reviews for: listing #93197 - Crescent Beach, Florida House rental

Chiquita’s Sun House with Private Pool, Gourmet Kitchen
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Beach Home
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $232 - $600 /nt
    $1,163 - $3,028 /wk
    $2,902 - $13,180 /mth

sort by:

A Fun & relaxing Vacation

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. We lounged around the house inside & outside. Watched the sunset every evening, & come up every morning. The view was spectacular. A very enjoyable time all the way around !!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5 Star Only for Location and View

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

The location on the beach was fantastic. Very relaxing and beautiful. The home needs much work. Front deck is a hazard, blinds fall every time you attempt to open, air blowing beneath main bathroom door, most windows filthy, the garage is scary and all of the fees are quite steep. The property owner needs to reserve at least a week for repairs and updates. Greed has obviously taken over. Stop listening to the complaints and get it done!

Owners response: Hi Katherine - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. I apologize for the maintenance and exterior window cleaning issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach delight

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Loved the private beach right out our door, very relaxing. 20 minute drive to Old Town, St. Augustine where we dined 2 nights. Our guests with us had to share our shower and bath tub as theirs was rusted out-ugly. And the front wood wrap around porch had a great view but the wood painted plank floors were in very bad shape. The back porch floors (for sunsets) was in better shape. We liked our 4 night stay.

Owners response: Hi Ida - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice area, great views, clean house,

Review submitted: December 26, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The house was very clean inside. Typical of rental homes on the beach, the exterior could use some work (peeling paint, rust stains, etc), but that did not effect our stay whatsoever. The views from the wonderful decks are outstanding front and back, the area is very private and quiet. You can not do better for a quiet stay. There is a small road and a dune between the house and beach, but this did not effect our view our enjoyment. Check-in, check-out couldn't be easier. For what it is, I would recommend this house to a friend.

Owners response: Hi Richard - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

White Sand Beach House Review

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Check in process was relatively smooth other than fighting briefly with the lockbox. Love the location and the view from both decks (ocean and intracoastal). A rep called soon after checking in to make sure there were no immediate problems and left a contact number via voice mail. Upon arrival, a load of dirty dishes were in the dishwasher and had to be started and then put away. The deck facing the intracoastal side had numerous cobwebs/spiders that could have easily been handled with the sweep of a broom to the area but had obviously been there sometime. The ocean front deck had several boards that were warped causing pinching when walking in that area. Could not figure out why a large container of flat latex paint was sitting on the deck? The visitors also experienced splinters from the peeling paint and wood from this deck. Loved the ocean view but very disappointed that oceanfront windows/sliding glass doors could not be opened to enjoy the breeze and pleasant weather this time of year. The master bedroom has a wonderful private screened in deck that was wasted since half of the screen was in disrepair. Would have loved to keep the patio door open at night but too much debris and bugs came in through the damaged screen. Unable to get the DVD in the living room to operate after numerous attempts following instructions exactly as written. Also could not get a reception on the tv in the master bedroom again after following printed instructions near tv. Small annoyances but they affected the overall stay. Had a lovely week in this relatively remote location but would not rent this home again.

Owners response: Hi Cheryl - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards at all. I will email you directly on this. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

October Beach Revie

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

The location of this house was excellent and the beach was awesome. Loved the view of the ocean! It was exactly what I was looking for when I started planning this vacation. Also, I am very appreciative that we were able to bring our 2 dogs with us. Most places don't allow dogs and this was a HUGE factor when I was deciding where to spend our vacation. So thank you! <br/><br/>As for the house, I have to be honest and say it wasn't what we expected. We did not find it as it was portrayed in the web site. Examples: Most of the blinds didn't work, the decks looked bad and there was a screw sticking up thru the front deck that my husband scraped his foot on, the deck off the master bedroom & back deck were very dirty and we did not sit out there, the windows could have been cleaned or replaced in the both front bedrooms, a good portion of a screen was torn on the master bedroom deck, there was a messed up kitchen drawer. So basically the house needs some upkeep. We realize it's a rental beach house, but we really expected the house to be in better shape. <br/><br/>The furniture wasn't that comfortable in the living room and for a master bedroom that size, it could definately use a king size bed! Some of the kitchen utensils were rusty.<br/><br/>The TV in master bedroom didn't work and the outside umbrella was broken. We called and reported both on Monday and then didn't hear anything until Wednesday at 8PMish when the property mgr knocked on the door. He said he's get back w/us the following day but we didn't hear back from him. I called him Thursday afternoon to tell him never mind.<br/><br/>Overall we enjoyed the vacation because the beach was very accessible, the views were great and the property allowed dogs.<br/><br/>Thank you,<br/>Mary & Bob Board<br/>

Owners response: Hi Mary - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

white sands stay

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The location was fantastic. The home itself needed lots of little repairs and updates. There were many bugs in the house, the main blinds did not work so there was no privacy at night. On the plus side, when there was a major problem at 1:30 in the morning, the property manager did a great job of responding.

Owners response: Hi Robin - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the insect and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It's all about the location

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

If you focus on the location of this property and realize that that's its biggest asset then I think you will be pleased with this home. The home needs some work, and from what I've seen from prior tenants comments, the issues are not being tended to,and<br/> for what reason I don't know why. The second bedroom's sliding glass door does not open. As in, there is a sign on it that says Don't open. Why advertise that this bedroom has access to the front deck when it doesn't? The back deck screen door needs a pull.<br/> It is a struggle to get out and watch the sunset back there, as you have to pry the door open with your hand. All of the sliding glass doors are a struggle to open. The deck needs finishing. I used some junk blankets from my car and laid them around the deck<br/> so we wouldn't splinter. There are many broken vertical blinds as well, and the louvre linen closet needs a pull. And finally, it's not fun arriving to prior tenant's garbage. While it's bagged and put in the cans by the stairs, it creates a smell and attracts<br/> the flies, and the last thing I want to see when I check into a place is someone else's trash. I don't know the solution for this as garbage pickup is only Mondays... Some major pluses are, the appliances are all near new, and again, you really can't beat<br/> the location if you are looking to be on a near secluded beach with your home being steps away from the ocean. Thankfully, that's what I'll take away from this house!

Owners response: Hi Renee - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the clean issues and the maintenance issues. This is not up to standards at all. I sincerely apologize again. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

not what i hoped for, for the money paid

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

first of all everyone that works for the amount of money paid for this rental works hard!!! once we arrived there we noticed that the windows were verrry dirty. the ants were just about running us out of the place. the shades were most broken and not hanging<br/> up. furniture was in poor condition.. the master bedroom only had a full size bed.. it should have had a better quality and at least a queen size bed.. and to have rabbit ears on the t.v.?? really??? and to be a vhs player??? this was ridiculous!! the tv wouldn't<br/> even stay on!!! we even tried playing a movie and guess what??? it didn't even work!!!! and the air conditioning.. we had to buy garbage bags also.. i know we were on vacation but this was silly... and i want to know why we weren't informed prior to our arrival<br/> of the construction on the beach in front of the house... all hours of the night... we had to either climb over the humongus pipes or walk around them... we should have been given some kind of advance knowledge of this... so we could have maybe picked another<br/> location.. my son and daughter in law has rented alot of &quot;vacation&quot; rentals that are homes and were very surprised about the condition of this house for the amount of money we paid.. we also have been to some other rentals, wether we paid more or not, that<br/> was in better condition and we had absolutely no complaints about them.. so over all we didn't like your &quot;vacation&quot; home!! sorry to say we will not recommend your vacation rentals to any of our friends here

Owners response: Hi Susan - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

White sands wk of 7/29/11

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

The only comment I wanted to make was that there was no question the cleaning crew did a good job for a general cleaning but the house wa in need of a thorough deep clean: kitchen cabinets were grimy, vents from the ac were black with dirt. Also. The overall<br/> upkeep of the house wasnt great: deck paint was peeling very badly, couldn t enjoy the back porch because the screens were all torn so it was full of insects. But the company was very professional in addressing any concerns.

Owners response: Hi Carole - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing vacation house

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay - beautiful view. We would give it 5 stars if some maintenance was done to the house such as re-painting the deck which is chipping badly, fixing the broken blinds, and updating the main bathroom (the tub is in bad condition).<br/> Also, the AC unit is very loud when it turns on and off - loud enough to keep a light sleeper awake in the 2nd and 3rd bedroom.

Owners response: Hi Mary - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place & location - needs some upkeep and a good exterminator!!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

The location was excellent and the place had a nice layout. From the moment we walked in, the place was crawling with large, hairy spiders. I killed 6-10 in the week we were there along with ants, beetles, etc. Also, we didn't use the screen porches much due to how dirty they were and the spider issue. Another issue we were not told about was the Army corp of engineers were working on the beach just a few houses down (when we arrived) and made it in front of the property when we left. They were re-beaching and pulling sand / mud across which had some effect on the beach and working through the night with heavy equipment that beeped all night took its toll on sleep. It would have been nice to be warned. If anyone came in right after us, they would find the work taking place on the beach in front of the rental. Not cool and I'd be asking for a refund at that point, but we narrowly missed it. On the plus side, you couldn't beat the location.

Owners response: Hi Frank - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance and cleaning issues. This is not up to standards. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Place

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

We had a beautiful week at White Sands, the setting was private, quiet and the house was comfortable and clean. Jim, the property manager, made sure everything was perfect. If you want a quiet, peaceful, uncrowded beach..this is the perfect place.

Owners response: Hi Amy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach location.............could use a little TLC

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

The house was pretty, just like the pictures......inside and out. The beach was private with wonderful sand and refreshing waves in the water!!!! Three things, however should be fixed which would improve it immensely. 1. refinish the awful tub in the second bathroom; the rust spot looks like mud.<br/>2. Replace missing blinds in master bedroom and 2nd bedroom as sun rises and there is not shade.<br/>3. REFINISH or REPAINT the deck; it's peeling off in a terrible manner and a few boards need fixing. 4. Change out the matts in the bathroom; these minor repairs, maintenance issues would truly make this a perfect beach home.<br/>As is, I would rate it 3 1/2 out of 5 stars.

Owners response: Hi Adam - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Vacation Rental for Ocean Front Stay

Review submitted: June 4, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The home overall was great. However, the blinds did not work in the bedroom, the sliding doors were extremley difficult to open and nothing was posted about when garbage pick up was so we missed the pick up. Comforters were not clean and bath tub is rusted out. The deck needs to be replaced because there are boards that give when you press on them. The home overall is great. It just needs some maintenance. We would rent this home again.

Owners response: Hi Diane - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The location is perfect. We had dolphins in front of the house nearly everyday.

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

The house is in somewhat of a bad condition. There were numerous door handle broken, drawers broken, couldn't open windows or some patio doors and one of the pull out sofas didn't work.

Owners response: Hi Karrie - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private Beach

Review submitted: May 15, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

The house was perfect for our vacation of four adults and two children. Very well equipped and very clean. Enjoyed tremendously. We felt we were on a private beach. Not at all crowded, but beatiful!

Owners response: Hi Donna - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, rental company left a little to be desired

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

This place is right on a very quiet and peaceful beach - amazing. We had two complaints with the rental company. First, the trash (including a urine-soaked mattress pad) were overflowing and not pulled to the curb when we got there, so it was smelly and we had nowhere to put our trash. When one of our group called, they asked her to take it to the curb herself. After a few more phone calls, they finally sent someone to take care of it for us. Second, it was sea turtle hatching season and the rental company didn't make it clear that we couldn't have any lights on outside, and we ended up getting a citation. Other than those things, this place was great. It had plenty of spare towels and sheets and the location was unbeatable. We enjoyed our stay.

Owners response: Hi Lanika - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the trash situation. This is not up to standards. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review