reviews for: listing #9349 - Traverse City, Michigan Cottage rental

Cozy Waterfront Cottage and Guest House on Big Platte Lake
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $1,000 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Anniversary experience

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with our choice. From the moment we pulled onto the property, we knew that this would be a wonderful and relaxing experience. My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary with a week long stay.

The cottage and guest house are very well maintained with nice touches throughout.

It was also a first rate starting point for exploratory travels from Frankfort to Northport (and many points in between) as well as must see destinations such as Pierce Stocking Drive. We were fortunate to have visited the magnificent Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore 2 days before the government shutdown forced its closure.
For those who enjoy a nice hike, the payoff at the end of the Old Indian Trail is not to be missed!

The many wonderful little lakeside towns with their unique gift shops and array of dining options kept us afield for a good portion of our week here, but it was always nice to come back and sit down by the lake to watch a sunset or just gaze at the stars that you don't ever get to see, living in Chicago.

Getting back to those "nice touches" though.
I was quite surprised to see how much had been thought of here on behalf of the traveler who arrives not really knowing what to expect. The large kitchen area is surprisingly well equipped with most everything you'll need to create meals, and even included a French press coffee maker in addition to the regular drip machine. Heck, it even included the coffee, cream and sugar!

Bedroom furnishings were quality and the beds (1 in main house and 1 in guest house) were quite comfortable.

Outside, a Weber grill, charcoal briquettes and lighter fluid were at our disposal, along with an array of watercraft and life vests and even "floaties" for little kids. Firewood was provided when it was time to get a fire going in the ring for S'mores.

In all, we found this to be a wonderful little cottage with plenty of room and it was clean, comfortable and very well maintained.
Big Platte lake, lapping against the shore in your front yard, makes a tempting case for staying home with a good book, but the area is rich with activities you won't want to miss.

Great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The view!

Review submitted: October 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

We had a great time at this little cottage. It was clean and nicely decorated, which always makes you feel at home. My husband and I, along with our 2 sons (3 and 5) stayed in the main house, while my parents were comfortable in the guest house.

This lake is so beautiful--like a giant pool, but almost as nice as the view, was hearing the lake lap up against the shore at night!

Close to everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beach Cottage on Platte Lake

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

The property and location on Platte Lake were fantastic. The cottage was in great condition, and the owners have done a great job of placing quality items in the cottage for your use. The canoe and kayaks were of great use for the family and we enjoyed a few nights of roasting marshmallows by the lakeshore. I would highly recommend this property! Lake was beautiful - cant wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We vacationed at Watching the Water in July 2012 as a group of 6 adults and a 1 year old. We had a wonderful time exploring the areas -- the cottage was close to a lot of cute areas and close to the dunes! We wish we had spent more time than we did at the cottage itself, because its location was so relaxing and beautiful. The waterfront was perfect for a 1-year-old, as it stays very shallow for a long distance. We ate dinner at the lakeside table in the evenings, watching the sun set. We played family games at the giant dining room table inside after it got dark. Having an additional guest house on the property was especially nice with a small child. The baby monitor's signal reached all the way to the main cottage, so we could lock up the guest house, bring the monitor to the cottage, and enjoy some adult family time without disturbing the baby. The owners have fully stocked the cottage with children's toys, DVDs, books, water toys, bicycles, linens, kitchen gadgets. The one thing I would say is that some of the kitchen gadgets no longer worked (food processor, for example), but most people probably wouldn't use the gadgets we were trying to use (unless you are big time foodies like we are). The only other complaint that one of the members of our group had was a lack of additional storage for clothes other than the storage in the bedroom. However, we shared the storage space, and some of us just kept our things in a suitcase, which was fine. We would highly recommend this cottage to other travelers. It was beautiful, cozy, located in a great spot, relaxing, and well-equipped. The owners are very helpful, responsive, and kind.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: The Cuisinart Food Processor at the cottage is an older model and it is possible that the guest was not aware of how to properly operate it. At any rate, despite its somewhat antique appearance it is still perfectly functional. Non-functional gadgets in our kitchen are quickly replaced.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Getaway Weekend

Review submitted: October 27, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

This was one of the best fall break weekends we've ever had. The views from the cottage are simply stunning. The proximity to Sleeping Bear Dunes is a joy. And the house itself--clean, tastefully furnished, well equipped--is a super comfortable place to crash after a day of hiking and sightseeing. We recommend this property without any hesitation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What an amazing, cozy cottage...we had a blast!

Review submitted: June 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

We vacationed at this wonderful cottage for a week in the beginning of June and loved every minute of our stay. Lake Platte was absolutely gorgeous and the cottage exceeded our expectations! The property had everything we needed including baby supplies such as a pack-in-play and bouncy chair which was one less thing the lug in the car for our newborn. Our two english bulldogs loved the beach and they could even "swim" in it since it was over 200 ft of sandy calf deep water, perfect for dogs who can't swim and children of course:) The water was warm and so clean. The cottage offered everything that you need to be comfortable and the neighbors were so sweet. We loved being so close to Sleepy Bear Dunes National Park and also the cute little town of Frankfort. Make sure you take a chance to drive to Leland too and check out the cute historic fishing area. The owners of the property are extremely nice and always available via email if you have any questions or concerns. We were so happy with you decision to rent this property and will be planning on coming back in the future....if you are looking for a cozy, relaxing, tranquail cottage, you have found it here:) Thanks to Stephen and Elizabeth for sharing your home with our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A beautiful, relaxing way to start our summer!!

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

This was my girlfriend and I's first vacation in almost 2 yrs, and our first time in Northern Michigan. It was beautiful! The cottage was clean and roomy, with windows overlooking Platte Lake. We made full use of the kayaks, and were able to go swimming a couple of times, and just sitting by the water, enjoying the sun and relaxing.

The close proximity to Sleepy Bear National Lakeshore, Lake Michigan, Leelanau Peninsula, and countless little towns/villages and open spaces, made this a very memorable vacation.

The cottage was very comfortable, the yard was well kept, you can't beat the view over the lake, and the peace and quiet we were surrounded by while we were there.

A beautiful home, a beautiful area! If you're looking for a relaxing vacation, you can't go wrong with this lovely cottage!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Everything about the cottage is perfect. Floor to ceiling windows facing out towards Lake Platte- you will never miss a sunset or the moonlight reflecting across the water. It is nestled in an absolutely quiet neighborhood literally ten minutes from a beautiful sandy pet friendly beach on Lake Michigan in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. The location is perfect, you can walk to Lake Michigan or take a brief ten minute drive to Empire or a few minutes further and be in the main part of the Sleeping Bear Dunes park. It has a kitchen with all the amenities for cooking and conveniently near two grocery stores. I would recommend this cottage to everybody. It was spotless when I arrived, well maintained, the owners provided a very helpful and vetted 12 page list of all the attractions nearby. Me, my wife, and our two dogs have been twice already this spring and hope to back this fall.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Wonderful lake cottage

Review submitted: September 14, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

This lakefront home was the best place we have ever rented! Very clean and well maintained containing all the amenities you could want. The pristine Platte Lake was a joy to swim in and just to watch from either the upper deck or the beach deck. We enjoyed the outside fire pit and saw six shooting stars in one evening. The guest house is the sweetest...that even your mother would love! Took a 5 minute drive and took in the sun at Peterson Beach on Lake Michigan with awesome views of Sleeping Bear Dunes. There is a well stocked grocery store 5 minutes away in town of Honor. We also took a short and pleasant drive to Frankfurt for a delicious Moomers ice cream. There are so many other activities like kayaking in Platte River, etc, that we are going to have to return next year to get all of them in! This home gets my highest compliments!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Big Platte Lake Cottage

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

My family had an awesome time at the cottage. The cottage is charming and the property surrounding it is very well maintained. The lake is perfect for swimming, kayaking and fishing. We could not get the kids out of the water! We also loved the location because we were able to hike on beautiful trails right to Lake Michigan. There are also great restaurants nearby. We have stayed at many "up north" cottages and this has to be one of our favorites.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: July 22, 2008   Date of arrival: July 12, 2008

Swimming, boating, canoeing, kayaking, hiking, climbing the sand dunes, beach walking, biking, fishing, watching the sunset, cooking hobo pies and smores and marshmallows on the fire at night, laughing with family, building sandcastles, stargazing, eating out, eating in, shopping in Glen Arbor, great neighbors, making lasting memories.
Our family (8 aduluts and two babies) could not have asked for a more wonderful place to have our first family vacation. Some of us stayed for the week, others for a few days. We always had plenty of room and more to do in 6 days than we could imagine. The cottage is beautiful and the guest cottage afforded a little more privacy for some.
We hope to return next summer!
Jack and Mary, Pat, Lisa and Shawn, Mike and Tina, Tim, Donna and Katie.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Plate Lake Review

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We had a great time. Lovely home, everything we needed. Beach area excellent for children, water shallow for 100 yards.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Quiet, peaceful setting; highly recommended

Review submitted: June 27, 2008   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

One of the best things about this home is that the owner and the surrounding neighbors really care about it, as well as about your vacation experience there. The home is well-maintained, completely stocked, and very comfortable. A quieter lake you will not find in northern Michigan, and the beach on the property is excellent for small children, since the water is extremely shallow going out 200 feet or more. The small kids in our family greatly enjoyed being able to paddle around in kayaks and the canoe in this shallow area. The property is very close to our favorite beach in Michigan, where a warm, shallow river meets Lake Michigan - you can stand with one foot in each body of water. The house is probably best for those who tend to be *tidy* because the beautiful hardwood floors and the piano require taking some care. I.e., don't go here if you want to send dripping wet kids with muddy feet in and out of the house to use the bathroom, etc. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review