reviews for: listing #93172 - Lake Placid, New York Apartment rental

1,2,3 Bedroom Apartments near Sport Arena and Main Street
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $185 - $245 /nt

sort by:

Excellent base of operations

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

This is a perfect accommodation to be central for everything in the Lake Placid area and within walking distance of Main Street. And...you can take your dog! The Hilton it is not, but it is a clean, functional and comfortable apartment. Rates were quite reasonable, and we would certainly stay again. Only (minor) complaint was we could not adjust the heat and as it got a bit hot at night we had to crack open a window or two. But the owners were easy to work with in arranging the rental and everybody was pleased.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Bluefrost Apartments in Lake Placid

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Thank you for our perfect vacation!!!! Very new, clean and well maintained apartments, walking distance to everything.!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Accommodation

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

I was really fortunate to have found this accommodation. It was comfortable, clean and accessable to town. It had a cosy but modern feel. Only very small thing missing was a kettle to boil water for a cup of tea but we improvised with a saucepan :)

Will definetely recommend and come again for sure.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Handyman Special

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

It seems my opinion of this place is not in-line with other reviews, so perhaps it was just the unit we stayed in. From the minute we walked in, you could tell this was a "handyman special" do-it-yourselfer remodeled apartment. Beyond the poor craftsmanship, the kitchen was not the least bit stocked (no wine opener, no spatulas or serving spoons, an odd assortment of pots and frying pans but no pans for the oven other than the broiler pan, no salt/pepper/spices/oils, etc...). While cooking dinner, around 9pm a gentleman knocked on our door to fix the damaged kitchen ceiling (which we were not advised about upon booking or thereafter before our arrival) but I told him that since we were in the middle of cooking in the kitchen that he'd need to come another time or after we checked out.

My other big issue with this place is that there were major fire hazards w/ the base board heating. They have the drapes hanging down touching the heaters and the living room heater has the couch backed up to it. You can tell someone had already melted the blinds in the bedroom by being careless. In the bathroom there were missing tiles and no wash cloths, only towels.

Due to poor weather conditions and not really enjoying our stay, we decided to leave after 2 nights instead of staying for 3. Since work needed to be done in the unit I emailed the owner to let him know we would be leaving early and requested a refund of the one night (normally I would not request a refund for departing early, but I figured since they needed to get in to fix the kitchen ceiling and the missing tiles in the bathroom, they would consider a refund) - the owner denied the request and charged us for all 3 nights.

Overall, we just had an uncomfortable time here and would definitely not return. If you do stay here, I'd recommend bringing your own kitchen utensils if you plan to do any cooking and a wash cloth or loofa bathe with.

Owners response: Unfortunately, as it is stated in our policy we do not refund due to the bad weather after the guest checked-in. It seems to me that it was the major issue here.

Our units come with vine opener and sufficient set of utensils for cooking but sometimes they got lost. We will re-stack the missing pieces. Our standard practice is to provide 3 towels per guest and we are adding a wash cloth to the set too. And for the blinds - we simply pull them up by the cords provided. They do not present any "fire hazard" whatsoever.

We do care for our units and the comfort of our guests. That was the reason why the maintenance person came up immediately after the cleaning crew informed him that afternoon about the small (2-3 inch) crack on the plaster in the kitchen ceilings (very minor issue). He was late due to very bad weather but he came to fix the problem as soon as he could. I, as the owner of this business, appreciate that effort very much.

We are also very proud of the fact that this complaint could not come up with any serious issue like the cleanliness of the unit, the quality of the kitchen (cabinets, appliances, additional small appliances), TV, stereo, fireplace, furniture, bed and mattress, location, etc.

We are all proud of the quality of our apartments and all other reviews of our previous guests support that.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Exceeded our Expectations

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

We are use to various types and quality of lodging in our military travels. I rented 2 apartments figuring they would be "eh okay" for the long weekend. You get what you pay for after all right? WRONG! I got way more than I paid for or expected. The apartments were beautiful on the inside. We had a very large group to include small children and found it really comfortable. The location was great we just parked the cars and walked everywhere. I even found a park close by for the kids to play. Neven went above and beyond in accomodating our needs. The only thing I will say is the apartment parking is tight if you have a large vehicle (I have an SUV) and apartment 1 has no bath tub if you have small kids (I never thought to ask). We are planning a trip again to try some skiing in the future and will definantly want to stay at the BlueFrost apartments again. Thank you to Neven and Kenny for such a wonderful stay. By the way, I took some of your flyers to hand out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for such a nice (and honest) review. We are trying our best to make our guests' stay at Blue Frost Apartments as enjoyable as we could. We didn't realize (and you didn't tell us) about the parking... There are actually lots of available parking spaces around the building - because the on-street parking is allowed (except in the winter). Also, we have another building near by that has lots of parking. Our promise: We will accommodate all your future needs for parking at Blue Frost Apartments! Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great little place in Placid

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

Very convenient location in the Heart of Lake Placid. We rented the three bedroom for a weekend of cycling. Enough room for 6 adults, kitchen and laundry a huge plus. Tons of parking, usually a headache in the village. Easy walking distance to everything in the town. Owner was easy to contact and very responsive, you won't be disappointed We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Liked the accommodations

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

All our company liked the accommodations very much and given the opportunity we will recommend it to other people as well.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good Experience

Review submitted: October 11, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We had fun staying here. Had 5 people and fit them comfortably. We were allowed to take out 2 dogs which was a huge relief. I wish there was a place for them to roam around a little but I can't complain, we made way without a yard.
Nice kitchen and living area. Apartment heated up real fast. The fireplace was a nice touch. Beds/couch were okay...
I'd stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will be back again

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

At first I find the apartment doesn't look convincing outside but by the time we went inside the apartment ,it's amazing look very nice and clean even the bathroom just a little bit too small but it's very nice and CLEAN and I like that very much,and of course I will recommend it to a friend and I will be back again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great size and location for the price

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We did enjoy our stay. The apartment was perfect for our needs. Great size and location for the price. One minor complaint I have is with the TV. The cable connection was pretty bad and all channels did not have a clear picture. Also, in the room without a closet, it would be nice to have more storage for clothes (maybe a dresser underneath the shelves). We would definitely recommend you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We had a great time at your place. It was just fine for what we were looking for and then location was GREAT. For ironman participants its perfect!! We would recommend you to anyone who asks. The shower is a bit small…but there is nothing you can do about that really.

You were very accommodating in getting us the mattress and the pillows and we really appreciate it.

Thanks for everything…all the best to you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great experience

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

Overall, great experience. Location was awesome, which is one of the more important features for families on a long day like that. Allows them to come home, rest and return to watching the event.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

We stayed in a three bedroom, newly renovated apartment. It was very comfortable, tastefully decorated, and practical. The location was exactly what I was looking for, walking distance to the lake, to Main street, and to Ironman transition which is what we were there for.
Neven was extremely helpful, and attentive. We wanted to watch a movie, and realized that the hook up cables were missing. I emailed him at 8 pm at night, expecting an answer the next day, and was shocked when within the hour he dropped off the cables. Any questions or concerns we had, he dealt with immediately.
I would not hesitate to stay there again, or recommend it to anyone travelling to Placid.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review