reviews for: listing #93703 - Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Cabin rental

The Happy Days Hideaway for 2
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $100 - $100 /nt
    $500 - $500 /wk
    $950 - $950 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic Place to Stay. We Didn't Want to Leave!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

My husband and I always spend a few romantic days away from the family after Christmas. Our stay at the Nostalgic Guesthouse was an amazing experience for us.

First, there is Melanie, the owner, who could not have been more informative and responsive. She called before our visit and answered all of my questions about the local area. I had a great feeling about our trip before we even left New York!

We went to the Back Porch for dinner as she'd recommended, and it was delicious. Good wine selection and, as she suggested, we got a table on the lower level, which was very atmospheric. The local supermarket she mentioned, Daritza's, was well stocked and a quick walk from the house. No need to get back in the car.

Melanie's establishment is truly a trip down memory lane! Not only is is chock full of nostalgia from our childhoods (and our parents and grandparents), the stuff is in great condition. Beyond that, though, the place is decorated beautifully. It's not hokey - it's gorgeous! And Melanie keeps a CLEAN place. It was immaculate, a quality that is very important to me.

The bed was high quality. Even the pillows were great! (I always bring my own, just in case, but Melanie's were really nice!)

She graciously gave us a tour of the main house (we stayed in the Hideaway), and it really should be a historic landmark. We had so much fun checking it out. Again, the decor was beautiful, really well done. Melanie, you have a great eye!

We used the cottage as a base for our annual pilgrimage to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. My husband and I are architecture buffs, and love to visit these amazing sites to be inspired. We had an especially beautiful visit because of the blanket of snow. Don't miss the sculpture park at Kentuck Knob. We also love to go to the Uniontown Mall for the great sales after Christmas (Burlington Coat Factory!), and to catch up on our movies. We also thrifted a bunch. There's a huge Goodwill at the mall. Bought two tennis rackets in great condition for $2 each. Fun!

Thank you, Melanie. We will definitely return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Love This Place!

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

My husband and I always spend a few romantic days away from the family after Christmas. Our stay at the Nostalgic Guesthouse was an amazing experience for us.

First, there is Melanie, the owner, who could not have been more informative and responsive. She called before our visit and answered all of my questions about the local area. I had a great feeling about our trip before we even left New York!

We went to the Back Porch for dinner as she'd recommended, and it was delicious. Good wine selection and, as she suggested, we got a table on the lower level, which was very atmospheric. The local supermarket she mentioned, Daritza's, was well stocked and a quick walk from the house. No need to get back in the car.

Melanie's establishment is truly a trip down memory lane! Not only is is chock full of nostalgia from our childhoods (and our parents and grandparents), the stuff is in great condition. Beyond that, though, the place is decorated beautifully. It's not hokey - it's gorgeous! And Melanie keeps a CLEAN place. It was immaculate, a quality that is very important to me.

The bed was high quality. Even the pillows were great! (I always bring my own, just in case, but Melanie's were really nice!)

She graciously gave us a tour of the main house (we stayed in the Hideaway), and it really should be a historic landmark. We had so much fun checking it out. Again, the decor was beautiful, really well done. Melanie, you have a great eye!

We used the cottage as a base for our annual pilgrimage to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater and Kentuck Knob. My husband and I are architecture buffs, and love to visit these amazing sites to be inspired. We had an especially beautiful visit because of the blanket of snow. Don't miss the sculpture park at Kentuck Knob. We also love to go to the Uniontown Mall for the great sales after Christmas (Burlington Coat Factory!), and to catch up on our movies. We also thrifted a bunch. There's a huge Goodwill at the mall. Bought two tennis rackets in great condition for $2 each. Fun!

Thank you, Melanie. We will definitely return!

Owners response: Hello Jodi,
It was our pleasure to meet you and your husband (+ lovely photo of your precious daughter) and so happy that we were able to make your stay in the Hideaway a comfy, cozy & memorable one. I so enjoyed our little chit chats during the tour of the Good OL' Days House and really look forward to meeting the rest of your 'family' for a tour down memory lane for all....perhaps in the fall?? How do you like that rhyme? P.S. This Monongahela Valley is filled with "Goodwill" stores and dozens of antique stores where you are sure to take home nostalgic treasures at a great price. Best Wishes for a Happy New Year, and stay warm and we are bracing for a deep winter freeze! God Bless! Melanie P

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful trip down memory lane

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

We LOVED this place !!! So much better than a hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Full of family memories, romance and nostalgia. Everything vintage yet functional. Bob and Melanie made us feel right at home. We can't wait to come back.

Owners response: We LOVED having you as guests! It was so much fun. Can't wait for you to return for more 'romance & nostalgia'! Thanks for the memories, too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal For Family Fun!

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

A great spot for a family gathering. Spotless! Great attention to detail and the bakery goods were delicious...

Owners response: Awesome guests! Loved you sharing all the funny 'dress up' family 'photos' complete with hats and old aprons and enjoyed hearing all the fun you had with each other during your Family gathering.Speaking of family --- are we related yet??? I look forward to accommodating you and your family next year for another weekend of Patterson fun. All my best!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Chimney Chum

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Loved this place during my work on the chimneys at the Clairton Mill. Felt like home and enjoyed the friendship and hospitality during my 2 month stay. Liked the "Last Supper" painting so much Melanie let me take it home to put in my camper at home. Thanks. I appreciated your kindness during my stay. Sure beats any hotel room!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home away from Home for 3 months

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

Thank you for an 'ideal' home for 3 months! It sure was nice to have the comfy bed. I especially enjoyed the 'rain shower' every morning. The Patterson family made me feel like family. Blessings!

(Speech Pathologist hired to fill a maternity leave at a local hospital)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Favorite Returnee to the Hideaway from Walla Walla

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

Words do & say nothing as to how I feel. The Big house & the 'Love Shack' are unbelievable. Everytime I look I see something new that throws me back in time. You've made me more than a renter or guest. I feel like family. I've me a lot of very nice people while here. And of course the person I came to see was VERY special: my granddaughter Lily who was born 3 days after I arrived here. Thank you for everything. Oh yeah....I'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hometown visit

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I've had the pleasure of being a guest at The Good Ol' Days main home. This is my first time staying at the getaway cottage. It is FANTASTIC! I loved reminiscing on artifacts that reflect what I remember as a child, but the most outstanding memories I will cherish for the rest of my life is the "Welcome Home Hospitality" I always receive when staying here. THANK YOU MY FRIEND. God will continue to bless you, as he sees that you continue to be one of his servants on his beautiful earth!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Kitchy Cute

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

This experience has been a dream come true. We couldn't have asked for a more luxurious home away from home. We loved every last detail of the love shack. From its green to its gold...its kitchy cute table and countertops to the secure and heartfelt 'last supper' painting, which overlooked our God sent feasts each and every night. As faithful servants to Him your warm welcoming hospitality, reignited our love for the almighty One and also for each other. We believe this home to be very spiritually alive. Thank you so much. We plan on being back

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dallas Cowboys in Steeler Territory

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Couldn't ask for a better place to cuddle up with my honey! Every detail has been carefully and lovingly thought of to make us feel welcome. Thank you for your spirit of hospitality and your enthusiasm to offer your guests a unique and very special stay. I eon't forget your special greeting in your vintage rain slicker and cowboy boots. The yellow rose was special thought from you. God has made you a special servant! We all need to try to make a mark here on earth before He calls us home. You are going to be remembered!!! Oh, yea! Contrary to local beliefs "Cowboys" are America's Team!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 17, 2012

This place is ripped straight out of the 60-70's. All of the furnishings are almost museum quality. All this AND the place is clean and VERY comfortable too! I was treated with a wonderful stay. I've rented it before and I WILL use it again whenever I need to go to the Pittsburgh area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much David! You are a wonderful guest and we enjoy having you stay in our little Hideaway. So happy that you are comfy and cozy in 1960s fashion! Safe travels on your return visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review