reviews for: listing #93439 - South Haven, Michigan House rental

Henkel Bungalow-Fantastic Rental Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $350 - $430 /nt
    $2,500 - $3,200 /wk

sort by:

3 generation vacation

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my 1 year old and my parents, we had a great time. Short walk to the beach, close to town but on a quiet dead end street. Beautiful home, well maintained, awesome yard (with swings/slide) for kids! We loved sitting on the front porch and relaxing. The owner is very attentive and easy to work with. The one small negative is the furnace is a little loud when it kicks on, be prepared for that if you stay here in colder months. Would definitely stay here again, and planning on it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kids and families are always welcome at the Henkel Bungalow. The home was brand new in May, 2012 as well as the furnace. We have had the entire system checked out and everything is running smoothly. We appreciate customer feedback as it helps us keep the property is premium condition.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Rental!

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Amazing place! Perfect location, clean, decorated so cute! Kids loved it! Will definitely be rebooking next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We greatly appreciate guest feedback. The kids' playfort has been a very popular feature of this home and we're happy to know that your kids made some great memories during your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

Henkel Bungalow was by far the BEST rental home my family and I have ever stayed in over the last several years while vacationing in Michigan. I highly recommend this property. It is located at the end of a very quiet street. Whether you choose to sit on the front porch with a nice breeze blowing or to take a nap on the hammock, you cannot go wrong selecting this home. Our boys who are 13 and 10, thoroughly enjoyed the Galaga /Pac Man Game machine and, also, spent a lot of time shooting hoops in the driveway. There are several beaches to enjoy which are just a short walk away. My mother-in-law, who is almost 80, absolutely loved the home. She especially enjoyed the wonderful sunroom which is where she relaxed and read. This home provided everything we needed and had things we've never had in other rentals. The Henkels were a pleasure to deal with from beginning to end. We definitely will return to this home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marvelous Time

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 19, 2013

Had a marvelous time at your lovely bungalow. Words can't express how great the accommodations were. We hope to return again! Made wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What A Great Place!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

All the amenities anyone could ask for! The fire pit is the best we have ever seen. Really enjoyed the weekend and hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The best place ever!!!

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

I have been going to South Haven since I was a young child. This house is awesome. It is the cleanest, best decorated, comfortable and cozy place you will ever stay. There is nothing that the owner forgot. Every detail is in place. There is nothing you will need. They have thought of everything from S'more ingredients, CD and DVD players, a great selection of movies, big screen TV in the living area, TV's in each bedroom, a fireplace, dishes, glasses, utensils and much more. We were there on a cooler weekend and they even have a space heater on the back enclosed porch which also has a table and comfortable furniture! They have an in ground fire pit with chairs surrounding it. The big large windows in the living and kitchen area let the sunshine in. The design of the house is perfect. I want a house like that for my everyday house. My daughter had fun in the back yard where there is a swing set and a cute playhouse with a slide. I can go on and on. I know I will be back there again. The owners are so wonderful to deal with. Though I haven't met them in person, I can tell they are great people. I almost don't want to tell too many people about it because I want to keep it a secret because it is so wonderful. If you stay here, I promise you won't be disappointed. The location is only a block from the most beautiful beach. I never feel as comfortable away from home but here I did feel as comfortable as I do at home. I absolutely loved my stay here. Awesome!!!!!

Owners response: Thank you for your sincere review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our home and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

We loved the Henkel bungalow! Tom and Laurel are absolutely wonderful to work with. Quick to respond, answer questions, give area recommendations, and help in any way they can. When we arrived, we were thrilled with how clean, comfortable, and spacious (yet cozy) the bungalow and grounds were. The house is on a quiet, peaceful, private street with little to no traffic- perfect for a relaxing getaway. Use the wagon provided (if you have little ones) and in 2 minutes you're at the beach. We liked to hop in the car for a 2 min drive to downtown South Haven, but also loved coming back to the tranquil setting and enjoying some time at the firepit in the backyard, etc. We really felt we got the best of everything being at the Henkel Bungalow. They had everything we needed, beautiful decor, and we felt right at home. We've rented from multiple places now and this one by far takes the cake- in both the owners and the home itself! Will definitely come back!!

Owners response: Thank you taking a moment to share your feelings with others. We work hard to ease the mind of our guests and take the fear out of internet renting. We are here to make your vacation easy from beginning to end!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING HOME!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

The Henkel Bungalow is truly an amazing home!! As you walk in everything is open and you just feel comfortable. There were so many details that were put into this home we couldn't help but point things out. Everything was provided for you and it was truly a wonderful place to relax and take a load off. It's on a quiet street and just a short walk to the beach. I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking to stay in South Haven and enjoy a nice getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: The joy of owning a high quality rental home is knowing that guests truly feel relaxed and and happy when they depart. We strive to give a fun, classy atmosphere at an affordable price.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

South Haven Jewel!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

This vacation rental is by far the best we have ever had! The pictures don't even come close to how beautiful and wonderful this home is...We vacation a lot and usually rent a condo or home. This cottage has it all and more. Clean, perfectly decorated, washer,dryer, great kitchen, comfortable beds..I want to move in and stay!

The porches are great the yard is perfect for kids and kids at heart. My gown married son spent time in the hammock with his sweetie and enjoyed the peace and quite. The neighborhood is quite and family oriented on a dead end street. We walked to town and to the beach...we also biked to both. We love South Haven and have visited 6 or 7 times in the last 2 years...we rented this because we were bringing our grown kids and needed space. We had 6 adults and there was room for more. The layout is very open so I wasn't feeling like I was stuck in the kitchen while everything else was going on in the other room. You could easily share with another family or extended family and everyone would be happy!

The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans, dishes, foil, plastic wrap, spices towels, soaps..even smore makings and cold soda in the vintage like cooler on the back 3 season room! The Henkel's have outdone themselves to think of everything to make your stay wonderful..worth every penny and more..
Laurel was great about letting us know everything we needed to get in and the deposit is already in the mail back to me!

Have no worries about this rental or the Henkel's they are very nice and I would highly recommend this property to everyone! I could go on and on but you need to check it out for yourself, just save a long weekend for me and my family!
Zoey Furgason

Owners response: We appreciate customer feedback as it reminds us of what customers want in a platinum level property. We have been renting in South Haven for 8 years and always enjoy hosting new families. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Henkel Bungalow Vacation Home

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

We have been renting from the Henkels for many years. The Bungalow is their newest South Haven property and once again they have provided a five star home. As is their practice, no corners are cut. Everything is done in a 1st class way. Large bedrooms, huge flatscreens, WI FI, beautiful yard, playground, large patio and enclosed fully furnished rear porch, it is all there. The Bungalow is located on a quiet, dead end, private residence street, Half mile north of the Dyckman bridge. Beach access is a short walk. We are BBQ people and enjoy the gas grill on the large patio, which by the way, includes 2 large umbrella tables, and a third smaller table. This home makes visiting South Haven a very special trip for us coming from Scottsdale, AZ. Further, the rental process is efficient, no wasted time. They do an exceptional job. We have already reserved the Bungalow for next year and look to do so for years to come.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

New Baby On Board

Review submitted: July 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

"We had a wonderful week in South Haven & at the Henkel Bungalow! Laurel & Tom really know how to create an oasis away from the daily grind. This was our first trip as a new family of 5 & I can't imagine it going any better than it did! Thank you for creating a baby friendly home! You made traveling with a 5 week old easy to do. We look forward to many more years here as we begin a new family tradition".

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home sweet home, away from home.

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 29, 2012

Perfect place to stay with children. This beautiful,cozy home has it all , all the cooking utensils if you want to cook a home cooked meal. Quiet neighborhood despite it being in town. If you need any help finding something to do the henkels are there to help, from jet skiing , to just laying on the sand, and even candy shopping in town . This a great place to have a short or long vacation. The arcade game was my kids favorite. We look forward to returning again next year for another wonderful vacation.

Owners response: South Haven has so much to offer and it's our pleasure to help guests navigate dining & entertainment options. The GALAGA machine has been a big hit with many of our groups. Memories for a lifetime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Saigh's

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

House was AWESOME! Everything that an owner could think of to put in, it was there! Patio is great for entertaining, as well as the fire pit and tree house. The bedrooms were set up perfectly. The kitchen is great as well. I couldn't have had a better place to stay! We LOVED it!

Owners response: We are very excited to welcome guests to this brand new home. We have been renting in South Haven for 8 years and we enjoy getting to know families that return year after year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review