reviews for: listing #93508 - Makaha, Hawaii Condo rental

Makaha Bamboo Plantation
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Makaha Plantation
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $90 - $90 /nt
    $600 - $600 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

A Perfect 25th Anniversary Celebration!

Review submitted: January 13, 2014   Date of arrival: January 2, 2014

My husband and I spent our 25th Wedding Anniversary at the beautiful Makaha Bamboo Plantation. The condo was so clean and well appointed we didn't need to purchase anything extra to make our stay comfortable. When we checked in there was a bag of Kona Coffee and a preloaded laundry card which was our saving grace in doing laundry during our stay. Robin even provided a box full of snorkel gear, beach chairs, and beach umbrella which we used several times. The grounds are so well taken care off and we enjoyed watching the peacocks strut their stuff. The pool area was comfortable with plenty of lounge chairs and clean restrooms and changing areas. When we left and returned to the property everyday we were welcomed back by the most friendly security guards ever!

Makaha is about 1 hour from Waikiki which my husband and I love but for some it may be a trek, don't let that detour you from staying in this little town, the people are so friendly and helpful and the local beach is pristine and the perfect place to watch the sun set. At the end of the road where the condo is there is a little market called the Ohana Family Market, great for last minute items and about 20 min to the South in Waianea was a bigger market called Sak and Save, there is also a Longs drugstore.

Our day trips included: Honolulu to the Bishop Museum, Legend Seafood for great Dim Sum and a walk through Chinatown. We also enjoyed Maitai Catamaran ride that left from Waikiki Beach, and our anniversary dinner at Orchids at the Halekulani...Fantastic!. Visit the Ko'Olina lagoons if you want a beach with all the facilities and very low surf. Hit the North Shore for the best garlic butter shrimp in Hawaii..Romy's, and then stop at Ted's Bakery for Macadamia Nut Cream Pie. If you want to get sea sick and swim with the sharks book a tour with North Shore Shark Adventures in Haleiwa. Great experience but we weren't prepared for the choppy waters...ugh!

Thank you so much to Robin for being a great host, he even stopped by to meet us and leave an anniversary card and bottle of sparkling cider.

We plan on returning next year...without my 74 year old mother and her boyfriend :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Value and Great Location

Review submitted: March 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 30, 2013

Hello, I thought it was important to provide a review. We stayed for 9 days and we loved the condo. The directions and instructions for the use of the condo were clear and easy to follow. The place was clean and plenty of room for 4 adults and it was well stocked with supplies. Thank-you for making our stay pleasant.
The area is lovely and the Makaha beach is beautiful. Many visits to the beach while we were there. It is a bit to drive to Waikiki but the price and quiet is worth it. There was some construction going on behind the condos of new houses but we are early risers so it was fine. Again thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing on a budget!

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

We had an amazing time in Hawaii. This was our 6th trip to Hawaii and the second time we have stayed on the Makaha side of Oahu. We enjoyed the condo and the property amenities. The little extras provided by the owners were really great. The fresh mangoes for breakfast and the pre loaded laundry card were perfect. The ocean view, especially in the morning was breathtaking. The local beaches are beautiful although we did not swim at them. There are little beaches in a local neighborhood (read the guest book) where you can find turtles sunning themselves right on the beach.

The condo itself was well equipped kitchen and sufficient furniture with room to move around too.

Thank you so much for sharing your home with us. We will be back for sure if we plan another trip to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect for families, great value

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 18, 2012

We had a great family vacation at the Makaha Bamboo Plantation. We have 2 young kids, so it's essential for us to have a kitchen. It was really nice to stay somewhere with such nice grounds, so that our oldest could use the pool while our youngest napped. We LOVE the beaches on this side of Oahu - our favorites are Makua and the lagoons at Ko Olina. The condo was really nice. The colors are beautiful (and have inspired me to use more color back home), and the extra touches really come through. Since we're on a budget, I'm not used to encountering such nice accommodations, so this was a real treat.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful week

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

The condo was beautiful, loved the bamboo floors. The peacocks throughout the area were entertaining. Wow, you can take the bus all the way to downtown. and the farmers market at the highschool on Sat. was fantastic.
Heck of a windstorm, whipped one of those little votive holders outside right off the hook.
Would highly recommend this place to my friends and family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A true gem!

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2012

The Makaha Bamboo Plantation is an amazing place to stay! The condo is beautiful, well taken care of, and feels very safe. The host was gracious enough to provide a fully stocked kitchen, a coffee maker and coffee for the morning, and a laundry card with $5 preloaded on it! The location is a little far from much of the island, but with a car nothing is more than an hour away, so we didn't mind at all.

I highly recommend this place for anyone looking to stay in Oahu!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

First Renter

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 28, 2012

We were very pleased with our rental stay in this condo. The amenities provided were great as well the condo layout. You will be very pleased knowing what you got for your money. About 45 minutes to Waikiki and only 25 to Waipahu. Many nice beaches a couple miles north of the condo. Stay away from the beaches close to area though. Many homeless about two miles away from condo but you are in a gated community so your rental car is safe. Very good deal for the money. Very impressed with condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful condo! Homelessness is an unfortunate social issue that affects ALL areas of Hawaii, most heavily in Honolulu and Waikiki. However, there are NO homeless at Makaha Beach, directly below the condo, less than 1 mile away. Makaha Beach is a safe, family beach, with lifeguards and public facilities. There is a homeless encampment 1-2 miles north of Makaha, in an area that is easily avoided. Keep in mind that a majority of homeless are families struggling to make ends meet, and pose no risk to visitors or residents. My wife and I are transplants who have lived in Makaha for more than 10 years. It is a small, tight-knit community, which makes it much safer than the larger urban areas of Oahu. Hawaii is one of the safest states in the country, with a crime rate that is well-below the national average.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review