reviews for: listing #9323 - Amelia Island, Florida Condo rental

REDUCED -beachview condo with awesome rooftop deck
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Port of Call
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $595 - $950 /wk
    $1,600 - $2,850 /mth

sort by:

Inviting and Easy

Review submitted: October 11, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

The condo was inviting, clean, clean, clean and exactly as described! This place worked out great for a spontaneous fall trip to the beach and island for sightseeing. Rhona, the owner, was very accommodating with regard to our last minute plans, our daughter's small dog and made the transaction simple. The beach, restaurants (one just a short walk away) were easily accessed and made for a few days of low stress relaxation. The ocean view sunrise is beautiful from the rooftop deck!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great condo, great owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

this is a beautiful little condo, just across the street from the ocean. nicely furnished, very functional, with nice views and on-property parking.
we had been on the island for Shrimpfest and TPC, staying at another rental, and when it was time to leave my wife and daughter weren't ready to, so we got the p.c. out and found a couple places that didn't return my call on a Saturday afternoon - but Rhona did (fortunately for us), and my wife and daughter spent the next few days in one of the Ports condos.
The condo is very nice, and Rhona is a pleasure to work with.
thank you again Rhona, hope to see you soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

Our daughter rented this condo for our 30th wedding anniversary ... It was great .... The condo was so clean and stocked with everything you could need. The beach is so clean and private.. found lots of great shells and sharks teeth...Great deck and view from the living room porch... will be back again... Our dog Doodle had a great time too... Thanks Rhonda for making us feel at home. Hope to see you next year,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay at our condo - you were the first to experience the new carpeting in the bedrooms and all freshly painted inside.
It was a pleasure working with your daughter and we look forward to your return.
We truly appreciate your kind words.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cozy and relaxing Condo!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We had an awesome stay at this place! Just a few yards and we were on the beach... The place was clean and everything worked. We will certainly be back to revisit it! Thanks Rhona!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed our condo and we love repeat renters and always extend 10% discount to returning renters!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Diamond in the rough

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 15, 2011

This was a great location & awesome deal for a 5-day visit to Amelia Island.
Ten to fifteen minutes to my conference location depending on traffic & convenient to get everywhere by bike or car. Loved staying across the street from the beach, even when the storms beat down on the windows.

The condo is tastefully decorated w/a great layout but could use a little sprucing up. I'd consider 1)new carpets in the bedrooms or continue hardwood in light of the sandy location, 2)new slipcovers for the furniture (or all leather) and lastly, new linens if we bother to include them. The blinds are a little quirky for a sweet little place like this, but I guess they do the job for privacy w/windows all around for the views...which are awesome for the record!

The website needs new pictures. They don't do it justice.

Given all the options, I might choose it again...and bring all my own supplies again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: We actually have new carpet on order for the condo and are actively looking for new living room furniture to replace the worn sofa and chair.
Don't know why mini blinds are quirky?? And have never before had any issues with the linens we supply.
Overall you sounded like you enjoyed our condo - and we do hope you return, and we will be happy to extend our 10% discount to you as a returning renter.
We appreciate you taking the time to make constructive comments.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Condo location/cleanliness/easy to arrange

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

I sincerely enjoyed my stay at this amelia island condo. Not sure what to glean from internet pictures, and best guess location via mapquest. I was pleasantly surprised to find the "ocean view' from the deck of this 2-story condo - was close enough to spot dolphins our first morning there.

Just a walk across the street to the beach, and only a few houses down from an outdoor bar/grill for entertainment and relaxing - made this an ideal location - yet completely away from all the other tourist hub-bub.

Traffic noise is loud during the day - and constant, but at night the ocean is the only thing I heard.

The place was decorated appropriately for the beach, with a little Dutch flair - very cute! And very clean.
Supplies to cook with were plentiful, as were extra blankets given the colder time of year we came in.

Arrangements were easy and professionally done, to the extent that the owner worked with me on logistics.
Only need for a car from this location would be to go to the grocery store/movies/etc. But renting a bike for $15/day works just fine too. Everything reasonable to get to.
I took a shuttle from the airport at $55 one way, and never felt the need for a car once I rented a bike.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Excellent Condo Experience

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 15, 2008

First time to Ameila Island! Port of Call Condo was all it claimed to be and more. Immaculately clean, very nicely decorated, great location. Balconies everywhere, off the living room, master bedroom, kitchen and one on the roof top. We arrived late in the dark and could hear the surf, but couldn't discern how far away it was. To our delight in the morning we could see the water from the kitchen, living room and all the decks. Being from the north, upstate NY, we so appreciated all the decks, being outside and ate our breakfast and lunch out there most days, and had cheese, crackers and cocktails on the roof each night. Most everything you'll need is there including a washer/dryer which was great! Wood floors kitchen, living room, hallway, and tile in bathrooms makes it very easy to keep clean.Comfy furniture that invites you to relax, beach chairs and lounges which we so very much appreciated. We were really there to relax, but did take a day trip to Cumberland Island as guests of the Greyfield Inn which seemed at first a bit pricey, but it turned out to be such a wonderful day. They took us out there by boat from downtown Fernandina Beach historic old town, gave us use of the entire property, gave us bicycles to use for the day, and a very lovely box lunch which actually was in a little basket. It was truly and awesome trip. Considering it was our only venture it truly was so worth it and I highly recommend it. Rhona the owner of this property is so very lovely...I never did meet her face to face, but she was so very pleasant on the phone and always replied to my emails very quickly. The beach here is amazing so big, wide and beautiful and almost empty...you have it almost to yourself. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we ever had. We ate dinner one night in Fernandina Beach, historic old town at a place called Joe's Bistro on Third Street or something like that and it was fantastic...really great food and wonderful service. I love to cook and we cooked a lot. We found a fish market the Atlantic I think it was called, down in old town near the docks. We bought fresh fish there and it was wonderful. We ate fish and seafood every night. We walked around old town every night...you need to drive there, it's much too far to walk, but worth the drive and fun to walk around and look in the shops etc.This is a second floor unit which makes the view spectacular. Parking right in front of the building. We very much look forward to coming back! Thanks Rhona

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review