reviews for: listing #930287ha - Playa del Coco, Costa Rica rental

Beach Front Condominium in Los Almendros De Ocotal
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 120 - $ 200 / night
    $ 719 - $ 899 / week
    $ 2,499 - $ 3,600 / month
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Every Convenience with a View!

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 10, 2014

This is an excellent condo for a dive vacation in Guanacaste. My husband and I were in the country to visit a good friend who is now working in San Jose. After flying in and renting a car, we drove to the coast for a week of diving.

This condo has location, location, location - it is up the hill overlooking Playa Ocotal (in green season, the shade trees do block some of the view), and the waves lap at the beach providing a lovely serenade on both sleeping and waking. Being divers, the fact that the Rocket Frog dive shop was a 2 minute walk down the hill was a plus and the boat is right on the beach. (The beach is volcanic sand - we found it best to wear our dive boots both ways to avoid the scorching sands on our return.) Additionally, there is Father Roosters also on the beach which has a tasty selection of meals - including vegetarian. We also had the car so we drove in to Cocos (3 km) and Playa Hermosa (12 km) for dinner. There is a Super Compras (~Food Lion) right on the Ocotal road in Cocos and an Auto Mercado (~Kroger) just a short distance past that. There is one nasty hill coming out of Playa Ocotal, but the rest of the 3 km is twisty and turny rather than up and down (14 curves according to our hostess), so it is possible to walk into Cocos and cab back if you didnt have a car.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could need - we bought groceries and had both breakfasts and lunches in condo - and sometimes dinner too if we were night diving. There is AC in each room, but aside from an hour in the afternoon, it doesnt really need to be on. It's much nicer to run the fans, open the windows, and listen to the sound of the ocean.

Pia, the condo dog, often took advantage of our shady patio and was a frequest escort on our walks down the hill in the morning. We also had hawks who would come to roost in the trees keeping an eye out for a snack, and we were told that sometimes monkeys will come visit as well.

In all, this has been one of my best experiences with VRBO. (And the diving was good too!)

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tranquilo y agradable

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 12, 2014

Alojamiento limpio, tranquilo y agradable. Dentro de una urbanización tranquila con piscina y a escasos metros de la playa de Ocotal. Centro de buceo en la misma playa. Para nosotros la opción perfecta de vacaciones. La única pega fue la wifi, que dejó de funcionar al primer día, el resto perfecto.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We're Coming Back As Soon As We Can!

Review submitted: July 12, 2014   Date of arrival: June 29, 2014

From the location (close to the beach, close to the best dive operator - Rocket Frog, close to a great infinity pool and close to Father Rooster restaurant on a great, quiet beach) to the amenities, this was the place to stay! Last year, we stayed at the Ocotal Beach Resort and Los Almendros de Ocotal beat them easily. It was a wonderful place to relax and enjoy life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Condo with great view

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 19, 2014

All in all the condo is a nice place to stay. Beautiful view of the water.

Two major disappointments for me. The condo sits at the top of a rather steep, but short, hill. A lot of seniors, or people with ambulatory problems, would have trouble with it. I did. I had to drive my car the 100 meters to the beach because I could not walk back up the hill. The possibilities for snorkelling are over-rated because the water visibility is consistently poor - when water is clear snorkelling is quite good.

Quick access to Coco makes eating out and grocery shopping easy. The pools on the property are very nice. Father Roosters is as good as advertised.

We would not return to this beautiful location because of the steep hill, and the poor water visibility.

Owners response: Yes, the hill can be quite daunting, however the pool is just steps from our front door. Actually, our condo is not at the top of the hill. There are quite a few units that are farther up. The visibility for snorkeling varies throughout the year. It tends to be better later in the year when it isn't so windy. There is a dive shop on site and they tell me that although the visibility may not be as good as some other locations, there is a large variety of sea life to enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic vacation

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

Place was clean, spacious , comfy and safe. The guest bathroom shower door doesn't seal properly and you may have a bath by the sink if you're not careful

Neighborhood was extremely quiet and friendly, Pea the local beach dog will be your guide and friend for a small price of food and love

Our trip was amazing, the beach was perfect and in short walking distance and there was so much we could do. The weather and wildlife were perfect

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Steps from the beach!

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We loved our stay at your property! We were so close to the beach that we could hear the waves and had a wonderful view from the balcony. It's great having a place to cook your own meals if you feel like it. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

quit and peaceful

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

totally relaxing, healing, a well needed vacation, the view from the patio, the master bedroom and the shower is remarkable. the music that is available for the cd player is a wide range and has something for every ones tastes and mood. i would absolutly love to return to this wonderful vacation rental

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Location, location!

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 5, 2013

We stayed at Los Almendros for 9 days in July and we had a blast! We visit the Guanacaste area 3 times a year and typically try a different house or condo each time. This one was great! It has everything you could possibly need for vacation. The rooms and beds are spacious and comfortable. The view is absolutely spectacular! There are two pools in the development and the smaller one is directly across from the unit. There is a scuba shop that we use when we come in that is on location and only a short 2 minute walk from the unit. Being able to do laundry made it possible to bring fewer clothes, but you shouldn't need much beyond a bathing suit! There is a restaurant about 50 yards down from the development called Father Roosters that has good food and decent prices. Ocotal beach feels a bit less crowded than other beaches, but is close enough to the strip in Playa Coco for the more rowdy night life. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Alaska Travelers

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: November 24, 2012

Excellent place to stay, very clean and comfortable. The view from their deck is fabulous. Nice to sit on their deck in the morning and drink costa rican coffee and hear the waves hitting the beach. A short distance to fabulous beach. Pool about 50 feet away. Father Roosters (great food and drinks) is a short walk down the beach and we rated their Nachos - excellent.....

We only stayed a couple of nights but Carol and Gordy are excellent hosts and
will answer all your questions about everything you want to know about Costa Rica.

We played golf with Carol and Gordy on the course they live on. Lots of fun........
tough course, especially in the wind.

We were able to utilize their kitchen with everything you need, also the internet was nice, also used the laundry facilities. Very nice, everything works.

Great stay and I highly recommend their Beach Front Condo in Ocotal.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice time

Review submitted: August 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

I rented this condo for a little over a week and was quite impressed. You get a lot more for the price than trying to stay in a hotel. Of course, you have to cook your own meals but I don't mind that. There is also a very good restaurant in walking distance from the condo. The condo was clean, well kept and fully furnished. I only had one issue which was these tiny bugs that kept crawling all over the bathroom counter. Don't know what they were but, I just went to the store and picked up a can of Raid and the problem was eliminated. The views are beautiful and I especially enjoyed sleeping with the patio door open (master bedroom....it has a wood frame door as well as a screen door) and listening to the waves all night. I would definately rent the place again if I return to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely place right on the beach

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

My family (husband + 2 kids) spent 1 week in this condo. It was lovely and right on the beach. The furnishing were simple, but clean, and the porch/balcony was really great. I recommend asking for laundry access -- we did and used it quite a bit. Father Rooster's on the beach was nice, and we were there in low season, so there were never many people at the beach. Usually just a couple of other groups. The condo is within fairly easy day trips of Rincon de la Vieja and Playa Conchal, both of which were also really nice and I highly recommend if you want to explore a bit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation!

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

We called #11 home for two weeks while in Costa Rica with friends. All I can say is location, location, location! Beach access, pool across the street, fully equipped kitchen. Everything is clean and tidy. Very secure. You will even find a great stash of books and movies. Imagine coffee at daybreak on the deck overlooking the ocean. Owners Gordy and Carol offer a wealth of knowledge about the area and their recommendation for Mardigi Tours was spot on. We did four excursions with them, plus airport transfers, and they were excellent. Just a few steps to the beach where you can catch a sunset at Father Rooster's and enjoy a Mojito Rita and fish and chips. Can't say enough about Gordy and Carol. They went the extra mile to ensure we knew where to shop, made recommendations to eat, etc . I feel we've made new friends for life!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

4 friends from oregon and North California

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

Great view, wonderful beach and restuarant 5 min away. pool and BBQ about 20 yards away .Landscaping is well maintained. Everyone that works on sight are friendly and helpful. This area of Costa Rica is warm and beautiful with many of the must see places. This vacation was one of our best ever and we say that because every thing we did was a great experience. The owners were more than helpful in all of our plans, in fact they went above and beyond. The owners recommended Mardigi tours and we went on 4 excursions, Monteverde, Rincon, Palo Verde, and a day at several beaches. We met new friends on tours and several of the others were on same tours. The food was excellent. We plan on going back and would highly recomend this vacation place to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+

Owners response: We live on a golf course 20 minutes from our condo and can recommend activities and restaurants in the area. Several local places have weekly specials that renters wouldn't know about without talking to local residents, i.e. martini night at Gingers, taco tuesday at Woodys, and grocery discounts on the 15th and 30th of each month at Luperon. One of our guests was a musician. We introduced him to local places with live music and we all enjoyed hearing him play with the band. They were great guests and we look forward to sharing our little piece of paradise with others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Spectaclar Experience

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 15, 2012

Last month my husband and I were fortunate enough to stay at #11 in the Los Almendros gated condo development at Playa Ocotal.

I was not prepared for the beauty of this location. The photos just don't do it justice...they can't capture the stunning drop from the back porch down to the black-sand beach and reefs below, the vast sweep of the view to the edge of Ocotal Bay to the left...and beyond the cliffs to the distant mountains and beaches of Northern Costa Rica to the right. Tall and nearly-leafless trees growing up the steep slope that plunges to the beach make perches for a multitude of wild parakeets and other tropical birds.

Although we brought our snorkeling gear to take advantage of what we've been told is a wonderful reef right below the condo, we found ourselves spending much of our time just sitting and gazing out the back windows or off the porch at this amazing view, listening to the waves crashing on the beach and reef below and to the birds singing in the trees.

Yes, we walked on the beach every day. Yes, we picked up lots of tiny sea shells, watched the fishing boats coming and going, and explored the tide pools. Yes, we spent time every afternoon soaking in the "infinity pool" located directly across from the condo's front door, talking with other vacationers.

But the highlight of our visit was the time we spent relaxing in this spotless condo, drinking in the view, preparing simple meals in the well-equipped kitchen and eating them on the glass-topped table in front of the floor-to-ceiling window that overlooked the bay (you could actually look through the table and down to ocean).

The condo has dozens of CDs, though we preferred to listen to the waves and the birds. Also available is a vast library of high-quality DVDs for all ages. I imagine this could be a wonderful destination for a family wanting to stay in an area with little commercial development--teens might be drawn by the snorkeling or by taking advantage of the tours (www.Mardigitours.com) recommended by condo owners Carol and Gordy...and this condo also has high-speed Internet. It was a spectacular destination for a couple who just wanted the chance to relax and reconnect with the beauty of the world and each other.

Thanks, Carol and Gordy, for responding to all our questions, reassuring us about directions, grocery shopping, laundry, etc. and for providing such a comfortable, welcoming place so we and others can enjoy this bit of paradise, too

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

worked out perfectly

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

Family of four enjoyed this place immensely. Rocket Frog dive shop at the entrance was the place to be if your a diver. Friendly and helpful staff all around. Clean and quiet. Would stay there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

This was our third trip to Costa Rica and absolutely the best yet. I guess our overall impression was how comfortable it all felt. The condo was perfect - just the right size, all the amenities needed, and exactly as pictured in the photos. The deck overlooking the ocean became our "home base" between beach time, pool time and drive time out exploring Guanacaste. The soothing ocean waves at night are amazing - we commented to each other after a few nights that we hadn't slept that well in a long time - and waking up to such a tropical aviary was heavenly. We had a howler monkey our second night/morning - so glad we finally got to experience one! We rented a car (Carol gave us a good referral with a local company) but only used it for the first half of our stay, as we really only needed a cab to get to the grocery store the rest of the time ($6 from Coco one way). We did a lot of our own cooking/barbecuing and enjoyed Father Rooster next door for our dining out. (Love that place - best fish taco on earth, great music and friendliest staff you'll ever find.) The management at Los Almendros are the best. Nino met us when we arrived and escorted us to the unit, showed us all we needed to know, and when we couldn't figure out the TV a few days later he was there immediately to help us. Stefani arranged our 6:30 AM departure cab and was always eager to help with anything we might need during our stay. We will definitely be back next year (3-4 weeks if possible) and hope to stay in this unit. Thank you, Carol and Gordy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place, great beach, helpful owners...

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on the 28-30 of Jan, 2012. It's not super fancy, but everything you need. Amazing windows out of the main room and master, nice pool 50 feet from the front door, great deck and about as close to the beach as condos get here (~2-3 min walk). It's not a really big condo, but the beds, bathrooms and all rooms were big enough to be comfortable. What makes the place is the beach, Ocotal is quiet & beautiful with great tide pools, shelling, snorkeling, and beach walking -- we saw howler monkeys, tons of birds, a humpback, squid, rays, lots of fish & pretty sunsets. There's a pretty beach that you can reach with a short swim (towards Coco) that had 0 people on it. The deck is pretty big & has a great view of the beach and bay and lots of birds (parrots and ~10 other kinds) visiting the tree just a few feet away. We had an issue with the TV and the owners came over w/in an hour or so to take care of it. BTW, if you don't have a car you should plan on taxis to Coco or cooking your meals -- there's a beachside restaurant (Father Roosters), but it's a bit pricey.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing 6 night visit at mellow beach

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable 6 night stay. The condo was clean and well stocked with linens, towels and every sort of kitchen gadget/utensil. We had one minor issue which the owner fixed very promptly-- couldn't ask for better responsiveness. (And yes, the condo now has dishwashing liquid and a sponge; and we had absolutely no intrusions from any real estate agents etc -- the only evidence that the condo was for sale was a sign in the window where you parked -- so no problems there at all!) The view from the kitchen table and the outside deck was lovely -- you could see the ocean through the trees which made for a great setting to watch the birds and just relax. And there's nothing better than sleeping to the sound of waves! (Yet Ocotal Beach was very good for swimming, especially for this surf adverse swimmer -- the waves were gentle -- not somewhere to body surf etc. Do bring a snorkel -- surprising number of fish close to the rocks on the condo side of the beach). We would certainly recommend this condo to anyone looking for a good value on a quiet beach. The furnishings are definitely not luxury and the decor is showing some age. But for us, this was all we needed and we would stay again. Also, would highly recommend anyone staying at this unit to have a car (or be a biker) since it was quite a long walk to anywhere to eat (other than Father Rooster)/buy groceries. (BTW, the bread at Panaderia Exquisite on the road from Coco to Ocotal really was delicious!) And many thanks to the owners for providing such a pleasant condo at a reasonable price in this lovely part of the world.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our condo on Ocotal Beach is about two miles from the restaurants, grocery stores, and nightlife of Coco. It may be usefull to rent a car if you plan to eat out a lot. However, at $5 each way, a cab ride may be cheaper and easier. It can be difficult driving the narrow roads after dark.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Mildew, Mold, Dirty and Poorly Maintained – Do Not Go

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

I have rented apartments around the world and have NEVER had such a horrible experience. The photos are deceiving for how the apartment is today (maybe years ago it looked like this but definitely not today). I asked the owners to make changes to accurately depict their current unit and they refused.

The whole place reeked of mildew! You walk into the apartment and the reek of mildew is over whelming. One of bedrooms was so bad we just closed the door and didn’t go in.
There is mold on the ceiling of one of the bathrooms. The owner acknowledged that there was a problem supposedly with the condo upstairs after we pointed it out and said it would get fixed. However, the mold didn’t appear within the last few days since we rented it.

The living room couch cushions are held together by bungee cords – which are extremely uncomfortable needless to say. I’m guessing they tried to hide it by putting an extra cushion on top which does not help at all! The fabric on the couch is floral print and they put a few striped cushions on top. Also, they replaced the dining chair seat cushions with other cushions that don’t fit and are also uncomfortable. The bottom cushions are blue stripes, and the back cushions are floral. Also, the rattan is falling apart.

Although the kitchen counter was basically wiped down, the kitchen was in my view disgusting. There was no part of it that was clean every dish, utensil, cooking instrument had to be thoroughly washed before we could use it. The owners acknowledge that they don’t provide dish washing soap to clean the dishes, nor was there a sponge. I can only imagine how many people had eaten and cooked without cleaning it.

Then we get to the “security” office. We had decided to relax in our apartment in the early afternoon after being at the beach in the morning. We heard a knock on the door and ignored it at the beginning thinking we didn’t know any one and didn’t want to be disturbed. Well there was another knock and told my husband he better answer it and thankfully he did. Well, the “security office” had given the key to our apartment to a real estate agent with two other people and they were going to walk in any second because it is on the market to sell.

The positive is that this condo complex is on the beach, you hear the ocean, and get a peak of it on the balcony and dining room area.The beach had very few people on it, the pools nice.

Do yourself a favor don't stay here.

Owners response: I hardly know where to begin. I was crushed by this harsh review of our condo. We have weekly maid service, and although it may not be spotless, it certainly does not reek of mold or mildew. Cleaning supplies are not stored in the condo as the maids bring them when they come to clean. There is a water stain on the bathroom ceiling that we hadn't noticed before, which will be repaired ASAP. I have replaced the foam in the couch to make it more comfortable. We have also reemphasised to the office that they must verify that the condo is not occupied before allowing realtors to show it.

Our condo is nearly ten years old and it may be a bit worn, but we have invested in upgrades and repairs as needed. We've installed a new stove, new hot water heater, new air conditioners in the living room and master bedroom, new curtains in the living room, and recovered the cusions on the living room furniture. Just last week we had the railing on the deck sanded and varnished. We appreciate constructive critisism and will continue to update and improve our rental unit to provide our guests with comfortable accomodations.

I'm sorry that this reviewer did not like my decorating style, but the photos are accurate. The photos also show that our condo is less than 100 feet from the beach. Although the foliage limits the ocean view during the green season, it also provides more opportunities to view the natural wildlife. I've always enjoyed having my morning coffee on the deck while watching the parrots, humming birds, iguanas, and monkeys in the trees.

We are pleased that many of our guests have enjoyed our home away from home, returned time and again, and posted outstanding reviews. Please come and share our little piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Trip in June!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My family and I traveled to Playa Ocotal in the "green season." This is a lower time for tourism in the area, but that made it perfect for us. We really felt we were able to experience Costa Rica as it is rather than watered down Americanized tourism. The condo was wonderful, just as described, and had all the amenities of home. We made full use of the condo, washing our clothes, cooking dinner, drinking fresh Costa Rican coffee brewed hot each morning and enjoying it on the back deck. It's a short easy walk to the beach, and the beach was never crowded. We chose this beach because we wanted some calmer water since we were traveling with a little one (4). The waves were small, but the undertow was fierce and should be noted for anyone traveling with kids. Still, we had a wonderful time swimming and snorkeling and exploring the tidal pools. We'd often then rinse off with a quick dip in the pool right outside the condo. Further down the road and up a set of stairs is another, larger pool which we also enjoyed with a gorgeous view of the sea from the pool deck. Carol gave us information about her friends' tour company. We are so pleased that we decided to use them to aid us in getting around and seeing the Guanacaste area.. The company employees were so kind and hospitable going above and beyond what we ever imagined to make our trip to Costa Rica memorable. We planned three separate excursions with them at a super fare rate and really warm and personable interactions. We found taking cabs back and forth into Coco, the nearest town with retaurants, shopping, and a grocery, did add up to more than we expected over the week, While we did make use of the fridge and stove in the condo, especially for breakfast and a few dinners, we like to eat out. Had we not had our children along, I might have opted for rent bicycles to save a little money (but too hectic to have small kids riding there). The fare was about $7 USD each way. Still, I was glad we decided not to rent a car - traveling to and from Ocotal to Coco it would have been nice, but overall, I didn't see a lot of street names and signs in CR and I imgine we would have gotten lost more than once if we were driving ourselves on the excursions. We really felt the area of Coco and Ocotal was safe, friendly, and not too touristy. Perfect!! Thanks Carol, Gordy. I'm ready to move, just trying to convince my husband, Either way, we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm pleased that our guests enjoyed staying in our condo, but I am surprised that they experienced a "fierce undertow". Ocotal beach is well protected and generally very calm with mild surf. We often see local families with small children playing in the water. I'm glad that they appreciated our recommendation to use Mardigi Tours to see the area. Many of our friends and renters have had good expericiences with Marvin and Digi.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyed Our Stay!

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

The views from the balcony were wonderful. The sound of the ocean was very soothing. We loved the swimming pool right across the street. It felt great after the walk up from the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great spot, great accommodations

Review submitted: April 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

This condo is clean, with deck almost overhanging the beach. Quiet and relaxing, with plenty of space. The deck has super-comfortable rocking chairs. Staff at the entrance to the complex was friendly and we felt very safe. The pool and grounds were always clean and appealing. Property owners were very helpful - even picked my college-aged sons up at the airport, brought them to the condo and supplied them with food when my flight was delayed 24 hours! Bring your own snorkel gear if you have it (or rentals are $10/day). Snorkeling is good here! Rental car was a plus, as town and surfing beaches were an easy drive.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We live a 20 minute drive from the condo and therefore, we are able to assist our renters as needed. We can stock the refridgerator, arrange airport pick-ups, and offer suggestions on activities in the area. If our renters do experience any problems while here in Costa Rica, such as an accident with their rental car or losing their passports, we can help direct them to the appropriate authorities.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rica Beach Fun

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

This was my third visit to this condo and it is just perfect for a family or group of friends. It is steps from the beach and the view from the condo is a constant pleasure. Twice we have had my grandsons with us and they were so busy playing on the beach, in the waves, hiking the hills and watching monkeys. They also played with native children and were greeting others in Spanish after a few days. We loved walking everywhere especially to three nearby restaurants where the beach view was outstanding. We decided this trip was so much more educational than a trip to Disneyland.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terry and Jacque Quantrille

Review submitted: September 24, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

The condo was everything i thought it would be and more, it was clean and we all felt safe and secure there, the caretakers are doing a very professional job to any of our needs or questions, we all loved the beach or pool being so close, we truely enjoyed and have very fond memories of our vacation to Costa Rica we will be back to further explore the country.
I really want to thank Gordy and Carol for going above and beyond to make sure we had the very best time and experiences while in Guanacaste, and thanks for hooking me up with Marvin and Digi of Mardigitours.com they were the best it was very assuring to go with them on our Nicaruga experience having a guide that knows and speaks the language was priceless, and the river boat tour was over the top, I recomend every one that goes to Guanacaste to stay with Gordy and Carol and tour with Marvin and Digi thakks for everything again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Los Almendros

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

My wife and I had a good time at Los Almendros in Ocotal. The location to the beach was excellent and the beach itself was very peaceful and relaxing. The pools were outstanding as we were the only ones there to use them. The views were gorgeous thru the trees from the condo and also the surrounding area. The staff was always very helpful. The condo itself was layed out nicely and had a nice patio w/ views and sounds of the crashing waves.. Overall I would definitely recommend this condo for its peaceful location and proximity to other beaches. The LR furniture was a little lacking in comfort and some of the appliances were a little oudated (coffee maker). Also it would have been helpful if there was a tourist book with all the activities available in the area for guests. Other than that we enjoyed the area along w/ all the little shops and tico restuarants in Playa del Coco.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

Costa Rica was amazing and so was the condo! Beautiful view of the beach and everything you needed was very close by. Great location in terms of being close to Coco so you are near bars, restaurants, grocery store, etc. yet perfect that you're away from the downtown feel and really get a vacation feeling! It was my first time being on a black sand beach and it was beautiful! The condo had everything we needed (i.e. music! dvds, books, blender, cups, utensils, etc.) and was up to par with anything I could've asked for. It was very clean, homey, the beds were very comfortable and having two bathrooms was very nice. Also the two pools were great and veryyy convenient to the condo. Lastly it was great having a guard around 24/7 to make you feel very safe. Overall the condo and trip were an A+ in my book and all of us will surely be going back to stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five Stars

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

I stayed in this condo in Ocotal with some friends and had an awesome time. Great views from the condo. Great beach. There is the perfect mix of things to do. The beach has fine black sand on one end, and turns to white sand at the other end of the beach. There is coral which makes for good snorkeling out in the water, and forms pools on land that are fun for kids to play in. I enjoyed watching the boats out in the water, and we even saw ten or so Costa Rican men rescuing a nearly sunken boat right off the coast. No idea how, but they saved it. There are more touristy beaches within driving distance. Half of us checked those out and loved them, but I was happy right was I was. The infinitey pool right outside the front door of the condo is very convenient, especially when we got hot down at the beach. It's more shaded than the other two pools on the premises, which were great also if you wanna check those out. Night life is minutes away in Playa del Coco, which has great bars, restaurants, and shops. Monkeys come out in the trees at 5 on the dot every evening, making dinner/drinks/shopping that much more interesting. The monkeys are wild, and if you haven't heard a howler monkey...you should! There are also a couple places a short walk away from the condo if you don't wanna go far. The condo was more than I had expected. Very clean and maintained. All amenities included. Overall, perfect. But so are the beaches, weather, and surrounding activities, so don't be surprised if you don't spend much time there! Also, the owners are awesome if you need anything or just want to chat about things to do in the area. They live nearby and are some of the nicest people I've met. This place is great, and I'm planning on staying here when I come back to Costa Rica.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family trip to Ocotal

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

My family had a wonderful time in Ocotal and this condo was a perfect fit for us. The ocean view from the balcony was fabulous and the beach is only a two minute walk away. After spending time at the beach, the pool located just across the road from the front door was the ideal place to relax.

I would recommend this condo to everyone. It was just as represented in VRBO. The unit was clean, the WIFI convenient and the accomodations comfortable. I would recommend spending the extra $5:00 for the washer and dryer. We met several of the "neighbors" who have been coming back for ten years or more.

We went to three different places in Costa Rica and this was my families favorite place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

This condo was just as described steps from the
beautiful beach of Ocotal which is a great beach.
Black sand and clean warm ocean water. Condos
were safe and neighbors were all very friendly. Los
Alemendros has everything you need, beach, pools,
and office with tourist info. My girlfriends and I had
a great stay here and would definitely return.
Thanks Gordy and Carol:)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review