reviews for: listing #92860 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Alternative to expensive resorts within paradise!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cluster ll
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $950 - $1,000 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Many cons, a few pros

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Our first impressions of the villa was not favorable. The furniture and décor was old and outdated. There was a huge trail of ants that ran from the window to the toilet. One of the bar stools was so wobbly, I felt it was hazardous to use. On the second night, we were greeted by a huge roach that kept dodging our attempts to kill it.

Despite all this, we did recognize that this property did have a few pros. One of our favorite features was the back patio with the peaceful view of the lake and the golf course. We ate breakfast on the patio every morning and it was a wonderful way to begin the day. The location of the villa was convenient to the pools, the beach, and the El Yunque Rainforest. Also, the washer and dryer was quite useful.

In summary, this property is more affordable than many others we considered. I would recommend this property to those who are looking for strict practicality. I would not recommend this property to anyone who is remotely interested in luxury or aesthetics.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very nice well kept property.

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

It was a very relaxing experience, looking forward to rent this place again. Very easy to communicate with the owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful resort living

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

The property was a great value. The caretaker was very nice and patient with us since we arrived quite late. The view is not the beach but it is quite nice, the pools are fantastic, the beach club is close enough and quite nice, two layers of security, wi-fi, etc. The main downside is that you need a car to get around, the property is up in a hill and not walking distance from the resort or nearby shops and restaurants. Also, the air conditioners can be loud and take some getting used to. I recommend to dine up the hill at Richie's. Great location to visit El Yunque, water activities in Fajarado and a new tollway No. 66 provides easy access to San Juan. Overall, I give it two thumbs up.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Stay!

Review submitted: June 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We found that the Villa was clean and really comfortable. It was so awesome to have a washer and dryer so that we didn't have to bring back wet and dirty clothes. Having screens on the balcony doors was an added plus. Falling asleep to the sounds of Puerto Rico was wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good Value at a nice beach resort

Review submitted: April 25, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at this condo. Great value for the money at a beautiful beach resort. The resort property, beach and pools were lovely and uncrowded. Perfect covered porch for enjoying your morning coffee or supper at night. Ruben will meet you at the resort entrance and show you around the condo. It is an older condo, but all the appliances were new. Came with a washer/dryer, great wifi and 2 air conditioners-which I used at night. The bedroom is snug, but the bed was comfortable. Lots of beach towels. There are 2 pools- the one at the condo was spotless and I was the only one there. You can walk(10 minutes) or drive to the free lot at the beach. There is another great pool at the beachclub with chaise lounges for the beach, a bathroom and on the weekends they have a beach bar. The beach is miles long and perfect for morning walks. The ocean has some surf and I usually walked down to the hotel to swim in the ocean, so I would not be alone in the waves. It's the perfect spot for going to El Junque (15 minutes away) or catching the ferry from Fajardo.
I bought dinner to go at Don Pepe (great food), the kioskos and Richies on the hill. Had a lovely glass of wine and dinner on my private patio every night.
The weekend at the condo was lively-lots of PR families have vacation condos there. During the week, it's very peaceful. I appreciated the security and the gated entrance. Great stay-would return there if I am ever in Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

A relaxing week.

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

We stayed in this villa for a week with our family of four. It was cozy for our family with the bedroom and pull out couch in the living room. We spent most of our time at the beach or pool which were both beautiful. The pool closest to the villa is actually prettier than the beach club pool. We enjoyed watching the iguanas on the lawn while sitting on the balcony overlooking the golf course. The beach club and beach were a also nice though over Easter weekend the beach club was very busy in comparison to early in the week. The washer and dryer worked great and were wonderful for our family. We cooked in the kitchen all week and found all we needed to prepare almost all meals. Ruben was very helpful and quick to respond to all of our questions when emailed. He was very helpful on arrival since navigating the resort was tricky at night. We enjoyed the big waves at the beach but also took trips to Luquillo and Seven Seas. Loved Luquillo but the kids loved body boarding and wave jump on
the resort beach. So many cool things to do close by hiked the rainforest, snorkelled with East Island Excursions, and kayaked the biobay. It was a great villa to use as home base for busy days. Internet did not work which helped us for disconnecting to the world but we were planning on using it for day trip planning so luckily we brought our guide book and used our smartphones to google map most things.
The security of the resort was nice and the grounds were beautiful for jogging and walking. It was a great and affordable place to stay. Glad we had a car to explore and get groceries. ( Amigo is just up Hwy 3) Never went to the main resort. Kids loved collecting fallen coconuts and breaking them open. We loved opening all the doors and enjoying the open air blowing through the villa. Only downfall was there were some ants in the villa but with all the openness of the villa that is understandable. It was a great place to stay or a very reasonable price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Place

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Its perfectly located in front of a lake and near of everything, but you will need a car. This property its clean and same as picture show. The pools its amazing and i recomend to all who want a place to stay with great price. Willam, the owner, and Ruben, his person in charge, have a great personality that invites you to treat like a family, and this is very importantant. Thank for your hospitallity!! Your have a friend here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Place

Review submitted: February 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

This Villa was great, affordable and very comfortable. The owner is very nice, provided us with all the information we needed, and once we read about a broken washer in a review, he called me to inform me that he personally traveled to Puerto Rico to purchase a new washer and dryer. On arrival Ruben met us at the entrance of the resort because the first time you go there it is a little confusing to get there, and we followed him to the Villa... definitely will need a car. The area was very clean and calm. The villa has air-conditioning units and it was very nice and cool in the villa. It has everything you need; full kitchen if you want to cook meals (which is much affordable then eating out all the time since good food is a little costly) nice living room with TV (we did not do much TV watching). Nice patio with mosquito nets, there were some mosquitoes in February but really not enough to even put repellant on. There were towels, but no blanket (the climate was warm, but if you get cold from AC bring a light blanket). The beach is nearby; we would drive to the pool near the beach and walk to the Hotel every morning for my conference, WOW unforgettable walks. We had a wonderful time in Puerto Rico there are a few good restaurants and/or food kiosks nearby but really needed a car. We went to the Culebra Island which has one of the most beautiful beaches in the world Flamenco beach. Well I could not tell you enough about how satisfied I am with the place and the attention from the owner and Ruben. Thank you guys for helping us celebrate our 10 year anniversary.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not as expected

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

We booked this villa as an affordable alternative to staying at the Wyndham Rio Mar resort while in Puerto Rico for a wedding. The gentleman who met us as the villa to give us the key and show us around was very friendly and accommodating, and was in and out quickly.

Almost immediately my fiancee discovered cockroaches, ants and what appeared to be fleas in the unit. I have lived in tropical climates and understand that bugs are a part of life, but there were cockroach droppings around the bathroom sink, around the edges of the bathtub and on the tops of the dishes in the cupboards. Apparently the last guests in the villa also noticed the bugs and droppings, because they left a message on the bathroom mirror (seen when the bathroom was steamed up during a shower) about how they were not going to miss the ant and roach feces.

The rugs on the tile floor appeared as it it hadn't been vacuumed in months, and the floors had not been swept. Shampoo rings in the bathtub also spoke to the villa having not been cleaned recently.

On our second day, one of the bathroom light switches stopped working, and the bedroom light switch needed to be worked like a pump handle to get the failing florescent bulbs to turn on. We figured out later that the bathroom switch could be worked likewise.

I sent a text message to the local point of contact to let him know about the switches, lights, and the prolific bugs. He told me that he would check with the owner and call me back the next day. I did not hear back.

I bought ant/roach spray and roach traps and attempted to deal with the pest problem myself. The spray worked a little, and when the roaches turned up dead, the hardy ants made quick work of carrying them off.

Internet access was spotty, and the two AC units in the villa are very old and very loud. The washing machine in the unit was apparently broken the week before we arrived, and had not yet been seen to.

The accommodations were not all bad, and the easy access to the Rio Mar amenities was nice. The very friendly Rio Mar security personnel were always a welcome sight both at the gates and at the beach/pool parking lot nearby. The bed was comfortable, though based solely on the state of cleanliness in the rest of the unit, we were not 100% sure that the bedding had been cleaned and were not able to clean the sheets ourselves due to the broken washer.

All in all it is unlikely that we would rent from this owner again.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Rio Mar Villa

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

The villa had enough room for a family of four. Ruben greeted us and was very friendly. The villa was safe, and having parking was great. As far as location, it was convenient to El Yunque rainforest where we were able to do a variety of activities (ziplining, hiking, and horseback riding). If you have a car, it is not too far from family-friendly Luquillo Beach and grocery stores. Having a kitchen was helpful in preparing food for our young children. The walk to the Rio Mar beach was further than expected, but we managed. Overall, it was a pleasant experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Would definetly go back

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this villa for two weeks. When we arrived the owner himself checked us in as he happened to be in Puerto Rico also. He is very nice and answered all of our questions. The villa was very clean and had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. Big , brand new fridge and nice flat screen tv. The villa's have a pool, then there is another by the ocean then there is the one from the resort, so you have lots to choose from. The first one is 1 minute walk, the other 5 minute then the last one is 10 minute. The villa was very quite and safe. If you like to move around you will need a car. You have your own parking right at your door step. Everything is close and convenient. But the best part was the beach and ocean. Absolutely beautiful and perfect for long walks. Would go back in a minute and like I said the owner was very nice to deal with.

Ontario, Canada
Jackie

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic vacation rental -- HIGHLY recommended!!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

This gorgeous little villa was all we expected and more for a romantic long weekend in beautiful Rio Grande, Puerto Rico. The space was beautifully decorated, incredibly welcoming, had all the amenities of home and above all was impeccably clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the little balcony, especially in the evening when we could relax and gaze at the stars. The modern kitchen and appliances were perfect for quick meals and made it easy to go to the local market and stock up on necessities like snacks and drinks. The location is incredibly convenient to, in my opinion the best attractions the island has to offer, El Yunque, Luquillo, Fajardo. Old San Juan, etc. The location is super quiet and peaceful. I would definitely stay again -- in fact we're already planning our next trip.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

CHRISTMAS VACATION IN PARADISE Dec 19-30, 2011

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

This place offers you the freedom that the resort does not! We e-mailed the owner and he assisted us promptly, with several of our needs and questions. He is very kind, reliable and courteous. We stayed here for 11 nights. It is a friendly, clean place. I highly recommend this apt. to couples, or a family with a small child - like us. The extendable sofa was more comfortable than the bed itself. This apartment is in a secluded, gated, private area. The gate guards are courteous, they will open and close the gate for you 24/24 hrs, and will give you a GUEST permit for the car. The alleys and golf court are VERY well maintained. Beautiful green park, full of wild ferns and coconut trees, coquis, lizards, at the same time very safe. A few tips for the travelers: a). DO RENT A CAR - you will need it, the resort park is huge and isolated, plus you will want to make breakfast, as the kitchen has a stove+utensils and you can dine on the patio; b). the Rio Mar beach is wavy: if you are a very good surfer it is ideal, but if you want to swim you will need to go to Luquillo Beach) (Monserrat Balneario, a Blue Flag beach, with international standards); it is the best calm beach in the NE of PR: http://www.puertoricodaytrips.com/balneario-monserrate-luquillo/
c). you should consider a few tours: Old San Juan& Yunque Rainforest are awesome; the catamaran trip to Icacos Island or Culebra Island are great, and only cost about $69-89 per person with East Island Excursions from Fajardo; attention, if you book through Rio Mar Resort, they will charge $115-150 a person, the $46-61/person extra = 15 min transportation from/to Fajardo, and you will save it by driving there yourself; d). most resort restaurants are mediocre and very expensive - including Palio and Marbella; we DO recommend the Grille Room near the villas & the Iguana Pub - try the huge Parillada for 2 people (several grilled high quality meats) for $60, great value! e). we also recommend that you eat at the KIOSKOS near the Luquillo beach, we tried several with great Tripadvisor reviews (La Parilla etc) but by far the best, safest and cleanest was CEVICHE HUT LUQUILLO - an authentic Peruvian restaurant - with great fish ceviches, mofongos, churrascos. In general, you can find quality local foods ONLY at the KIOSKOS. The resort restaurants try to serve only international foods but end up with mediocre frozen-like foods; all comes packed and frozen from the continental. Also go to the AMIGOS grocery nearby.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautifull Sunsets

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

My husband and I rented this condo for a week. The Place was immaculate. The condo is equipped with everything you need. Beautifull Beaches and Pool. The ammenities were excellent. The people are friendly and the food is delcious. I will definite go back . .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

loved it!

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

I absolutely loved this vacation! I went to Puerto Rico and stayed at this condo. It was very clean, and absolutely gorgeous! The balcony overlooks a beautiful golf course. What I liked most was the privacy,the condo itself was very quiet and relaxing. When we wanted to go to the beach, which was breathtaking, it was only a few minute walk. And when we wanted to go out and enjoy great company, the Weston hotel is a five minute walk to restaurants, shops, pools and much more for all ages! I would go back in a heart beat! It was simply beautiful! .

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Vacation getaway

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for 5 days and loved it. The view was breathtaking and the grounds were immaculate. It was not to far from the airport, and very close to the rain forest. I would recommend renting a car to get around as you are secluded and private. Overall a great experience!!! .

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy condo with great hotel amenities

Review submitted: April 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Condo is cozy and clean. Contains everything you would need (kitchen, dining area and living space) including a nice little patio facing the water where my wife and I ate breakfast every morning. We also had access to all the hotel amenities, i.e. beach, hotel pool, etc. But there were also private pools for the condo occupants. Friendly and helpful staff. Would def recommend to others .

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review