reviews for: listing #93256 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Balboa Gem-8 Houses from Sand! Available June 28-Jul 2
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $375 /nt
    $1,595 - $2,695 /wk
    $4,995 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect 4th of July Escape

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

If you are looking for a great location and a clean & chic place to stay, this is your beach house! They accommodated my guests and I amazingly! We would highly recommend this beach house which feels like a home away from home! Love everything about it.. Down to the fact that there was wifi!

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

VanGlover

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

The pictures do not do this house justice. The name is very appropriate. It is truly a gem. We stayed with 2 teenagers and 2 tweens. We all had plenty of room and had a great time. The house was very clean. Very well stocked and it was definitely better than staying in a hotel. Denise was very nice and professional. She checked in to make sure everything was perfect. Thank you!!! Can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice cozy place

Review submitted: June 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 30, 2014

Had a wonderful quick vaca in Newport Beach. The place was very nice and plenty of towels for the beach and shower. A+++

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spot!

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 19, 2014

The house was better than in the pictures. Excellent location, clean and the property manager was friendly, prompt and professional.
I look forward to staying at Balboa Gem in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun with Friends

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

I had some friends in town for the weekend and we decided to get a beach house to enjoy southern California better. We are very glad that we were able to rent the Balboa Gem. It was very clean and had upgraded everything. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

As advertised!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

My family moved from California 4 years ago, and when we visit we like to stay near the beach. Over the last 4 years, we have rented many homes. We have learned to arrive cautiously. The Balboa Gem was indeed a "Gem". The booking was quick and painless. Response from management efficient and helpful. Upon arrival, everything was as advertised. It was clean, appointed (with linens, towels and chairs, etc. that were not old, or rusty, or unusable) and most importantly, just a few houses from the beach! It was not huge on space, but the space was lovely and it was a perfect home base for our family of 4 (two teenage boys). Less than a mile from the Newport Pier, about 8 houses from the sand, a short ride to Balboa, easy access to food and activity...just perfect. We will definitely seek out the "Gem" on our return. Thank you for a lovely and truthful representation of the property, and for your hospitality during our week in California!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

Me and my family had a Fabulous Vacation Simi and Denise are great very very kind and professional. This place is very nice & great location. The only negative is that the couch bed is very uncomfortable u can feel all the metal and springs it just needs a thicker matress... But besides that everything else was wonderful and they have some really nice properties very well taken care of:)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing quality and affordable vacation by the Beach

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 25, 2014

We rented this condo for 4 days at the last minute. It's hard to find a place like this in the Peninsula, since most of them are run down and old.
Was surprised to see the quality of the rental for such an affordable rent. Everything was top of the line, new, 3 Plasma screen TV's in the rental topped it all, the place was very clean and walk right along the side walk to the beach, customer service was excellent.
We were able to walk to the restaurants, stores and there is quiet a few restaurants on the board walk that we were able to walk to. We walked to Newport Pier every day. We are coming back again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. Happy to hear you guys enjoyed your stay, we will be happy to have you guys again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place, neighbors a wild card

Review submitted: February 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

The condo is nice, clean and as pictured. It is a close walk to the beach which is nice and good walking distance to Newport Pier and other areas with lots of restaurant choices. The beach is very nice and never was crowded during our stay.

There was really one major issue and that was that you are on top of another rental home which would normally be fine but during our stay there were at least 25 kids in their early 20's partying downstairs. I don't know if it's managed by the same rental company but usually the minimum requirement for renters is 25 and these kids were no more than 21 at best. I am pregnant and we had our 3 year-old there and it was awkward trying to be out on our deck or walking down to the beach when there were a bunch of wasted, cussing, half-naked kids running around. I guess it's the risk you take when renting this sort of a place but based on our experience I would recommend this condo for people looking to party but not necessarily families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Balboa Peninsula does get a lot of younger crowds during holidays, with that the neighbors next door had guests that were visiting and that was not our vacation rental home. Unfortunately, it was a long weekend for President's Day & Washington's Birthday.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very nice and close to the beach!

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: November 28, 2013

The property was small, quaint, clean and very nicely decorated! It was perfect for our small group. We loved that it was so close to the beach and that it had everything we needed for the weekend we spent there. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need and there were even beach towels and chairs! The only issue we had was the first night a few of us slept with the doors closed not knowing that the heater was only in one room, so it got a bit cold but otherwise it was a beautiful place that was close to the beach and some great restaurants.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Balboa Gem

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

Renting a property in the USA when you live in Australia can be somewhat daunting being that you are relying on website information. The Balboa Gem was accurately described and the team at Best Laguna Vacations were very professional and helpful. We loved the location and would highly recommend this property. We are a family of 4 with 2 young children and found this property very comfortable and convenient. It is located so close to everything, just steps from the beach and is well equipped. We hope to have the opportunity to stay here again. If you're into fresh, tasty seafood you need to visit Bear Flag, just walking distance from the pad.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Gem

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Beach Gem very much. Nice decor, nice kitchen. Great for 2-4 people. Busy street, but close to the beach and most dining options.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice and fresh!

Review submitted: July 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This was the third time we rented house in Newport Beach and this was the freshest house of them all. Approaches to the beach and easy to get to from Freeway 55. Good service from the broker, and everything worked as it should in the house. The only thing we would appreciate was that it could be cleaned better outdoors between buildings. It also takes away the feeling of always passing garbage cans Närman come and go, but it's probably hard to avoid in a flat located at the rear of the house and on the second floor?! Next time we will definitely take this house as an option.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation stay

Review submitted: June 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

The property is exactly how it's pictured.
Beautiful modern decor and clean. It was
equipped with everything. Just a few steps
to the beach which was very nice considering
the walk with Kids. We're A family of five and we never felt like we
were not in each others space. Ms Simi and
her property manager Ms Denise was just a delight
to speak with. Called Ms Simi and emailed
her several times with quest and never once did she
sound annoyed. Some homes I called charged a
Cleaning fee and still expected me to clean
Before I left. But not With this property.
Some properties did not provide bed linens
Nor towels. Which is crazy for the amount
They charge. But Ms Simi has her property
Fully stocked and great cust service.
Well worth the vacation home. Would definitely
Choose one of her properties again for
Our next vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the nice review, happy to hear that everyone had a good time.
Hope to see you guys in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location, Well Maintained, Cozy Property

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

I stayed at this location for a family event with my husband and my sister and her husband. I am from Newport and have lived on the Peninsula for years but now live out of town. This property was perfect for us. Great location within walking distance to stores and restaurants, steps away from the beach and a parking spot! There is a great deck for hanging out and BBQ’s. Kitchen is well stocked and overall place was very well kept and clean. The property managers were extremely helpful and considerate. I highly recommend this location for your stay in Newport.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Guest!
Thank you for a beautiful review and thank you for letting us know that you had a good time staying with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Value! Newly Remodeled Property!

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

Our family booked the place last minute and we were so happy when we entered the property. The customer service was outstanding which made our stay more enjoyable. As discussed in the Ad., the property was very nice and it appeared to be very newly remodeled with full gourmet kitchen with stainless steel Kitchen Aid appliances. The property is so close to the beach, which made our stay more enjoyable and our family had a great time. Not only we appreciate the value and new things the property offered, we will come back and stay at your place. We want to thank you and your team for the great services rendered during our stay.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 17, 2013

We loved staying at this Condo it was very quiet at nice and about a 1 minute walk to the beach. We would absolutely stay here again :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

The Tizes and Zumbo clans enjoyed our stay at the house. Newport Beach is a fantastic and this house only made our experience even better. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful & Comfy

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

We had a great time! The unit was beautiful and comfy. Loved the close proximity to the beach..even though most of the trip was a bit chilly! :)This is a four star property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Christmas & New Year's 2012

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Great time! Fantastic Place! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Enjoyed the Californian sun & beach. Accommodations were great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is Beautiful

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We had an amazing time here! The weather was gorgeous, the house is beautiful and we had a blast. Everything was great! We hope to come back every summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Location

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We loved our stay here..clean, wonderful little unit.
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and Comfortable Home

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We had an amazing time here! The place is beautiful and we loved its location. It is a very clean and comfortable home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful time! We loved the modern amenities the Balboa Gem offered. We enjoyed the great location...and fun in the sun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Beach House

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The Balboa Gem was a perfect beach house for my family's summer vacation. The location was just minutes from the beach and the accommodations were very modern and comfortable. The updated kitchen and bathroom were state of the art and very beautiful.
The concierge service that accompanied the rental were above and beyond exceptional. Very friendly and willing to help.
I would absolutely recommend this property to friends and family and rent here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Find!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our stay in Newport at the Balboa Gem was great! The accommodations in this 2 bedroom unit were fantastic. We loved how modernized it was. The updated appliances and furnishings allowed us to cook away from home with ease and relax in comfort after a great day at the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved Everything about the Gem!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

We had a fantastic time. Kitchen was great to cook in! Comfy furnishings! Location....so close to the beach. Thanks for a wonderful Stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Be back soon...

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Had a wonderful time..so close to the beach! Don't forget the sunscreen. Great food and short drive to everything. Be back soon!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is Beautiful

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

We had an amazing time here! The weather was gorgeous, the house is beautiful and we had a blast. Everything was great! We hope to come back every summer! See you next year :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Location

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We loved our stay here...clean, wonderful little unit
Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Clean and Comfortable Home

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We had an amazing time here! The place is beautiful and we loved its location. It is a very clean and comfortable home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautifully Appointed Condo

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Beautifully appointed condo.
loved it - Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Location

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful time! We loved the modern amenities the Balboa Gem offered. We enjoyed the great location...and fun in the sun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Expectations were high

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

My expectations were pretty high based on the pictures. Although the interior of the unit matched the photos, the two houses on both sides of this property, were ghetto to say the least. Since all the houses are sandwiched together, their issues become your issues. Every night, the kids on the right smoked out---my daughters room was filled with pot smoke if we left the windows opened, which we had to do because it was so hot and there was no air conditioning. The unit was also missing basic essentials like salt/pepper, paper towels etc. We were there during a heat wave and the unit did not have AC. We purchased our own fans and that made it more comfortable, but for whatever reason, the unit did not cool down well AT ALL. We were hot pretty much all the time. The property manager, Denise, was super nice and tried everything she could to make us more comfy, but of course, the weather is out of her control. On the positive side, the unit was well remodeled, the beds were comfy, the kitchen was easy to use and rather gourmet, and the beach was SO CLOSE and SO AMAZING. I would definitely come back to Newport Beach, but I would choose a different location---something more peaceful and higher end.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Owners response: Guests who have been frequently coming to Newport beach Peninsula, know that this is the zoning of Balboa Peninsula, yes this guest's expectations is too high, for $2495/week during summer on a nicely remodeled, classy 2 bedroom, 1 bath condo. If the neighbors smoke occasionally for medical reasons with a prescription, there is nothing anyone can do about it. We not deceive or misguide our prospects or guests in anyway that we have AC. Only 10 days out the year, Newport Beach residents need AC. On the other positive note, the guest was also compensated for the inconvenience of not having AC. Definitely, a high end rental would cost $5000/week or more.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful beach house

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The Balboa Gem was a perfect beach house for my family's summer vacation. The location was just minutes from the beach and the accommodations were very modern and comfortable. The updated kitchen and bathroom were state of the art and very beautiful.

The concierge service that accompanied this rental were above and beyond exceptional. Very friendly and willing to help.

I would absolutely recommend this property to friends and family and rent here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Haynes Family. Hope to see you guys again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great find!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our stay in Newport at the Balboa Gem was great! The accommodations in this 2 bedroom unit were fantastic. We loved how modernized it was. The updated appliances and furnishings allowed us to cook away from home with ease and relax in comfort after a great day at the beach.

Construction taking place in other units blocked the alley-way on a couple of days presenting only minor inconveniences of accessibility. Parking in Newport is always tough. Be sure to prepare any guests you have for this reality :)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in Newport

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Everything was great!! We were very comfortable in this unit. It was beautifully decorated. They truly put a lot into upgrading this unit. They provided all the basic necessities needed to get the vacation off to a great start! The only issue we had was with the Internet service. We weren't able to get and maintain a connection to the signal for our unit. Other than that everything was just as described!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nicely done for a vacation rental for the rent

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

Me & my wife stayed here, we are from Boise, ID. We were shocked when we saw the class of the rental in person and at this affordable price. This is our first time to Newport beach, Balboa Gem Rental made it a nice stay for us. Furnishings were very nice and comfortable. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We walked to the beach every day, it took about 2 minutes to get to the sand. Walking on the boardwalk, sipping coffee was very romantic. I would highly recommend this rental.
I have already booked my summer week @ Balboa Gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Rental for my Money!

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

This rental is very relaxing, great for beach, shopping and Disney Land. The courtyard was nice with barbecue. Everything was clean and in good working order, the property was well maintained and in working order. The rental was tastefully decorated, me and my family loved staying here! The proximity to the ocean was perfect. 15 minutes walk to the Balboa Pier. Nice to have washer & dryer, outdoor hot/cold shower, can't wait to come back this summer, which I have already booked.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your review, we'll see you back again this summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the Best Vacation Rental in Balboa

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 21, 2012

I rented this Balboa Gem Rental in January, it is a brand new rental, only few houses away from the beach. The rental still smells new, decorated very modern, and extremely comfortable furnishings. It was walkable distance to restaurants and groceries. Walking to the Balboa Pier everyday along the boardwalk and a quick walk over to the beach is all we did. This place is a must stay, I was very impressed with the pricing on this rental. I will definitely come back this summer

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much! We'll see you again this summer!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review