reviews for: listing #93359 - Ormond Beach, Florida House rental

Roxland Paradise House with Private Pool and HDTV.
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Private Beach Home
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $500 /nt
    $615 - $2,499 /wk
    $1,935 - $6,995 /mth

sort by:

Christmas stay

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

I was disappointed that this was not actually a beach front property. We had to go out the door, around thru the sand river and then to the ocean. The river behind the house is completely gone, leaving only sand and the ocean in front is blocked with enormous stones that cannot be climbed. That said, you can get to the ocean around the bend. The bedroom are small and the twin bedded room is bunk beds and the room is minute. We enjoyed the fireplace and the kitchen was well furnished. Place was not very well dusted, but we did enjoy our stay regardless, although we will look for a different property for next year.

Owners response: Hi Nancy - Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. As we discuss on the web site, the beach and river at Summer Haven are constantly changing. The river is now a huge sand bar with access to the beach. We appreciate the feedback, and we hope that you will consider renting from us again next time. I'd like to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. Just enter the coupon code rebook10 when you reserve your rental! Thank you again for your comments. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dilapidated and dusty

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

This is my 5th time in a Beach Cottages/VPRO property, and I was really disappointed. The house is charming, the beds comfortable, the kitchen sunny and pleasant, but in a world where "presentation is everything," your property manager needs to get his act together. A smashed gate, broken mailbox, ripped screen door and two dead trees lying in the yard greeted me upon arrival. Broken fencing lying in yard, random wood pieces, plastic forks, red drink cups, tattered welcome mat, etc. Inside, the house was clean at a glance, but cobwebs and dustballs coated all textile wall hangings, elk head, fireplace screen, floor vents and corners. Dead lovebugs in many corners. BBQ grill didn't work. No ice in the freezer upon arrival. Not worth the outrageous cleaning and "amenity" fees. I love older properties with character, but the need occasional deep cleaning and to be in better repair. I left The Lodge much cleaner than I found it, despite the terrible vacuum cleaner that sprays more dust than it takes in. I didn't call the property manager because I was so insulted that I would have to point out so many - and such obvious - deficiencies. It would have made my vacation even less pleasant to have to deal with all of that! The location has a view of road construction behind the property and a dried up river. The view down the road has an ugly "road closed" sign. You can't see the ocean from the house at all except from the kitchen window, which had random wood posts leaning in front of it. Last year, The Hut property next door had many similar deficiences inside and out, though it was cleaner.

Owners response: Hi Ann - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards at all. I will email you directly on this. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You have my previous E- Mail

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

The property is represented as something it is is very tattered, tiny bedrooms, awful location due to silted river. As our guest commented, there is old an charming and then there is just old and dilapidated. I spent a lot of time and effort to plan this<br/> special week-end. It was a disaster. Three of our 9 family members just left altogether (allergies) and all of us left a day early. I really feel ripped off/ Sorry

Owners response: Hi Judy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. The Lodge is advertised as a 100 year old cottage. It is not a large house, but it is a great location and has been updated. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The lodge

Review submitted: September 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 25, 2011

Property was found to be smelling of rot, the yard was full of garbage, the bbq pit wasn't cleaned, the trash cans had no lids, the ac wasn't working properly, the mosquito nets were torn, etc. etc. We have been overcharged for this property and will not<br/> recommend it to friends. Nor will we recommend the VacPros company recommend to anyone.

Owners response: Hi Christiann - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the trash and maintenance issues. This is not up to standards. I will contact my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Lodge was Great

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We had a wonderful time, the location is perfect. We will stay again, it could be a little cleaner and a few repairs. I would highly reccomend it. Thank you

Owners response: Hi Sharon - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning and maintenance issues. I have already contacted my property manager to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another great week at the Lodge

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This was our second time staying at the Lodge. Love the location. Some days you have the whole beach to yourselves. Love the charm of the Lodge, however it is not for everyone. The house is very old so you have to expect some quirks. Found it to be cleaner this year than last, however there was a problem with mice this year. The property manager was excellent. Any complaints we had he was right there to correct them. The furnishings in the Lodge are nearing their end and are a little shabby. I think if they would just freshen up the interior furnishings it would be an awesome place to stay. Definitely would go back.

Owners response: Hi Judy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I am glad Jim and the cleaning crew were responsive and improved. I apologize for the mouse issue. We have taken appropriate steps to catch the critter. We are in communication with the owner of the property and upgrades will occur in the Fall. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place to stay

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

This home made a wonderful vacation. The beach was a private beach so there was us and maybe 3-5 other families on the beach. It was very easy to get to town to eat or to get some more groceries. The only negative thing about this house is that the beach is imediatly across the street, but you cant get to it because of the massive rocks that seperate you. But it is a very short walk (less than 50 steps) to get to the beach. This wasnt a big deal except for that my mother had a hurt knee and the path down to the beach is a bit steep for someone with a hurt knee so she had to spend most of the vacatin at the house. But really the beach itself was worth the short walk. Beautiful beach, nice home, and a wonderful vacation all together.

Owners response: Hi Joseph - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Piece of Old Florida

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

The old Lodge was the character we were looking for. Steeped in history and reminiscent of old Florida living. <br/>We can see that the Lodge would not be for everyone, but we found it charming.<br/>Sorry to see the river is no longer flowing in the back yard. This must break the owners hearts. The over all location is great for spending time at the beach with friends and family.

Owners response: Hi Mark - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. Yes, the river is now one very large sand bar which makes it very easy to get to the beach! You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

Hot water can be a problem with 7 people!! Disappointed no water behind residence as pictured! Great location

Owners response: Hi Morgan - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I am glad you did not have any issues!!! You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Lodge

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Had a good time with family in a charming old Lodge. But the house definitely needed maintenance and the river behind was no longer. We did feel we were misled by the advertising that said it was on the river???

Owners response: Hi Melissa - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the maintenance issues. I have already contracted my property manager to work with the owner to get these fixed. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904 385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house and could not ask for a better location. Had a terrific time.

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Well kept for a 100+ year old house. Due to allergies with family members, wish the vents and ceiling fans had less dust. Overall it was great and would love to return.

Owners response: Hi David - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, 904.385 3888, Vacation Rental Pros, 6233 A1a South, St. Augustine, FL 32080

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We loved the home and the location. I would like to say though, that contrary to the information provided, there is no grocery store within a mile or two. When you have been on the road for 10 hours, looking for a grocery store that is a mile or two away is somewhat frustrating. Also, a heads up on the water would have been great...we killed a load of whites, turning them a lovely shade of rust.

Owners response: Hi Mark - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the incorrect information on the grocery store. There is one that is 6 miles away. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Dream Come True!

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

The first thing out of my Gandsons' mouth when he saw the wide expanse of beach behind the Lodge was, "This is like a dream come true." It turned out that the whole week was a dream come true. We loved the casualness and homey feel of the Lodge. No worries if a little sand was tracked in. There were 10 of us and the Lodge accomodated us quite well. There is as much living space outside as in. The location could not be better. Beautiful beach that you have almost to yourself. Felt like we had our own private beach. We spent as much time in the river as we did in the ocean. Everyone, from the youngest to the oldest had a great time.<br/>Can't wait to go back!!

Owners response: Hi Judy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

History at the Beach

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

What a wonderful place for a family vacation. After hearing about our stay last year, everyone in the family wanted to come this year. A real feeling of old Florida history. After the nor'easter two years ago that formed the new inlet, the river is different every year, and every day during our stay. Can't wait to see what it looks like next year. We'll be back - the whole family.

Owners response: Hi James - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

I was happy at first then to my horror I found a large rat by the front door ! I had to discard it m

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

The smell was spread through out the house eventually and two of the female guests had to leave because they felt sick. The manager never called back. And we felt abandoned in our rotting smell of the rats. I feel a need to be compensated for the nightmare it ruined out stay. Please contact me so this can be further addressed .I am a good customer who has stayed with you before. Sincerely, Fred e-mail

Owners response: Hi Fred - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I sincerely apologize for finding the dead rats and the flies around them. As you are aware this is not normal, and it has not happened before. I will email you directly as well. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. I want to offer you a coupon good for 10% off your next stay. You can go online to our web site and book using coupon code = rebook10 Just type in .... rebook10 Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904 246 8181

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Overall the Lodge was lovely. Few housekeeping things like the shower curtain having mold on the in

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

AND the fact that ONE roll of toilet paper is provided for a house that is designed for NINE guests (when we called housekeeping they said that was all that was provided). We loved the location but where not aware that the beach was not accessible due to the large rocks (difficult for grandparents to get down!) and not accessible at all at high tide. This should be disclosed to guests as well. Also, way too much cleaning asked of the guests in the "handbook" left at the house when guests are paying $295 cleaning fee.

Owners response: Hi Missy - I just received your feedback and wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. I apologize for the cleaning issues. This was not up to standards and I have already discussed this with the house keeping manager. I sincerely apologize and will email you a discount. It is our goal to provide a wonderful vacation experience. You and your family are welcome back any time. Thank you again. Steve Milo, VacationRentalPros. com 904.707.1487

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review