reviews for: listing #93520 - Mendocino, California Cottage rental

Abalone Arch
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $250 /nt
    $1,500 - $1,500 /wk

sort by:

Spa Quality Suite on Breathtaking Coast

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: July 29, 2014

We stayed at Abalone Arch July 29-August 5, 2014. All the reviews are true – this is an exquisite suite directly on the coast a couple short miles north of the wonderful town of Mendocino. The pictures, regardless how lovely, cannot possible represent how breathtaking this property truly is.
The suite is utterly top-notch with King sized bed, wall to wall carpet, floor to ceiling windows, gas fireplace, kitchenette with designer dishes, modern spacious bathroom with huge shower, also an outdoor (hot) shower, an eating area on patio or deck and small propane grill for your use. The suite is stocked with spa quality bathroom/shower supplies, robes, linens, towels; and the kitchenette is stocked with homemade delicious granola and cookies, and wine to welcome you!
The suite is absolutely private – an attractive wooden gate separates you from the world on one side and the ocean crashes below you on the other side. Wildlife, such as many birds, including darling hummingbirds, seals, and even whales in the right season, are frequently seen from the window, deck, or nearby walk.
There are loads of beautiful activities, beaches, hikes, Redwoods, boating, theater, fine restaurants, impressive galleries (!), wildlife, National Parks, fine local produce markets, and many quaint shops, all within a few miles of the suite!
This suite and location are a treat for all your senses: great air to breath and beauty to behold, great food to consume, and beautiful sounds of the surf and birdcalls, and the suite itself provides comfort and restoration to your body and soul!
Hosts Wendy and Barry have been extremely generous in the quantity and quality of everything they put into this place! They are accommodating, yet not intrusive! They make you feel pampered and comfortable. Get this…now that we are home, we MISS them!!
If you enjoy quality living, with extraordinary natural coast abounding and kindhearted generous hospitality…then this is the place for you!
We hope to return in the future – or to move in permanently if Wendy and Barry will have us!!

Thank you Wendy and Barry for an unbelievably wonderful experience!!

Ken and Liz Martino, New York City, NY

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Fantastic

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

I can't add much to what the previous reviewers have already stated - stunning, private, beautiful, perfect and more. My wife and I felt that we cheated ourselves in only staying for 3 nights. The accommodations and setting are everything as advertised and we felt totally welcome and pampered from the get-go. Wendy and Barry made us feel like returning long-time friends and enabled us to totally chill and relax. When will we go back? Not soon enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful Mendocino coast

Review submitted: March 27, 2014   Date of arrival: March 16, 2014

Wendy and Barry offer an amazing place to relax and experience northern California at its very best. Abalone Arch is very private yet Wendy and Barry make sure that all you need is close at hand. We spent 5 wonderful days at Abalone Arch and hope to return again soon. If you love waves crashing outside your room, gorgeous scenery and a culturally interesting town just a few miles down the road, this place is for you!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Romantic ocean view get away

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

We were thrilled with our stay at Abalone Arch. The photos on the web site are lovely, but being there is beyond what the photos can show. The setting is more spectacular than a camera can capture. The suite is totally private and the ocean views are unbelievable. The private garden, with it’s romantic setting and seating has an magnificent ocean view. The kitchen is stocked with wine, cheese, fresh ground coffee, delicious home made granola and cookies. They have thought of everything that you would need.

We watched whales and sea lions from the suite while enjoying the ambiance of the lovely furnishings.

Wendy and Barry are very careful to give you complete privacy, but are there to help you with your every need.

We were celebrating a special event in our lives, and felt our time at Abalone Cove was beyond perfect.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Kayak the rivers by Mendocino

Review submitted: October 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 27, 2013

Last week we spent several wonderful days at Abalone Arch. Everything you’ve read about the room and hospitality is true. On clear nights, the Milky Way is spectacular, on stormy nights the ocean rages. Either way, we had fireworks every night.

We brought our new kayaks up to Mendocino to paddle up some rivers and some tranquil ocean coves. The first day the ocean was flat so we paddled around the Van Damme State Park. This is a very nice area to become acquainted with ocean kayaking. Later that day we went up the Albion River. We also paddled the Navarro River and the Noyo River. We were told that the Big River is the best of all but we ran out of time. This area is really wonderful for kayaking!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Breathtaking

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

For our 20th wedding anniversary my husband and I booked a trip to CA. We decided to stay at several different places starting in Mendocino and making our way thru Napa and Sonoma. Abalone Arch was our first stop after a long day of travelling. The pictures do not lie. The place is breathtaking. We absolutely loved it. The owners are very welcoming and there if you need them but do not invade your privacy at all. Everything was perfect. The delicious homemade cookies and granola left upon your arrival, the bed was extremely comfortable, the indoor and outdoor showers were awesome and the view from the cottage was awesome. We particularly loved "the stump" where we had several glasses of wine while just sitting and looking out at the ocean. It was amazing. We went for a great hike in the park up the street and loved the town of Mendocino. Very friendly people and lots of great places to eat. I highly recommend Abalone Arch to anyone wanting to get away from it all. We will definitely return, hopefully soon! Thank you Wendy for a wonderful start to our vacation. It was without a doubt the most beautiful place that we stayed the entire time we were in California. What a phenomenal place to live!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful, Relaxing Getaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

There are no words to truly describe how wonderful our time spent at Abalone Arch was. From the moment we arrived we were completely relaxed and delighted by the suite and the amazing view. Wendy had left her delicious cookies and granola, coffee, cheese, beer and wine for us to enjoy. Everything was so comfortable and she had thought of every detail. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean and woke up to that view every day....it was magical!
Thanks to Wendy and Barry for helping make our anniversary an extra special one.
It was a time we won't forget and we can't wait to return.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

THE MOST ROMANTIC

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I have traveled around the world from the south of France to Hawaii. This place is THE most romantic place that I have ever been in. Wendy and Barry have been the most gracious and friendliest host and we look forward in seeing them again! Beware!!!!!!!! Any person would almost propose during their stay!!!!!!! LOL!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Best Ocean View!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Consider this guest suite only if:
You want the best ocean view you've ever had, you'd have to sleep on the beach to be closer.
Gracious hosts who honor your comfort and privacy.
Enjoy home made cookies and granola.
You enjoy sipping fine wine on adirondack chairs watching the waves crash on the rocks.
An incredible location to hike, kayak, or explore the beautiful historic town of Mendocino.

We look forward to our next stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memories of this Vacation by the Sea will stay with us Forever!

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 5, 2013

As we write this review, we find ourselves competing with prior guests for more superlatives: The view is mesmerizing. We found ourselves simply unable to leave Abalone Arch to go out for dinner. But the view was equaled by the gracious hospitality of our hosts Wendy and Barry. They have thought of everything - information about restaurants (including some very entertaining reviews), great hiking guides, and a wonderful winery tour in the Anderson Valley. They have managed to strike the perfect balance between helpfulness and respecting guests' privacy. Abalone Arch has a sign by the entry gate: "Memories of Vacations by the Sea Stay with you Forever." Thank you to Wendy and Barry for a "forever memory." We are already planning our return to Abalone Arch.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

OUR ROMANTIC GET-AWAY

Review submitted: November 5, 2012   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

Wow...words cannot describe the feeling we got when we walked through those gates to that breath-taking view. We celebrated our 27th anniversary and couldn't be happier with the choice of places to stay. Barry and Wendy welcomed us in and were so kind. We so loved the privacy of the place and took full advantage of the outdoor shower. At night we would sit out on the chairs and just listen to the sound of the waves and "The Dragon". A sound we really miss. When viewing the pictures on line I knew it was wonderful, but the feeling we had while we were there was one of pure contentment. We truly wanted for nothing. Wendy's personal touches did not go unnoticed. We gobbled up all the yummy apricot cookies she made and the granola was just as yummy. It was a little slice of heaven for us and the feeling we had while we were there has stayed with us and still puts a smile on our faces. Thank you Barry and Wendy for sharing this place with us. We truly feel blessed

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great time!

Review submitted: August 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

My wife and I have been to Abalone Arch for 3 years in a row now. We plan to return in 2013 for a 4th year! Very secluded and relaxing! A private entrance and great view! The hosts, Wendy and Barry, leave no stone unturned, they think of everything and are great hosts! The area has alot of hikes, redwood trees, wineries and hikes along the coast. This is a very relaxing treat we look forward to every year!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Abalone Arch: A gift by the sea near Mendocino

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

This was my second visit in two months.

Abalone Arch is, for me, a little slice of Heaven in Mendocino. The room is coastal cottage perfection. Like a page out of a magazine: crisp and clean, but not so fussy that I didn't feel at home. Wendy & Barry have thought of everything from binoculars to guidebooks, restaurant information, wonderful linens, and homemade granola cookies so good I could eat my weight in them!

Left to my own devices, I could happily hide away here for days on end with a pile of books, something to nosh and would while away the hours enjoying the sights and sounds of the ocean.

The view: Paradise on California's North Coast! I was lulled by the crashing waves just outside the window. You may see deer, wild turkeys, hawks, all sorts of wildlife which are a bonus, but for me it's all about the ocean. The pictures tell the true story. Abalone Arch is bliss.

Mendocino is very close (less than 5 minute drive). It is a nice-size town with several good restaurants and very nice shops. It is cooler hear than over toward Napa, Healdsburg & Sonoma, but it is quieter too. I find it to be friendly, laid back and quite lovely. Ft. Bragg is just up the road (10 minutes) and has a Safeway and Starbucks if you are so inclined.

Abalone Arch is flawlessly landscaped and maintained. It is spotlessly clean; perfectly maintained. I did not want for anything; the owner is a phone call away; yet there is complete privacy (exactly what I desired).

"The sea does not reward those who are too anxious, too greedy, or too impatient. One should lie empty, open, choiceless as a beach - waiting for a gift from the sea." - Anne Morrow Lindbergh

Thank you, Wendy and Barry, Abalone Arch, is a gift. I will return ... again.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Magical

Review submitted: May 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

Our second visit back to Abalone Arch to celebrate our twenty fifth anniversary was even more magical than the first! God, assisted by Wendy and Barry have created the most beautiful peace of heaven on earth we have ever visited ( and we have traveled all over the world) . You will be transported in your heart and mind to a place of unimaginable beauty, peaceful serenity, glorious sights and sounds that will make your spirit soar. Thank you Wendy and Barry for sharing your magnificent creation with us and know that we can't wait to come back again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sam and Doris

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

The description of the property and facilities did not do justice to the actual physical site and amenities. The property was gorgeous and well maintained, the guest suite was elegant and quite roomy and efficient. We spent quite a bit of time just sitting in front of the window watching (saw 3 whales in 2 days). The hosts Wendy and Barry were fantastic. They greeted us upon arrival and bid us farewell when it was time to depart. They provided an array of information about the area which we found quite interesting and helpful. We enjoyed an occasional outing to the surrounding area (especially restaurants and wineries). To say that we were pleased with the accommodations and area would probably be the understatement of the year. We normally like to go to different places, but this is one that we definitely plan on revisiting. We have to include it as a "gotta do-again".

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

too perfect for words

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

as beautiful as the pictures are of this property they cannot show how absolutely breathtaking it is in person. If I could give it 6 stars I would! Private, beautiful, impeccably clean and organized and the shower is a destination unto itself. The location so convenient to Mendocino is a plus, although it is difficult to leave this property.....it is mesmerizing watching the waves, especially if it is stormy.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A little bit of heaven.

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

People advertise,partical ocean view,ocean view, ocean front,here in this exguisite suite you litterly have the ocean in your front yard. My wife and i were planing our next trip back before we unpacked. The privacy, the hosts, the location, and all the little extras in the suite , all 5 star . Thank you for letting us share "a little bit of heaven. "Dan & Narcissus

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: When guests pass through the solid garden gate and the ocean is revealed in front of them, they are always overwhelmed. Your 'ocean watching' chore was well done! We enjoyed your visit too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect and Private

Review submitted: November 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

Beautiful location, grand views of the crashing pacific, and delightful hosts! Wendy and Barry are both congenial and considerate. We felt as though we had known them a long time. The spotlessly clean suite in it's lovely sky and ocean blue tones was a perfect mix of comfortable and soothing. The pictures dont capture the fabulous view and setting outside on the edge of the ocean. Inside there were so many details that showed how much the owners paid attention to what guests need, even binoculars to help spot sea and land creatures that are so bountiful. We really enjoyed Wendy's homemade apricot oatmeal cookies and the delicious granola. Thanks for sharing the recipes. We loved walking the cliffside trails and just sitting and watching the ocean in this unique setting. So peaceful. The botanical gardens up in Fort Bragg and the tasty Thai restaurant on the way were great!
Sure wish we could have stayed longer. Hope to return again! Thanks so much for your hospitality and the beautiful romantic retreat you have created!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A True Delight

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

This was our 4th visit to Mendocino and our first stay at Abalone Arch. The suite has everything you could want including truly fantastic views! We loved the fact that it was so private and secure behind those big gates to the road, and it's a short and easy drive into town. We will definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Top 5

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 8, 2011

We have travelled the world and had our own long standing "Top 5" list of views from our room. Abalone Arch, shook that list up. As beautiful as the rocky ocean view is, the owners had thought to provide every amenity you could possibly need; instead of getting out and exploring the area, we found ourselves wanting to just sit, relax and watch the ever changing ocean on the very private patio.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Place to "get away"

Review submitted: September 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights here in celebration of our 30th wedding anniversay. What a wonderful treat. So many places that we have gone to do not quite measure up to the pictures on the web site....but the pictures on this web site do not do justice to this great place.
When we arrived there were homemade cookies and granola waiting along with every amenity you can imagine. Barry and Wendy have thought of it all.
The suite is very clean and even though we had not met before, they treated us like family.
We watched river otters in the cove from our chairs outside, a long tailed weasel ran along the edge of the property right in front of us. We watched osprey fly by with a fish for their young, saw sea lions swim by, a coyote hunting on the hill across the cove and could see whale spouts and tails through binoculars and the scope that is provided. Hummingbirds flitted and fussed nearby and wild turkeys took a turn about the larger property from time to time.
There is ultimate privacy if that is what you want or plenty of places to enjoy the social and shops in nearby Mendicino.
We would highly recommend Abalone Arch!!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Randy and Gwynne have had the ultimate Mendocino wild life experience - they only need to add a mountain lion to their list - mabye next time. We have only seen a river otter once and they saw a pair! (note - no California Sea Otters north of the Golden Gate Bridge)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on earth

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2011

We celebrated our 30th anniversary with a 4 night stay in Sonoma and a 3 night stay at Abalone Arch. The drive to Mendocino from Sonoma was breath taking.....mountains, wine country, redwood forest and finally the ocean! Abalone Arch is unlike any place we have ever seen or stayed at. The listing description, photos and reviews are all accurate but this is a place you have to see (and hear) to believe. We did not want to leave the room or the outside sitting area because the view and sound of the crashing waves are both relaxing and intoxicating. Abalone Arch is immaculate, comfortable and stocked with CD's, books, recommendations of area sights, food and beverages, and every ammenity you can think of. It is a piece of heaven on earth and the most peaceful place we have ever had the good fortune of visiting. Thank you Wendy and Barry for your thoughtful consideration of your guests needs and for so generously sharing your oceanfront oasis.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Memorable Stay

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Abalone Arch for four nights during our three week tour of Southern Oregon and Northern California in May, 2011. During our trip we stayed at some wonderful places and saw some spectacular sights - but this spot was a highlight. Everything was first class. Wendy and Barry obviously tried to think of everything, including complementary wine, beer, cheese, etc. in the refrigerator. The appointments were perfect. We slept (wonderful bed) with the door open to hear the ocean crashing on the rocks below. In addition to the information on sightseeing, hiking, etc. provided in binders in the room, Wendy and Barry were very helpful and thoughtful. On one morning, when we were heading out to do laundry, Wendy saw us leaving and offered to do the laundry for us while we went exploring - way above and beyond the call of duty. We travel a lot and it is such a pleasure to to come across a place like this one. It will occupy a very pleasant spot in our memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

You must stay here!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights ( May 26 & 27) and we had a fabulous time. The owners were wonderful and the property is GORGEOUS!! The views are incredible. We would sit in the chairs and watch the ocean from outside on the porch or inside the guest suite. The owners had the kitchen stocked with treats (homemade cookies and granola) and they even had Peets coffee with real milk and half and half in the fridge. Looking forward to going again soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The most beautiful view in Mendocino

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 16, 2011

Wendy and Barry have created a gorgeous property in the waterfront home. We have been coming to Mendocino since 1985 and these are the most gorgeous accommodations we have had. Why did it take so long to find you!!! Everything is top class...attention to every detail, warm, comfortable and with a view that can't be compared. Loved the oatmeal cookies, stocked refrigerator and fantastic shower with a window to the outside. We cannot wait to visit them again!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Take a delightfully deep breath!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

Abalone Arch is a sense of awe that stays with us. More than a month since our vacation to the Mendocino coast, and we can still call to mind every delicious detail--from the homemade treats to the authentic warmth (of both the room and the amazing hosts). The only challenge was figuring out how to divide our attention between the majestic ocean (practically at our feet), and the easy ambience of the room with its endless smile-generating touches. Some might say we happened upon this marvelous cottage during the only weather that could dampen a vacation (drizzle, clouds, and wind), but WOW what a great effect! The spray of ocean against rock was all the more captivating, the nooks and crannies of our warm, spacious room were perfection, and we still ventured out into the town with gleeful abandon--and a charming loaner umbrella. By the way, did we mention what fantastic hosts you'll have? You will be pleasantly surprised.

There were so many unique shops--and shopkeepers--to visit. And we returned to our haven at the end of the day to revel in the exquisite privacy, the cheese, wine, board games, fireplace, a grand hot shower with incredible view, and an ocean lullaby.


Nearly every day we are reminded of the joy of that inspiring place. We still have giddy conversations about it and we have tried several times to make cookies like the ones that were served there in an abalone shell. We have come to accept that will simply have to stay there again and again, for the cookies, and a for thousand other reasons.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Spectacular

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Abalone Arch was everything we had hoped and more....from the second we got there, we knew it would be special! It took us at least an hour to just get over the view and the surroundings...we were speechless. Hugh fresh strawberries, fresh homemade cookies, cold beer/wine, and cheese were all waiting for us!! Wendy and Barry are the most gracious of hosts who were there if we needed anything, but also gave us immense privacy. The room is wonderful, the bed is awesome, the indoor shower has a floor to ceiling ocean view, and the outdoor shower is an experience YOU MUST TRY! And did I say privacy?? Even though everything is open and windows are everywhere, you are completely secluded indoors and out. We spent hours sitting outside in the adirondak chairs enjoying a beer, the view, and great converstion...very romantic!!! We did take short trips to go hiking, out to eat, and site see...but honestly, we were most happy to just hang out at the cottage. We will return...not soon enough though! Thank you Wendi and Barry!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WOW

Review submitted: August 11, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

My wife and I wanted a place where we could relax and have a great time. What we found was more than that......alot more. The place is absolutely beautiful. The view of the ocean is unbelievable, the room was very nice, no detail left unturned! The room, bathroom and grounds were very clean! Wendy was very welcoming and friendly and we loved it! Mendocino is a small town, and we had a very nice sunny day and great view of the stars on our recent stay. We tried the outdoor shower, it was great! The privacy is so nice, your own outdoor area, like having your own small house with the best view ever. We will return soon!

Thanks again!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Even better than the VRBO describes

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

This was our first foray into the world of VRBO. I spent weeks narrowing down my search from Orick to Mendocino--looked at literally hundreds of VRBO ads. Abalone Arch looked too good to be true but I just had to find out. TRUE TRUE TRUE. It's perfectly located for privacy, breathtaking views from your bed (and from the perfect indoor shower as well as the dreamy outdoor shower), a short drive to Mendocino village or Ft Bragg. Wendy was very helpful as we planned our itinerary by advising us to do our sightseeing (far northern redwoods) before we got to Abalone Arch--she said we wouldn't want to get very far away once we arrived. She was so right--bring a camera and a good book and you won't want to leave the property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This was better then a stay with The Ritz Carlton in Half-Moon Bay!

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

The owners are the most gracious and giving people we have ever met. Their hospitality was above and beyond our expectations, all the special touches: Peet's coffee, milk in the refrigerator, beer from a nearby brewery, homemade granola and cookies for us to enjoy, fresh cheese from the local market, only one word....WOW!
Abalone Arch was clean and very well maintained; the listing description was accurate but will be above and beyond your expectations. The breath taking view, the showers were awesome and our privacy was not an issue at all. We did leave the room to go into town a couple of times but wished we had just stayed in the room and enjoyed the surroundings. What a great romantic getaway this was!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely fantastic!

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

We visited during our 25th anniversary trip to CA wine country. A spectacular setting. Two nights weren't enough! Thanks Wendy and Barry!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Possibly the best vacation ever!

Review submitted: June 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

My wife and I travel allot on getaways and we have never stayed on the cost of Cali. We decided that Abalone Arch look great by the pictures. Boy were we ever so pleased. The pictures dont do it justice. I dont know of any other way we could have experienced this type of stay without actually owning a piece of property like these folks have. Never have I found such an awesome view and experience from any hotel I have ever stayed at. From the outdoor shower overlookiing the cliffedge and ocean to the inside shower with a huge plate glass window looking out over the vast pacific with not a sole in sight, complete privacy. Then the afternoons after visiting the wineries in the anderson valley that the homeowner was gracious enough to suggest were just fantastic. Just soaking up that sun and listening to the waves down below the cliff. When you arrive you are greeted by a tall gate and once inside you are emersed in a sea of flowers and almost perfect landscaping that welcomes you to your own piece of west coast paradise. When we arrived the mini fridge was filled will goodies to enjoy and the cookie were to die for. They also told us about all kind of neat things to go do and see along with all of the maps and books about the area that are in the suite. We are definitely going to be back and are telling all of our friends of how wonderful this place was. One last thing, the little kitty cat might show up on the deck after you are there for a few days. He was just adorable wanting his tummy rubbed and just made it feel that much more inviting like you were staying with your family instead of the institutional feel of a hotel.

Tim & Priscilla

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Abalone Arch is the best!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here and it could not have been more perfect! Everything from the cottage to the weather was great and we will definitely come back! Thank you so much for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unwinding in Mendo

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a "special" place on the north coast for our anniversary and we were thrilled to find Abalone Arch Suite.
The property literally sits just a few feet from the edge of the bluff where you can view the arch and amazing sunsets with a non obstructed view of the Pacific. You will find abundant solitude in the privacy of your own yard where hummingbirds feed on the beautiful flowers nearby. We were fortunate to be there while the whales were migrating and witnessed many whale sightings.
The amenities of the property are many and include a very spacious room with a well stocked kitchenette. Bring your own music on MP3 or CD or enjoy the collection that is provided, and utilizing the outdoor shower was PRICELESS! We prepared our own food with the available portable BBQ and enjoyed dinner and wine in our yard all while being entertained with the sights and sounds of the Mendocino Coast.
Thank you Wendy and Barry for being such great hosts and making our stay so special.
We look forward to a return visit.

Gerald & Marianne
Modesto, Ca.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

There is nothing better than waking up to the ocean waves outside the Abalone Arch window, or the sun setting on the horizon. It is the most beautiful and private setting; the bed is incredibly comfortable, and I want to take the outside shower home with me! This is 'Heaven on Earth'!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 23, 2010   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

Nature 101: Abalone Arch, CA

Bright blue afternoon arrival-
Greeted by the voice of the waves and by Troy, the 'visiting' Golden.
Wendy's welcome. Her attention to detail and hospitality are a gift!

Tiny sparkling jewel of a hummer defending its garden from an intruder.
Whale spouts!!!

Obama the black and white cat who defended her new visitors from the yellow cat.
Sipping wine at the patio table while watching the gentle Spring sunset.
My 1st outdoor shower-- by moonlight and starshine.

High tide-captivated by the sight of each incoming wave.

Evidence of the power of the waves:
Plume of spray thru the 'needle' and over the headland
Poof of back-spray as a large wave reaches the 1st arch

Sipping Prince of Wales tea brewed in the teapot and watching the churning
water and crashing waves
Morning sun lighting the inside of Abalone Arch
Eating hot muffins and scones from an abalone shell.

Being held captive by the beauty outside the window of our 'ark.'

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 21, 2010   Date of arrival: January 21, 2010

I loved my stays at Abalone Arch. I loved the
contrast between the perfectly well thought of
confort inside and the stark, strong, demanding
beauties outside. From my excellent bed, I loved to
hear the waves relentlessly pounding the rocks
below, I loved to see dawns softly rising above the
horizon, the sea...during the days I loved to watch
the ever changing colors of the water, of the
triumphant sprays, and the sinuously moving
kelp.Pure delight also to take a warm shower on the
deck, facing the eternal Pacific. The surroundings
too are fascinating: briefly misty mornings in the
forests, glorious sunsets...
I must add that the owners are wonderful hosts-
guides!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and exquisite view with us. The past two days have provided some very needed relaxation. If only there was a way to take this view back to Michigan with us.M & J – Charlotte, MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

We feel truly blessed to have found such a beautiful place to visit and enjoy. We will definitely be back; not only to visit Mendocino, but to visit again this wonder and peaceful home at Abalone Arch.K & D – Livermore, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Thank you Wendy and Barry for creating personal abundance such that we (and many others) can partake in the joys of California and just plain being alive. T & C – Fairfax, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

For thirteen years Mendocino has become one of our favorite destinations. And, after these last two days at your wonderful retreat, it has become even more alluring. This room, with every comfort of home, spectacular views, the song of the sea and yummy baked goods was perfect. Mr. Osprey has made three landings outside our window this morning. He preens for awhile before taking off for another foray – ah, what a life.B & K – Modesto, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

We have been coming to Mendocino for many years and have finally found the secret treasure of Mendocino. The views, the accommodations, the privacy and your hospitality were wonderful. We felt as if we were on a distant land completely removed from the trials and tribulations of life. For the first time in a long time we are relaxed.L & S – Napa, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

What a great place. Views are amazing. Thank you for your kindness.G & M – Kent, England

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

Your suite’s views are the most beautiful sights of the Pacific CoastD & L - Portland, OR

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review