reviews for: listing #93112 - Daytona Beach, Florida House rental

Summer Wind, Sleeps 8, Ocean View, Private Pool, 4 Bedrooms.
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Beach Home
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $300 - $800 /nt
    $2,295 - $2,795 /wk
    $5,752 - $11,180 /mth

sort by:

winter time stay at the hut

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 25, 2011

Overall we enjoyed our stay.Even with 6 people and 3 dogs it was large enough.Night time temps went into the low 40's. The large propane heater did not work, The small elec. heaters gave off very little heat. The fireplace was nice but all the heat from that went up the chimney, so we froze at night. The wifi went out 3 days before we left, with a notice from comcast that the bill had not been paid. The beautiful inlet shown in the picture behind the house no longer exists due to a hurricane. It's just sand all the way across the inlet, and the pier is a jumbled mess. I'am sure it's probably very beautiful in the summer,but it's not set up for winter.We did enjoy the location but access to the beach is down a rock wall. The area overall is very beautiful.

Owners response: Hi Elaine - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. I apologize for the heater issues. It was unseasonably cold during your stay. I have already contacted my property manager and the property owners to get these fixed. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE VERY BEST PLACE

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

We had the best time while staying at THE HUT. The beach was amazing, as was the way the ocean pools as the tide changes. Such serenity. The house is so charming and very private. The look-out was so lovely to go up to and have our morning coffee. The staff came immediately when we called for a little more cleaning upon our arrival, and they were so nice. The couple of issues we had were that they only supplied two washcloths (we had to go buy more). Plenty of towels though! The grill did not work (we found out after we purchased food for grilling), nor did the gas heater(only was really cold one night, however). The roof leaked badly in a couple of places during a heavy rain one morning(it needs to be repaired to stop any more damage). We still loved the historic charm and would come back again. I hope someday that the river can flow behind the house again, but if it does not, it is still fantastic. What a great place to visit prior to our long Michigan winter ahead. Hope to come back soon!

Owners response: Hi Chaz - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanksgiving at the Beach

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

The Hut is a wonderfully rustic cabin/cottage set between two other old cottages in Summer Haven. The grounds are natural rather than artifically maintained so we saw rabbits and gopher tortoises in their native surroundings in the yard along with painted daisies and palmetto palms. The coquina pathways, fireplace and pillars add a wonderful touch - I think it's against the law now to harvest coquina stone for construction! Beautiful charming place. As with most old houses, the bathroom could use a major update but everything worked fine and there was plenty of hot water!

Owners response: Hi Mary Jane - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Such an adorable cottage!!

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

When we first arrived at the 'Hut' we were somewhat disappointed that we were so far away from Historic St. Augustine (20+ minutes), but we quickly fell in love with the house and location. We saw shooting stars at night and dolphins in the morning while sitting on the roof-deck, and enjoyed our multiple walks on the beach everyday. If you like seashells this is a great spot! The beach is very accessible during low-tide. I do want to be clear, if you want the Four Seasons, this is not it. But we wanted a charming house with character, and we got it and more. My only complaint is there were no hangers for our clothes, it would have been nice to be able to hang up everything we had packed that had gotten wrinkled on the trip. Overall, we LOVED the Hut, and will definitely be returning!

Owners response: Hi Jonathan - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hut

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We had some difficulties getting into the house. Either the code was incorrect or the lock box was stuck. The WIFI was not working but, added on Saturday. It rained on Sunday and there were two rather large leaks in the roof--I left a pan with a towel<br/> under each of the two locations.

Owners response: Hi Charlene - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing stay At St Augustine

Review submitted: September 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

Great location. Access to beach it not what picture shows because of a huge storm but you can walk to end of road(100ft) or walk out over the dock where the river used to be. Our dog loved huge area of sand there. Top deck was awesome.

Owners response: Hi Pauli - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT OLD FASHIONED BEACH EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

I've never enjoyed a beach vacation more-The Hut is secluded, private with a beautiful beach within a few steps! It's been a long time since I've stayed at a beach house that truly has a personality and a history. Staying at the HUT offered me and my daughter a unique beach vacation with a quaintness that is hard to beat! The fact that there are no stainless steel appliances does not make any difference. It has everything you need to enjoy a real beach vacation! It's rustic but it's really fun! We plan to return.

Owners response: Hi Marianne - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE HUT..MARCH 2011

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION.. COULD NOT ASK FOR A BETTER SPOT ON THE BEACH!THE SUMMER HAVEN AREA IS SO SWEET AND BEACHES ARE FANTASTIC.THE HUT ITSELF NEEDS ALOT OF ATTENTION. I KNOW IT IS VERY OLD AND THAT IS CERTAINLY PART OF THE ALLURE BUT CERTAIN SIMPLE ITEMS SHOULD BE ADDRESSED. HOLES IN SCREENING SHOULD BE REPAIRED, I FIXED A FEW MYSELF. WINDOW AC UNITS DO NOT WORK AND THE'CENTRAL' ONE IN LIVING AREA CANNOT HANDLE THE LOAD.LUCKILY DURING MY STAY AC WAS ONLY NEEDED ONE TIME.USUALLY A WONDERFUL BREEZE BLOWS THROUGH THE HOUSE. ONLY 2 BURNERS WORK ON THE STOVE.WHILE THE FURNITURE IS QUAINT AND ADDS TO THE ATMOSPHERE, IT IS VERY UNCOMFORTABLE FOR AN EXTENDED STAY.THERE WERE SEVERAL SERIOUS ROOF LEAKS DURING HARD RAINS.OUTDOOR FURNITURE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE AND FALLING APART.THE WATERWAY BEHIND THE PROPERTY IS GONE BUT THAT ACTUALLY MAKES BEACH ACCESS EASIER.WHILE THIS MAY SOUND LIKE A SOMEWHAT NEGATIVE REVIEW, IT REALLY IS NOT. JUST A LITTLE TLC WOULD GO A LONG WAY IN MAKING THIS PLACE A BEACH PARADISE. IN FACT I HAVE RESERVED IT FOR NEXT YEAR!<br/>

Owners response: Hi Gary - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contracted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ramshackle romance

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

Pros: the cottage certainly had lots of charm. The rooftop patio is lovely. The team were very professional, organized and excellent to deal with.<br/><br/>Cons: well, let's see... there were plenty of those, I'm afraid. The cottage had no view - there was heavy plastic over all the windows. Some inside the building, some outside. Winterizing still in effect, I guess. There were doors to the outside that were sealed shut with masking tape. There was encrusted bird poop on a shelf in the bathroom. (It makes me wonder: was the shelf outside at some point, or was the bird inside?) Also, it's a major stretch to call the kitchen 'well appointed' – it was bare bones at best (I don't know if it contains pot holders, for example).<br/><br/>It feels like this cottage needs a major infusion of TLC. It's held together with bailing wire and duct tape at this point. <br/><br/>Overall, it felt like a poor value for what we paid.<br/><br/>Our stay was comfortable enough, but I would not recommend this particular property.

Owners response: Hi Carissa - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. Winter is over and the plastic needs to be taken down. I sincerely apologize. I have already contracted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ups and Downs

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

We picked this cottage because of it's oldness and history, so we expected an older place. When we arrived there was no propane to heat the place, if the weather is cold you NEED one or even two heating sources.<br/><br/>The grills that were supposed to be present was actually one grill that was unusable.<br/><br/>Other than that, a great location! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit when the temperature is higher.

Owners response: Hi Dennis - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the heating issues. I have already contracted my property manager to get these fixed. I sincerely apologize, and will provide you a discount. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 11, 2010

The cottage was very charming. However, our stay was just plain uncomfortable. When we arrived the propane heater wasn't working at all. The gas company rep did arrive in about an hour. But, he said that if we had been able to get the heater started, it would have been really bad, since there was a crack in the gas line. He also said that the tank definitely needs to be replaced. You would think that the heater would be inspected prior to guests arriving in winter. Also, one heater isn't enough. The dining room was warm, but the bedrooms were freezing. My brother, who lives in Michigan, said Monday was the coldest night of his life. On Tuesday, we left for Pt. St. Lucie to thaw out for a night. <br/> <br/>The windows are way beyond drafty. The wind was howling through the windows so bad, we had to buy plastic and tape it to all of the windows. I've attached a picture of the plastic blowing. Imagine that at 20 degrees on your neck. I understand I was unlucky enough to rent during the coldest week of the year, but if you're going to rent this place in the winter, you really need to seal or replace the windows and provide additional heaters. We were grateful for the fireplace. That saved us. We went through over a dozen bags of wood.<br/> <br/>The stove also needs some repair. There's only one small burner in the back that worked consistently. And the bath mats were really nasty looking. <br/> <br/>This place would be great in the spring or fall, but I would not recommend it to anyone in winter.<br/>

Owners response: Hi Cheryl - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the heating maintenance issues. I have already contracted my property manager to work with the owner to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

cold, drafty, lack of heat, lots of uncaulked holes, no insulation, few lights

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Owners response: Hi Judy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the heating maintenance issues. I have already contracted my property manager to work with the owner to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hut 2010

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

The toilet did not flush over half the time. We had 3 people staying their and after 2 flushes it would back up and we would have to plunge. Obviously the owners know it does this because they have a note that when it backs up to take the plunger and plunge vigirously. This did not work, it only splashed toilet water around. Also the private Doc is old and very dangerous and if you have kids you need to scratch that off your list.The washer and dryer did not work. Other than these 3 things I did enjoy the location, and oldness of the hut, but I do not enjoy having to deal with old amenities, these could be upgraded for the price that you pay to stay at the Hut.<br/><br/>Thanks, Shane Gambill

Owners response: Hi Jennifer - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the issues with the maintenance and have contacted my property manager to get these fixed. We are also discussing upgrades with the owner. I will email you directly and with a discount. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

History on the Beach

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

What a wonderful place for a family vacation - the Hut and the Lodge. A real feeling for the history of old Florida. After the Nor'easter two years ago, the river is different each year, and every day during our stay. We'll be back again next year.

Owners response: Hi James - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bug Infested

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

Bugs everywhere - a real nightmare getting through the first night. Bugs in the beds in our clothes. Filthy run down condition. You could not have paid us to stay another night

Owners response: Hi Lorraine - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I sincerely apologize for the issue with the insects. We have fumigated the house. We did upgrade you to another larger and better house and I am glad you enjoyed this one. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful get away with beautiful views - highly recommend

Review submitted: July 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

Owners response: Hi Grainne - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Hut, Summer Haven, FL

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

The Hut was generally in reasonable physical shape considering its 130+-year age. One window AC unit needs replacement because it cools very little, and the living, dining, and kitchen areas are uncomfortable during the day. Glass kitchen door needs insulation around the glass edges.

Owners response: Hi Philip - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I appreciate the feedback on the AC issue and door and will contact our maintenance department. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

vegetation overgrown; bathroom needed updating, extremely upset when the Lodge Beach House had rats; this almost spoiled our trip.

Owners response: Hi Roy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues at the Hut. This is not up to standards, and I will discuss this with my operations department. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved the cottage. It was a great location. Enjoyed the beach. The only thing I recomend is to insul

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

When you pay 1700.00 for the week, it would be nice to have good air conditioner. thanks

Owners response: Hi Jonathan - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We are talking to the owner of the cottage to update with central air. It is a 100 year old cottage, and there are some challenges. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Historic Charm, Stunning Views and Dogs Too!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

If you are looking for historic charm and glorious views rather than lux amenities, The Hut is the place for you. We spent a glorious spring week there with our dogs, romping on the beach, enjoying cocktails in the tower looking at the amazing view, and relaxing in the sun on the back porch, watching the egrets and pelicans in the Matanzas River.

Owners response: Hi Jennifer - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review