached to the king bedroom I misread that until after I booked. This would be perfect for a small family but great for adults too. This trip was adults only and the other couple really enjoyed the bunk bed room!! it shares a bathroom with the king bed room. Or you can go downstairs to the theater room and use the full bathroom down there. The view was AMAZING! I wish we were back there right now :(! but our next trip to Gatlinburg we will DEF book this cabin again! They do provide some dish washer packs they had 2 for us. They even had a sample of laundry detergent in case you forget. Downtown Gatlinburg was about 20 min from this cabin. We never had any problems getting into town. I have already told many of our friends about the value of this cabin and how much fun it was! So glad I found it. Some other places will charge you a lot more and you will get a lot less. TRUST me I have booked 3br cabins more expensive than this! I can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Reunion Grand Success

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Unfortunately, I could not participate in the reunion-celebration because unexpectedly I had open heart surgery in late June. As many plans had already been made, I insisted that the other family members follow through anyway. They did, and the event was a grand success. Everyone who attended raved about the accommodation, how well furnished, equipped, comfortable and clean it was. And, of course, the setting and scenery added to their enjoyment. They all had a wonderful time and went home uplifted by the experience.I also want to say that the process of making rental arrangements was efficient and went smoothly. You have a very attractive property and we all thank you for allowing us to enjoy it.

One additional note is that the pictures on your web site do not adequately portray the appeal of Something Special. Features like the unique quilts on each bed, the quality of furnishings and the inviting draw of the decks are eye candy that can probably be appreciated only in real time, on the spot. Finally, all of the ten family participants were high in their praise and continue to talk about the good time they had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First time

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

This is our first time doing anything like this - had a wonderful time - had no issues.
This is Something Special - sad to leave.
God bless and thanks for sharing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

assistant principal of large high school

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 29, 2012

Awesome experience for all of us. Words do not do justice to the beauty of scenery and the facilities inside are amazing. It was exactly as advertized in cleanliness and provisions. Loved the living room with fireplace and big screen TV. Porches with chairs provided time for reflection and just soaking up the beauty of God's creation. Plan to make this a getaway each year at least once maybe more. Overall rating is definitely excellent!! Thanks for the memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

2012 SPRING BREAK

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Our week long stay in Something Special cabin was enjoyable. The cabin was very nice and was as the photos showed. We really enjoyed the theater room watching a movie every night. The kitchen came better equipped than others that we have stayed at. Hot tub worked perfectly. We understood that there was a game console in the theater room which we were never able to find a little of a disappointment for the 4 teenage boys but instead played air hockey and ping pong. All bathrooms did come equipped with towels but would suggest bringing your own. The distance to Gatlinburg was about a 15-20 minute drive. Overall our stay was a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: More towels will be supplied, especially for week long stays. The game console has been removed from the cabin, but there is still plenty to keep busy and enjoy your time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Something Special

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Something Special -- the house was everything as described. It even came with a neighboring dog who made herself quite at home. It seems that the dog has an issue with the neighbor up the hill as she would spend hours barking in the morning in front of the woman's house...until we (or the lady) could lure it to our porch where she was quite content. The movie room and hot tub were enjoyed every evening. We had a group of 9 and as mentioned in a previous post the supply of towels is very thin...we each had one. There was some confusion upon check out as to what to do with the garbage. After a phone call my brother-in-law was told to take it down the mountain to a location about a mile away -- as he was in route he received a phone call back saying they were mistaken and to just leave it outside (the note said to place in the containers outside, but there weren't any to be found). With just a couple improvements to the quantity of towels (and yes we did wash them during the week) the barking dog every morning and check out procedures this could really be something special.

Owners response: The outside trash containers is now at the top of the list of things to do. These will have to be "critter proof". The number of towels will definitely be improved also. Thanks so much for letting me know this problem. I just don't know about the dog situation. I have never seen dogs in that area except on a leash. I may need to check with the neighbors to see where this dog belongs. I certainly don't want anyone to have problems while visiting "Something Special".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wow!

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

What a beautiful cabin home! Wow! The mountain views are breathtaking and this is the place to be with kids! Everything from pool to ping pong to movie style theatre! Our kids were never bored! Golf course incredible! Dads and boys went golfing twice! Short drive to Gatlinburg was perfect! Huge spacious home even with 9 of us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fun Multi-Family Getaway

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We had a great time at Something Special. Plenty of room for everyone. June and Rachel were great to work with and made everything easy. Thanks for a great time!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: I have to give Rachel the credit for making everyting easy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WAS TRUELY SOMETHING SPECIAL

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

We did our annual ski trip to Gatlinburg and booked this cabin via internet. This cabin more than exceeded our expectations. It was Perfection. We loved the open floor plan, the balcony and spacious rooms. We also got to utilize the jucuzzi. It was magnificent! We would never phathom a cabin so perfect. Thanks for making this available!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Impressive!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

I've stayed at over 15 cabins in the Gatlinburg area and this one is definitely Top 3. The pictures online do not do it justice. As soon as we walked in the dorr we loved the big open room and beautiful Christmas decorations. The movie theater was perfect with the sweet details of the monogrammed blankets and space heater for extra warmth.
Sooo thankful this website brought us to "Something Special". Great big blessings for 2012!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolute Best

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

"This is the absolute best vacation cabin we have had. Every room is decorated perfectly with a theme. Loved the quilts on the beds. The lower floor(theater) kept our 6 grandchildren entertained as well as the 2nd floor games: pool table, ping pong, and air hockey. We all had comfortable, private bedrooms and we loved the spacious living area and dining table, which accommodated all of us. The view is awesome and we enjoyed all of the windows where we could enjoy the scenery.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

GREAT PLACE!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Very comfortable and homey. Rooms are nice and cozy. Good area and subdivision. Love the Christmas decorations. It was a very nice toch. Really enjoyed watching "White Christmas" on the big screen. We had movie night every night. Really got spoiled. Would love to come back again, will recommend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This Place is Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 25, 2011

This place is wonderful! Thanks for sharing it. Great view, love the way the cabin is layed out. The tv room is the best! I do believe we have found the best cabin and will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely lived up to its name

Review submitted: January 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

My family of 6 adults stayed here. Since we have our first grandchild on the way, this was our last vacation as just the 6 of us. Something Special truly made it a special time for us. This is by far the best cabin we’ve ever stayed in. The pictures and descriptions don’t do it justice. As we all walked in the cabin and went from room to room, we couldn’t stop smiling and saying “this is amazing!” Our favorite part was the theater room. We watched a couple of movies but mostly enjoyed playing the Wii we brought. After jumping around and making ourselves sore, we chilled in the oh-so-relaxing hot tub. We spent most of our time at the cabin playing together, just chilling or looking at the beautiful view. We went to the Old Mill restaurant in Pigeon Forge and it lived up to the reviews we’d read. Service was great and one meal there is more than enough to bring back a second meal to eat later at the cabin. We went into Gatlinburg to walk around and play mini-golf. We went to a 3-D circus one – wouldn’t recommend it. We had fun but it was cramped, noisy and not worth the 3-D feature. The drive to either city is easy and convenient. We would definitely recommend this cabin. Thanks to the owners for sharing your gift and for making this such a wonderful experience. It was such a blessing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: "Something Special" can be a very relaxing time with family and friends. The views are amazing. I agree, the real thing is much better than the pictures. We would like to share our blessing with everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Retreat

Review submitted: November 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 12, 2011

Our family, all 11 of us, stayed at Something Special for 11 days. We loved it. The children loved the theater and the game room, and the adults were right there with them. The hot tub was clean and hot and very relaxing. My only suggestion is that if you are traveling in a large group, bring extra towels and wash cloths. The home was absolutely amazing and we would love to get to stay again. Thanks for sharing your home with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have provided a washer and dryer for your convience, just in case you need more clean towels during your stay. You can even wash your clothes before you go home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WANT TO STAY LONGER

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with me. We had a most wonderful time. Wish it had been longer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!!!

Review submitted: July 12, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My family and I (11 of us) recently stayed and had an amazing time! The house is beautiful and lots of room for all of us! We would definilty recommend to anyone looking for "something special" and look forward to staying again sometime in the future. Thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have recently added full size bunk beds that will sleep 2 more, for those large families.
Something Special now sleeps 14 comfortably.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Something Special and Then Some!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

I can't stress enough how much we have enjoyed our stay here! We were amazed from the moment we walked in the door. Something Special doesn't do it justice. We stayed here with our three girls and my parents, and there has been more than enough space for everyone. This home has an amazingly breathtaking views from each of the three decks. The game room has provided hours of entertainment, and the theatre room is absolutely awesome!! Everything is very clean and comfortable. The home is in a gorgeous area that is just a few miles away from everything. The owners are sincerely kind and very helpful. They have thought of everything, from great books to comfortable furniture to information and coupons. All appliances are nice and work well. The bedscs are all comfortable. Absolutely everything about this home will make your vacation experience comfortable and special. We WILL be back! We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have to give God credit for the amazingly breathtaking views, all we did was give everyone a place to enjoy them. We have had guests who never left the house, once they got there, except to reluctantly go home. We are truly glad you enjoyed it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful vacation home

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 10, 2011

This is a beautiful vacation home. The view is amazing - one of the best in the Smokies. We hope we will be able to return. The hot tub is a great addition.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely loved the place.

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We absolutely loved the place. Had a great time and hope to return in the near future. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Something Special

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Our stay at Something Special was great. We had 12 people and plenty of room for everyone. The kids loved the theater room, in fact four of them actually slept there.

The three levels with a deck on each level made for beautiful views. Snow could still be seen on the mountains which made it more beautiful.

I would highly recommend this cabin if you have a large family and needing plenty of room.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: I'm glad God provided such a beautiful view for all to enjoy.
Either snow, spring blooming, or fall colors are all fantastic views from the decks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2008

Something Special is beautiful inside and out!!! We had my husband's family stay with us and we had the best time! It had plenty of room for everyone and the kids loved the game room!! The mountain views are breath taking and the inside is absolutely gorgeous!! I highly recommend Something Special!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Third stay and counting!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

We used to "try out" different cabins when we visited the area just to see what each one had to offer, but we are going to stick with "Something Special" from now on. It is still so new and we love the set up with the "central areas" on each level for interaction, but you can retreat to your own room easily and be away from all the action if you choose. It feels like we are away from everything while we are at the cabin, but you can get to all of the attractions in or around the Pigeon Forge, Sevierville, Gatlinburg area within minutes. We have stayed at this cabin on three different occassions now and it seems to get better each time. The kids always love the theater room for movies/games. They were so excited about the addition of the ping pong table to the game room since our last visit! The only "bad" thing on our last visit was that the hot tub wasn't real hot, but it was just fine for the kids. When I called the owners to reserve our next stay, they said they had just purchased a new hot tub. Can't wait to test it out this spring! I feel like we have come to know the owners well enough to call them friends. They seem like really good, Christian people, and we have had good dealings with them each time we have stayed at their home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: New and bigger hot tub added for your pleasure. We hope others return to enjoy Something Special often.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Its really was Something Special

Review submitted: January 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Upon arriving at "Something Special" I found the driveway somewhat steep, but it leveled off near the house for parking. The house seemed "smaller" than expected from the front, as you didn't realize it was three levels at the back. There was plenty of space! A huge great room with fireplace and windows. Decks, decks and decks with great views of the mountains. I didn't use the hottub but it really looked inviting!
The movie theatre room was on the bottom level and was more than I expected, with reclining chairs!
This would be a great place for two or three couples to share, or a large family. It is away from the hustle and bustle of busy Gatlingburg and Pigeon Forge, but close enough for plenty of trips for shopping or dining! Golf at your front door! Pool too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review