reviews for: listing #930932ha - Playa Avellana, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Home at Jw Marriott/Hacienda Pinilla Resort
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 400 - $ 525 / night
    $ 3,200 / week
  • sleeps  10
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Wonderful house for family vacation

Review submitted: May 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

Our son-in-law the surfer wanted to go on a surfing trip for his birthday, so we all came down to Guanacaste and stayed a week in this lovely Hacienda Pinilla house.
Our party was 6 adults and 2 young children, and there was plenty of room for all.
The bedrooms are private and in two wings at either end of the house.
The kitchen was well-equipped and modern, and we did a lot of our cooking at the outdoor gas grill.
The beautiful swimming pool, cleaned daily, was a highlight, with a shallow end for my 5 yo grand daughter, and long enough to swim laps for the rest of us.
We enjoyed access to the Hacienda Pinilla Beach Club, with its lovely free form pool, and convenient restaurant (open mainly for lunch).
These are surfing beaches, meaning that with high wave action they're not usually suitable for swimming and ordinary wave jumping, except occasionally at low tide.
Federico the owner was always gracious and helpful, and gave us excellent restaurant recommendations. Don't miss Villa Deveena, about 20 minutes to the south.
Overall a great place for a relaxing family vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hacienda Pinilla. this was our second time as a family to Hacienda Pinilla and its my favorite area of CR. the house was amazing, wonderful location and amenities and very clean! Federico was so so helpful and really a pleasure to work with. thanks again! See you soon.
Amy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: September 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Just returned from a trip with my girlfriends to this wonderful house, we had the best time! The house was perfect to acommodate all of us (we were 8) very comfortably and still have space for more! The private pool is great to swim, sunbathe and enjoy pool side barbecues. The beaches are very close, Playa Avellanas and Playa Langosta are a dream. Tamarindo (20 min drive) is great for dining out and enjoying the night life. Federico (owner) was extremely helpful with the planning of our trip and helped us find our way around the Hacienda and nearby towns. I would recommend this house to anyone, 5 stars!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Truly outstanding

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My family of 6 usually travels from Texas to a Mexico all-inclusive resort during Spring Break. We took a chance to do something different (and safer) this year by renting a house near the beach in Costa Rica. Great call.

Flew into Liberia, drove less than an hour to the small fishing/tourist town of Tamarindo, then a little further to Hacienda Pinilla. The property is massive, gated with security, on the Pacific beach and full of high dollar investments in infrastructure. But what really made this place special is the attention of the lovely host couple, Federico and Tatiana Bonilla.

From the time we arrived until the time we left, the Bonillas were remarkable for their understanding of the needs/wants of seasoned vacation travelers. Their recommendations for sights, shopping, restaurants, fun activities, beaches, etc. were most helpful in planning a week-long agenda suitable for a family of 6 with diverse interests.

The house is large and clean, the food is outstanding, the general culture of the area is friendly, the list of fun activities is long and the personal attention from the Bonillas is great.

All of that combined to create a simply outstanding week of Spring Break for my family. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation!!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great vacationing experience at Casa Ala Azul. The house is really close to an almost private beach (we were able to enjoy sunsets by ourselves!). The Hacienda is really a great place, all the beaches are beautiful and there are many activities to entertain the whole family. We know that renting is sometimes a difficult process because you don't really know what you are going to find when you get to the place, thankfully we spoke with Federico before making our decision and that phone call really sealed the deal. It was the best decision, we hope we can return soon and we would recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Vacation!!!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Great vacationing experience at Casa Ala Azul. The house is really close to an almost private beach (we were able to enjoy sunsets by ourselves!). The Hacienda is really a great place, all the beaches are beautiful and there are many activities to entertain the whole family. We know that renting is sometimes a difficult process because you don't really know what you are going to find when you get to the place, thankfully we spoke with Federico before making our decision and that phone call really sealed the deal. It was the best decision, we hope we can return soon and we would recommend this property to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Playa Avellana vacation house rental

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

First and foremost, the people and beautiful ambiance and sites of Costa Rica will exceed your expectations. Secondly, this villa will make you feel like you're a multi-millionaire. Finally, if Costa Rica and the Villa doesn't completely awe you, Federico (Property Manager/part owner/concierge) will! He and his wife will ensure your vacation is perfect! I cannot express in words how completely they exceeded our familes' expectations -- from giving us his cell phone (and showing up within minutes of any phone call - even for a broken coffee pot). All the pictures are accurate. Federico provided information about all the tours we were interested in and provided comments/recommendations on the best tours that would suit our family. Having traveled only to hotels with my family (now twins are 4 yrs old and oldest is 8) I will only stay at Villas' from now on. Lucky for me, after exhaustive internet investigating, I happened to choose this as my first. As far as the property is concerned, it is very clean, posh, exotic and the beaches and are a dream(even include a golf course which I equate to Angus Glen). The kids loved it, as did my wife, sister and her family. Eight of us stayed at this Villa and it was bigger than what we needed, but I liked that! The BBQ was great. I will return and would highly recommend this Villa and Federico's Property Management to anyone! By the way, I am from Toronto, Canada and have never traveled to Costa Rica before. Must sees: Volcano and rain forest tour and horseback riding at sunset. Shop for your groceries in Liberia when you land (the mall is like an "outlet mall") my wife knew many of the designers. Get Federico to use MOP Tours - they know where it is - 5 mins from the airport.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review