reviews for: listing #932350ha - Playa Matapalo, Costa Rica rental

Spectacular Ocean Views from Every Room & Terrace - Lots of Monkeys & Toucans!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 150 - $ 275 / night
    $ 974 - $ 1,550 / week
    $ 3,000 - $ 4,800 / month
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Take me back to Paradise!

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

The property is amazing. It was our first trip to Costa Rica so I wasn't sure what to expect from the location in the Jungle or being out of town but it truly made our trip. Coming home every evening to this wonderful house and waking up eating breakfast by the pool made our trip. The house was incredibly clean, Manuel does an amazing job on the grounds and was extremely accommodating when we had to checkout at 11:30pm. So many animals stopped by including Monkeys, wild boars, Iguanas, Birds and butterflies. Although you are out of town the drive is quick and there are a ton of activities near the house. Ziplining, Riverrafting, Tours of Manuel Antonio, Dominical is extremely close for surfing and diving. I would love to return to this place and would defiantly recommend it to my friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It's our second time staying at this house.

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 1, 2014

The title summarizes it all. We fell in love with this house the first time we stayed here. It was more expensive than some of the other options but well worth it. The pictures are exactly what the house looks like. It is impeccably maintained and cared for on a daily basis. The outside patio area is perfect for outside entertaining. Awesome gas grill. The two bedrooms are spacious and the beds are super comfortable. The kitchen has more stuff than my own kitchen at home. Sunsets, wildlife, ocean to the front and jungle in the back. I wish I could share pictures as well as words. Please stay here so you can appreciate Cost Rica. 30 min to Manuel Antonio. 30 min to Dominical. Rent a car and enjoy this house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous property away from the tourists!

Review submitted: March 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here and loved the way that the house is a little off the beaten track. The house is very comfortable and the pool very much appreciated. Manuel was there every day, looking after the property. The only slight disappointment was that we didn't see any animals actually on the property... no monkeys at breakfast! Overall though we had a wonderful stay and would strongly recommend. The local beaches are wonderful and no tourists.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a place !!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

We arrived on the 29th of Dec. 11 and stayed til Jan 8th of 2012. So we spent New Years Eve on the upper balcony of "El Paraiso".

Our arrival @ the property was a bit of a challenge due to our cell phones would not work so we could call Manuel (the housekeeper) for driving directions since it was already dark... So we had to ask @ a nearby bar and who would have thought that we had to drive right into the jungle ;-) ?

The whole stay was fantastic, great and absolutely enjoyable. We stayed 3 week total in Costa Rica and El Paraiso was the best by far !

The house is great, we especially enjoyed the bbq area the pool and the remoteness of the propoerty. A couple of feet past the driveway you
are right in the jungle.

We saw all kinds of wildlife every day just around the house and I managed to shoot about 2000 pics...

Manuel and Yeraldis were great and very helpful, he even took me out fishing !

If we would return to Costa Rica... El Paraiso would be the 1st Adress

Rene + Antje
Germany

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

We had an excellent time in your house. Manuel is a great guy. He helped us a lot. Thank you for renting us your house...Pura Vida

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"we saw monkeys, butterflies, a toucan..."

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Manuel was most hospitable and gracious. He gave me a tour of the area. A guided tour of the property we saw monkeys, butterflies, a toucan and best of all a green and black frog. As beautiful as the house and grounds were, I enjoyed meeting Manuel best of all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful House!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

Beautiful house! Manuel is very informative and a great guy. Would have liked internet and phone service but understand that is a hard thing to accommodate guests with. Beaches were farther away than we expected but view, sunsets and pool were great!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pura Vida from Germany

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Everything was great. Thanks for the wonderful peace of this nice place. Pura Vida from Germany. The cat is beautiful. Very hot place, it was great to be here and live the Pura Vida way of life.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What a great stay!"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

What a great stay! Our word for the week...Pristine!! Manuel was a good conversationalist. He helped my wife with her Spanish almost every morning. Thanks Tere for letting us stay. We tried to leave everything where we found it. You know how great your place is so I'll keep it short.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Views are incredible"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 21, 2013

We have had a fascinating and remarkable stay at El Paraiso. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with all of its gardens, orchids, scenery, pool, and all the extras. Views are incredible, birds abundant, wildlife there for watching and, of course, Minnie the house kitten learning to purr while lap sitting. Thanks, too, to Manuel - wonderful caretaker and now friend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"views and everything here were spectacular"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

We had a great stay here at El Paraiso. The views and everything here were spectacular. We couldn't have asked for a more peaceful view and place to stay and very convenient location to Quepos and Manuel Antonio. 20 minute drive is nothing. Thanks so much! We made great friends with "Mini" the cat. Manuel took great care of the place and us! He was very amenable and helpful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"This place rocks!"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Muy bien! Thanks for a wonderful stay! For others if you want to raft call Felipe and Carlos at "Authenticos Adventures". They take you on a small, personalized trip and really gave us a great time. Also, Dominical and Tortilla Flats are a great bar/beach alternative to Manuel Antonio and much cheaper and better surfing. This place rocks! Also, Manuel was very helpful. Call him to show you around!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What a beautiful home and gardens"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful home and gardens. Everything was spectacular - beyond my limited imagination. We had a wonderful time. Thank you Manuel for all your help. Without you our family would have been lost forever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Very spectacular"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

A long time. Date in 7/15/12. Date out 11/15/12. Thank you very much for letting us stay at "El Paraiso", your house is beautiful, in general all is very spectacular. The garden, pool and the work of Manuel. We recommend this place in Costa Rica. "Pura Vida"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Your house and views are amazing"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 2, 2012

Your house and views are amazing. Thank you for having your home fully stocked with all the essentials necessary to relax. All of us needed to relax and we did just that. Manuel is an absolute treasure to El Paraiso. The ladies Yarelis and Dexian so sweet.. Thank you again and hopefully one day we can come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Sunsets are amazing"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We enjoyed visiting Costa Rica and staying in El Paraiso and at the end of a thrilling day, coming to this awesome home. So peaceful and quiet, the stars are magnificent and the sunsets are amazing. We hope to be back soon!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Amazing views and lovely house"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Manuel, thank you so much for your hospitality and for making our vacation "Pura Vida". We loved the amazing views and lovely house, the outdoor area and laying out by the pool. Many blessing upon El Paraiso.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful House"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

A beautiful house surrounded by beautiful scenery. I hope to visit as soon as I can.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

Our stay here has been wonderful. Thank you for letting us stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Thank You"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Thank you for letting me enjoy paradise!! I love this country and will be back as soon as I can!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The accommodations were excellent!"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

Our stay El Paraiso was wonderful! The accommodations were excellent. I'd like to express our gratitude and heart felt thanks to Lisa and especially Emanuel for all his kind assistance in helping two gringos have a wonderful experience in Costa Rica!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Amazing Grounds"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We had a very relaxing stay and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. The grounds are amazing and so beautiful. We saw toucans, birds, monkeys & wild boars without leaving the driveway. Manuel was very nice and gave good recommendations on some day excursions. Thank you for the opportunity to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"I'm sure we'll be back pretty soon!"

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Thank you very much for letting us stay at El Paraiso! We had a great time here and enjoyed every hour of it. The surroundings, the garden and the spectacular view...absolutely breathtaking - I managed to shoot over 600 pics!!!! If we were asked to recommend a place in Costa Rica - El Paraiso would be first on that list. Yeraldis and Manuel are very friendly and helpful with the guests. We'll have Yeraldis's special lunch
tomorrow and I'm sure we're gonna enjoy it! Again, thanks a lot and I'm sure we'll be back pretty soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic House!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay at your fantastic house! We had a great time. The children particularly enjoyed the swimming pool and the cats. We also enjoyed a great meal prepared by Yarelis. Manuel is quite nice and obviously takes great care at the grounds and pool. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Colorado Springs, CO Guests

Review submitted: April 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 19, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful refuge in the jungle! We appreciated your home and the thoughtfulness the contractor put into the design. We managed to get to a beach every day, and appreciated the authentic culture! We wish you well, and we bless your corner of Paradise! (With the rain it may have been the Garden of Eden!)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pristine!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 22, 2013

It was our very first time to Costa Rica and staying at El Pariaso made our experience even that much better! The house was beautiful, well cared for inside and out and had everything we needed. We especially loved how private and secure the house was with the gated entrance. The caretaker Immanuel was so kind and thoughtful. He gave us a tour of the grounds and the great views. He worked very hard to keep the grounds pristine.
RECOMMENDATIONS: Rent a 4 wheel drive, it will just make it that much easier to get around and up the long driveway.
Bring your spanish dictionary. You will get plenty of use out of it.
DRAW BACKS (Not enough to keep us from renting again, but wish we knew.)
There was no phone and no internet. We would have prepared better for that. The housekeeper offered hers which was very kind.
CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely tranquil home

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

El Paraiso house is located high on a hill and offers breathtaking 270 degree views of sunrises and sunsets. The grounds are impeccably kept up and are gorgeous. I loved the orchids in the trees. The patio and pool areas are very inviting, as are the balconies on the first and second floors. The bedrooms are comfortable. This is a great place to stay if you keep away from the crowds in Quepos and Manuel Antonio. The drive from Quepos was about 20 minutes and 30 minutes from Manuel Antonio. We found it very convenient to get takeout from one of the restaurants in town on our way back from the beach and eat them later at the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review