reviews for: listing #93415 - Palm Springs, California House rental

Hilltop Haven ~
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Chino Canyon
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,700 /wk

sort by:

Amazing private getaway

Review submitted: February 15, 2014   Date of arrival: February 5, 2014

This was the first time me and my fiancé rented a home for our annual vacation. Living in LA we decided to stay in Palm Springs since it was so close to us. We arrived there and the house was spotless and very inviting. We had a couple pillows that did not have covers on them. ( housekeeping must of forgot) And I emailed them and they showed up the next day to replace them! So nice.

The kitchen is completely stocked with everything we needed. Being that we both like to cook its hard to find everything we needed and we did! It was quiet and very private. No neighbors can see you in the pool. The one neighbor, Mary that we met was so sweet and even invited us over for a glass of wine.
Home is 5 min drive to downtown Palm Springs. It is located up on the hillside for a beautiful view of the valley and mountains behind it. Hiking trails a block away into the canyons!
Acme was a joy to plan with and were very professional and efficient. Will rent from only them when we come to Palm Springs!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved the view

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The view from the patio is very Zen and lovely. The sliding screen doors to the pool area are old, however, and don't work at all. We just went in and out the regular door and had the patio door open for air. This is our second time renting the house this year and we loved it.

Manager responded on 4/2/2013:
Thanks for staying with us it was a pleasure to have you. ACME strives to improve the vacation of each guest that stays with us wanting to make their stay in Palm Springs memorable. Whenever ACME receives a request from a guest we do our best to make sure that issue is addressed and fixed with 24 hours. We will definitely check on the sliding doors to the pool area and resolve the issue. Can't wait to see you again for your next stay in Palm Springs!

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us it was a pleasure to have you. ACME strives to improve the vacation of each guest that stays with us wanting to make their stay in Palm Springs memorable. Whenever ACME receives a request from a guest we do our best to make sure that issue is addressed and fixed with 24 hours. We will definitely check on the sliding doors to the pool area and resolve the issue. Can't wait to see you again for your next stay in Palm Springs!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hill Top Haven Get Away

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was somewhat unhappy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Enjoyable, clean and well maintained.
A few small issues that were rectified quickly and professionally.
We would not stay that far north again as it was far too windy for us.
otherwise it was a great place.
Thanks!

Owners response: Hi Tim,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed the property. Hilltop Haven truly is a great home.

The home’s unique location affords the incredible views, natural setting and tranquility that only hillside Chino Canyon properties can.
In terms of the winds, they generally tend to be stronger as one moves closer to the highways and away from the hillside. However as you noted some wind can still be present along the hills. Many people who live in the north end of town love the winds for their cooling effects during the warmer days.

We look forward to having you back in Palm Springs very soon. Remember, returning guests with ACME receive $100 off their next rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hilltop Haven Indeed

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: January 27, 2013

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This is a lovely home - exactly as the pictures depict it. It is not walkable to downtown Palm Springs, but by car it's mere minutes. The house has beautiful sunrise and night views over the valley. Because it's built onto the side of a hill, the pool and sun deck are at the front of the house. My only concern was that it was quite open to the street and not competely quiet - although it is a residential street with not a lot of traffic. That said, this is a very good vacation rental. Fully equipped and nicely appointed. Clean and good quality linens and towels. This is a place we will certainly re-book. Acme House Company was a pleasure to deal with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very relaxing and well appointed

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
The kitchen had excellent pots, pans and knives-a must for me as I love to cook. The laundry is easily accessible and all appliances worked very well. The only thing I would recommend is the purchase of a foldable drying rack for laundry as not all washables go in the dryer, I wound up putting things on the back of the plastic chairs to dry. The window above the kitchen sink had come away from the frame and small ants would come in. Not all the sliding doors were easily movable because of age. They should be greased up and the wheels checked. This is nothing out of line for a house of this age, though. We were chased out of the house for a day because of the installation of a power pole in the back yard- the workers were jackhammering all afternoon to put a hole in the rocky ground. I realize this is out of the control of the rental agency, but we would have liked to have enjoyed the property on our last day. Perhaps the owners could communicate with the rental agency a bit better regarding such matters?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream House

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: December 8, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We had such a wonderful stay. We love the house and the location. Clean, mid century style! We will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hilltop Haven Needs a Little Help

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was more than helpful.
Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
It wasn't a bad property, in fact I can see the potential very clearly, I just felt like I came into a property that was in the middle of a remodel.
The floor was dirty, the couch was stained, and the en suite shower is cold (bad shower head) and does not drain. I tried to use it once and gave up and we both used the other smaller shower.
Pool was a bit moldy but that didn't stop us. Loved the sun, all the windows and the location of the property, nice and quiet and private - great view of the valley. Had a good time.
Can't wait to see it all done

Owners response: Thanks for staying with us it was a pleasure to have you. ACME strives to improve the vacation of each guest that stays with us and we want to make their stay in Palm Springs memorable. Whenever ACME receives a request from a guest we do our best to make sure that issue is addressed and fixed with 24 hours. We have each home professionally cleaned after each guest departure. Each house is then inspected and prepped before each arrival.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and meeting your vacation expectations. Remember we offer a $100 discount to every returning renter.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hilton Haven is Heaven

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We absolutely loved our weeks stay at this property. The elevated house w/ remarkable views, the secluded area, the privacy of the backyard,etc. The pool is surrounded by the house and perfect size for a family of four. We never left the water! Don't give out our little secret....Hilltop Haven is our new favorite vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

40th Birthday Retreat

Review submitted: February 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This home was amazing. Better than the photos or video even and that's saying something. The location was peaceful and beautiful. We rented it for 6 nights and had a very relaxing time. The pool was wonderful and when you needed a break from the sun the interior of the house was very stylish but also really comfortable (great master bedroom). Looking forward to going back at some point soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Remarkable views - Hilltop Heaven!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

This house is a wonderful, little secret. The views from the elevated property is amazing.. We loved watching the sun set and rise....don't miss it. The simple, but ultra-clean interior is charming, from the sky-light in the guest bath to the sunken shower in the master suite, you'll find everything is better then it looks in the pictures. The big, super-comfy beds, a two-car garage, remote-control entry gate, the private and secluded backyard (great for the bbq crowd), you'll feel like a Palm Springs celebrity! Loved the pool and all the pool toys they provided - we pratically lived in ithe water. (it was 105 degress!) And its all 5 minutes to downtown PS.
Ken at ACME was great, so thanks to all who helped. Well do it again...soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Terri

Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

And remember, returning guests who book with ACME will receive $100 off their next rental.

ACME House Co

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Hilltop Haven Exceeds Expectations....

Review submitted: June 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the "Hilltop Haven" (an accurate description), and would consider a return visit.
The house itself is stunning, modern and furnished immaculately. It has an extremely well-equipped kitchen, a BBQ - everything we needed inside and out. Small details have been considered. And the comfortable king beds with crisp white linens were an inviting way to end our sun soaked days.
I can't say enough about the surrounding views - just fabulous.
The location is convenient to the town's amenities and close to the strip.
The property is well-maintained and the rental company was responsive and easy to deal with.
To cap it all off, being a huge fan, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Elvis' Palm Springs estate was a walkable distance away.
Highly recommended.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Warm Sunny Romantic Relaxing Winter Weekend Retreat

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2012

We took a break in Palm Springs while visiting Los Angeles from the cold Northeast. Let me tell you, there is nothing like enjoying a nice cup of coffee on a sunny Palm Springs morning, and the views from the patio in this lovely house were incredibly perfect. We loved nothing more than taking a couple of days to rest in this amazing property: days by the cozy pool and spa and evenings by the fireplace.

I will definitely recommend this home to friends and family that still live in the Los Angeles area.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning midcentury with beautiful views

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

What a charming place. My wife and I have stayed in PS quite often, and this is our favorite place by far.
It's close to the action, but very quiet, calm, and relaxing. The pool & hot tub overlook the city and desert, and the house itself is the perfect balance between modern and comfortable. It's very stylish, but also very livable.
We met the owners briefly who seem like a lovely couple.
We'll definitely be back again and again, and we highly recommend staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review